Roast Grumpy Old Thread- 10k posts of whinging

As 132 pages of this thread most likely suggest. This world is a cruel one.

Whether it be a family member locked up in a psychiatric hospital for a month or the flog behind the bar which served me a Boags Light when I asked for a Carlton Dry. This year has thrown so much shit at me, I can't wait for a new year where I can mentally refresh and tackle 2017.

Recently I was involved in a car accident whereby someone had run a red light at an intersection that had hit the rear left of my car. There were no injuries (thank scotts) but it shook me up a fair bit being a 19YO P-Plater (no I don't hoon, no I don't do skids, no I don't drink and drive, thanks for asking) in my first year solo on the roads. I had a witness of the accident come over and console me and give me his/her details as he/she saw the incident and had stated I was not at fault. I call the insurance (aaaaaaaaaaaaaaa) and they were initially very helpful in getting my car towed and taken to an incident repair shop to get fixed. I told them everything, including my details, other driver details, witness, photos of both cars etc.

After 2 weeks and still hearing nothing I ring up my insurance to see what's going on. I work 2 jobs and both aren't within cycling distance from where I live, hence it's not an easy task asking friends and family for lifts almost every day of the week, it's been getting me down. My insurance company told me the witness had given me the wrong number and they cannot get in contact with him/her. Therefore there is insufficient evidence to prove the other driver ran the red light, and it's assumed I've cut him/her off at the intersection, also that my car will most likely be written off. Not bad for a car accident where I'm not at fault!

I have no idea what the other driver has told their insurance company, but it seems the default is to bend over the P-Plater purely because it's a loophole whereby it'll save the insurance companies time, money, resources and effort. Growing up, my parents always told me to tell the truth no matter what and I'm proud enough to say I live my life hiding nothing. Imagine being that fully grown and fully licensed guy/girl that bends a story about an accident whereby their own car is only a dent on the front bumper and a few scratches, to foot a 4 figure bill to a 19YO who's now lost his car and never seen this amount of money in his life.

What can I do about it? SFA. I'm not a confident enough person or even feel capable of going to court purely based on my age and lack of driving experience on the road.

If you're a P-plater, or you've got kids that are on the road, or even you are driving around on the road. Please go to JB Hi-Fi, or Harvey Normal or wherever you can and spend $40 and get a dash cam for your car. A simple device would've saved me thousands and thousands of dollars. The roads are full of unknown and deceitful people.

Protect yourself, because you're insurance company will not.

About 3 years ago I was hit by a reversing car when my car was parked.

$5000 comprehensive insurance repairs... $600 excess...no proof of driver and therefore Rating drops and Premium goes up nek year.

Insurance is a big gamble for all involved...Fair enough...but I sometimes think the odds are stacked in the Houses favour if you know what I mean.

Anywho ...we are assuming you didn't have Comprehensive?

Sorry to hear that GG. I hope you're not with AAMI or another suncorp insurance company - they're a ****ing nightmare to deal with when making a claim.

If you're not happy with the response from your insurer lodge a formal complaint with them, that should take you out of the normal claims process and have things re-examined. Let them know that if it's not resolved to your satisfaction that you will be lodging a complaint with the Financial Ombudsman Service https://www.fos.org.au/

Also, did the witness give their full name? Perhaps you can try searching for them yourself (try google or Facebook - I found a wallet earlier this year year and located the owner on FB within 5 minutes).

Whether it be a family member locked up in a psychiatric hospital for a month or the flog behind the bar which served me a Boags Light when I asked for a Carlton Dry. This year has thrown so much shit at me, I can't wait for a new year where I can mentally refresh and tackle 2017.

Recently I was involved in a car accident whereby someone had run a red light at an intersection that had hit the rear left of my car. There were no injuries (thank scotts) but it shook me up a fair bit being a 19YO P-Plater (no I don't hoon, no I don't do skids, no I don't drink and drive, thanks for asking) in my first year solo on the roads. I had a witness of the accident come over and console me and give me his/her details as he/she saw the incident and had stated I was not at fault. I call the insurance (aaaaaaaaaaaaaaa) and they were initially very helpful in getting my car towed and taken to an incident repair shop to get fixed. I told them everything, including my details, other driver details, witness, photos of both cars etc.

After 2 weeks and still hearing nothing I ring up my insurance to see what's going on. I work 2 jobs and both aren't within cycling distance from where I live, hence it's not an easy task asking friends and family for lifts almost every day of the week, it's been getting me down. My insurance company told me the witness had given me the wrong number and they cannot get in contact with him/her. Therefore there is insufficient evidence to prove the other driver ran the red light, and it's assumed I've cut him/her off at the intersection, also that my car will most likely be written off. Not bad for a car accident where I'm not at fault!

I have no idea what the other driver has told their insurance company, but it seems the default is to bend over the P-Plater purely because it's a loophole whereby it'll save the insurance companies time, money, resources and effort. Growing up, my parents always told me to tell the truth no matter what and I'm proud enough to say I live my life hiding nothing. Imagine being that fully grown and fully licensed guy/girl that bends a story about an accident whereby their own car is only a dent on the front bumper and a few scratches, to foot a 4 figure bill to a 19YO who's now lost his car and never seen this amount of money in his life.

What can I do about it? SFA. I'm not a confident enough person or even feel capable of going to court purely based on my age and lack of driving experience on the road.

If you're a P-plater, or you've got kids that are on the road, or even you are driving around on the road. Please go to JB Hi-Fi, or Harvey Normal or wherever you can and spend $40 and get a dash cam for your car. A simple device would've saved me thousands and thousands of dollars. The roads are full of unknown and deceitful people.

Go to www.fos.gov.au and figure out if you can resolve it with their help...this is the Financial Ombudsman.

If you think you can then...

Ring back Insurance Company.

Have a script and read it to them.

Tell them that you will be disputing their Pov and will be challenging their decision with the Fos.

Go to the Financial Ombudsman and follow up with them.

Sorry to hear that GG. I hope you're not with AAMI or another suncorp insurance company - they're a ******* nightmare to deal with when making a claim.

If you're not happy with the response from your insurer lodge a formal complaint with them, that should take you out of the normal claims process and have things re-examined. Let them know that if it's not resolved to your satisfaction that you will be lodging a complaint with the Financial Ombudsman Service https://www.fos.org.au/

Also, did the witness give their full name? Perhaps you can try searching for them yourself (try google or Facebook - I found a wallet earlier this year year and located the owner on FB within 5 minutes).

What he said.

****ing geniuses aren't we !

Tulla road widening going to force drivers through the west. But at the same time Footscray Rd has road works and the Westgate has an accident every single day. What used to be a simple drive to work via Dynon Rd or Footscray Rd is now a daily scene from the movie "Falling Down". Will start riding my bike a couple of times a week I think.

So what point are you at? Baseball bat, flick knife, camo-wearing gun-toting final scenes?

That sucks GG.

Back in '86 I was a P plater heading into town for my part time job (was at uni at the time) and was driving West up Victoria Parade in the far left lane in heavy traffic. Up ahead I could see a white Falcon Station Wagon in the centre strip from an intersecting street trying to get across Vic Pde. As we neared it that car suddenly darted forward and almost collided with the car in the inside lane, and again with the car in the next lane, before I T-boned it in the outside lane, having nowhere to go and no time to react.

That intersection had traffic light poles installed but the lights were covered up with signs reading "not in use".

My car was rooted with the bonnet folded up and engine pushed back.

We stopped and exchanged details and the middle aged woman was very apologetic.

A couple of weeks later I receive a letter of demand from her lawyers and insurer insisting I pay up asap despite not being in the wrong. I told my old man and he was apoplectic, contacting our lawyer and insurer demanding to know how this could be the result and seeking some justice.

It turns out the woman had returned home to Casterton, near the SA border, and spoken to her family friend, the local police sargeant, and they'd devised a load of tripe whereby he produced a police report showing he'd attended the accident and I'd run a red light causing the collision.

Both insurance companies presumed Casterton was a suburb of inner Melbourne FFS.

WTF?

Annnnnnnnyway, we sought and were eventually provided proof the lights weren't operational on that day, she was forced to pay in full and was charged with providing a false police report. The cop lost his job.

It took many months to get to that stage and without my dad's help I would've been railroaded just as you may.

Don't give in. Seek professional help. Good luck mate! You're right, you'd be seen as easy prey. Don't stand for that crap.

Sounds like someone needs to chill out a bit. Here, a KFC scented candle might help.

https://au.news.yahoo.com/a/3342140...t-their-home-to-smell-of-fried-chicken/#page1
fried-chicken-lovers-4.gif

Enough with the blokey 'sheilas, blue singlets and beach cricket' vibe thanks KFC.

You're a septic fried chicken corporation. To paraphrase Daryl Kerrigan stop trying to act like you're on my side.

How about they stop hiding behind the ****ing "KFC" charade. I refuse to call it KFC and still say Kentucky Fried Chicken.
We all bloody know it's greasy and "fried" you dumb ***ks

Aaaaaaaaand it begins, families, love em but this whole shitfighting over my kids is ****ed (my folks vs wifes folks). gonna be on the road all day christmas day now.

Aaaaaaaaand it begins, families, love em but this whole shitfighting over my kids is stuffed (my folks vs wifes folks). gonna be on the road all day christmas day now.

Not alternating Chrissies by having one at your folks' followed by the next at her's etc? We've had to do that for the past few years, with Mrs Toes' folks being interstate.

that is what we are trying to get done. My my old boy gets the shits and her mum is very passive agressive when it comes up.