Roast Grumpy Old Thread- 10k posts of whinging

I'm grumpy because I went to check on the profile of our new draftees and trades and rookies and they have not yet been listed on the Football section of our NMFC website, it took 2 seconds to take down Boomer et al but they haven't found the time to put the new boys on, v annoying :mad:
Probably something you could discuss with them before people join in with their pitchforks.

Hudson Baby Bourbon is fairly readily available here (it's from NYC surprisingly) and Blantons Single Barrel can sometimes be found in good stores.

I tried some small batch bourbons from Ohio and Utah when in the USA recently and they were very smooth. I'm trying to get my hands on some currently.

On SM-G925I using BigFooty.com mobile app
Hudson Baby is sensational.

I found that the Boilermaker House in Melbourne has Pappy Van Winkle (I think it was the 20 year reserve) and had never tried it. $140 for a nip. Bloody magnificent stuff.

Best thing I've ever had in my gob and I've had some very nice things in there before :stern look

The trend of flat peaked caps licks balls

Absolutely. First thing I do when I get a new cap is put a rubber band around the peak and leave it for a week.

I won't miss an opportunity to bag someone with an atrocious flat peaked duck bill hanging off their head.

I know it's to each their own, but I don't get the love for bourbon... I've always labelled it as the spirit that people drink when they're seen to be wanting to drink liquor.
I'm with you. I try every now and again but it's too sweet for me. And I'm fond of a few Irish and Japanese whiskies that are pretty sweet and oily (Redbreast, Kilbeggan, Hibiki).

Went out for a night in Salamanca with brother from Willy (sees Wellsy regularly) on Friday night for the first time in a while.

A pizza, beers until 12, taxi home, and.......now $200 lighter.

Bloody hell I quickly remember why I don't go out like I used to!! :rainbow:

Actually why don't they make nice movies like Dirty Dancing anymore.
This post is running very short of the grumpiness required, but is in direct response to Gaso's comment.

Take a look at Captain Fantastic. Terrific movie and one of the best I've seen for a while.

Also, brilliant song called "Ghost" by Jeremy Messersmith that kicks in at 1:22.

As 132 pages of this thread most likely suggest. This world is a cruel one.

Whether it be a family member locked up in a psychiatric hospital for a month or the flog behind the bar which served me a Boags Light when I asked for a Carlton Dry. This year has thrown so much shit at me, I can't wait for a new year where I can mentally refresh and tackle 2017.

Recently I was involved in a car accident whereby someone had run a red light at an intersection that had hit the rear left of my car. There were no injuries (thank scotts) but it shook me up a fair bit being a 19YO P-Plater (no I don't hoon, no I don't do skids, no I don't drink and drive, thanks for asking) in my first year solo on the roads. I had a witness of the accident come over and console me and give me his/her details as he/she saw the incident and had stated I was not at fault. I call the insurance (aaaaaaaaaaaaaaa) and they were initially very helpful in getting my car towed and taken to an incident repair shop to get fixed. I told them everything, including my details, other driver details, witness, photos of both cars etc.

After 2 weeks and still hearing nothing I ring up my insurance to see what's going on. I work 2 jobs and both aren't within cycling distance from where I live, hence it's not an easy task asking friends and family for lifts almost every day of the week, it's been getting me down. My insurance company told me the witness had given me the wrong number and they cannot get in contact with him/her. Therefore there is insufficient evidence to prove the other driver ran the red light, and it's assumed I've cut him/her off at the intersection, also that my car will most likely be written off. Not bad for a car accident where I'm not at fault!

I have no idea what the other driver has told their insurance company, but it seems the default is to bend over the P-Plater purely because it's a loophole whereby it'll save the insurance companies time, money, resources and effort. Growing up, my parents always told me to tell the truth no matter what and I'm proud enough to say I live my life hiding nothing. Imagine being that fully grown and fully licensed guy/girl that bends a story about an accident whereby their own car is only a dent on the front bumper and a few scratches, to foot a 4 figure bill to a 19YO who's now lost his car and never seen this amount of money in his life.

What can I do about it? SFA. I'm not a confident enough person or even feel capable of going to court purely based on my age and lack of driving experience on the road.

If you're a P-plater, or you've got kids that are on the road, or even you are driving around on the road. Please go to JB Hi-Fi, or Harvey Normal or wherever you can and spend $40 and get a dash cam for your car. A simple device would've saved me thousands and thousands of dollars. The roads are full of unknown and deceitful people.

Protect yourself, because you're insurance company will not.

I feel your pain mate. Insurance companies are CU&T$.

Lots of stories after Christchurch Earthquake of people being shafted by their insurance companies, which after being stressed out by all the aftershocks and then being told that your house is worth 100k less than what you thought is just crap

Also, sack scotts

Was he driving the other car G.G. ?

Sorry to hear about your situation. Don't need to be old to be grumpy. Like your attitude though. Listen to parents, they got the experience. They may be grumpy sometimes, but wise.
Bound to be some good North-boy on here that can " steer " you in the right direction.
( pun intended )