Roast Grumpy Old Thread- 10k posts of whinging

Lockdown wasn’t in the warnded post because I think it’s a healthy outlet for our mindfulness that we have the opportunity to discuss how we are coping with or without work and constantly looking at the same environment.

We’re a unique bunch of individuals....oh that reminds me...

It's now 10!

Will there be a (virtual) party?

Virtual parties make me grumpy.

When I was a boy, we used to have real parties with real people... & real beer.

Got Bob the ****ing Builder over back here. He hammered and sawed for 3 days straight and came up with a ****ing chair. campaigner.

He's at it again today. And his woof barks along with the sawing.

Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk

50,000th Post
Self indulgence

And some may well say “what’s new Gaso”.

I joined here on the back of the suggestion of Orange Peanut. See we ran into a little problem in March of 2002 in that we suddenly had no Captain and there were a million questions. The old North Forum had died a death and so many on there rolled across here.

These were the days before Facebook, Twitter and the rest and BF was King.

Mind you in the past 20 years I have never had a social media account outside of BF.

This explains once and for all why I post here more frequently than what is perhaps normal. I value the Board and always have.

I often think about the loss of the Chiefton. He was involved in an accident and never fully recovered. He was a great poster and we shared some laughs in the GD Threads. I hope he is well enough to see games. He loved North.

The biggest meltdown night was when the Ben Cousins story broke. You just couldn’t get onto BF. Must have broke the servers.

Too many funny things to recall. One I do remember is IUB trying to get everybody in the 2015 GD Thread to chant everybody lubbb IUB at the game. He posted this at 7am.

It didn’t happen.

In late 2016 some of us were lucky enough to have a few pages of chat with Heath O. Euge was a visitor every so often. A few other lesser Officials. Would be nice if we were taken on board some more but that ship sailed years ago.

This Thread has been a surprise. It was to be our version of “Things that shit me” from the General Board.

A lot of us encounter shit.

Many controversial incidents. The Bye Bye Brad and Sacks Scotts had a lot of stress. At the end of it all kangatime and I ended up mates out of it all. I was wrong and he was slightly less wrong...lol. The Gold Coast days brought the worst and best out of people on here. I am sorry to say that I walked from the Board during that time for my own mental health.

Speaking of Radelaide there was the infamous “I will wait outside” the Pub because of the sea of Crows fans milling around the entrance. Never been allowed to live that down to this day.

There was also the KFC Twister debacle at Wallan Servo that caused a week of debate about how to remove oil stains from pants. Funny times.

Game Day OPs peaked in 2015. The novelty has worn off now, 2019 was a drag.

Best games? The one that stands out was the McCartney game. It was a delight to have been there that night. Just inspirational. The 2014/15 MCG Finals were awesome nights. Boomers record breaking night.

And now this time; C19 time. The biggest lesson learnt so far?

Don't put things off.

I am glad I went to the last Home Game last year on that Saturday night and saw BBB kick those 10 goals. Or going to Hobart last May, or Radelaide and waiting outside that Pub. I now realise that I probably will never see Bruce Springsteen live again and when he walked off and waved back at us in 2017 it was probably for the last time.

When this is all over there won't be anymore 'yeh nar's...maybe'. When you lose your choice it makes 'yes' the one you crave so much.

Go Roos!

50,000th Post
Self indulgence

I joined here on the back of the suggestion of Orange Peanut. See we ran into a little problem in March of 2002 in that we suddenly had no Captain and there were a million questions. The old North Forum had died a death and so many on there rolled across here.

Mind you in the past 20 years I have never had a social media account outside of BF.

This explains once and for all why I post here more frequently than what is perhaps normal. I value the Board and always have.

I often think about the loss of the Chiefton. He was involved in an accident and never fully recovered. He was a great poster and we shared some laughs in the GD Threads. I hope he is well enough to see games. He loved North.

The biggest meltdown night was when the Ben Cousins story broke. You just couldn’t get onto BF. Must have broke the servers.

Too many funny things to recall. One I do remember is IUB trying to get everybody in the 2015 GD Thread to chant everybody lubbb IUB at the game. He posted this at 7am.

It didn’t happen.

In late 2016 some of us were lucky enough to have a few pages of chat with Heath O. Euge was a visitor every so often. A few other lesser Officials. Would be nice if we were taken on board some more but that ship sailed years ago.

This Thread has been a surprise. It was to be our version of “Things that shit me” from the General Board.

Many controversial incidents. The Bye Bye Brad and Sacks Scotts had a lot of stress. At the end of it all kangatime and I ended up mates out of it all. I was wrong and he was slightly less wrong...lol. The Gold Coast days brought the worst and best out of people on here. I am sorry to say that I walked from the Board during that time for my own mental health.

Speaking of Radelaide there was the infamous “I will wait outside” the Pub because of the sea of Crows fans milling around the entrance. Never been allowed to live that down to this day.

There was also the KFC Twister debacle at Wallan Servo that caused a week of debate about how to remove oil stains from pants. Funny times.

Best games? The one that stands out was the McCartney game. It was a delight to have been there that night. Just inspirational. The 2014/15 MCG Finals were awesome nights. Boomers record breaking night.

Don't put things off.

I am glad I went to the last Home Game last year on that Saturday night and saw BBB kick those 10 goals. Or going to Hobart last May, or Radelaide and waiting outside that Pub. I now realise that I probably will never see Bruce Springsteen live again and when he walked off and waved back at us in 2017 it was probably for the last time.

When this is all over there won't be anymore 'yeh nar's...maybe'. When you lose your choice it makes 'yes' the one you crave so much.

Go Roos!

Love your work mate.

Always relate to your commitment to long drives just to see our Rooboys.

50,000th Post
Self indulgence

It didn’t happen.

Don't put things off.

Go Roos!

Sure the encouragement from Mrs. Gaso is a driving force for you to keep posting.

( well done mate 🏆👍 )

O.k. lads. Roof guttering.

Can clean the ground floor of friggin eucalypt leaves by myself once a month > 20 mins easy.

But 2nd floor 😥

Need to pay someone ( so l don't kill meself ) and need to put in some protection to stop it filling up again.

Suggestions welcomed. Cheers.

Can clean the ground floor of friggin eucalypt leaves by myself once a month > 20 mins easy.

But 2nd floor 😥

Need to pay someone ( so l don't kill meself ) and need to put in some protection to stop it filling up again.

Did the same meself tuday.

I had a pink copy of Never Mind the Bollocks Here's the Sex Pistols. I know who stole it although the lying prick denied it. Have not spoken to him since 1981 and refuse to ack his FB freiend request.

Pink album cover song titles. Nostalgia.

Lockdown wasn’t in the warnded post because I think it’s a healthy outlet for our mindfulness that we have the opportunity to discuss how we are coping with or without work and constantly looking at the same environment.

We’re a unique bunch of individuals....oh that reminds me...

I just tried to watch this. It seriously almost made me vomit. Is he for real. What a turd.

If there was a punchline at the end then I didn't get that far. I had to find a bucket.

But 2nd floor 😥

Don't use a leaf blower.

You can get covers for gutters now. I wouldn't know what was best tho.

But 2nd floor 😥

I thought you can get Jim’s handyman to do that, Bunnings has the cover guards?

But 2nd floor 😥

protection dont work, or we all would have it, get a bit of tubing and bend a shepherds hook on the end and lance it out with water.

1587203208491.png

Gutter guard no good ?
all the fine stuff and silt goes through it sits in the bottom then cultivates seeds that blow up on the roof which grow in the guttering, then you have to pull the gutter guard to get it out, i just pulled a heap of grass growing in the guttering out the other day, the biggest problem are the clips which impede you being able to pull it out in one piece. if you use a lance you have to do it regularly. before it breaks into growth

Oi Oi?

I didn't use a blower today (I used a Karcher). But I thought that using a blower was a master stroke. What's up with it?
Leaf blowers can jam bits of leaf matter under the eaves, if it builds up and stays dry its a fire hazard.

Karcher might do the same thing but the water might help break the leaf matter down. It might not too its got a different output - water - and its directed by a nozzle. I've never used one so I couldn't say.

I think its one if those things where if the blower nozzle is under the eave in the gutter it can push shit into tle cracks and mismatched edges, especially on any poorly sealed bits.

A nozzle like in the pic koshari posted might avoid that.