witsend

Lakers
Glad to see Bomber's not buying into their crap about injuries and being "underdone". They are no more or less "underdone" than any other AFL team in Round 1 that has played deep into the finals.
We will carry a similar amount of structural injuries and omissions into Round 1 and we will play the Hawks on their merits.
Nice deflection by the Hawks and their supporters...
If they lose they will say they weren't ready and they're saving themselves for Finals, and if they win they will claim it as proof that they have superior depth and an historical advantage over the Geelong Football Club.

Don't believe the hype...
This current Hawthorn team bears no more relationship to the Hawks of the 80s/90s than we do to our teams of that era.

I guess you'll be debuting two first gamers as well then?

And Ablett and Bartel(your two best players) will have played all of one game before round 1?

And of course you'd have question marks over the fitness of 7-8 of your Grand Final team?

Yeah, we're obviously cherry ripe at the minute. :rolleyes:

HAHAHA

we are missing probably 70% of our premiership defence.

It aint injury "BS", they are legitimate injurys and are pretty clear as day to see.

I agree witsend. They need to cover themselves either way. If they get smashed they will say it is because they are underdone and if they happen to win they will say "what a great performance with so many players missing from their best 22".
Bullshit I say. Just play the game and stop making premeditated excuses!

we where under done in round 17...and you got us....and yes you had plenty of out that day,and all we heard was with them back you would smash in GF...............result....our players gathered fitness, and we BENT YOU OVER,and the same will happen again...!!!;)

Witsend, Considering the amount of players we could have missing, and with the losses you've got ( Mooney, Hunt, Harley), if we do get over the line you can full well expect Hawk fans and the media to jump on us about our depth.
For the last 2 or 3 weeks all we hear about is how 'angry' the cats are, and how 2009 is all about redemption.
The media are jumping all over the 'monster' that is the burnt Cat's, predicting big things of your club, so of course the fall-back will be great if you don't knock us off friday night.

Needless to say if you win, we lose the 4pts but that's it.
But if you lose, you lose the 4pts, a heap of the hype that has built up over the NAB cup campaign, and a shitload of media who will start to ask questions about what exactly is 'scarring the mind' of the cats.

p.s. Not that I think we'll win, but look out if we do.

HAHAHA

It aint injury "BS", they are legitimate injurys and are pretty clear as day to see.
70% is exaggeration. We have Hunt, Harley, Egan all missing from our "premiership" defence, Egan didn't play but would be an automatic selection. Mooney has played NO footy at all 09, and is our key forward. Wojo has played 1 match , Kelly is in doubt, and Hunt's likely replacement, D. Johnson, is unavailable. I'd say we have equal claims to missing key personnel. On that note, should Mooney even be considered? Anyway, Hawks are the reigning premiers, the team to be HUNTED this year, no matter what Clarko or Hawk supporters dish up. They are no longer justifiable underdogs and every team now has to work out how to beat Hawthorn, just like Nadal vs Federer??

Glad to see Bomber's not buying into their crap about injuries and being "underdone". They are no more or less "underdone" than any other AFL team in Round 1 that has played deep into the finals.
We will carry a similar amount of structural injuries and omissions into Round 1 and we will play the Hawks on their merits.
Nice deflection by the Hawks and their supporters...
If they lose they will say they weren't ready and they're saving themselves for Finals, and if they win they will claim it as proof that they have superior depth and an historical advantage over the Geelong Football Club.

Don't believe the hype...
This current Hawthorn team bears no more relationship to the Hawks of the 80s/90s than we do to our teams of that era.

Spot on.
They are a tad scared.

And so are the supporters. Look at how many threads they have on the hawks board

"oh please dont hurt us"

I'd actually like to hear what hawks supporters think a fair loss would be. Just so I can watch the scoreboard throw daggers at them

Everything that comes out of the mouth of anyone associated with the Hawthorn Football Club is a load of BS IMO. Just have to look at half the crap their fans go on with on BF to see that, not to mention Jeff's comments on the weekend, as well as Dermie's comments in the paper this morning.

Do you know the funny thing is that hawthorn supporters cant even buy a membership anymore all sold out, what a great club NOT!!!!!!!!!!!! They should be supporting all their supporters that want a membership

Witsend, Considering the amount of players we could have missing, and with the losses you've got ( Mooney, Hunt, Harley), if we do get over the line you can full well expect Hawk fans and the media to jump on us about our depth.
For the last 2 or 3 weeks all we hear about is how 'angry' the cats are, and how 2009 is all about redemption.
The media are jumping all over the 'monster' that is the burnt Cat's, predicting big things of your club, so of course the fall-back will be great if you don't knock us off friday night.

But if you lose, you lose the 4pts, a heap of the hype that has built up over the NAB cup campaign, and a shitload of media who will start to ask questions about what exactly is 'scarring the mind' of the cats.

yes, the media is saying all that about the geelong team, but no one at geelong is saying that.

and you back yourself into a nice lil corner of "you beat us its expected, we beat you and its likes the biggest victory in your history".

can someone direct me back to the cats board...

HAHAHA

Check the thread title..I said Hawks Underdone BS...
It's just Clarko playing the underdog card over and over. I don't blame him...whatever helps him sleep at night!
But as I said in the OP..I'm pleased to see Bomber has seen through this amateurish charade. No team plays in a GF and comes back without injuries, or rested players. Hawthorn played practice matches as well. We just happened to play ours in front of a crowd because we kept winning.
Anyway..let's see that wonderful depth we keep hearing about, hey?
You've had enough early draft picks to get some, haven't you?

Everything that comes out of the mouth of anyone associated with the Hawthorn Football Club is a load of BS IMO. Just have to look at half the crap their fans go on with on BF to see that, not to mention Jeff's comments on the weekend, as well as Dermie's comments in the paper this morning.

and the cats on bf are fonts of wisdom

yes, the media is saying all that about the geelong team, but no one at geelong is saying that.

and you back yourself into a nice lil corner of "you beat us its expected, we beat you and its likes the biggest victory in your history".

can someone direct me back to the cats board...

BS, it's not just the media building you up. Your own coach thought the gf was an aberration and your fans think you had an off day. Will be interesting to see what your excuses are should you lose the gf this year, no matter who you are playing.

Catters head over to our board on a regular basis and with blanket apologies post whatever they see fit, so get off your high horse and suck it up.

Check the thread title..I said Hawks Underdone BS...
It's just Clarko playing the underdog card over and over. I don't blame him...whatever helps him sleep at night!
But as I said in the OP..I'm pleased to see Bomber has seen through this amateurish charade. No team plays in a GF and comes back without injuries, or rested players. Hawthorn played practice matches as well. We just happened to play ours in front of a crowd because we kept winning.
Anyway..let's see that wonderful depth we keep hearing about, hey?
You've had enough early draft picks to get some, haven't you?
This whole thread reeks of double standards and hypocrisy, when you guys had injuries in rd 17 last yr you whinged and moaned for god knows how long about it " If such and such was playing we would have done this and wait till the finals when such and such will be available" get over it seriously. Having said that it is not how many is injured it is who is injured that is the main issue but we have more than adequate back up players to come in and do the job for us. If we lose it wont be because of injuries it will be because geelong was better.

That's a crock. Plenty of Hawks supporters are doing the same...

If you lose: "It's all good, first game of the year. We win 'em when it counts... Wait til we get our guys back and wait til Hodgey and Buddy have some games under their belt..."
If you win: "Haha, sucked in Cats, we had half our side out and we still beat you's. Jeff was right, you are weak as piss..."

I'll bet you 20 bucks after friday night some form of one of those will pop up in a post somewhere on BF...

Tell us how you really feel ;)

The Hawks are a bit more undermanned than us - but it's not like we're going in with a fully fit and firing best 22 either. No Hunt, no DJ, an underdone Mooney, Wojo and some others. We should still win, but it's not a lay down misere at this point.

And it shits me how they come out and say how they had all these injuries going into the GF. Hodge had internal bleeding and we have heard other stories how others of Hawthorn were injured aswell. They would of used it as an excuse if they lost. It will come out later how Buddy had his leg cut off the night before and had to get it reattached on the day of the GF and Crawf had both arms cut off.

Who knows where it will all end.

Im sure Geelong werent 100% but atleast we dont go spruiking on about crap like they do

And it shits me how they come out and say how they had all these injuries going into the GF. Hodge had internal bleeding and we have heard other stories how others of Hawthorn were injured aswell. They would of used it as an excuse if they lost. It will come out later how Buddy had his leg cut off the night before and had to get it reattached on the day of the GF and Crawf had both arms cut off.

Who knows where it will all end.

Im sure Geelong werent 100% but atleast we dont go spruiking on about crap like they do

From where i was sitting, both sides had their share of injuries in the GF and in the rnd 17 - who cares, you are only as good as the team you put on the park.

We go into Rnd 1 with exactly the same prep as Hawthorn, the same amont of time off, and pretty much with a similar vane of players unprepared or injured - I would love Egan, Harley, Hunt, and Mooney all to be playing, but am equally convinced that Enright, Lonergan, Hawkins and Harry Taylor can fill the void! Im sure Hawthorn can lay claim to similar depth. Actually, i would still love to be calling out Callan, King, Prismall and Thompson amongst other potential senior players that we have had to sacrifice due to the salary cap! Hawthorn will have this problem at the end of the year two - not even the Tasmanian government can save them from this ;)

Bring it on i say, i think this year that is going to be the boys attitude as well. Nothing less than our best effort is going to suffice, if we are beaten by a better team than i have no problem with that - for the record i don't think that happened last year, but fair play, the Hawks are a good unit and we didn't grab the game when it was there for us. What people don't realise is how we are continuing to improve - i don't think we have even peaked yet. Add a fit Hawkins, a 20 year old maturing gun in Selwood, a 24 year old Prime Ablett and a host of other youngsters who are nearing their debuts or 50 games such as Varcoe, Lonergan, Taylor, Djukerra, Hogan, West, Laidler, and Mckenna and you have a recipe for continual improvement.

Watch out everyone else - the GFC are a fit and functioning unit and will only improve on last year. It is up to the competition to bridge the gap!

BS, it's not just the media building you up. Your own coach thought the gf was an aberration and your fans think you had an off day. Will be interesting to see what your excuses are should you lose the gf this year, no matter who you are playing.

Catters head over to our board on a regular basis and with blanket apologies post whatever they see fit, so get off your high horse and suck it up.

i think bomber said he has moved on...not it was an aberration.

and what would hawthorns excuse been had you lost? the injuries, an off day, the shark analogy, etc.

and these cats posters, are they the kind that troll from bay13/mainboard that never set foot on the cats board?

saying your team is underdone is just an escape clause in case they lose. will be hearing alot of it after the game

more gutless "out clauses".

I reckon they are going to be a bit under done myself.

However, that isn't going to take anything away from us when we give them the mother of all hidings ;)