How the AFL’s ‘power’ clubs have lost power

Well Richmond has been decent since 2013 and got flags since 2017. I am sure the AFL will let the tigers face north in Docklands

Its governed by the stadium agreements MCC/AFL, classic home/away hubris, its home this week, away next. Just use the same car space.

No they aren't. 10 of the top 12 highest drawing games are mandated to be at the MCG. It is the AFLs contractual obligation to get atleast 10 of the biggest drawing games to the MCG. So what do they do? They promote, promote, promote these Faux "Blockbusters" as event matches, nationally broadcast in the best timeslots and in stand alone public holidays or Friday nights. And its not just 10. Its more like 15 or 16 just in case a few don't live up to the hype. To meet their contractual obligation. Rotated through the same 5 or 6 bigger Vic clubs. Eddie's grubby hands have been all over this deal and of course it is Collingwood who benefit the most, but the other 4 or 5 bigger Melbourne clubs all get a piece. More gate. More exposure. More sponsorship. And its all connected to the grubby MCG Contract.
Why wouldn’t you have the top drawing games at the one ground that can meet the demand of all those who want to attend?

What’s the logical alternative?

They all need the AFL to be commercially viable.
Extract from the Annual Report http://footyindustry.com/docs/AFL 2021 Concise Annual Report.pdf

Bank Guarantees
The Company has entered into a number of agreements with banks, whereby the Company guarantees the financial obligations of AFL clubs.

As at 31 October 2021, the Company has provided guarantees as follows:

Borrower Bank Amount Expiry

Essendon Football Club NAB $4.0 million 30 November 2022
Port Adelaide Football Club Bank SA $5.0 million 6 December 2022
GCFC Limited NAB $1.19 million 30 April 2022
Western Sydney Football Club Limited NAB $1.53 million 30 April 2022
Sydney Swans Limited NAB $1.705 million 30 April 2022
Carlton Football Club Westpac $5.0 million 31 January 2023
Melbourne Football Club Westpac $3.5 million 31 January 2023
North Melbourne Football Club Westpac $3.0 million 31 January 2023
St Kilda Football Club Westpac $6.75 million 31 January 2023
Footscray Football Club Westpac $4.55 million 31 January 2023
Brisbane BearsͲFitzroy Football Club Westpac $8.0 million 31 January 2023

It's a very interesting concept that the AFL have basically accepted the continual denigration of their own asset, Docklands, that they own outright and backed the absolute lionization of the Government owned MCG. Really odd.

The MCG is as over rated as Docklands is under rated. Outside being big, there isn't anything particularly stand out about the MCG. Docklands, when it used to get decent crowds had a far better atmosphere. It's like the AFL have been bought off or something. Mafia style tactics.

It's a very interesting concept that the AFL have basically accepted the continual denigration of their own asset, Docklands, that they own outright and backed the absolute lionization of the Government owned MCG. Really odd.

The MCG is as over rated as Docklands is under rated. Outside being big, there isn't anything particularly stand out about the MCG. Docklands, when it used to get decent crowds had a far better atmosphere. It's like the AFL have been bought off or something. Mafia style tactics.

In fairness, the Vic Government price for the GF deal included upgrades to Docklands & its in progress as I understand.
I dont mind Docklands but cant deny the pull of the G. Both are very easily accessed by train.

The AFL are compromised by the FIXture, & the G's favoured (preferred) choice for Victorian club games. Throw in ensuring non Vic clubs get a run on the mandated GF ground.

In fairness, the Vic Government price for the GF deal included upgrades to Docklands & its in progress as I understand.
I dont mind Docklands but cant deny the pull of the G. Both are very easily accessed by train.

The AFL are compromised by the FIXture, & the G's favoured (preferred) choice for Victorian club games. Throw in ensuring non Vic clubs get a run on the mandated GF ground.
This $225 million "facelift" for Docklands as part of the corrupt MCG deal. What a ******* load of sh*t.

The big changes coming to Marvel Stadium in 2022

Sam Edmund has the latest.
www.sen.com.au

2 New Scoreboards

Town Square, located outside gates 1-3, will provide “an all-weather space” as an atrium amenities hub, while City Edge on the eastern side will bring together ticketing, merchandise and food and beverage outlets.

more bar and dining options within the stadium, along with a sensory and multi-faith room.

Team changerooms will also get an overhaul with dedicated women’s facilities.

This costs $225 million? Are they having a laugh? And this makes up half of the the corrupt MCG Deal?

The rest of the deal involves:

The sports package which is expected to total around $500million in funding overall is expected to include a revamp of other key facilities across the state – in part to enhance facilities for women's football - including:

• Ikon Park in Carlton
  • Mars Stadium in Ballarat
  • Casey Fields in Melbourne's south-east
  • Whitten Oval in Footscray
  • Victoria Park in Collingwood
  • Moorabbin Oval

How ******* dudded is the rest of the league? The rest of the country? The other 4 states that compete in the league? It's a ******* rort.

How much money has the AFL given to Port Adelaide, Brisbane, Gold Coast, GWS, Sydney, St Kilda, North Melbourne, Melbourne and Western Bulldogs over the past 5 years compared to the other 50% of the clubs?

According to the figures I saw in the article which was posted, the AFL have been keeping your club afloat.

We have the most socialist sporting competition in the WORLD with half of its clubs in varying degrees of welfare-dependency in order to compete.

Furthermore, the financially-successful clubs are taxed for spending more than the cap on their football departments. Clubs are also penalised for their on-field success, limited in how much they can spend on players and deprived of early draft picks to access the most talented juniors. It's a Mickey Mouse system of artificial parity, designed to keep everyone happy with cyclical eras of on-field success & failure.

Your own club is one of the chief beneficiaries of this "equalisation". If the AFL was was run under a free-market system like the football leagues in Europe, then Port Adelaide would be the equivalent of Everton, always outgunned and in the shadow of their bigger city rivals, Liverpool (i.e. the Crows) and battling relegation instead of competing for silverware.

... and yet you're still complaining about "rorts" and being "dudded"

Maybe you should show a little gratitude for everything the AFL does for its minnow clubs instead of constantly whining and moaning for more.

Let's not forget more than 50% of the AFL's clubs, players, paying spectators and television audience is from Victoria

I'm still trying to fathom why people from SA and WA feel entitled to complain about Victorian state government funding of various football facilities around Melbourne.

It's because it's a tradeoff of the MCG Grand Final deal, huh?

You guys still can't wrap your heads around the fact that the MCG is the home of football and the traditional, permanent venue for the Grand Final.
Isn't there another 200 page thread somewhere on that very issue where you and Papa G can pretend otherwise?

Let's not forget more than 50% of the AFL's clubs, players, paying spectators and television audience is from Victoria

I'm still trying to fathom why people from SA and WA feel entitled to complain about Victorian state government funding of various football facilities around Melbourne.

You guys still can't wrap your heads around the fact that the MCG is the home of football and the traditional, permanent venue for the Grand Final.
Isn't there another 200 page thread somewhere on that very issue where you and Papa G can pretend otherwise?
"more than 50% of the AFL's clubs, players, paying spectators and television audience is from Victoria"

100% of the benefits

"more than 50% of the AFL's clubs, players, paying spectators and television audience is from Victoria"

100% of the benefits
Rubbish

Port Adelaide fans can watch their team in a world-class stadium which cost $610,000,000 to rebuild.
Port didn't have to spend a cent. That was all due to government funding and AFL scheduling.

Same goes for the Perth clubs and their WA fans. They got a brand new, state-of-the-art, $1.6 billion stadium.

... and yet you're still complaining about "rorts" and being "dudded"

Maybe you should show a little gratitude for everything the AFL does for its minnow clubs instead of constantly whining and moaning for more.
He's an angry man still stuck in the 80's where the VFL was an evil entity stealing good SA lads, and all Victorians are baby eating monsters that exist to destroy West Horsham.

I try not to be harsh on him though- when your people only discovered fire 30 years ago it's to be expected that the campfire stories will be embellished and not a little excitable.

Rubbish

Port Adelaide fans can watch their team in a world-class stadium which cost $610,000,000 to rebuild.
Port didn't have to spend a cent. That was all due to government funding and AFL scheduling.

Same goes for the Perth clubs and their WA fans. They got a brand new, state-of-the-art, $1.6 billion stadium.
Those stadiums come out of our taxes, the same place Hawthorn gets 3m a year from via the Tasmanian government, which is funded mainly through federal money.

Edit - Sorry, it's 4m a year. If you add that onto the AFL money the Hawks get then it paints a decent picture of wear the hand outs sit. The main difference is the Hawks chose to head down to Tasmania while other minow clubs just get sent to crap places and timeslots with the cash injection going thru the AFL rather than via another government department.

We all understand the two bob snob factor. You sold your claimed birthright when the VFL admitted they couldnt stand on their own 2 feet & went looking for money anywhere they could find it.
Took the money & reneged on Aussie Rules football.

He's an angry man still stuck in the 80's where the VFL was an evil entity stealing good SA lads, and all Victorians are baby eating monsters that exist to destroy West Horsham.

I try not to be harsh on him though- when your people only discovered fire 30 years ago it's to be expected that the campfire stories will be embellished and not a little excitable.

You wouldnt remember the kid from NSW picking up 3 x Brownlows before taking the big money ..... in WA.

That thread got shutdown so now they're polluting another thread with their crazy, unintelligible conspiracy theories.

Great piece by Jake Niall here.

Basically its a summation of my posts on this forum over the journey lol.

You mean this thread ...

How the small Melbourne clubs saved footy :think:

Week after week St Kilda, the Dogs and North have occupied the crappy slots in the fixture.

So, remember what saved footy - the poor little Melbourne clubs paying off Docklands Stadium provided the league with the security it needed to get through this.

Id argue they havent lost power but accept the current dynamic for what it is.

Strong 18/19 club afl is good for them, and if it means they dont need to rely on the fickleness of fan $$, i reckon they take that.

A club the size of Richmond needing the tiger fund is warning enough to all, it can happen to anyone.

Rubbish

well if Tassie gets their own side in the AFL, they will get a brand new 27,000 seat stadium

100% of the benefits
AFL funding to clubs (2012-21)

$203m GWS Giants
$198m Gold Coast Suns
$160m Brisbane Lions
$156m St Kilda
$139m Western Bulldogs
$134m North Melbourne
$132m Melbourne
$122m Port Adelaide Power
$117m Sydney Swans
-----------------------------
$106m Carlton
$105m Richmond
$100m Essendon
$100m Adelaide Crows
$99m Fremantle
$96m Hawthorn
$96m Geelong Cats
$94m West Coast Eagles
$93m Collingwood

It looks to me like 6 of the 10 Victorian clubs have been paying their way, but only 3 of the 8 non-Vic clubs have done so.
I wouldn't mind seeing a summary of top 5 and top 10 draft picks for each club in that time frame either.

"100% of the benefits"... Pfft...

$203m GWS Giants
$198m Gold Coast Suns
$160m Brisbane Lions
$156m St Kilda
$139m Western Bulldogs
$134m North Melbourne
$132m Melbourne
$117m Sydney Swans
$106m Carlton
$105m Richmond
$100m Essendon
$100m Adelaide Crows
$99m Fremantle
$96m Hawthorn
$96m Geelong Cats
$94m West Coast Eagles
$93m Collingwood

It looks to me like 6 of the 10 Victorian clubs have been paying their way, but only 3 of the 8 non-Vic clubs have done so.
I wouldn't mind seeing a summary of top 5 and top 10 draft picks for each club in that time frame either.

$203m GWS Giants
$198m Gold Coast Suns
$160m Brisbane Lions
$156m St Kilda
$139m Western Bulldogs
$134m North Melbourne
$132m Melbourne
$117m Sydney Swans
$106m Carlton
$105m Richmond
$100m Essendon
$100m Adelaide Crows
$99m Fremantle
$96m Hawthorn
$96m Geelong Cats
$94m West Coast Eagles
$93m Collingwood

bomber blues tigers getting 12mil combined more then the anchors is a bit sus

Rubbish

Poor comparison. WA clubs pay a huge amount in rent every year. Vic clubs except Geelong pay zero.

How the AFL’s ‘power’ clubs have lost power