Vic How would you rate Daniel Andrews' performance as Victorian Premier? - Part 7

"the man arrested had been taunting police continuously."

Awww diddums.

Acting Sergeant Barratt - I believe you to be a piss-weak bed-wetter.

See you at Gate 3.
That's what happens when you appoint civil liberties lawyers as Magistrates

Where do you see this heading in the coming months?

Spending cuts. I would accept some cuts to other metro hospitals to bring them down to the level that my hospital is at. That would make me happy (yes I am very dark and twisted)

It will be interesting to see where though. Infrastructure and hospitals will be the last places to see cuts.

Last week it was announced Victorian Equal Opportunity and Human Rights Commission was getting cuts

It will be interesting to see where though. Infrastructure and hospitals will be the last places to see cuts.

Last week it was announced Victorian Equal Opportunity and Human Rights Commission was getting cuts

I think there will be near-zero new infrastructure commitments. With NEL already committed and resources stretched to capacity (LXRP, WGTP, NELP, Metro still going), there's no real need for additional funding of infrastructure. If you were hoping for a new road or rail upgrade not yet funded, I'd stop holding my breath.

No chance they cut health. But it's the first budget after an election landslide and with interest rate increases, I think there'll be a fair bit of cutting across the board.

I wouldn't be surprised to see quite a big slash and burn budget and Andrews and Pallas phase themselves out over the next 2 years and let Jacinta Allan release the good news budgets in 2025 and 2026 election promises before the 2026 election. I reckon Andrews will cut the ribbon on Melbourne Metro and then bow-out.

I think there will be near-zero new infrastructure commitments. With NEL already committed and resources stretched to capacity (LXRP, WGTP, NELP, Metro still going), there's no real need for additional funding of infrastructure. If you were hoping for a new road or rail upgrade not yet funded, I'd stop holding my breath.

No chance they cut health. But it's the first budget after an election landslide and with interest rate increases, I think there'll be a fair bit of cutting across the board.

I wouldn't be surprised to see quite a big slash and burn budget and Andrews and Pallas phase themselves out over the next 2 years and let Jacinta Allan release the good news budgets in 2025 and 2026 election promises before the 2026 election. I reckon Andrews will cut the ribbon on Melbourne Metro and then bow-out.
When i mean no infrastructure cuts, I doubt they will be winding back level crossing removals given it has been one of their signature policies. New projects probably on the backburner though

I'm sure the cuts will be widespread while also plenty of comments about fair access to GST to pass the blame onto the feds

the far right movement is an expected cultural/social/political response to the progressive strides victoria has taken in the last 20 or so years .... victoria was a fairly dour place built on the foundational power of conservative institutions such as religion, guilds, police, politics etc (until the 80's, power was a liberal party birthright)

people brought up within these hermetically sealed environments are struggling with the raft of social changes rooted in the various 'isms' of gender, race and queer politics .... by and large the modern world has left these people behind and their resentment is off the charts ... and here we are
This is not quite correct. Or at least in so much as it ignores the pendulum of late 19th century, through 20th century Victorian politics.

Victoria was the home of the labour movement in Australia, one of the first places in the world to champion and have widespread organising on behalf of the working class.

It was the home of Australia's industrial base, of education and Australian socialism. These things cane before the stunted social revanchism of the mid 20th century.

lol .... abc news reporting now that andrews has negotiated with greens/legalise canabis to deliver committee changes redlich has called for

leaving the libs to battle amongst themselves over whether they should play footsies with neo nazis and their like

We’re ****ed then

But it’ll be interesting to see how he cuts spending whilst going ahead with his 100 billion+ CFMEU donation suburban rail loop
Bro, this is an age old political trap. I honestly don't get why people like you bite.

Let unfriendly media embelish or spruik the worst, let the foamers foam and deliver a budget that is restrained but still improves on the necessities. See Albanese/the new Labor government.

Everyone but the cranks feel relieved and they themselves end up losing credibility. Both parties do it to some degree, except the odd true believer like Abbott. Regardless, no one announces painful cuts to programs like this, particularly the Libs, those tend to be done by stealth.

Bro, this is an age old political trap. I honestly don't get why people like you bite.

Let unfriendly media embelish or spruik the worst, let the foamers foam and deliver a budget that is restrained but still improves on the necessities. See Albanese/the new Labor government.

Everyone but the cranks feel relieved and they themselves end up losing credibility. Both parties do it to some degree, except the odd true believer like Abbott. Regardless, no one announces painful cuts to programs like this, particularly the Libs, those tend to be done by stealth.

I know the first thing he’ll cut funding to, but luckily for Victorians Albo has solved the climate crisis so bushfires should no longer be a threat so no need for a rural fire service.

I thought you moved interstate.

lol .... abc news reporting now that andrews has negotiated with greens/legalise canabis to deliver committee changes redlich has called for

leaving the libs to battle amongst themselves over whether they should play footsies with neo nazis and their like
Predicted both of these things. Legalisation of cannabis is bound to happen, since one of the parties holding the balance is just for that.

And the changes to IBAC are just what Redlich asked for (making oversight independent of Govt, as it should have been in the first place, but we all know Baillieu had good intentions.)

Now the Libs are frothing at the Greens that they don't get to run an investigation into nothing just to say that they're having an investigation and to give their MLAs and MLCs something to do other than attend rallies with nazis and then fight with each other about who is a nazi and who isn't.

What the Libs are really upset about is that they're irrelevant except to watch them eat each others' young.

^^^

my apologies, but seems my post has caused some confusion .......... should have read

abc news report now suggesting alp have negotiated with the greens AND the legalise cannabis party to introduce committee changes called for by robert redlich

like some in here, im hoping for changes to cannabis laws ..... but that was not mentioned in the abc report