Pakenhamsaint
TheBrownDog
- Jan 5, 2011
- AFL Club
- St Kilda
But after the tunneling starts on the SRL.And before the West Gate tunnel is opened

Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
But after the tunneling starts on the SRL.And before the West Gate tunnel is opened
Opened as in operational ?And before the West Gate tunnel is opened
fyi:But after the tunneling starts on the SRL.
In a word ... NOPE!Opened as in operational ?
'Metro Tunnel
![]()
About the Metro Tunnel Project
Find out more about the Metro Tunnel Project, including a project overview, frequently asked questions, sustainability and planning approvals.bigbuild.vic.gov.au
Train travel will be easier with more trains able to carry more people on the Sunbury, Cranbourne and Pakenham lines. A dedicated tunnel from Kensington to South Yarra will create a direct connection between the west and the south east.'
The Metro Tunnel is on track to be completed by 2025.'
Will it be completed on time ?
That 2025 target is already one year ahead of schedule. And don't be surprised if it opens late 2024.Opened as in operational ?
'Metro Tunnel
![]()
About the Metro Tunnel Project
Find out more about the Metro Tunnel Project, including a project overview, frequently asked questions, sustainability and planning approvals.bigbuild.vic.gov.au
Train travel will be easier with more trains able to carry more people on the Sunbury, Cranbourne and Pakenham lines. A dedicated tunnel from Kensington to South Yarra will create a direct connection between the west and the south east.'
The Metro Tunnel is on track to be completed by 2025.'
Will it be completed on time ?
Given the Western Line is at capacity as is I doubt he's canning it.fyi:
NSW Premier Chris Minns refuses to rule out cancelling or delaying Sydney Metro West project
![]()
$9bn cost blowout could see major Sydney rail project scrapped, NSW premier says
The new rail line which will cut travel time between Sydney's CBD and Parramatta to about 20 minutes has significantly blown out in costs.www.abc.net.au
New South Wales Premier Chris Minns has refused to rule out cancelling or delaying the $25 billion Metro West project, which would see travel time between Sydney's CBD and Parramatta slashed to about 20 minutes.
Key points:
- The premier says it's unlikely the project will be delivered at the estimated cost of $25 billion
- He says he needs to consider whether the project is value for money
- A transport expert says the project has a major impact on the construction of new housing
If we cannot afford the commonwealth games how can we afford the suburban rail loop? Dan must just think its monolopy money. Not surprising given he took 7 years to do an arts degree
One thing is a long term infrastructure that has long lasting benefits, the other is a a one time event for with a temporary boost to tourism and jobs. They're not really the same thing.
Attacking Dan for the time spent on his arts degree detracts from the argument and this fallacy seems to be the MO of right wingers, who fail to understand that it doesn't change the ability for someone to be able to make sound political or economic decisions.
But I'm sure you will respond with ad-honemines as that is your best skill.
Save money in a Liberal held seat, add another religious rightwinger to the party room and not risk a spill against Pesutto.
I don't know if I agree with the political calculus, but I understand it.
Ad hominem, short for argumentum ad hominem.But I'm sure you will respond with ad-honemines as that is your best skill.
Yes pursuing the Commonwealth Games when we were billions in debt was a sound economic decision.
Choosing to proceed with a Comm Games model that experts said wouldn't stack up and would unable to be delivered - and was proven correct - was a sound economic decision.
Sponsoring a netball team to the tune of $15 million was a sound investment?
We have a state debt well over $100 billion. Sound economic practice?
Sound economic practice is managing projects and keeping them to budget, something the Charlatan fails to do.
The fact he spent six years completing an arts degree and has never had a job outside the ALP machine are very valid points.
He had no worries sending businesses to the wall during COVID as he's never experience4d what it's like to work in one, let alone own one.
So, what are you, a virologist??
So there's nothing stopping an old bozo like me with an arts degree from making sound and rational decisions in your field.
Anyone can do it. Qualifications don't count.
I don't question the Charlatans ability to make political decisions as nearly every single one is based on politics and gain to himself and his party.
Victoria's credit rating speaks to the debt, higher interest rates .....
Ablett a former Liberal candidate and Aziz a former Labor candidate.the ibac report into john woodman has just dropped ...... have only skimmed 'the costellos' early reporting at this stage but it appears there was no adverse comments or findings against andrews - despite the strong whisper campaign trying to link him heavily to the investigation ...... go figure
looks like payments were made to members of the 2 main parties - but 'the costello' is suggesting the majority of those payments went to the libs .... go figure again
[edit] paves way for some major reforms on planning - perhaps those rumoured changes to increase height/density limits in and around transport hubs is now a goer
the ibac report into john woodman has just dropped ...... have only skimmed 'the costellos' early reporting at this stage but it appears there was no adverse comments or findings against andrews - despite the strong whisper campaign trying to link him heavily to the investigation ...... go figure
looks like payments were made to members of the 2 main parties - but 'the costello' is suggesting the majority of those payments went to the libs .... go figure again
[edit] paves way for some major reforms on planning - perhaps those rumoured changes to increase height/density limits in and around transport hubs is now a goer
The Premier is surrounded by up to 300 people in the Premiers Private Office whose sole job is to make him look good, and collectively they can’t get anything done without cost over runs, “grey” corruption and questionable decisions.Yet, we have posters hailing the Premier's ability to ace gender studies and political history over six years as competent.
Aziz is a liberal. Or was. He flipped from Labor at some pointAblett a former Liberal candidate and Aziz a former Labor candidate.
Yes pursuing the Commonwealth Games when we were billions in debt was a sound economic decision.
Choosing to proceed with a Comm Games model that experts said wouldn't stack up and would unable to be delivered - and was proven correct - was a sound economic decision.
Sponsoring a netball team to the tune of $15 million was a sound investment?
We have a state debt well over $100 billion. Sound economic practice?
Sound economic practice is managing projects and keeping them to budget, something the Charlatan fails to do.
The fact he spent six years completing an arts degree and has never had a job outside the ALP machine are very valid points.
He had no worries sending businesses to the wall during COVID as he's never experience4d what it's like to work in one, let alone own one.
So, what are you, a virologist??
So there's nothing stopping an old bozo like me with an arts degree from making sound and rational decisions in your field.
Anyone can do it. Qualifications don't count.
I don't question the Charlatans ability to make political decisions as nearly every single one is based on politics and gain to himself and his party.
Fair enough. I just reckon the Airport Rail Link should be given precedence over a suburban rail link. FMD, Brisbane has had an airport rail link for over a decade. Governments on both sides have dicked around on the Melbourne rail link for decades. Dan has now canned it twice in 9 years. I guess no votes in it.
That and the train to vfl parkI am very nearly resigned to it not being built in my lifetime.
Fair enough. I just reckon the Airport Rail Link should be given precedence over a suburban rail link. FMD, Brisbane has had an airport rail link for over a decade. Governments on both sides have dicked around on the Melbourne rail link for decades. Dan has now canned it twice in 9 years. I guess no votes in it.
Written and authorised by D. Andrews, MulgraveHosting the Commonwelth Games while in debt - risky, you say? Life is a risk! Besides, it's not like we splurged on a Lamborgini for the weekend. We aimed for something grander, something that put Victoria in the global spotlight, booted tourism, and potentially, could pay for itself.
That $15 million netball sponsorship - not a fan of the sport, eh? Jokes apart, this ain't just about netball. It's about community, health, and cheering for women's sports. Sure, we can debate about the direct financial gain, but its societal value? Priceless.
State debt north of $100 billion? Scary number, I agree but we're not blowing it on diamond-encrusted toilets. We're investing in infrastructure, education, healthcare - the stuff that makes Victoria a better place. If debt equals improved standard of living and a sturdy future economy, then we're onto something!
And oh, Dan's arts degree and his "lack of job experience" outside of the ALP - I almost spilt my coffee! I mean, Churchill led Britain in WWII without a military degree and Elon Musk launched a car into space without being aeronautical engineer. Degrees and jobs aren’t a guaranteed measure of ability or success. Leadership, mate, is a whole different ball game.
As for his handling of COVID, yes, he made tough decisions. You can say he "sent businesses to the wall" or maybe he prioritized saving lives. Tough choice? Easier than picking what next binge-watch on Netflix.
Your can chime in on whatever you want, but when it comes to the nitty-gritty, best leave the science to the scientists and policy-making to the policymakers.
Political decisions are a careful balancing act with countless variables. Critiquing these decisions is fair game, but let's make sure we're adding a dash of nuance and respect for complexity. Sound fair?
It won't be.I am very nearly resigned to it not being built in my lifetime.
Written and authorised by D. Andrews, Mulgrave
Prioritised saving lives .. lol.
People died because of his COVID 'quarntine' debacle.
You miss the point. The Comm Games were "NEVER' going to pay for themselves.