Olympiakos, McLaren
as being rumoured in the papers et al can secure daniel kerr from west coast and we are not able to (provided the board chases him - and they bloody better) we will look like a second rate club.. those scumbags will have one of the best best midfields and be a genuine chance if they snare kerr.. if we get him i have no dout he along with cousins can get us the flag...

basically if kerr is available and we are unable to snare him ahead of carlton it willbe another lost opportunity our club has failed to seize.. WE NEED TO GET A BIG NAME TO OUR CLUB>>

I would love Kerr at the club but will have concerns as to what he will cost us as he is still under contract.

I cant see why Carlton would want him TBH.
Considering that they would have to pay over the odds you would think that the midfield is the 1 area that they don't need to sell the farm for.

Lets face it. Carlton get the big players because there management move heaven and earth to ensure they get what they want.

Our management do just that. THey manage the expectations of us supporters. Do just another to make it appear that they are trying, manage the PR, but really, I don't think they really want to sign big players. Collingwood would much rather grow there own talent.....and just as us supporters over rate our players...do does our management.

The fact...we don't and never will sign the big players because we overrate our own.

We should of got Judd last year...but didn't for that very reason. When Judd asked us how we would get him to Collingwood...we should of told him that we would do everything in our power to make the deal happen.

Thats what Carlton told him. But no....we told him to not worry bout that side of things....

And the rest is history.

How could they possibly have room in the salary cap for him after Judd and Fevola?

visy.jpg

If they get kerr to go with judd and Fevola, they cant possibly afford murphy, gibbs, kruezer stevens etc.

SO either they cheat andthey'll get caught again (ill laugh) or they lose some very good young kids (and ill laugh) and it will result in them become shitful again.

There is no way even with pay cuts they could possibly afford those players together

We should of got Judd last year...but didn't for that very reason. When Judd asked us how we would get him to Collingwood...we should of told him that we would do everything in our power to make the deal happen.

Thats what Carlton told him. But no....we told him to not worry bout that side of things....

yes thats why they so stubbornly refused to give him pick no.1 :rolleyes:

this obsession with signing a big name is ridicilous. its as if we dont care who as long as its a big name. brown, kerr cousins anyone!

mind you i would love Kerr at the pies and reckon we should do everything we can short of selling the farm.

I'm still glad we didn't get Judd, but I think Kerr is more achievable this year.

Having said that, Carlton won't win a flag with Fevola at FF, he's too selfish, and so I'm glad he's contracted there for 3 years. I'd have preferred he got a two-year deal, because then they couldn't have back-ended it into his veteran list year, but you can't have everything.

I'm still glad we didn't get Judd, but I think Kerr is more achievable this year.

Having said that, Carlton won't win a flag with Fevola at FF, he's too selfish, and so I'm glad he's contracted there for 3 years. I'd have preferred he got a two-year deal, because then they couldn't have back-ended it into his veteran list year, but you can't have everything.

WTF!! How on earth can you say that? The only question when Judd moved to Carlton was whether he could be as good for them as he was for West Coast. So far, he has ticked all the boxes - and all this without a full pre-season under his belt.

I can say that because we probably would have lost our FB in NJ Brown, we wouldn't have picked up Wood, and we probably would also have lost one Reid or another highly rated player.

Kerr is more "achievable" in the sense that I don't think he'll cost as much, especially this year when by all reports, clubs are valuing draft picks more highly than ever before, and established players are set to be traded for less than ever before.

WTF!! How on earth can you say that? The only question when Judd moved to Carlton was whether he could be as good for them as he was for West Coast. So far, he has ticked all the boxes - and all this without a full pre-season under his belt.

Exactly, Judd has also taken the tag away from Stevens and Murphy, both have been dominating this year and Carlton are back in finals contention.

as being rumoured in the papers et al can secure daniel kerr from west coast and we are not able to (provided the board chases him - and they bloody better) we will look like a second rate club.. those scumbags will have one of the best best midfields and be a genuine chance if they snare kerr.. if we get him i have no dout he along with cousins can get us the flag...

basically if kerr is available and we are unable to snare him ahead of carlton it willbe another lost opportunity our club has failed to seize.. WE NEED TO GET A BIG NAME TO OUR CLUB>>
Fear not, after difficult and protacted negotiations over Judd last year the Weagles won't be bent over again and won't be dealing with Carlton. And the scum don't have the leverage that finishing near the bottom allows. They'll be after key poistions types preferably one to shore up their rank back six (I noticed Brad Moran tore them a new one) or a tall that can play accross half forward.

Jeez, Brad Moran did look good for Pick #53 or so, didn't he? Still, it's hard to match up on a 200cm player who at one stage held the 20m sprint record. He's very mobile and the very definition of a project player, but he's some project.

While Judd looks good at the moment for Carlton deals such as this need to be assessed over years.
WCE will need to look ar what Kennedy and their draft picks do with their careers, they may well as a group outshine what Judd brings to Carl.

As TRS said look at what you have to give up before you blindly say Kerr or Brown or whoever is worth it. No one should say we want Kerr no matter the cost.

Gotta wait for a proposal before weighing it up and then you wont know for years if it really paid off (unless you deal with Freo then its pretty much a given you win).

Remember unlike Judd Kerr is still contract which gives WCE leverage

Two top ten draft picks is what they can ask for, as Kerr is under contract. If that's what they're insisting on, Kerr will probably be there until the end of 2009, and then if he's not re-signed they won't have any leverage.

AFAIC, for Daniel Kerr, Reid and Thomas are expendable, as well as our first round pick. I don't think Reid will have anywhere near the same trade value as he might have last season as his skill set is more well known now i.e shocking kick of the footy and a long way away from being AFL ready.

Thomas might not have as good a trade value either if he keeps up his current form. I'd negotiate to give them any two of Thomas, Reid and our first rounder for Kerr and at a push if pressed, all three. I'd say Thomas and the first is what they'd want from those options, which is looking like being a top 10er atm. They would almost certainly ask for Pendles though, which I wouldn't do, but hopefully Kerr's injury concerns allow a reduction in his value. Pies management should get over the old school loyalty to individual players and realise that it's a business with the business being trying to win a flag. If there is a genuine opportunity to help achieve that goal, then it should be relentlessly pursued, not half heartedly. It's about Collingwood footy club, not Dale Thomas or any other individual player no matter how well loved. I guarantee if Thomas left and Kerr came, after one season of Kerr tearing it up in the middle on the way to a flag, everyone will have forgotten about Thomas and will have Kerr's number on their backs.

As to concerns about giving up too much, IMO one genuine superstar is always more valuable than 2 or even 3 good players. Thomas and Reid will never be the superstars people want to make their potential out to be, there are too many flaws in their skill set and physique. Reid might not even be a good AFL player. And the draft pick is a lottery.

Despite what anyone says about simply getting a 'big name', Daniel Kerr fills our biggest weakness and would be desirable for the reason that he is on form probably the best inside-outside midfielder in the comp and the exact type of player we are in dire need of. He would guarantee us a genuine Premiership tilt next season I think. As it stands, any Premiership challenge within the next few years depends on faith that our kids can fill their potential. You aren't going to win anything relying on faith, it's always better to be pro-active.

Fear not, after difficult and protacted negotiations over Judd last year the Weagles won't be bent over again and won't be dealing with Carlton.

Thats exactly what I was thinking. I was under the impression that WC were pretty annoyed with Carlton re Judd, and can't see them doing the Blues any favours at all.

Everyone is forgetting one simple but most important fact. If Kerr decides to leave WCE, there is only one Melbourne club he wants to play for and that is Carlton. Pratt has a $35 million acquisition fund and they have only invested about $8 million of that in Judd. Kerr will chose Carlton because his best mate Judd plays for them and Pratt can insure his life after football.

This is not salary cap cheating as a players income after football dose not come into the equation. I have been led top believe that Kerr's salary demands have been calculated at Carlton and as Jon Ralph reported, they have asked players to take a pay cut. This appears to have been agreed to by the Carlton players.

The sticking point will be the Eagles. As Kerr is under contract, the Eagles can make it difficult for Kerr to leave. Although I am led to believe that Carlton are prepared to legally challenge the AFL's rules as being a restraint of trade. Many legal experts have predicted that the AFL's laws would not stand up in any court in Australia, so the Eagles hand may be forced into dealing with Carlton.

So where does this leave us? Well as Kerr only is interested in leaving the WCE for Carlton, I think we should keep well out of the way. As 2008 will the last uncompromised draft for a few years and by all reports a very good one, I would look to get as many top 10 picks as possible. Although this will be dificult because we don't really have anyone that would greatly interest any other team at the moment aside from our better 20-24 year olds. For example, we would be lucky to get a third round pick for Josh Fraser, so what would the point be in trading him. Maybe Ben Reid may get some interest and I would be all for trading him as he is a dreadful kick and always will be a dreadful kick

One thing is certain , we have to get the 2008 draft absolutely right, otherwise we can forget about premierships for many years.