Ins & Outs vs St Kilda.

PS. Just on CJ, if Daniel Merret can be a solid key defender, there is no reason why CJ cant. They are very similar IMO. Its just that CJ hasnt been given opportunity at AFL level because of Mal, Fletch and Ryder.

In the press conference Knights said that Winders was just tired from lacking match fitness. Should play.

take it easy we lost tonight because we ran out of fit players

mcveigh
lonergon
mcphee -was playing concused
hille - shoulder was ____ed
laycock - got no hands he has had amptitation at both wrists:confused: at least it would explain why he cant take a mark. but seriously he look out of it when he got that hit in the mouth ????Pea heart maybe

+

Winderlich + Michael

After considering the reports from bendigo:

In: Welsh, Monfries, Myers. CJ?
Out: McVeigh, Lonergan, Reimers. Pev?

Monfries will get a run in the midfield.

Myers will play HB and free up Houli and Winders to get into the midfield more and make up for McVeigh and Lonergan being out.

Welsh will give us more forward Structure.

We may well keep Pev to run around with Harvey. If Harvey is out then we might drop Pev and bring CJ in.

CJ will help down back if needed in order to free up Fletch (Covering Kosi) or will otherwise push forward. He will help us keep our structure there playing a Lloyd-like role. Laycock just can't play the big forward role and will be better suited to popping down from the ruck from time to time to mix things up.

Slattery will tag a forward or run with Dal Santo so he'll stay in.

Well put together, think that we have to play a big person up forward, Johns, Fletcher, Mal, Ryder or even a neagle/daniher. One of the reasons we lost on friday night was that Hille and Laycock had nothing left in the tank from rucking and running down forward all night, need another target to present up there and give the big fellas a bit of a break, until Lloyd, Lucas and Gumby are right

Ins: Welsh, Monfries, Myers
OUts: McVeigh(inj), Lonergan(inj), Pears(omit)

I'm praying that Winderlich, Hille and Michael can come up.

I would have been willing to swap Pev for JJ as I think JJ is a dome specialist. The 5 day break from the VFL game rules out picking him as he played the whole game and Welsh only 3/4.

Myers to replace Pears as a like for like swap.

PS. Just on CJ, if Daniel Merret can be a solid key defender, there is no reason why CJ cant. They are very similar IMO. Its just that CJ hasnt been given opportunity at AFL level because of Mal, Fletch and Ryder.

There are many reasons.

To be a good fullback you need footy smarts and an ability to read the play and judge the flight of the ball through the air, among many others.

Johns has none of these.

Why are we calling for Pears to be dropped ? He did a few good things the other night and is fit and able to play.He did not do much at CHF but he has not really played CHF before at any level so i would hardly expect him to come up and star there in his first game.
If this year is about developing the kids then why are some calling for him to be dropped after one game ? Im sure a few of you where saying that they should get two or three games in a row rather than being in and out every second week. Pears stays in for mine and Myers has another run with Bendigo as i do not like to see young blokes coming into the seniors off a platform of one game for Bendigo.

If Myers isn't 100% ready then I'd keep Reimers in of course, I had just thought that he'd been training well for a while and had pulled up ok from the Bendigo game.

So you are happy for players to come into the side after playing just one Bendigo game after an injury lay off ?

Why are we calling for Pears to be dropped ? He did a few good things the other night and is fit and able to play.He did not do much at CHF but he has not really played CHF before at any level so i would hardly expect him to come up and star there in his first game.
If this year is about developing the kids then why are some calling for him to be dropped after one game ? Im sure a few of you where saying that they should get two or three games in a row rather than being in and out every second week. Pears stays in for mine and Myers has another run with Bendigo as i do not like to see young blokes coming into the seniors off a platform of one game for Bendigo.

Because if you are not a young fast runner you get very little recognition on this board.

Agree with all of the above.

After considering the reports from bendigo:

In: Welsh, Monfries, Myers. CJ?
Out: McVeigh, Lonergan, Reimers. Pev?

Monfries will get a run in the midfield.

Myers will play HB and free up Houli and Winders to get into the midfield more and make up for McVeigh and Lonergan being out.

Welsh will give us more forward Structure.

Reimers would be the last youngster dropped. He had a solid game against the Dogs.

In: Welsh, Monfries, (Neagle)
Out: Mcveigh, Lonergan, (Pears/Peverill)

Welsh and Monfries in for Mcveigh and Lonergan is pretty straight forward. Welsh is oging to have to play very well in order to fill the void left my Mcveigh.

I think like some of the others we need one more tall marking forward while Lucas Lloyd and Gumby are out. Im not sure about the situation Neagle is in, some people say he didnt play for bendigo because he is still getting over some injury worries others say he was being rested for this week against st kilda. If it is the ladder he should come in for either pears or peverill. Pears was pretty good considering and i wouldnt want to see him dropped so im thinking peverill but then i thought pev wasnt too bad on friday either. However one will need to be dropped for neagle if he is fit

Reimers would be the last youngster dropped. He had a solid game against the Dogs.

Agreed, although some of his kicking was ordinary. That said I have always said that this is a development year and playing Remiers will only serve us better for next season anyway

You could mount that argument for more than half our team I reckon

Yeah, good point.

I forgot about Myers injury and thought he was running ok for a few weeks. 5 day break would be no good also.

Myers for Anzac day.

You could mount that argument for more than half our team I reckon

Absolutely, and I want Reimers in the side, as to be honest anyone who believes otherwise is silly considering we are building for 2011.

You would have to think if Lloyd is not fit, then Johns will get a go. What is the point in having him on the list if he gets BOG for Bendigo playing forward, we are short of forwards and you still don't play him?

So you are happy for players to come into the side after playing just one Bendigo game after an injury lay off ?

I was under the impression he'd been back in full training for a while before this game. If he hadn't been that obviously changes things. He played the game out and was good from reports. So if he's 100% fit with a game under his belt then why not?

You would have to think if Lloyd is not fit, then Johns will get a go. What is the point in having him on the list if he gets BOG for Bendigo playing forward, we are short of forwards and you still don't play him?
Mate i was at the game BOG thats bullshit he played ok... Myers and JJ should play friday night. skipworth should be on bombers list he is what we need in the midfield

From essendonfc.com.au

Essendon captain, Matthew Lloyd, could play this Friday night against St Kilda after an MRI scan today cleared him of any major damage in his right calf. The scans showed Lloyd has a build up of fluid in the calf which caused the soreness that kept him out of last weekend's game.

I am, if he is 100% fit. Why not.

Becasue he is coming of a 5 day break after playing his first game for 5 weeks to start with. I would like to see him get through a couple of games to get his match fitness up.

Myers is a few weeks away yet. With the amount of hamstring problems we have suffered of late, it would pointless risking another underdone player, particularly a youngster. JJ will have to be one of the inclusions with Monfries another. Hopefully reports are true and Lloyd will also be available for selection.:thumbsu: