J.Riewoldt vs J.Sellar

• Thread starter Thread starter _RT_

SANFL reserves? FLAMO!

Glenelg's SANFL Reserves team would roll the worst VFL team.

People underestimate the SANFL as a league, did anyone miss the VFL v SANFL? It was humiliating for the VFL.

At Glenelg in the seniors there are many options for key forward, they wont go to Sellar because he isn't going to be a perminate fixture in their team, so they use him as a filler guy, plays some ruck some forward, mostly plays sit down on the pine, it's good for him to be dropped to the magoos so he can play more than 20 minutes of footy in a game, and he showed he's mor than upto at least good SANFL level, i'd actually like to see him and Walker come in for us this week.

Jack's only about 6'3 6'4, he's a 3rd tall. Sellar is a laarge CHF, give him time, Jack is doing well though, you can tell he wants to be out there.
Yeah Sellar is a huge 4cm taller, TOWERING MAN!!!!!!!
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
This is approx. how much taller Sellar is than Riewoldt.

If we had this pick again i'd pick Sellar every time, no blight against Jack but he'll never be able to dominate the way Sellar 'potentially' could.

Height is always a risky pick and in 4 years there will be a winner, at the moment Jack is obviously ahead, but good to see when Sellar gets game time, even if in the magoos, he does well, 12 k 12 hb 2 gls (5 reported on afc)

what in the sanfl magoos ??

haha

pretty sure jack JUST DID dominate at the highest level :)

Yeah Sellar is a huge 4cm taller, TOWERING MAN!!!!!!!
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
This is approx. how much taller Sellar is than Riewoldt.

If you were a sports fan you would know that some players 'listed' height is rubbish. Watch some NBA, you'll see.

Sellar chips in the ruck and Jack looks like he should be roving to it.

Im not having a go at Jack witht his, if you don't know but he will never be a FF or CHF, if you saw the 2 together you would see a rather large height and size diff.

what in the sanfl magoos ??

haha

pretty sure jack JUST DID dominate at the highest level :)

your defenition of 'dominate' must be watered down by going to a few too many TIgers games over the past few years, he didn't touch the leather in the first, and kicked 5 on Hunter.....lol Hunter....back to topic, He had a very good game, but dominate is something J Brown does

Boom! Jack Rising star for this week....
I really think the Poll on this thread needs to be re-started, would love to see how it went then

Im not having a go at Jack with this, if you don't know but he will never be a FF or CHF, if you saw the 2 together you would see a rather large height and size diff.
Curious, didn't Jack just kick 5 goals at CHF this week?

What rubbish. Jack is now 193 cm and just as tall as his cousin Nick. His height isn't holding him back, if anything it is his speed.

LOL @ this thread.

In 2 years time Jack Riewoldt won't be fit to lick the scum off Jims boots.

Sellar >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> Riewoldt.

What is happening with Sellar?

He looked like a potential A grade talent after the game in Dubai, so I voted Sellar in the poll.

Yet Sellar hasn't gone on with it and played more than one game this year. :confused:

He generally has a little way to go, he has put on big kg's from last year when he was still recovering from being sick.

He's work ethic has improved and now just needs some game time. Unfortunatly he's playing with Glenelg who has 4 25yo SANFL forwards who they'd rather play before him (he's a crow and when he hits form he's coming up so why play him when you dont have to).

He got dropped to the Magoos last week and had 24 touches 2 goals and plenty of hit out when he went ruck bound.

Apparently the most impressive thing about him was his leadership out on the field, he would be barking throughout the game and made a lot of second efforts and ran well to provide contests.

He WILL be a very good player, he's still 19 and very raw.

What is happening with Sellar?

He looked like a potential A grade talent after the game in Dubai, so I voted Sellar in the poll.

Yet Sellar hasn't gone on with it and played more than one game this year. :confused:

Probably still a year away from having anywhere near the fitness required to play at the highest level. Still is an A grade talent but just needs time to develop. Heaps of Crows fans are angry he's not pulling a Buddy and monstering the competition but nor are many of the other KP prospects in his draft and they are all older than James.

Will play 250 games for the AFC

I think you'll find that the SANFL is at a much higher level than the VFL, the SANFL standard is quite high. WOuldn't ever compare it to the VFL which is the 4th best league in the country, Ask anyone with half a brain and they'll confirm that for you. ;)

SANFL a much higher standard than VFL? I don't think so. Non-AFL listed players that play in the SANFL are probably better than the Non-AFL listed players playing in the VFL, as they proved when they beat VFL earlier this season in the state game. However, there are more AFL-listed players in the VFL so you need to take that into consideration.

Exactly, Miller is a draft day Genius......Fiora, Oakly Nicholes, Casserly, no Franklin, Gilmour, Roach etc

Fiora: - Dud. A definate mistake not taking Pavlich.
Oakley-Nicholls: - Signs don't look good but considering he has been injured a fair bit, I'm not giving up all hope. But yeah possibly another mistake.
Casserly: - He showed promise in the NAB Cup game earlier in the season but yeah he isn't going as planned. But he was selected with pick 40. In the third round, not the first round. Plenty of players from that draft turned out duds and were selected before Casserly.
No Franklin: - Yep I really wished we pick Franklin, obviously. But it wasn't a draft blunder because I'm pretty sure that nearly every other club would have taken Tambling in front of Franklin before that draft. Coming into the draft he was rated higher and Hawthorn even said they hoped that we picked Franklin. Most phantom drafts predicted that Tambling would go with pick number two.
Gilmour: - Dud. But he was a second round selection so not a huge worry. It was also in a terrible draft. Raphael Clarke (8), David Trotter (9), Ryley Dunn (10), Ryan Murphy (12), Fergus Watts (14), Josh Willoughby (16), Billy Morrison (17) and Llane Spaanderman (18) all were selected before him and were probably just as big as stuff ups. Clarke, Dunn, Murphy etc. aren't complete duds but the teams that drafted them would have been disappointed. The picks immediately after Gilmour weren't too flash either.
Roach: - He was from the same draft as Gilmour and I've already explained how that draft turned out.

SANFL a much higher standard than VFL? I don't think so. Non-AFL listed players that play in the SANFL are probably better than the Non-AFL listed players playing in the VFL, as they proved when they beat VFL earlier this season in the state game. However, there are more AFL-listed players in the VFL so you need to take that into consideration.

Fiora: - Dud. A definate mistake not taking Pavlich.
Oakley-Nicholls: - Signs don't look good but considering he has been injured a fair bit, I'm not giving up all hope. But yeah possibly another mistake.
Casserly: - He showed promise in the NAB Cup game earlier in the season but yeah he isn't going as planned. But he was selected with pick 40. In the third round, not the first round. Plenty of players from that draft turned out duds and were selected before Casserly.
No Franklin: - Yep I really wished we pick Franklin, obviously. But it wasn't a draft blunder because I'm pretty sure that nearly every other club would have taken Tambling in front of Franklin before that draft. Coming into the draft he was rated higher and Hawthorn even said they hoped that we picked Franklin. Most phantom drafts predicted that Tambling would go with pick number two.
Gilmour: - Dud. But he was a second round selection so not a huge worry. It was also in a terrible draft. Raphael Clarke (8), David Trotter (9), Ryley Dunn (10), Ryan Murphy (12), Fergus Watts (14), Josh Willoughby (16), Billy Morrison (17) and Llane Spaanderman (18) all were selected before him and were probably just as big as stuff ups. Clarke, Dunn, Murphy etc. aren't complete duds but the teams that drafted them would have been disappointed. The picks immediately after Gilmour weren't too flash either.
Roach: - He was from the same draft as Gilmour and I've already explained how that draft turned out.

Didnt mean to have a go but someoine knocked our selcting, that's all.

You make a good point about the 05 draft....what rubbish was in there

Last time I checked the Crows foward line is their biggest problem. Gill, Jericho, Tippet, etc are hardly setting the world on fire. You take out Porplyzia and Burton and its very average looking. So in reality, Sellar should have been given a run by know.

And to that idiot saying Glenelg Reserves could beat VFL seniors, you are an idiot. The only reason SANFL is better then the VFL is because the average age of a VFL list is about 20, while its about 24 in the SANFL.

He generally has a little way to go, he has put on big kg's from last year when he was still recovering from being sick.

He's work ethic has improved and now just needs some game time. Unfortunatly he's playing with Glenelg who has 4 25yo SANFL forwards who they'd rather play before him (he's a crow and when he hits form he's coming up so why play him when you dont have to).

He got dropped to the Magoos last week and had 24 touches 2 goals and plenty of hit out when he went ruck bound.

Apparently the most impressive thing about him was his leadership out on the field, he would be barking throughout the game and made a lot of second efforts and ran well to provide contests.

He WILL be a very good player, he's still 19 and very raw.

Probably still a year away from having anywhere near the fitness required to play at the highest level. Still is an A grade talent but just needs time to develop. Heaps of Crows fans are angry he's not pulling a Buddy and monstering the competition but nor are many of the other KP prospects in his draft and they are all older than James.

Will play 250 games for the AFC
Cheers.

The fact no one gives KPP and rucks, let alone young mids more time to prove themselves and stick the knives in them publically shits me to tears.

Kernahan didn't debut until he was 23.

Hamill's first year was a write off due to injury, but he debuted in round 17 the following year and played in a semi-final.

There's still plenty of time for Sellar to show his talent this year when Burton is out and they need a forward.

The VFL is better a league than the SANFL when the best kids drafted by Vic clubs are playing VFL.

Cheers.

The VFL is better a league than the SANFL when the best kids drafted by Vic clubs are playing VFL.

Perhaps its better as a lame feeder league, but it is NOT a better league from a structural, attendance, quality, competition and legitimate point of view.

Its a league you can go and watch for the sake of watching it because its a good competition. Anyone who suggests that the VFL is a better league than the SANFL has rocks in their head, you are wrong, wrong, wrong, wrong.

What happened in the SANFL vs VFL game a while back, or right, SANFL won.

Last time I checked the Crows foward line is their biggest problem. Gill, Jericho, Tippet, etc are hardly setting the world on fire. You take out Porplyzia and Burton and its very average looking. So in reality, Sellar should have been given a run by know.

And to that idiot saying Glenelg Reserves could beat VFL seniors, you are an idiot. The only reason SANFL is better then the VFL is because the average age of a VFL list is about 20, while its about 24 in the SANFL.

And i'm the idiot.

I don't care about the average age, was that my arguement? that it's younger? NO.

It's better, and yes the Glenelg reserves would beat the worst VFL League side.

And i'm the idiot.

I don't care about the average age, was that my arguement? that it's younger? NO.

It's better, and yes the Glenelg reserves would beat the worst VFL League side.

Well the ladder shows that Box Hill Hawks are the worst side in the VFL. Are you saying that Glenelg reserves could beat this side?

Box Hill Hawks:

Cameron Hunter
Digby Morrell
Nathan Batsanis
Lukas Markovic
Cameron Pedersen
Alister Neville
Bradley Neil
David Marcius
Sam Gibson
Beau Dowler
Mitchell Thorp
Zac Dawson
Lachlan Mcqueen-Miscamble
Tim Walsh
Alex Grima
Cameron Stokes
Joel Cross
Thomas Warby
Ben Smithwick
George Angelopoulos
Lachlan Carey
Tim Clarke

Well the ladder shows that Box Hill Hawks are the worst side in the VFL. Are you saying that Glenelg reserves could beat this side?

Box Hill Hawks:

Cameron Hunter
Digby Morrell
Nathan Batsanis
Lukas Markovic
Cameron Pedersen
Alister Neville
Bradley Neil
David Marcius
Sam Gibson
Beau Dowler
Mitchell Thorp
Zac Dawson
Lachlan Mcqueen-Miscamble
Tim Walsh
Alex Grima
Cameron Stokes
Joel Cross
Thomas Warby
Ben Smithwick
George Angelopoulos
Lachlan Carey
Tim Clarke

1. I don't think their the worst team.

2. hahaha Zac Dawson

The ladder shows that they're the worst team. Second worst is Collingwood. Do you want me to name their list?

It's probably worse, but i dont rate the collingwood or tassie in the vfl.

And you can go name as many afl listed players as you want but they don't play as much of a team game when theres fringe afl players in there going in and out.