Jonathan Brown vs Nick Riewoldt

Nick Riewoldt vs jonathan Brown

• Nick Riewoldt

Votes: 1 100.0%
  • Jonathan Brown

Votes: 0 0.0%

JB has IMO outperformed him despite the fact St. Kilda have an extremely strong midfield this year. Have to go with him.

Jonathan Brown could finish with 80-90 goals for a CHF . :eek:

I reckon the big fella will get the MVP this year.

opinion changes pretty often in footy hey, before Brown bagged 8 against the terrible kangaroos a couple weeks back this would have had a pretty obvious answer.

Riewoldt's had a more consistent and better season in my opinon. both are a fair distance ahead of every other tall forward in the league

Yeah Riewoldt's been more consistent than Brown, both this year and over their careers, which gets him my vote.

Quite different players though, Brown at his best is probably better than Riewoldt in terms of strength and goal scoring but Riewoldt is a better running, lead up type forward.

Calling Browny 'not as consistent' is a difficult argument given that the guy has kicked multiple goals in every game this season.

Maybe it's just me, but that is indicative of consistency

Riewoldt hasn't really had a bad game this year except maybe first game vs sydne i would take Roo browny is having a great season though.

Brown is leading Riewoldt by 11 goals and is leading the Coleman by 4 goals despite the Lions midfield not being as good as the Saints.

Brown for me though Riewoldt has been very good.

Brown is leading Riewoldt by 11 goals and is leading the Coleman by 4 goals despite the Lions midfield not being as good as the Saints.

Brown for me though Riewoldt has been very good.

I don't think placing either above the other is really insulting to the other, both have been fantastic.

Now, obviously I'll say Browny, but I'll try and justify it:
-Has kicked 11 more goals
-Has not kicked less than 2 goals in a match (Riewoldt has done this 3 times, I think)
-Brown cops some of the worst treatment from the opposition, out of all the big forwards, but refuses to dive, throw his arms in the air (though there was one or two occasions where enough was simply enough) etc etc
-Has had to cope with often CRAP delivery. The epiphany of this was against Melbourne, when he pushed back, found 15m of space, only to see to Scott Harding, under no pressure whatsoever, miss him by a good 10m.
-Has has to cope with LESS delivery. Let's face it, when you're on 11 wins, compared to 18, chances are the ball sends less time in your forward line.
-Brown more often than not, will have 2 opponents, one directly on him, the other blocking his space, or running across and being the third man up. Think he had about 3 on the weekend.:thumbsd:

paulige: the first 2 are very valid points, which would be even more valid if we were discussing 2 FF's or at least 2 blokes playing the same role. Brown kicks more goals and does a bit more closer to goal, Riewoldt gets more marks, touches, tackles, inside 50s and goal assists. Who's had more influence overall? Well obviously this is where we disagree.

In regards to your 3rd and last points, I think you'll find all star forwards cop multiple opponents and scragging, Riewoldt is no different. I know people love to play him up as the umpires love child but the fact is he is regularly molested without reward, and usually has another bloke blocking his space. The points about worse delivery are spot on.

btw just to clarify my saying Brown wasn't consistent earlier, I mean bar the first round or 2, Riewoldt has clearly been the number 1 CHF for a vast majority of the year, and until recently he stood alone as the only decent key forward. An example of what I'm talking about is if you look back through the AA team thread, for the first half of the season most people had Franklin, Fev and Tredrea equal or ahead of Brown, and only recently has he become a lock. Riewoldt however has been one of the top players the entire year.

One last thought I was having is that Brown is in a very similar position this year to what Riewoldt was in this time last year in regards to their teams. Riewoldt stood up and single handedly dragged St Kilda into the top 4, it'll be interesting if Brown can do the same for Brisbane. If he struggles replicate Roo's heroics last year, you'd find it tough to say he's better this year consider Roo's having a better 09 than he did 08

I voted Riewoldt.

Yeah same. Just has a bigger tank, if he goes cold in a match he still has an impact on the game being big grabs or maybe a match winning goal he is the reason the Saints are undefeated.

The fact that Bogan Brown is leading this poll, is further proof as to the quality (or lack thereof) of the football knowledge of supporters on this site.

Riewoldt. Brown may kick more goals but that's because Brisbane's midfielders only kick to him in the forward line. When it comes to Brisbane, like 75% of kicks go to brown, 20% to Bradshaw and 5% to all the others. Riewoldt on the other hand sets up play a lot more than Brown as he gets 80m leads up the ground and he's one of the hardest triers out of all the AFL players.

Riewoldt. Just as courageous, but less of a thuggish bogan than Brown. Insane mark, great engine and really inspiring.

I agree. After the weekend, I noticed how much of a thug and bogan Leigh Brown actually is. Not sure why you're comparing Riewoldt with him though, it's actually insulting to Roo.

But really.
You consider incorrectly labeling J.Brown a bogan and thug, as a means of comparing the two. Your opinion is no doubt invaluable.

Could've sworn Browny is also an insane mark (#1 for contested marks in the Comp), has a massive engine (runs all day), and is really inspiring (doesn't give in to cheap little snipers like Leigh Brown), setting a fantastic example for our team.

paulige: the first 2 are very valid points, which would be even more valid if we were discussing 2 FF's or at least 2 blokes playing the same role. Brown kicks more goals and does a bit more closer to goal, Riewoldt gets more marks, touches, tackles, inside 50s and goal assists. Who's had more influence overall? Well obviously this is where we disagree.

In regards to your 3rd and last points, I think you'll find all star forwards cop multiple opponents and scragging, Riewoldt is no different
. I know people love to play him up as the umpires love child but the fact is he is regularly molested without reward, and usually has another bloke blocking his space. The points about worse delivery are spot on.

btw just to clarify my saying Brown wasn't consistent earlier, I mean bar the first round or 2, Riewoldt has clearly been the number 1 CHF for a vast majority of the year, and until recently he stood alone as the only decent key forward. An example of what I'm talking about is if you look back through the AA team thread, for the first half of the season most people had Franklin, Fev and Tredrea equal or ahead of Brown, and only recently has he become a lock. Riewoldt however has been one of the top players the entire year.

One last thought I was having is that Brown is in a very similar position this year to what Riewoldt was in this time last year in regards to their teams. Riewoldt stood up and single handedly dragged St Kilda into the top 4, it'll be interesting if Brown can do the same for Brisbane. If he struggles replicate Roo's heroics last year, you'd find it tough to say he's better this year consider Roo's having a better 09 than he did 08

Definitely not arguing that most (or all) gun key forwards cop rubbish week-in week-out. Just that from what I've seen, Brown tends to cop it worse than all others. You'll no doubt know rule 15.4 is now being strongly enforced for the remainder of the year. This was sparked by the constant scragging, elbowing in the back, and just plain 'toughness' (:rolleyes:) displayed by Spud Brown on J.Brown on the weekend.

I don't think it would be fair to compare Lions 09 with Saints 08. I personally don't believe a team can be single-handedly dragged into the 4 by a single player. It's almost suggesting the Saints finished 4th because Riewoldt was awesome, whilst the Tigers finished 9th because Richo was crap (which he wasn't). Doesn't just depend on one player IMO. A more even contribution is needed, and I think the Saints list last year was a little more advanced than ours is this year (on the weekend we had a good 21 games of experience sitting on our bench!:p). No one expected us to be a top 4 side this year, with many not expecting us to make finals, so given the whole new coach factor etc, for Brown, as well as our other extablished players, to drag us into the 4 would be something very, very special.

I think the results of this poll are about right Riewoldt is a great player no doubt but Brownie is a on a slightly higher level.

His consistency this year has been amazing and some of the pack marks he's taken are inhuman.

And he's as inspirational a captain as you'll find.

The fact that Bogan Brown is leading this poll, is further proof as to the quality (or lack thereof) of the football knowledge of supporters on this site.
I know, I mean, you're on this site. Brown slightly for me

TBH, I haven't voted yet as I'm finding it hard to choose one or the other...

Am I the only one?

Both are obviously fantastic match-winning players, would love to have either one :)

Jonathon Brown for mine. Nick has had a great year and there hard to separate but Browny I think has had more impact on his side, probably the reason they're playing finals this year

BTW Brown describes his wife Kylie as 'Kyles' ... That is prototype bogan behaviour surely ??? :D