Divado

Victory, Everton
Who would you want in your team? Personaly i'd take Pavlich.

Judd is an absolute gun, prolly the best midfielder going around.

Pavlich can play anywhere, freak centre half foward/back and gun midfielder.

RIPPER_46 said:
Pav has been , is now , and always will be better than Judd.

Comparison

Must admit it surprised me that Pav was consistantly better even in Judds brownlow year.

Average disposals/game
Chris Judd- 21.8
Matthew Pavlich- 21.2

Average Tackles/game

Chris Judd- 3.9
Matthew Pavlich- 3

Average goals/game

Chris Judd- 1
Matthew Pavlich- 0.9

Judd had more kicks, more handballs, more tackles, more goals, gave away less free kicks, and had better goal conversion.

:confused:

And this year Judd had more handballs, more kicks, more disposals, more tackles and gave away less free kicks.

RIPPER_46 said:
I see you checked out the comparison and that was the best retort you could muster. :)

You know Judd got the norm smith because he was best on ground for both teams don't you?

Of his 29 possies 11 were clangers so He got 18 for the Eagles and 11 for Sydney.

http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,16717137%5E19774,00.html
Yes I checked out the stats and as far as I can see Judd has more disposals, more tackles and gives away less free kicks. Of course Pavlich has more marks and kicks more goals as he plays in a forward position, and has played 36 more games than Judd.
If you look at the 7 matches they have played against each other Judd is clearly in front of Pavlich.
For your information when they called out Judds name as the winner of the NS I thought it was a crock considering how many turnovers he had created, Wirrpunda should have won it!

stats are not a good guide.judd is usually gets the ball from fletcher kerr cousins and stoppages are set up for him with his speed,finds space if not watched, doesnt have staying power cant play anywhere else and struggles with tags,pavlich is double teamed most of the game and still makes a contest but can play back mid fwd.has staying power,can kick over 50m pav for me

dockers_bengals said:
stats are not a good guide.judd is usually gets the ball from fletcher kerr cousins and stoppages are set up for him with his speed,finds space if not watched, doesnt have staying power cant play anywhere else and struggles with tags,pavlich is double teamed most of the game and still makes a contest but can play back mid fwd.has staying power,can kick over 50m pav for me
Exactly how many West Coast games have you watched this year mate?

RIPPER_46 said:
Pav has been , is now , and always will be better than Judd.

Comparison

Must admit it surprised me that Pav was consistantly better even in Judds brownlow year.
Finalsiren= possession based stats, they do not give the full picture. This is the reason why the company champion data exisits.

DynamoUltra said:
What a rubbish poll. It's like comparing Gehrig to Akermanis.

You can't compare Midfielders to key position forwards. Midfielders, whether anyone likes it or not are a dime a dozen. There are many midfielders in the game whether they run off a flank, off the wing or in the centre. Most of whom are quality. Judd is no exception but he has two things that all other midfielders just don't have, the quick accelaration and has bulked up with muscle and with that breaks tackles and breaks the lines of midfields. If you find any midfielder with that quick accelaration and get him to bulk up in the gym he'll be a Judd type player and with experience of using that bulk and accelaration to break centre lines and break tackles and be a very damaging midfielders.

What happens after that though? Midfielders aren't gonna kick winning scores. The Key position forwards aren't as common to find and quality key position forwards are very seldom. They are the ones who kick the score, finish off the midfield play.

Both midfielders and forwards are very different types of players and can't be compared on talent. Both Judd and Pavlich you could say are the authority in their respective positions. And no I'm not saying Pavlich is the best CHF or Judd the best midfielder but they are in that elite core in their respective positions.

If you're going to say that good midfields are the most important part of winning then you're wrong. Just like saying good forwards are the most important part of winning. The fact of the matter is one cannot work without the other. Further proving why you just cannot compare Judd and Pavlich or Judd and Tredrea or Cousins or Voss or Hird or Black or any other midfielder to a forward.

This is why threads like these are just stupid. End of story!

Where does it say he had 11 clangers?

"Judd's statistical breakdown paints an interesting picture. He had 11 clearances for the game, including six in the opening 20 minutes.

Of his 29 disposals just 18 hit the target (9/14 kicks and 9/15 handballs). In the last term he had seven disposals of which only three were effective." 11 Clearences!

He was a clear BOG and is the best player in the comp by a mile.

Pav's a better player but is a big game flop so Judd..

The biggest game he has played in so far was the 2006 Prelim in which he was best on ground for us with 4 goals.

oh and as for the OP, Pav for me thanks. It's much harder being elite in a consistently crap team.