Draft Watcher Knightmare's 2013 phantom draft

hey knight are you going to update your draft order and remove essendons picks anytime soon now that we know essendon dont have a first or second record?

Hoping to put up a pretty fair update tomorrow some time. It will have the updated ladder order.

There will be roughly 100-110 writeups and will from there just continue updating and adding more detail as I get the time.

hey km just wonder whether there would be any outside wing types, or players with really good disposals around our 2nd pick, (who arent Vic Metro :p) since we are losing patty k, polec and maybe docherty too

Conca 5-15
Yarran 10-20
Yeo 20-30

So based on this its hard to see an easy trade the eagles can make for these guys with picks 6 and approx 24, depending on compo picks.

Eagles shouldn't trade pick 6 for Conca given his lack of polish and the likelihood Sheed will be available. Might be a bit of a stretch for Carlton to accept 24 for Yarran. But possible. Yeo I think will be a handy player could be the most likely to arrive at the Eagles for 2014. Unfortunately I don't think the likes of Sheppard and Smith have much currency

hey km just wonder whether there would be any outside wing types, or players with really good disposals around our 2nd pick, (who arent Vic Metro :p) since we are losing patty k, polec and maybe docherty too

Docherty is a country boy and Polec is from SA.

But to answer your question if you aren't a metro fan then Hartung, Merrett, Herbert, Bourke are some good country boys.

From SA Dwayne Wilson and Jake Pitt are very outside with James Battersby an excellent user of the footy off a back flank.

From WA Blake Acres and Nicholas Robertson can be used on the outside. Jonathon Marsh maybe. Charlie Cameron and Steven Edwards both have excellent pace on the outside.

Kade Kolodjashnij from Tasmania is probably the the pick of the bunch of the non Metro boys of the pure outside types.

So there are options. I'm just not a massive wrap for the pure outside types this year with the inside options better this year.

Docherty is a country boy and Polec is from SA.

But to answer your question if you aren't a metro fan then Hartung, Merrett, Herbert, Bourke are some good country boys.

From SA Dwayne Wilson and Jake Pitt are very outside with James Battersby an excellent user of the footy off a back flank.

From WA Blake Acres and Nicholas Robertson can be used on the outside. Jonathon Marsh maybe. Charlie Cameron and Steven Edwards both have excellent pace on the outside.

Kade Kolodjashnij from Tasmania is probably the the pick of the bunch of the non Metro boys of the pure outside types.

So there are options. I'm just not a massive wrap for the pure outside types this year with the inside options better this year.

cheers for that, yeahh i know where Polec and docherty are from my comment about the three players was mostly due to them being wingers not alluding to the fact they are from vic metro since they arent, im sure there are a wide range of issues causing this supposed exodus, docherty is a maybe to leave and his issues are with lack of opportunity, Polec is a pick we got wrong and someone who would never have fit into the enviornment, normally we get decent luck with SA boys, think we will just be wary of metro boys from now on like we were in the past in gubby allens regime because they just are more chance of living, hard to adjust to brisbane after living in a city like melbourne all your life evident this year with patty k and billy longer so something I hope we avoid anyway

cheers for that, yeahh i know where Polec and docherty are from, im sure there are a wide range of issues causing this supposed exodus, docherty is a maybe to leave and his issues are with lack of opportunity, Polec is a pick we got wrong and someone who would never have fit into the enviornment, normally we get decent luck with SA boys, think we will just be wary of metro boys from now on like we were in the past in gubby allens regime because they just are more chance of living, hard to adjust to brisbane after living in a city like melbourne all your life evident this year with patty k and billy longer so something I hope we avoid anyway

Karnezis didn't seem to get a great deal of opportunity though, I haven't followed it as closely as I'd like to comment but would be interested to hear why you think that is (and your take on it too Knightmare). I know he ripped it up in the NEAFL for large parts of the year and still didn't seem to get an opportunity.

its a tough one because, the position he had alot of success at senior level in his first year was playing as a floating forward who was really unaccountable defensively, vossy and the coaching staff tried to make him more of a two way player, also his ability to find space they thought he would fit into the midfield/wing rotation so they played him in the reserves in that role also trying to improve his fitness as well. While he was dominating in the NEAFL comp, the competition was obviously inferior to the AFL and im not too sure what really went on but it seems he wasnt meeting specific parameters they had set for him during the game. He was pretty unlucky to not get more games and was made a scapegoat often after a loss, though it was noticeable in the senior games he did play, ie collingwood etc that he liked to sit outside of contests not really attak the back and reserves watchers have stated his game sense in defence just isn't there and thats probably why he struggled so much. His kicking skills are not that great either and there have been plenty of rumours of him having a very lazy attitude to training and games, also he insisted on leaving last year too which we didn't allow and that possibly played on the coaches minds in relation to his selection. Vossy I thought was a good coach but was very stubborn with his selections, I think karnys could have been a very dangerous third tall forward and in the game against Collingwood showed he can be a consistent marking threat but the coaching staff just wanted something else from him. As stated theres just a variety of situations and itsjust a case of a player not really enjoying the enviornment he was part of and probably didnt give it his all and the coaching staff judged him harshly cause of it. Im sure he will have a great career at a melboune club. (note alot of this is just my opinion and from what ive gathered no expert on the topic at all)

cheers for that, yeahh i know where Polec and docherty are from my comment about the three players was mostly due to them being wingers not alluding to the fact they are from vic metro since they arent, im sure there are a wide range of issues causing this supposed exodus, docherty is a maybe to leave and his issues are with lack of opportunity, Polec is a pick we got wrong and someone who would never have fit into the enviornment, normally we get decent luck with SA boys, think we will just be wary of metro boys from now on like we were in the past in gubby allens regime because they just are more chance of living, hard to adjust to brisbane after living in a city like melbourne all your life evident this year with patty k and billy longer so something I hope we avoid anyway

The thing that stops go home factor more often than not is winning. If you build a winner everyone will want to be there to experience the ultimate success. Just building the winner in the first place is the obvious challenge.

Being located in Queensland you'll have to draft interstate talent every year. The main thing from here if it is believed to be an issue and an issue that will stick may be in putting a greater weighting into personality profiling and really looking for those who are outwardly enthusiastic about moving interstate.

I thought Karnezis was very stiff not to be a regular for that Brisbane team. He has some versatility so he can slot in pretty easily in most positions if absolutely required but I would have been interested to see him for a stretch of senior games through the midfield as his NAB cup was exceptionally productive and suggested genuine senior potential.

I don't know the specifics as to why he was not included as a regular for the team. His performances suggest he should have been. Perhaps early season he mentioned that he wants to move to a Victorian club and from there the club decided that he wasn't going to be a part of the clubs immediate future. It's something those closer to the situation would be better able to answer.

No Ben Cavarra in your write up?

He'll be included in my next update. In saying that if he gets drafted it will be as a rookie. Too many quality smalls this year that it will be incredibly hard after those first few to get drafted - Lewis Taylor, Billy Hartung, Jay Kennedy-Harris and Jarman Impey.

Hoping to put up a pretty fair update tomorrow some time. It will have the updated ladder order.

There will be roughly 100-110 writeups and will from there just continue updating and adding more detail as I get the time.
I'm looking forward to seeing where Riley Knight gets picked up. IMHO he is Sloane mark II

He's quietly growing on me also.

I've been impressed with his play. Through the midfield and up forward. 2nd round onward he's very draftable.

He's quietly growing on me also.

I've been impressed with his play. Through the midfield and up forward. 2nd round onward he's very draftable.
I agree. I've seen a lot of him this year. He is very professional, has a massive engine, is a natural leader and a really competitive beast. He rarely loses one on one contests (hence the Sloane comparison). You could also compare him to Lachie Neale.
I agree with your estimation as well - 2nd round on. Could be early second round or could slide a little as there are a lot of similar mids.

Will also be interesting to see where his school mate Mitch Harvey gets picked up. Mitch is an interesting one. I'm sure a team will take a punt on him in the first round, but he's no guarantee of being a solid AFL player yet.
Having said that I watched the big match between Mitch and Riley's school St. Peter's College and PAC. PAC were heavy favourites to win, Mitch and Riley dragged St Peter's over the line. Riley finished with 27 disposals and the match sealing goal (all on one leg having a knee operation postponed so he could play the match)
Mitch was particularly impressive. The ground was very muddy and heavy underfoot (incredibly so), one would describe it as a bog.
Mitch playing ruck and forward finished with 21 disposals, 9 marks, 6 clearances and 44 hit outs. He was clearly the standout player on the field. This is against an opponent with Coombe and Giles and who spent most of the match sending 2-3 players to run with Mitch in an attempt to stop him.

Who is this year's bolter Knightmare?

My tip; Zac Jones

Transformed from bit parts defender to lethal on baller for the Stingrays and seems to be single handedly leading that bit parts Stingrays midfield (no real BIG names in there).

Not wrong about that Stingrays midfield. They don't have all that much AFL relevant talent but Jones led from the front yesterday.

The GWS scouts were at the game yesterday and could do with a Jones or their list so he could go as high as pick 19 if they were paying attention.

I agree. I've seen a lot of him this year. He is very professional, has a massive engine, is a natural leader and a really competitive beast. He rarely loses one on one contests (hence the Sloane comparison). You could also compare him to Lachie Neale.
I agree with your estimation as well - 2nd round on. Could be early second round or could slide a little as there are a lot of similar mids.

Will also be interesting to see where his school mate Mitch Harvey gets picked up. Mitch is an interesting one. I'm sure a team will take a punt on him in the first round, but he's no guarantee of being a solid AFL player yet.
Having said that I watched the big match between Mitch and Riley's school St. Peter's College and PAC. PAC were heavy favourites to win, Mitch and Riley dragged St Peter's over the line. Riley finished with 27 disposals and the match sealing goal (all on one leg having a knee operation postponed so he could play the match)
Mitch was particularly impressive. The ground was very muddy and heavy underfoot (incredibly so), one would describe it as a bog.
Mitch playing ruck and forward finished with 21 disposals, 9 marks, 6 clearances and 44 hit outs. He was clearly the standout player on the field. This is against an opponent with Coombe and Giles and who spent most of the match sending 2-3 players to run with Mitch in an attempt to stop him.

Harvey could be another second rounder. I certainly would have no hesitation reading his name out at pick 27 at this stage for Collingwood. He's improved his body so much this year and is not only a strong mark but can pick up the ground balls cleanly and has that ability below the knees as well as one of the better kicks to a target for a key forward going around. I'm surprised with the performances he has put up this year that he hasn't received more attention because every game I've seen he's been excellent with his game at a similar level to Kristian Jaksch who went 1st round last year.

hey mate, good call on Owen.

Thoughts on Owen being drafted?

Tall, can play forward or back. Strong mark and reads the flight exceptionally well getting to the drop of the ball.

Probably doesn't get drafted but he's had an excellent year in the TAC in any case as an overager. Potential rookie chance for a club looking for a player of his type and at his height is an interesting prospect.

Would pick ~22 be too early for Harvey? I'm very keen for the Dogs to take a punt on him and I don't think he'll be there ~40ish. Personally I would take him at 22 easily but just wondering what others think.

Mitch Harvey probably isn't available at 40 due to the how few quality KPPs there are in this draft.

There has been some talk of Max King and Alex Pearce making a move up the draft order as more athletic key forwards who could go 2nd/3rd round so it depends on whether clubs rate them more highly but Harvey is the better of those not named Boyd or McCarthy for mine.

Harvey almost certainly won't go as high as pick 22 on draft day but with the feel of the draft being the top 20 and then the rest so it's something that could be done as that's roughly where I'd be comfortable picking him anyway.

Not wrong about that Stingrays midfield. They don't have all that much AFL relevant talent but Jones led from the front yesterday.

The GWS scouts were at the game yesterday and could do with a Jones or their list so he could go as high as pick 19 if they were paying attention.

They do have a good solid group coming through for 2014 (Giobbi - interesting that his brother was selected for the young guns game today after an outstanding year for the Dolphins) Ben Giobbi, Alex Hartnett, Rourke Fisher, Jack Lonie is going to be a ripper.

Not sure what to make of this years crop of Stingrays. At a guess, Jones and Hartung are the only 'sure' things. Clayton McCartney is a better than 50-50 chance to, but outside of that they might struggle.

Asked foj1 about Jake Owen, the 191cm overager from Calder Cannons who has been named in the bests in the most games for anyone this year (14/18) and has dominated some games. Is he SO much bigger than the rest? or is he that much better? averaging 21 touches and 5.5 handball recieves a game.

Thanks mate.

I feel he is the kind of forward we really need, and while he is a bit of a risk nobody else in that range jumps out at me (unless Hartung slides, which is a possibility in my opinion). There's Brown and Thorp as mature recruits that we could pick up later but I'm not sure either would work well with Grant and Jones. Harvey is a very different type and could play that legitimate FF role we lack.

Is there anybody else in that sort of mold we could have a look at? Conlon is one I've been keeping an eye on and certainly would be on our radar as he trained with us. Past that it's a very thin draft for tall forwards.

There has been some talk of Max King and Alex Pearce making a move up the draft order as more athletic key forwards who could go 2nd/3rd round

Was wondering when Max King would finally get a mention from someone else. I'm not so sure he is 'making a move' up the order, I tend to think he has always been in that mix. He has just as much potential as anyone in the draft.

Not sure what to make of this years crop of Stingrays. At a guess, Jones and Hartung are the only 'sure' things. Clayton McCartney is a better than 50-50 chance to, but outside of that they might struggle.

James Harmes isn't flashy, but is a strong chance to be drafted - anywhere from the late second round onwards. Hasn't been getting much attention, but is another hard at it midfielder. And while not midfielders, all three of Brady Egan, Dale Gawley and Agape Patolo will come into rookie calculations. I particularly like Gawley as a key defender.

Was wondering when Max King would finally get a mention from someone else. I'm not so sure he is 'making a move' up the order, I tend to think he has always been in that mix. He has just as much potential as anyone in the draft.

I saw some highlights of Max King the other day, and would seriously look at him. That article on the AFL website suggests GWS can pre list him and then on trade him during the trade period.

James Harmes isn't flashy, but is a strong chance to be drafted - anywhere from the late second round onwards. Hasn't been getting much attention, but is another hard at it midfielder. And while not midfielders, all three of Brady Egan, Dale Gawley and Agape Patolo will come into rookie calculations. I particularly like Gawley as a key defender.

Im not sure Patolo will get drafted, I don't get the obsession with him. Not overly active around the ground and whilst his ruckwork is ok, 187cm!! Brady Egan is one I've heard some good things about, whilst I havent particularly noticed Gawley in the couple of games I have seen.

Josh Pickess may be another one worth looking at.

Whilst your here Chris25 where abouts is Nick Favretto going? really, really like the sound of him.

dustin Martin nom for this draft, what pick do u think he would go. I think he last longer than people think 7-11