Lachlan Keeffe's Proper Postion

I been Impressed with him since his 1st game I saw him play last season in the VFL Practice Matches.

He Started of in the Ruck where he did Struggle on getting a good jump and getting his hand on the ball. Though at 204cm it helps out there. But the thing impressed me was how he well he moved around the ground and his kicking we super.

Then in the 2nd half of the season in the VFL they tried him at FB where I thought he would be out of his Depth and at times did look out of sorts but he did give us dash from there.

Well during this years pre-season he been playing CHB and looks to be very Similar to Ben Reid where he can give us Dash and can kick it about 50m very Accurately.

So where do you think he will play?

One of those positions you mentioned in the VFL no doubt.

I am talking about if/when he makes the AFL what is his Postion?

We should try and develop him into a KP forward. A mobile 204cm guy with good skills. Yes please. If we can get his overhead marking to a good standard, we could have an alright player.

This.

I been Impressed with him since his 1st game I saw him play last season in the VFL Practice Matches.

He Started of in the Ruck where he did Struggle on getting a good jump and getting his hand on the ball. Though at 204cm it helps out there. But the thing impressed me was how he well he moved around the ground and his kicking we super.

Then in the 2nd half of the season in the VFL they tried him at FB where I thought he would be out of his Depth and at times did look out of sorts but he did give us dash from there.

Well during this years pre-season he been playing CHB and looks to be very Similar to Ben Reid where he can give us Dash and can kick it about 50m very Accurately.

So where do you think he will play?

Long term I would be looking for Keeffe to develop into a ruckman once he puts on significant size. This will likely take another 2-3 years (like it has for Wood) simply because he has such a skinny frame. But I think with patience he will get there and become a very good mobile ruckman. As a ruckman he could push forward and have an impact there and beat his opponent around the ground. The aspects he will need to improve on is obviously the gaining of size which will come but also would like to see him improve his leap a bit more to fully make best use of his athleticism in the ruck.

For now KPD is the way to go with Wood and McNamara to share the ruck load, but would not be opposed to seeing him ruck in patches.

So it's now Keefe back, Reid back, Rusling back, N.Brown back. Besides Dawes who are we trying to develop as a forward?

I know attack starts from defence these days, however, our weakness seems to be lack of a young developing forward, in my opinion we need to hope Dawes comes through as we dont appear to be developing many other young talls in the forward half of the ground. Just my view from afar...

So it's now Keefe back, Reid back, Rusling back, N.Brown back. Besides Dawes who are we trying to develop as a forward?

I know attack starts from defence these days, however, our weakness seems to be lack of a young developing forward, in my opinion we need to hope Dawes comes through as we dont appear to be developing many other young talls in the forward half of the ground. Just my view from afar...

cloke and JA are two you young talls who seem to be being developed reasonably well, add Dawes and maybe Rusling. we're going alright in the number of developing young tall forwards. Having said that I'd like to see Reid and Anthony developed to have the flexibility to swing between defence and attack.

Time will tell with the tall athletic guys you generally assume ruck will be the first and most likely possesion they adapt too because height and athletic ability can compensate for football smarts as a ruck possibly more then anywhere else on the ground.

The move down back may be because he wasn't taking to the ruck or it may well be an educational thing. Give him a chance to learn how to defend, contest body on body and watch the game unfold infront of him.

cloke and JA are two you young talls who seem to be being developed reasonably well, add Dawes and maybe Rusling. we're going alright in the number of developing young tall forwards. Having said that I'd like to see Reid and Anthony developed to have the flexibility to swing between defence and attack.

Look to the Leigh Brown vs Chris Dawes thread to see how much faith people have in Dawes right now, and Rusling well there is a serious question mark above his head about whether his body can handle the rigours of AFL football.

To put it bluntly if Anthony and/or Cloke go down for any reason we're pretty boned right now.

TBH, Chris Dawes and Leigh Brown are pretty solid backup, compared to most other sides - Most sides aren't going to be in too good a spot if they lost their FF or CHF...

I still think the club sees him as a future ruckman. Looking at our list and we're still a little thin on ruck stocks. We've got Jolly as the primary and Fraser as the secondary, which is good. Wood is the up and comer who will replace Fraser, but after that we've got Keeffe and McNamara. I highly doubt that the club would just see the newly acquired American as the future ruck partner for Wood.

I'd say Keeffe's time as a CHB is partly instructional on the defensive arts and partly to protect him from the heavier bodies of rucks. I think its smart development by the club and who knows as more Tippetts and Franklin types start roaming forwardlines it wouldn't hurt to have an experienced defender that can match them for height, strength, agility and speed.

Look to the Leigh Brown vs Chris Dawes thread to see how much faith people have in Dawes right now, and Rusling well there is a serious question mark above his head about whether his body can handle the rigours of AFL football.

Yep we should have the league average of four young tall forwards who are all ready to step up and be good AFL forwards. the way I see it we've got a good one in Cloke, a serviceable one in Anthony, plus cover from Dawes and maybe Reid and Rusling . In terms of young tall forwards, is any team significantly ahead of us in terms of depth. Obviously Hawthorn are well ahead of us in terms of best 22.

I don't see what we're trying to do with Rusling. At AFL level he must play forward. It's alright for him to learn some things, because even injury free he is a pretty one dimensional player. Hopefully we aren't pinning our hopes on him being a defender.

Shae-Mac is one being developed as a forward.

I don't see what we're trying to do with Rusling. At AFL level he must play forward. It's alright for him to learn some things, because even injury free he is a pretty one dimensional player. Hopefully we aren't pinning our hopes on him being a defender.

Just reckon Rusling's being eased back into footy, rather than being groomed to play in defence - stands to reason there isn't the same likelihood of spoiling opponents crashing into him playing across half back than as a key forward.

When he's gained more confidence in his body, I'm sure he'll be playing forward again.

I'd say the club is just trying to get some run in Ruslings legs after so long out. I find it doubtful it would be a permanent move to the hbf. Atleast I hope not.

I still think the club sees him as a future ruckman. Looking at our list and we're still a little thin on ruck stocks. We've got Jolly as the primary and Fraser as the secondary, which is good. Wood is the up and comer who will replace Fraser, but after that we've got Keeffe and McNamara. I highly doubt that the club would just see the newly acquired American as the future ruck partner for Wood.

I'd say Keeffe's time as a CHB is partly instructional on the defensive arts and partly to protect him from the heavier bodies of rucks. I think its smart development by the club and who knows as more Tippetts and Franklin types start roaming forwardlines it wouldn't hurt to have an experienced defender that can match them for height, strength, agility and speed.

I think outside Fraser Jolly and Wood we'll have Keeffe, McNamara and Witts being developed into ruckman/KPF players which is plenty of depth for the time being IMO.

Yeah as has been mentioned before, it's not because they want him on a back flank. They want to have him get match fitness as much as possible without risking him somewhere stupid like in the midfield. It's not about learning new things, it's just about getting him fit enough to test him.

Quicky, mate, if the club firmly belives in that then its very bold. All look like very good prospects with two rookie listers being the most exciting. Wood looks like he'll be competitive, but has yet to show that he'll be good enough to be lead ruck. But the risk is that the two rookies don't have a strong footy history. Keeffe has made a solid start, but has a long long way to go and McNamara even longer. Both could be exception pick ups and I'll back the club and trust in their decisions, but I don't have that sort of faith mate.

We currently have three capable AFL standard ruckman in Jolly Fraser and Wood. In Keeffe, McNamara and almost certainly Witts at seasons end we'll have three developing ruckman. I think it would be hard to justify a 7th list spot to a ruckman. Unless they start developing one of those guys purely as a forward I don't see the need for another ruckman. But stranger things have happened I guess.

I agree with this. You are probably understating the services of a bloke like Leigh Brown as well, who was given the backup ruck job for much of last year in preference of Wood.

I think we are now well covered for ruckmen - both current and developing. Which is a relief because our investment in them has been extraordinary (it has cost us a priority pick (1), two other first round picks (both 14), and a third round pick...)