List changes 2006

• Thread starter Thread starter jo172

macca23 said:
I don't think so Stiffy - not in Jericho's case.

What has he shown at any level to indicate that he has the necessary courage, physicality, desire and a footy brain to justify your thoughts on this one? His alter ego, Matthew Smith, used to at least bust his guts out, although devoid of the necessary talent.

I'm betting your left testicle that there won't be any apologies in Jericho's case.

Hopefully he won't be at the club after delist time - I've given up on him.
:thumbsd:
Then he'll definately make it ;)

Wayne's-World said:
I named Jericho as my player to watch in 06....sure his NAB game (only 1, the others were Ok) ensured his season was gone BUT I still have huge hopes for the kid.....I agree, looking for some apologies during 07

You'd be the last person to look for an apology re Jericho, who really lived up to your far-sighted prediction for this year, didn't he?. :rolleyes:

You consistently bag other players who perform at levels that Jericho could only dream of - yet he's the one to watch.

And we're supposed to take you seriously?? :confused:

I think people need to realise that Jericho is not a natural footballer and as such he will take longer to develop.

What he offers is some genuine pace, decent marking ability and accurate long kicking. In other words he can carry the ball and that is something we need. What he lacks is attack on the ball and the body as well as work ethic. All those things are correctable. Hard but not impossible.

I remember how much Peter Burgoyne used to cop in his early days in terms of his softness. He has turned it around to become a pretty hard at it player. There is no reason why Jericho can't do the same.

I do think he needs to work on his ground work a bit as his skills with low balls need improving but he is not far off. There is no doubt his showing in the NAB GF wasn't good and even thought I felt he really tried that day, the more he tried the more he seemed to stuff up.

I got no doubt that game dented his confidence considerably but all of these things are what can be corrected and are easier to teach than other positive aspects Jericho brings such as his pace and an X factor.

Whether he fails or succeds will depend entirly on whether or not he really want it. I know for a fact that the kid was shattered after that NAB GF and he was inconsolable for a long time after that.

His 3-4 games prior to that were reasonable and he was getting better. I also remember going to the PS training session earlier in the year and being impressed with his ability to really carry the ball and use it in a competative drills that were done. So much so that I walked away from that taining thinking this kid actually outperformed bigger name players today.

Some players need more time and more attention from the coaching staff. He is not much different to Sarge in the aspect that they are both confidence players and need to be constantly enouraged to get the best out of them.

I would be VERY surprised if he is delisted.

Stiffy_18 said:
I also remember going to the PS training session earlier in the year and being impressed with his ability to really carry the ball and use it in a competative drills that were done. So much so that I walked away from that taining thinking this kid actually outperformed bigger name players today.

What you say above is true Stiffy, because he looked like a bloody world-beater at training. I came away thinking the same as you.

Unfortunately he appears to be a case of train like Tarzan, play like Jane. ;)

macca23 said:
What you say above is true Stiffy, because he looked like a bloody world-beater at training. I came away thinking the same as you.

Unfortunately he appears to be a case of train like Tarzan, play like Jane. ;)
I still look good running around orange cones....;)

macca23 said:
So if you're going to hang onto this non-performer Stiffy, please nominate the 4 to 5 players that WILL be delisted?

For the record I would like Luke Jericho to be kept on the list as well.

Saying that if Mathew Clarke plays on for one more year due to Rhett Biglands knee injury and so does Ben Hart it may be near on impossible for the club to keep him on the list.

Jonathon Griffin
John Hinge
Luke Jericho
Hayden Skipworth (may save Jericho)

Would be the likely 3 mandatory delisting in my eyes.

macca23 said:
So if you're going to hang onto this non-performer Stiffy, please nominate the 4 to 5 players that WILL be delisted?
Clarke
Griffin (Biglands' injury might save him)
Hinge
Skipworth (although a chance to be traded)

I just don't believe a club would tell a player to have a surgery half way through the season if they wanted to delist him at the end of the year. Its exactly the same scenario as Matthew Bode last year IMHO.

The "good authority" that i previously mentioned was Luke himself at a lunch last week. (not quite the same circles as macca's lunches, but i was impressed all the same:thumbsu: )
The have surgery mid season got him an assurance of staying on the list next year.
Its possible that they might renig, but i doubt it.
He's very skinny atm btw.

Stiffy_18 said:
I think people need to realise that Jericho is not a natural footballer and as such he will take longer to develop.

What he offers is some genuine pace, decent marking ability and accurate long kicking. In other words he can carry the ball and that is something we need. What he lacks is attack on the ball and the body as well as work ethic. All those things are correctable. Hard but not impossible.

I remember how much Peter Burgoyne used to cop in his early days in terms of his softness. He has turned it around to become a pretty hard at it player. There is no reason why Jericho can't do the same.

I do think he needs to work on his ground work a bit as his skills with low balls need improving but he is not far off. There is no doubt his showing in the NAB GF wasn't good and even thought I felt he really tried that day, the more he tried the more he seemed to stuff up.

I got no doubt that game dented his confidence considerably but all of these things are what can be corrected and are easier to teach than other positive aspects Jericho brings such as his pace and an X factor.

Whether he fails or succeds will depend entirly on whether or not he really want it. I know for a fact that the kid was shattered after that NAB GF and he was inconsolable for a long time after that.

His 3-4 games prior to that were reasonable and he was getting better. I also remember going to the PS training session earlier in the year and being impressed with his ability to really carry the ball and use it in a competative drills that were done. So much so that I walked away from that taining thinking this kid actually outperformed bigger name players today.

Some players need more time and more attention from the coaching staff. He is not much different to Sarge in the aspect that they are both confidence players and need to be constantly enouraged to get the best out of them.

I would be VERY surprised if he is delisted.

:thumbsu: Spot on assessment......too often he was still playing "junior" type footy ...you know scooping the ball one handed as he's turning instaed of grabbing the ball with two hands.....but these things CAN be ironed out.

What your saying is absolutely correct......most surprised if he were delisted.

macca23 said:
Unlike you who won't commit in this area at all....I will

Clarke, Griffen, Hinge, Skipworth .....and I still have a hunch one oldie will retire, I've indicated Torney because he plays so few games each year due to injury.

The other possibility, and I'm not sure of the ruling, is to have Hentschell placed immediately on the longterm injured list...........does that free up another spot for the national draft or can that spot only be filled after the rookie draft by upgrading a rookie????

It still amazes me that people think Jericho should be retained. Grab a hold of the pre-season grand final and take another glimpse at one of the softest displays in recent times by an AFL footballer.

He is a poor mans Nathan Lonie or Fiora but without their football ability.

SpringChoke said:
It still amazes me that people think Jericho should be retained. Grab a hold of the pre-season grand final and take another glimpse at one of the softest displays in recent times by an AFL footballer.

He is a poor mans Nathan Lonie or Fiora but without their football ability.
One ****house game by a 19yrs old with 20 games experience in a PRE-SEASON final surely doesn't mean a player should be delisted

If we cut people off the back of one horror game then 90% of our forward line would not exist, Burton and Mattner would not be at the club.

So come-on springy your better than that

*edit*
actually based on the amount of **** he has copped on the board is almost a shoe in for starting 22 in 07:D

Capitalist said:
One ****house game by a 19yrs old with 20 games experience in a PRE-SEASON final surely doesn't mean a player should be delisted

If we cut people off the back of one horror game then 90% of our forward line would not exist, Burton and Mattner would not be at the club.

So come-on springy your better than that

*edit*
actually based on the amount of **** he has copped on the board is almost a shoe in for starting 22 in 07:D

It's not just the game, it's what he has/hasn't done in the games he has played.

Capitalist said:

Check his age again. He's been on the list for a little longer than most people probably expect and I guarantee he is older than 19.

I'm with Springy, 4 years to get it right is ample.

GoSarge said:
Check his age again. He's been on the list for a little longer than most people probably expect and I guarantee he is older than 19.

I'm with Springy, 4 years to get it right is ample.
actually I think you are right

20 at the time - and 21 now ? I think thats about right

Vader said:
21 then and now. DOB: 18/10/84.
Just remember our good mate Porplyzia only got drafted a 21 for the 2nd time

any ways I reckon i've given enough excuses for the lad - hopefully he doesn;t make me look like an Aidian Parker fan :o

Wayne's-World said:
Unlike you who won't commit in this area at all....I will
Clarke, Griffen, Hinge, Skipworth .....and I still have a hunch one oldie will retire, I've indicated Torney because he plays so few games each year due to injury.

Well, aren't you the clever one.

By the way, if you read post 4 of this thread, you'll see my list which was posted some 157 posts before yours. :rolleyes:

Ch9 reported Ben Hart had been offerred a performance-based contract by AFC for next year, so my guess is that he will play on.

If Clarke plays on, Griffin stays on the list, who are going to be our delistees?

macca23 said:
Delist:

Clarke (retired)

Hart (retired - should be made to for his own sake)

Jericho (love to trade him but I think he's a straight bye bye)

Skipworth (trade for a 3rd rounder - he's good enough for AFL)

All 4 rookies.

2 from 2 at the top so far (okay, okay - so picking Clarke wasn't too hard :) )

While I'm sticking with the rest of my list, given the 2 long-term injuries makes me think we could be looking for a ready to go player in the PSD as well as the rookie list, so I'm increasing my list from 4 to 5.

My remaining 3 then are

Skipworth (trade)

Jericho (trade or delist)

Hinge (delist and re-rookie if the club thinks he warrants that)

The only variations to the above could be Gibson, who I think must be given another year due to his youth and size, and/or Obst if the club chose to delist after one year but still bear his cost in the salary cap.

Johnny Reid has made it very clear in recent days that Griffin will not be a delist as they see his progress as being right on schedule.

All 4 rookies.

macca23 said:
Johnny Reid has made it very clear in recent days that Griffin will not be a delist as they see his progress as being right on schedule.

All 4 rookies.
:p that is spindoctoring at its very best.....absolutely no evidence to support that statement

Wayne's-World said:
:p that is spindoctoring at its very best.....absolutely no evidence to support that statement
20 years of age 199cm. Tall guys take time. The Crows would know if he has ability or not. Trust them..if he is retained he will be someone they have high regard for.

AndrewJo said:
20 years of age 199cm. Tall guys take time. The Crows would know if he has ability or not. Trust them..if he is retained he will be someone they have high regard for.
Actually make that 205cm according to someone at the AFC.

He is now offically the same height as Dean Cox and just as good a mover :eek:

Wayne's World, The club has practicaly came out and said how highly they rate him and that he will be on the list next year yet you seem to think that he will be delisted :confused:

You really are a strange one ;)

With Hart and Clarke gone, it means we will probably get rid off another 3 players. I get the feeling that the number of vacancies will be 5 or 6 because we seem to want to utilize the apparent draft depth and quality.

I thought Massie could have been the one to get traded but somehow I doubt that now with Hart getting the tap on the shoulder.

Next week will certainly be interesting. We could make some trades for draft picks which could mean that we don't delist anybody else, or we could sit tight and make another 3 cuts.

Craigy has shown that he does have the cajones to make the tough calls and I suspect the recruiting department will be making their case for more picks this year.

AndrewJo said:
And have you seen him play???.......Not saying he doesn't have genuine talent but he's a twig still playing as a fringe SANFL player ......still say great Spindoctoring!