News Matthew Lloyd Contract Status - Merged Threads

Hutchy claims the EFC think Lloyd might change his mind and play on for a year.

Also interesting Jobe went to the meeting with Burgoyne. Obviously if Lloyd plays on he won't be captain (this is my observation only).

Maybe not being captain might help Lloyd. Probably not but you never know.

Well I think it's fair to say Lloydy obviously wants to play, just not the role they have for him...otherwise you would have just made a decision by now yeah?

Anyway time to get over it Lloydy and accept the role you are being offered. If you retire to prove a point then you're going to regret it. Be a man and just make the committment. Do you think he's really just obsessed with getting those 1000 goals? I imagine he'd want to do it, and this is his chance to make history....well then commit to the team and giving it all you've got. There's nothing to say you still can't kick bags of goals as a roving forward.

hmmm, the cynic in me asks if he is really dragging this because he is unsure, or a club or two in particular have told him to perhaps hold off until their season ends?

I have actually been thinking that for a week or so now...seems very coincidental.

I can see next year, as for most of this year, our full forwards not always being the ones scoring the majority of our goals - so if Lloyd was playing roving forward type role then he would still have a chance to kick 70-80 goals.

This whole affair is putting a dark stain on his excellent reputation. I wish he would come out & tell us what he was going to do today.

If not with the Dons I am happy to see him kick his 1000 goal with the Dogs, Tigers, Saints, Cats, Swans, Lions or De La Salle perhaps St Bernards. No one else.

This whole affair is putting a dark stain on his excellent reputation. I wish he would come out & tell us what he was going to do today.

If not with the Dons I am happy to see him kick his 1000 goal with the Dogs, Tigers, Saints, Cats, Swans, Lions or De La Salle perhaps St Bernards. No one else.

No, no it's really not.

If it were you or I, and we were told we had a while to make a fairly significant decision, and family life was really hectic, why would you rush a decision when there's no need to? Just so the guys on BigFooty will stop thinking that my reputation is stained? I say give him as long as he wants, it is only our own impatience that demands he make a decision.

No, no it's really not.

If it were you or I, and we were told we had a while to make a fairly significant decision, and family life was really hectic, why would you rush a decision when there's no need to? Just so the guys on BigFooty will stop thinking that my reputation is stained? I say give him as long as he wants, it is only our own impatience that demands he make a decision.

not just big footy...but i'd like to think he has some interest in the average essendon fan's opinion of him.

Last time i checked the coach gets to select your position on the ground all the way to local juniors...when the players start to dictate where they want to play above the coaches wishes you're in trouble.

Simple choice Lloydy...play where you're told, or don't play at all.
Just make a decision.

not just big footy...but i'd like to think he has some interest in the average essendon fan's opinion of him.

Last time i checked the coach gets to select your position on the ground all the way to local juniors...when the players start to dictate where they want to play above the coaches wishes you're in trouble.

Just make a decision.

I actually don't think the issue is with what plans the coach has for him.
Lloyd has struggled with continuall niggling injuries over the past two years and right now i think the decision is him weighing up working in the media and making more $ as well as being able to spend more time with his young family versus his desire to keep playing but making less money , spending more time away from his kids and comitting to the training grind of another season.
It would be a bloody tough decision to make.

Sadly what is probably the real reason behind his delay in making a decision does not sell news papaers or make for great rumours.

I doubt very much that the opinions of Essendon supporters are weighing on his mind. In fact i find it quite funny that it has even been mentioned. Surely it is a joke ?

Lloyd has struggled with continuall niggling injuries over the past two years and right now i think the decision is him weighing up working in the media and making more $ as well as being able to spend more time with his young family versus his desire to keep playing but making less money , spending more time away from his kids and comitting to the training grind of another season.

Sadly what is probably the real reason behind his delay in making a decision does not sell news papaers or make for great rumours.

I doubt very much that the opinions of Essendon supporters are weighing on his mind. In fact i find it quite funny that it has even been mentioned. Surely it is a joke ?

So he doesn't care if how he's remembered by the fans??
I'd think he would. And hope so too.

If you're going to remember him by how long he took to make a massive life decision (an extra week or so) than you're probably not a fan of the footballer Matthew Lloyd.

Give him a break. The season's over. The next one is ages away. Matthew Lloyd has given his all for the club. His just got a new kid and the other one's been sick. He wouldn't be able to go anywhere without people taking the issue up with him, even if just a friendly comment. He's a human f***** being! You're not his boss, he doesn't have to report to you. If you think he hasn't done right by his fans throughout his career, or you're willing to base that aspect of his career on how long he's taking to make this decision..... take a step back and have a look at yourself.

Well you know he's had all season to make a decision...not just this past week...I think it's a shame he's still undecided because it would suggest his hearts not in it either way...

Agree with that.

If you're going to remember him by how long he took to make a massive life decision (an extra week or so) than you're probably not a fan of the footballer Matthew Lloyd.

Give him a break. The season's over. The next one is ages away. Matthew Lloyd has given his all for the club. His just got a new kid and the other one's been sick. He wouldn't be able to go anywhere without people taking the issue up with him, even if just a friendly comment. He's a human f***** being! You're not his boss, he doesn't have to report to you. If you think he hasn't done right by his fans throughout his career, or you're willing to base that aspect of his career on how long he's taking to make this decision..... take a step back and have a look at yourself.

Excellent post :thumbsu:
Sorry to hear that Jaeda's been sick. Hope it wasn't anything too serious.

Was somewhat surprised that we didn't get an announcement today, but I certainly don't blame him for taking his time.

I feel that the delays are hurting his reputation in the eyes of the wider footy community. Will more time will help him make up his mind ? I am not sure it will.

If Lloyd quits now, he walks away a suspended & unsatisfied man, feeling shabby about the way the club ( Knights especially ) has treated him, recently his reputation has been sullied by idiots calling him a snipper & questions have been asked about his delays in making up his mind about his playing future.

Our game style/plan does not help him - his body is slower than it once was and slower to heal from the bumps & bruises after games. With a bigger family ( & new baby ) & off field offers to commentate etc he has many reasons to hang the boots up.

I reckon he should take up the year to play for Essendon. Ask Knights for one fairwell game & to play at full forward for this game. ( Ala round 18 vs Dees where he kicked 8 goals ). The Dons could market the game as his last and he could retire with the grace he deserves. Afterwards he could quit immediately after showing the world what we will all miss.

It aren't romantic but it is a fact of life. Different level, but I've just had two kids and its a huge responsibility to think about. Life aren't about you anymore...I agree Ant, I think it's all about his personal life because he's got footy left in him if he wants.

I think Lloydy has still something to give. He doesn't play well immediately after weeks out, but after 3-4 weeks in, he really starts to find the ball. If we can be more dominant around the ball, he can still kick 50 goals and he will still demand the best backmen.

So he doesn't care if how he's remembered by the fans??
I'd think he would. And hope so too.

What :confused:
You are really dilusional if you think he is currently worried what the fans think. It is a total non issue.
He will make the best decision for Matthew Lloyd and he will take the time he needs to do it and what the general public thinks will not even be 0.000000001 % of a factor.

Sadly most opposition fans will always remember him as a diving cheat who kicked most of his goals from free kicks even if the actual fact that he averaged under 1 free kick per game is easy to look up.

I feel that the delays are hurting his reputation in the eyes of the wider footy community. Will more time will help him make up his mind ? I am not sure it will.

If Lloyd quits now, he walks away a suspended & unsatisfied man, feeling shabby about the way the club ( Knights especially ) has treated him, recently his reputation has been sullied by idiots calling him a snipper & questions have been asked about his delays in making up his mind about his playing future.
Our game style/plan does not help him - his body is slower than it once was and slower to heal from the bumps & bruises after games. With a bigger family ( & new baby ) & off field offers to commentate etc he has many reasons to hang the boots up.

I reckon he should take up the year to play for Essendon. Ask Knights for one fairwell game & to play at full forward for this game. ( Ala round 18 vs Dees where he kicked 8 goals ). The Dons could market the game as his last and he could retire with the grace he deserves. Afterwards he could quit immediately after showing the world what we will all miss.

So you really think your opinion is how Lloyd is thinking ?
For a start how has Knights treeted him poorly ? FFS they want him to play on and have said dozens of times it is totaly Lloyds decision.

The problem is you morons belive everything you read in the paper :eek:

To put things into perspective somewhat, Matthew Richardson has stated he'll wait right up until the National Draft to decide whether or not he will play on. The Richmond Football Club support this decision.

Different circumstances, due to his future being affected by injury, but the way some are carrying on over Lloyd taking 2 weeks to decide is a bit rich.

So you really think your opinion is how Lloyd is thinking ?
For a start how has Knights treeted him poorly ? FFS they want him to play on and have said dozens of times it is totaly Lloyds decision.

The problem is you morons belive everything you read in the paper :eek:

Reputations are massive - they effect how we feel about ourselves.

I think that Lloyd is a very proud man. I reckon that he is well aware of how he is percerved in the wider footy community. He is human too and these perceptions, to some extent effect him. I am not arguing that they are his primary concern, but they are factors that Lloyd himself would be considering.

No question there are many reasons for him to simply hang up the boots.
His legacy as a great football player, ie how you are remembered will impact his decision.

It is misguided to think that those issues I raised should disproportionaly influence his decision, but they will effect his verdict.

I dont want him to quit, but understand the need to seriously consider his position, thats why I recommend he takes up the contract and plays one more awesome game of footy with the approval of Knighter out of the square and goes out on his terms. He needs this game to give him that peace of mind I feel.

I might be so far from the truth that it is funny. I hope that Lloyd is a rock & in pernatrible fortress of steel. But he strikes me as an intelligent and aware guy who knows whats going on and what people think...

The club has handled this delicate issue with open honesty.

I dont think anyone would have been happy with any other handeling method - we are talking about the retirement of Matthew no mere human being Lloyd. It was always going to be difficult.

We are building a team to hopefully deliver a flag ASAP. Lloyd simply wont be in it, so I can understand Knighter's perspective too.

Blind freddy could see that Lloyd was not going to playing in the goal sqaure by the years end. Did Lloyd think the by the years end there would be a change to this situation & he would be playing as the No 1 FF again?

In summary I dont know what Lloyd is thinking. I was only speculating. Thats what this forum is all about. I am offering an opinion - nothing more, perhaps less.

Just make a decision.

Could be wrong mate, but everywhere I've looked I haven't found anything about Lloyd taking so long to decide based on what role he's going to play in the team. Nothing quoted from any relevant party anyway, I have read plenty of media junk. And whilst he may have some interest in the average essendon fan's opinion in him, I would hope that any father (or mother for that matter) would be willing to face media criticism in order to think through and make the correct decision regarding the future of himself and therefore his family, rather than caving in to media pressure to no real benefit other than getting ignorant spectators to shut their mouths.

Wanted to bold the whole thing haha, you've said it perfectly.

Reputations are massive - they effect how we feel about ourselves.

I think that Lloyd is a very proud man. I reckon that he is well aware of how he is percerved in the wider footy community. He is human too and these perceptions, to some extent effect him. I am not arguing that they are his primary concern, but they are factors that Lloyd himself would be considering.

No question there are many reasons for him to simply hang up the boots.
His legacy as a great football player, ie how you are remembered will impact his decision.

It is misguided to think that those issues I raised should disproportionaly influence his decision, but they will effect his verdict.

I dont want him to quit, but understand the need to seriously consider his position, thats why I recommend he takes up the contract and plays one more awesome game of footy with the approval of Knighter out of the square and goes out on his terms. He needs this game to give him that peace of mind I feel.

I might be so far from the truth that it is funny. I hope that Lloyd is a rock & in pernatrible fortress of steel. But he strikes me as an intelligent and aware guy who knows whats going on and what people think...

The club has handled this delicate issue with open honesty.

I dont think anyone would have been happy with any other handeling method - we are talking about the retirement of Matthew no mere human being Lloyd. It was always going to be difficult.

We are building a team to hopefully deliver a flag ASAP. Lloyd simply wont be in it, so I can understand Knighter's perspective too.

Blind freddy could see that Lloyd was not going to playing in the goal sqaure by the years end. Did Lloyd think the by the years end there would be a change to this situation & he would be playing as the No 1 FF again?

In summary I dont know what Lloyd is thinking. I was only speculating. Thats what this forum is all about. I am offering an opinion - nothing more, perhaps less.

I don't think people are arguing Lloyd isn't aware of his public reception, or even that he really has no interest in it at all. People are arguing that he won't and shouldn't make decisions based on these receptions, when compared to more important factors like age and physical capability, family, life decisions etc.

And you seem to have made your opinion more agreeable. It was more when you were saying things like "This whole affair is putting a dark stain on his excellent reputation. I wish he would come out & tell us what he was going to do today" that you sounded ignorant.

Only thing is I don't understand you saying "but I can understand Knighter's perspective too" when it seems to be the same as your own in the preceding thought? He is willing to offer a final year, but concedes he won't be part of the next flag.

And no, there is nothing to suggest Lloyd did "think the by the years end there would be a change to this situation & he would be playing as the No 1 FF again" except media filth.

I don't think people are arguing Lloyd isn't aware of his public reception, or even that he really has no interest in it at all. People are arguing that he won't and shouldn't make decisions based on these receptions, when compared to more important factors like age and physical capability, family, life decisions etc.

And you seem to have made your opinion more agreeable. It was more when you were saying things like "This whole affair is putting a dark stain on his excellent reputation. I wish he would come out & tell us what he was going to do today" that you sounded ignorant.

Only thing is I don't understand you saying "but I can understand Knighter's perspective too" when it seems to be the same as your own in the preceding thought? He is willing to offer a final year, but concedes he won't be part of the next flag.

And no, there is nothing to suggest Lloyd did "think the by the years end there would be a change to this situation & he would be playing as the No 1 FF again" except media filth.

We really dont know what he is weighing up. His ageing & slowing body, his reputation, the way he has left footy to date ( Hawks game & being suspended ), his role up the field under Knights, his family, offers of more money & fame outside of the footy field etc etc...

Ultimately this is a discussion about what we all think about these matters.

I mostly think two things - no 1. that this matter is getting too much newspaper print for my liking.

No.2 I personally expected him to have made up his mind by now.
A clear desicion made just at the end of the season is a reflection of a strong leader and club. One that lingers could be seen as doubtfull, weak or perhaps confused.

For selfish reasons I really hope that he makes up his mind soonish, so that I can put together my top 22 side for 2010 :p. But seriously, lets hope he plays on at least for one more game & Knighter gives him the chance to play that game at FF !

I'm not a troll however I am have taken some interest in the Llyod situation

from what I read I believe the issue is Llyod want to only play FF however the club wants him to play more up the field so the club can develop some of your young stars in the key positions and for Matty to play a mentoring role.

I think this is a very sensible and responsible approach from your club, both Hurley and Gumble's have massive potential and need the scope and opportunity to develop

I just find Matty's position a bit surprising and maybe bordering on selfish, someone once told me thatthere is no "I" in Team