maccas_no1

Suspended
Glenelg, MUFC, Triple 8
Okay here we go, weather was great nice sunny ground was in good shape, about 1500-2000 people.

1st Q: Melbourne got the first goal but the Crows got a quick reply through Welsh, we them missed three set shots all gettable, this needs to improve. Welsh and Stevens presented well, but yeah need to convert.

2nd Q: Crows swung back the advantage to only trail by a pt at half time, they worked the ball well through the corridor, but did go wide on occassions, Johncock was very solid at HB, Van Berlo like this kid alot, but he needs a good couple of yrs in the gym, he used the ball well.

3rd Q: All Adelaide, Goodwin took a sensational mark, Stevens and Welsh continued to present, and mmmmmm Burton kicked a nice goal with a snap shot from about 20m out.

4th Q: Dropped it like a hot potato, lost momentum through the middle tended to start to look wide again which brought it all undone, Joihncock made a couple of error's in defence which resulted in Melbourne goals.

Perrie: Crap didnt take a contested mark all day, he needs to, he is built like a brick ********house but doesnt know how to use it.

Johncock: Very solid at HB and took a number of good defensive marks.

Goodwin,Mcleod and Roo: All worked hard and did nice things, Roo was rotated off the bench a fair bit during the game,Mcleod and Goodwin pretty much played a full game.

Steven's and Welsh: Very good up forward and both are needed for success in 2005 as Perrie is not up to it.

Bock and Skipworth: Thought both played pretty well today and Skippy held his feet well in contests and was solid and used the ball well, Bock was good used the ball well.

There you have it ;)

Thanks Marty. Good stuff.

Don't think you mentioned Huddo but they gave him big wraps on 5AA.

Did you see the injured players walking off after the game, and if so, how did they look?

macca23 said:
Thanks Marty. Good stuff.

Don't think you mentioned Huddo but they gave him big wraps on 5AA.

Did you see the injured players walking off after the game, and if so, how did they look?

Yeah sorry was trying to get it all in before it timed out, um Hudson was very good, was rotated of the bench a fair bit but took alot of good marks.

Burton definate hammy, he did it right in front of me, was running full stretch towards the boundryline after the footy and grabbed his left hammy. Steven's was near the fence after the game and had ice on his left ankle and struggled to put weight on it.

thanks for the report marty - and to the others in the other thread muchos gracias :)

maccas_no1 said:
Yeah sorry was trying to get it all in before it timed out, um Hudson was very good, was rotated of the bench a fair bit but took alot of good marks.

Burton definate hammy, he did it right in front of me, was running full stretch towards the boundryline after the footy and grabbed his left hammy. Steven's was near the fence after the game and had ice on his left ankle and struggled to put weight on it.

Absolute bugger about Burton - he was on fire.

I'll gladly take an ankle for Stevens over a knee.

Welsh and Bock seemed to have corkies going by the call.

If Welsh, Stevens and Burton don't play against WCE, we are rooted!!

maccas_no1 said:
Okay here we go, weather was great nice sunny ground was in good shape, about 1500-2000 people.

1st Q: Melbourne got the first goal but the Crows got a quick reply through Welsh, we them missed three set shots all gettable, this needs to improve. Welsh and Stevens presented well, but yeah need to convert.

2nd Q: Crows swung back the advantage to only trail by a pt at half time, they worked the ball well through the corridor, but did go wide on occassions, Johncock was very solid at HB, Van Berlo like this kid alot, but he needs a good couple of yrs in the gym, he used the ball well.

3rd Q: All Adelaide, Goodwin took a sensational mark, Stevens and Welsh continued to present, and mmmmmm Burton kicked a nice goal with a snap shot from about 20m out.

4th Q: Dropped it like a hot potato, lost momentum through the middle tended to start to look wide again which brought it all undone, Joihncock made a couple of error's in defence which resulted in Melbourne goals.

Perrie: Crap didnt take a contested mark all day, he needs to, he is built like a brick ********house but doesnt know how to use it.

Johncock: Very solid at HB and took a number of good defensive marks.

Goodwin,Mcleod and Roo: All worked hard and did nice things, Roo was rotated off the bench a fair bit during the game,Mcleod and Goodwin pretty much played a full game.

Steven's and Welsh: Very good up forward and both are needed for success in 2005 as Perrie is not up to it.

Bock and Skipworth: Thought both played pretty well today and Skippy held his feet well in contests and was solid and used the ball well, Bock was good used the ball well.

There you have it ;)

Excellent report mate. I was at the game I agree with all your comments.

I was at the game too.

McLeod was very quiet. Played up forward a lot and dropped a sitter in the fourth. Seemed to be hanging around for easy receives a lot.

Goodwin was sensational. Burton was excellent until he got injured. Roo was solid as usual.

Meesen did some good things but disposal let him down. Hudson was imposing. I think he will have a good season.

I found it unusual that people were praising the crows for going long and direct. They seemed to still go wide an awful lot to me.

I was near the Crows huddle at 3/4 time. We bag Bock a lot but that guy is HUGE up close (actually they all were, psh professional athletes). He had the ball a few times but didn't seem to know what to do with it.

Mattner looks impressive when he 'runs the lines' but he doesn't really make good decisions.

Skipworth looked lively playing around the half forward flank.

Our midfield was ON FIRE in the 2nd and 3rd. Just unstoppable. Not sure what happened in the fourth. They just went to sleep and let Melbourne dominate the game.

topjars said:
Where did Perrie play who was on him and pleeeeeease explain why he is *****ken good maccas_no1 :D

Um played across HF and HB, I counted four different time's he didnt take contested marks, for his size that is discraceful, he doesnt jump at all he just expects to take it on his chest.

MRobbo said:
Excellent report mate. I was at the game I agree with all your comments.

Thanks mate, I tell ya Ive been stressing about this report, I was on the train on the way home and thinking now what do I write, it has to be professional, it has to as good as stiffy's and macca23's reports :p

I was there too and I agree with what Marty said :)

Skippy, Hudson, Stiffy and Goodwin all played really well. Roo was his normal great self

Was good to have a look at the young kiddies too

MASSIVE CROWD...from afc.com

GOALS: Adelaide: M.Stevens 4, Welsh, Perrie, McLeod, Burton, Ricciuto, Meesen, Bode, Goodwin
BEST: Adelaide: M.Stevens, Goodwin, McLeod, Burton
INJURIES: Adelaide: Welsh (corked thigh), Stevens (rolled ankle), Burton (cramp)
REPORTS: Nil.
CROWD: est. 300 at Optus Oval

Good report maccas_no1. I was there too and generally agree with what you've said. The last quarter was very disappointing considering the strong position we'd got ourselves to with an excellent third quarter, and the amount of talent the Dees were missing.

Truck Rutten said:
Good report maccas_no1. I was there too and generally agree with what you've said. The last quarter was very disappointing considering the strong position we'd got ourselves to with an excellent third quarter, and the amount of talent the Dees were missing.

Thanks mate :) Dee's are going to be pushing the top 4 in 2005.

Oh what a load of crap. Perrie has one bad game and suddenly he isn't up to it. Where's your logic of that sort when McLeod does another bugger-all game? Is he not up to it either?

Perrie has had a good pre-season. One off game and he is cast off for the season? Talk about chardonnay supporters. Get a bloody grip or don't support the damn team, turncoat.

spindoctor said:
Oh what a load of crap. Perrie has one bad game and suddenly he isn't up to it. Where's your logic of that sort when McLeod does another bugger-all game? Is he not up to it either?

Perrie has had a good pre-season. One off game and he is cast off for the season? Talk about chardonnay supporters. Get a bloody grip or don't support the damn team, turncoat.
Phew.

Someone is fired up tonight :p

Stiffy_18 said:
Phew.

Someone is fired up tonight :p

must be the fireworks at the wok final! ye gods can someone please stop the afl from trying to make our game more like the nfl?

I'm just getting tired of these supporters who write off a player after one bad performance, we seem to do it all the time on this board and I'm sick of it.

spindoctor said:

Okay last week I got ripped into over Burton, now Perrie, okay now I will back up with reasons, yesterday Perrie played across HF and HB, two position where you must take contested marks, he failed, he doesnt jump and expects the ball to land on his chest, thats fine if he isnt going to jump he needs to use his body but didnt do that either, and it anit the first time he has done it he does it all the time, therefore he isnt anything more than a traveller, unless he puts his hand up takes constested marks, what role does he have???

maccas_no1 said:
Okay last week I got ripped into over Burton, now Perrie, okay now I will back up with reasons, yesterday Perrie played across HF and HB, two position where you must take contested marks, he failed, he doesnt jump and expects the ball to land on his chest, thats fine if he isnt going to jump he needs to use his body but didnt do that either, and it anit the first time he has done it he does it all the time, therefore he isnt anything more than a traveller, unless he puts his hand up takes constested marks, what role does he have???

He is nothing more than a traveller? Because of this one game? PUHLEEZE. What a LOAD OF CRAP. Do you remember 2003, when he basically held down CHF in our absence of talls and was roundly excellent? Or when Craig returned him to CHF last year, and he dominated - including All-Australian cockmonkey Chad Cornes?

That he is suddenly a failure and a 'traveller' after one game, makes me wonder what the hell you're on about?

spindoctor said:
He is nothing more than a traveller? Because of this one game? PUHLEEZE. What a LOAD OF CRAP. Do you remember 2003, when he basically held down CHF in our absence of talls and was roundly excellent? Or when Craig returned him to CHF last year, and he dominated - including All-Australian cockmonkey Chad Cornes?

That he is suddenly a failure and a 'traveller' after one game, makes me wonder what the hell you're on about?

2003 yes he had a good season, 2004 went missing when he was needed to stand up in the absence of Stevo, failed, as I said failed to take a contested mark on Friday arvo and hasnt shown much in any of the other pre-season games either, cannot hold his feet either very well, Skipworth held his feet better and is tiny compared to Perrie, Perrie=traveller.

I agree whole heartedly with Maccas no. 1 here. Perrie was very poor on Friday. The most concerning thing about his performance was his inability to even compete in the air against a 'savings' brand Melbourne defence. Out marked time and time again without a whimper he spent the last few quarters pushing wide to the boundries as a decoy CHF.

Very disappointing. I've seen him twice this year. One good one and one poor one. He's career is in the balance right now. Bring on King Fergus!