Vic Melbourne's Sudanese gangs

The local Sudanese population is broken into two groups here, one side government and one side rebel but as far as the Perth people are concerned they are one.

But it means they quite casually laugh about one side trashing another's home. I never felt scared because they were after each other, bringing their fight here, than going after me.

It is interesting that it is the Feds leading the charge here.

Guy is still deeply vulnerable over his "Lobster With A Mobster" stuff and I wouldn't be at all surprised if there's more to come on that.
It's as much about the next federal election as it is Victorian politics. This ties in nicely with the ALP will let in lots of dangerous brown people campaign that the Libs are sure to wheel out.
I'm pretty sure the Victorian Libs are broke. I can't remember the last time I heard it mentioned, but I think the first time was around the time when that dude embezzled $1M. A Hun report suggests mid-2017 they were millions in debt and running out of what money they had.

Slightly off-topic, but the right-wing's love affair with claiming there are 'no go zones' - does it ever extend to areas women may feel unsafe walking alone at night?

Yep. They are always blabbering on about how parts of London/Paris/Brussels/Malmo etc are "no go zones". When I lived in Brussels my mates told me on arrival to avoid Molenbeek (one of, if not THE, key European recruitin/planning base for Daesh ... was where the guys who did the Paris and Brussels attacks came from and then hid out in) if possible. I ended up going there for work a few times and once accidentally ended up walking through it with my then girlfriend, who was wearing a light summer dress and didn't have her head covered. We didn't have any problems. The main issue with Molenbeek I had when I went was basic street crime due to poverty rather than any threat of jihadists beheading people on the street. I've also been so the roughest banlieues in Paris - Clichy Sous Bois, St Denis - and it was a similar vibe in play.

EVERY major city has poor areas with high crime that are best avoided if you live there. But the notion that there's parts of major Western cities where sharia law is in force, and the cops can't go and non-Muslims will be beheaded if they enter is purely a right wing fantasy dreamed up by trollumnists who tend to live in the inner cities of the major metropolises (that they slag in print) and live the kind of very cosmopolitan "soy latter and smashed avocado" lifestyles that they again deplore in their "work".

This was when across the road from Newmarket was still abattoirs and stockyards right? I don't think the people who moved in to the area expected machete attacks after the gentrification.

Yep, I used to walk through those cattleyards on the way home from school (in a different house in Flem, lived in two places there, one on Wellington Street just down from the jackshop, the other over near Ascot Vale Road).

On topic - Flem was a lot harder and rougher back then ...before the Africans moved in ... and the main miscreants were good old white blokes from long established criminal families, and the Turks.

Yep, I used to walk through those cattleyards on the way home from school (in a different house in Flem, lived in two places there, one on Wellington Street just down from the jackshop, the other over near Ascot Vale Road).

On topic - Flem was a lot harder and rougher back then ...before the Africans moved in ... and the main miscreants were good old white blokes from long established criminal families, and the Turks.
If we could come to an agreement where the Sudanese confine themselves to butchering the people that live in the apartments for which they're tearing down The Quiet Man, then I think everyone will be happy.

Are the Sudanese really "butchering" people in Melbourne, or are you using overly emotive language in order to politicise a social problem?
There have been a number of machete / stabbing attacks in the Flemington + Kensington area perpetrated by 'Africans' the past year or so.

It's as much about the next federal election as it is Victorian politics. This ties in nicely with the ALP will let in lots of dangerous brown people campaign that the Libs are sure to wheel out.

Exactly, this stuff from Turnbull isn't aimed at the Victorian electorate. The Libs have already written that off.

I'm pretty sure the Victorian Libs are broke. I can't remember the last time I heard it mentioned, but I think the first time was around the time when that dude embezzled $1M. A Hun report suggests mid-2017 they were millions in debt and running out of what money they had.

Damian Mantach stealing millions didn't help, but their core issues are that they are in dispute with the Trust that used to provide lots and lots of funding - the case is currently in court I believe - and their factional stuff. There's a massive push led by one Marco Bastiaan to bring in young very Christian very very right wing membership and take over braches and get preselection.

This means taking on the existing party hierarchy which tends to be older, wealthier and relatively socially liberal. The new breed are socially very conservative, tend not to be so well off (not poor, far from it, but not old money and younger)

Is that why Matthew Guy was luncheoning with the Mafiosa? Fund-raising?

Damian Mantach stealing millions didn't help, but their core issues are that they are in dispute with the Trust that used to provide lots and lots of funding - the case is currently in court I believe - and their factional stuff. There's a massive push led by one Marco Bastiaan to bring in young very Christian very very right wing membership and take over braches and get preselection.

This means taking on the existing party hierarchy which tends to be older, wealthier and relatively socially liberal. The new breed are socially very conservative, tend not to be so well off (not poor, far from it, but not old money and younger)
Big power play here with the hard right working very hard to take over the party, they're going after Pyne in a big way.

Reading the Herald Sun headlines one would think we have a similar problem to that of Chicago , “Victoria in a state of fear “ Lol
And this is the crap that comes out in the Facebook feeds of certain rellos in country Victoria. Who rarely go down to Melbourne.

If we could come to an agreement where the Sudanese confine themselves to butchering the people that live in the apartments for which they're tearing down The Quiet Man, then I think everyone will be happy.

The pub that The Quiet Man replaced was an absolute bloodhouse - The Palace - frequented by various crims and hoods. Now THERE was a place that the cops were afraid to enter.

There were some rough as guts pubs in the area back before the gentrification. Many of them turned into apartments. The Centennial (on Rankins Road, a few blocks down from the Quiet Man) being a good example. Local legend has it - I know one bloke who was there - that Chopper Read had a dispute with a gentlemen who would drink there, this taking place in one of the brief periods in the 70/80s. Chopper rocked up and barged in spitting fire about what he was going to do to the bloke, only to find himself staring down the barrels of several guns that had been rapidly produced by the clientele. Chopper exited swiftly with the stern advice of the gun-toting locals that he should go back to St Kilda and effin stay there ringing in his ears.

Are the Sudanese really "butchering" people in Melbourne, or are you using overly emotive language in order to politicise a social problem?
King Brown is an expert in language, Gough. You know when you go to the Butcher and they sell you a live cow with a wound? It's called "Butchering".

CrankyHawk, here is another example of a young guy who could've been cynical like you and said 'why bother', but he's busy ruining the Liberals chances at election for yonks to come by trying to turn them into NSW-style religious conservatives. You just have to get the numbers.

The pub that The Quiet Man replaced was an absolute bloodhouse - The Palace - frequented by various crims and hoods. Now THERE was a place that the cops were afraid to enter.

There were some rough as guts pubs in the area back before the gentrification. Many of them turned into apartments. The Centennial (on Rankins Road, a few blocks down from the Quiet Man) being a good example. Local legend has it - I know one bloke who was there - that Chopper Read had a dispute with a gentlemen who would drink there, this taking place in one of the brief periods in the 70/80s. Chopper rocked up and barged in spitting fire about what he was going to do to the bloke, only to find himself staring down the barrels of several guns that had been rapidly produced by the clientele. Chopper exited swiftly with the stern advice of the gun-toting locals that he should go back to St Kilda and effin stay there ringing in his ears.
Hadn't heard of that one, probably well before my time. Googled it and found this on Street View.

rankins.jpg

Lol.

King Brown is an expert in language, Gough. You know when you go to the Butcher and they sell you a live cow with a wound? It's called "Butchering".
Welcome to the English language. It can be colourful at times.

Poor Ratts. Schooled in one thread and takes his grievances to another.

There have been a number of machete / stabbing attacks in the Flemington + Kensington area perpetrated by 'Africans' the past year or so.

Usually fighting among themselves.

There was a spate, this is going back ten years, of gangs of African guys wandering around the area between North Melbourne/Flem late, late at night, usually Friday/Saturday, and bashing and robbing people who were walking home (often pissed from the pub or a night out).

I was living overseas when this spate occurred and chilled me to the bone as I would routinely walk home from sessions in the city/North Melbourne/mates places in the area to Flem, at three in the morning. I used to love walking the old hood late at night, I'd usually have headphones in. I would have been the exact kind of target they were looking for, and they weren't just giving blokes a whack across the chops and taking their wallets, they were really beating shit out of people.

This is the thing - there is an issue with a very small number of African guys and street crime, often quite violent. But it isn't all Africans, it isn't something only Africans do and the current reporting of these things is using their race for political "advantage" given the current climate, both domestically and internationally, where racist generalisations have been normalized in political discourse.

Big power play here with the hard right working very hard to take over the party, they're going after Pyne in a big way.

Yep, is very similar dynamic.

Usually fighting among themselves.

There was a spate, this is going back ten years, of gangs of African guys wandering around the area between North Melbourne/Flem late, late at night, usually Friday/Saturday, and bashing and robbing people who were walking home (often pissed from the pub or a night out).

I was living overseas when this spate occurred and chilled me to the bone as I would routinely walk home from sessions in the city/North Melbourne/mates places in the area to Flem, at three in the morning. I used to love walking the old hood late at night, I'd usually have headphones in. I would have been the exact kind of target they were looking for, and they weren't just giving blokes a whack across the chops and taking their wallets, they were really beating shit out of people.

This is the thing - there is an issue with a very small number of African guys and street crime, often quite violent. But it isn't all Africans, it isn't something only Africans do and the current reporting of these things is using their race for political "advantage" given the current climate, both domestically and internationally, where racist generalisations have been normalized in political discourse.
I still have friends and family in the area and when I visit get pretty drunk and haven't noticed too many changes in the past 10 years. But there have been a few people stabbed or threatened with machetes as well as home invasions, and people in the area do feel something has changed recently. The violence is more random and wanton, less about petty theft.

And this is the crap that comes out in the Facebook feeds of certain rellos in country Victoria. Who rarely go down to Melbourne.

The golden rule - the further people live from the places with the highest concentrations of immigrants, the more concerned they are with immigration.

On the one occasion I was unfortunate enough to find myself in Queensland, I recall being at a servo on a dusty road in the middle of nowhere. Big ute/truck pulled into the carpark that had a prominent "F**k Off We're Full" sticker. The irony was not lost on me and my inner city Melbourne flog travelling companions.

Vic Melbourne's Sudanese gangs