- Reaction score
- AFL Club
- Adelaide
- Other Teams
- Central Districts
If we had the choice between pick 26 this year and say...pick 10-14 in 2 years, I'd take the latter.

Soccer Notice Image
FA Cup Semi-Finals ⚽ 2026 FIFA Series A - Socceroos friendlies ⚽ Europa - Rd of 16 ⚽ The Matildas x 2026 Womens Asia Cup ⚽ Conference League - KNOCKOUTS! ⚽ Conference League - Rd of 16 ⚽ Socceroos Internat'l Friendlies ⚽ Champs League - League Phase ⚽
Fantasy Footy Notice Image Round 5
SuperCoach Rd 5 SC Talk - Trade Talk - Capt/VC ,//, AFL Fantasy Rd 5 AFF Talk - AF Trades - Capt/VC
Sadly I think your information is right.
IMO Bock would fit into the 2nd bracket which gives us a first rounder, which if we wait until 2012 to 2014 to use, means that we can use it directly after our first round pick at the time of using it.
We can use it this year if we want to, but it can only be used at the end of the first round, even if it is a first rounder. The same would apply if we used it next year as well.
This year, apart from their normal pick, the GC gets picks 2, 3, 5, 7, 9, 11, 13, 15. This means that the first round has a total of 17 plus 8 = 25 picks
If no other club finishing below us uses a similar pick then that first round pick for Bock would become pick 26.
However, if there were 3 clubs below us, who had also lost a player to the GC, and had also received a first rounder in return and decided to use it this year, then that would push our pick out to 29 if we used it this year.
I think that we are virtually forced to hang out to 2012 to 2014 to get any value out of the pick.
Vlad has been on SEN stating that we may not get anything for him. Apparently because all the clubs 'agreed' that the GC needed to be competitive.
It still freaks me out that the CEO of the AFL can say such stuff.
i'm going to wait and see what he says to Geelong then.
that man is a flog(er not ablett)
Vlad has been on SEN stating that we may not get anything for him. Apparently because all the clubs 'agreed' that the GC needed to be competitive.
Last year, two players were paid between $900,000-1,000,000, with seven others earning more than $700,000.
Earning power if the one we want.
They'll revise their rules to give us the ass though.
This is a reason why they didn't make the rules public, so they can tinker.

Apparently we will get around pick 26 for him...I hope that is totally wrong but that is what I am led to believe
I may be wrong but i don't think you got your compensation pick immediately after the pick you have in the draft that year.. If geelong are top how could that happen yet they get early first rounders for ablett?
Think the afl just decide from their weighting system that Player X is worth pick 5 or pick 11 or whatever and they then slide that pick into whatever draft you choose to use it in..
Surely there must be some confusion on the listeners' or Vlad's part. There are rules in place that guarantee compensation for any uncontracted player signed by the GC.
We will get compensation, it just may be shit.

It doesn't work that way mate. Its an artificially created market up there in the initial stages and the salaries are nowhere near reflective of a players overall AFL ranking. My understanding is that a discretionary call will be made as to what banding a player sits in. God knows how they work that out. If I was a betting man i'd say Bock is a Band 2 and guys like Ablett are Band 1.At the very least we should get a pick in the second category, however, if the rumours are true that he's on 600k+ a year, I'm not sure how the AFL can deny us a catagory 1. How many blokes are on 500k+ a year in the AFL? 5, maybe 10? If that doesn't classify a bloke as top echelon, I'm really not sure what does, no matter what his age is. If GC are willing to fork out that much doe, then he's clearly pretty valuable.
Trigg's comment is baffling though. You don't get a pick "in the range of 26 to 30", you get a pick that depends upon your ladder position. Unless he's of the opinion that we must use it this year, in which case he's woefully uninformed.