more importantly.....

• Thread starter Thread starter Cap

thats why I will be interested in the AFL clarifying what it means by top echelon

I would be pretty certain they are going to wait until Ablett goes or not. In reality if Ablett goes everything will be discounted from what ever he ends up with

well thats the way I read it anyhow.

Not much for him

UPDATE 2.02pm: ADELAIDE has slammed the system that will give them one draft pick for Gold Coast-bound Nathan Bock.

Bock, 27, on Tuesday announced he would join the cashed-up Suns

Bock's departure disappointed Adelaide CEO Steven Trigg and coach Neil Craig, who don't know what compensation they will receive for the 2008 All Australian and club champion.

Trigg believed it could be a draft pick numbered between 26 and 30.

"When it happens to you as a club and you get a 26 to 30 ... it stinks," Trigg said.

Not much for him

Sadly I think your information is right.

IMO Bock would fit into the 2nd bracket which gives us a first rounder, which if we wait until 2012 to 2014 to use, means that we can use it directly after our first round pick at the time of using it.

We can use it this year if we want to, but it can only be used at the end of the first round, even if it is a first rounder. The same would apply if we used it next year as well.

This year, apart from their normal pick, the GC gets picks 2, 3, 5, 7, 9, 11, 13, 15. This means that the first round has a total of 17 plus 8 = 25 picks

If no other club finishing below us uses a similar pick then that first round pick for Bock would become pick 26.

However, if there were 3 clubs below us, who had also lost a player to the GC, and had also received a first rounder in return and decided to use it this year, then that would push our pick out to 29 if we used it this year.

I think that we are virtually forced to hang out to 2012 to 2014 to get any value out of the pick.

Agree Macca. Would be stupid of us to use it this year or next unless the Crows can somehow work some magic and complete a trade for Ryan Griffen.
We now have significant cash to throw around including draft picks, hopefully we can also "on trade" the pick we get for Bock.
Whilst its disappointing to lose Bock I am excited about the opportunity this could give the club in signing a top line midfielder that we desperately need.

Here is a bit from an article on the AFL website, link:http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/100552/default.aspx

“I would expect that with Nathan being the calibre of player that he is that we would get an end of first round draft pick [as compensation] but with the way it’s looking over the next two years that pick could be anywhere between pick No.6 and pick No.30,” Trigg said.

“You would say that’s not really what you would normally accept for a Nathan Bock in a normal trade scenario. We all knew that was the case when this was set up, but I can tell you one thing when it happens to you as a club and you lose a player like Nathan and get pick 26-30 over the next couple of years it stings.”

Vlad has been on SEN stating that we may not get anything for him. Apparently because all the clubs 'agreed' that the GC needed to be competitive.

It still freaks me out that the CEO of the AFL can say such stuff.

Vlad has been on SEN stating that we may not get anything for him. Apparently because all the clubs 'agreed' that the GC needed to be competitive.

i'm going to wait and see what he says to Geelong then.

that man is a flog :thumbsu: (er not ablett)

of course he will, but if that happens i expect the Crows to actually do something in the form of a legal challenge.

whilst I agree that the Suns need to be cometitive from the get go and i'm not really all that fussed about Bock leaving BUT there needs to be a point made that the AFL has to be responsible for their actions.

i'm sure other clubs would be in the same boat if they don't get anything in return for losing a player.

i'm resigned to the fact we won't be adequately compensated but to receive nothing, will leave me absolutely seething. i will honestly want vlad's head on a pike and placed in the middle of victoria square.

You're kidding me! How does giving us a draft pick for a player they stole from us make GC anymore competetive? It's not like we're taking away one of their own draft picks. If that happens the AFL is an absolute joke. I'm sure the clubs only agreed to the GC taking uncontracted players because they were assured they would get some form of compensation. How can they change the rules at a whim? Bloody joke.

If players like Bock, Brown, Harbrow and Ablett can be poached without compensation then there is a serious problem and the other 16 clubs need to take a stand. I understand they need to be competetive but that shouldn't include making all the other clubs less competetive.

Surely there must be some confusion on the listeners' or Vlad's part. There are rules in place that guarantee compensation for any uncontracted player signed by the GC.

We will get compensation, it just may be shit.

Average player salary tops $221,000

http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/90746/default.aspx

Last year, two players were paid between $900,000-1,000,000, with seven others earning more than $700,000.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/90746/default.aspx

If the table at the bottom of this article is correct only 13 players earnt more than Bock will earn next year, last year. When they said Top Echelon I wonder how many people they were referring to?

Earning power if the one we want.

They'll revise their rules to give us the ass though.

This is a reason why they didn't make the rules public, so they can tinker.

Earning power if the one we want.

They'll revise their rules to give us the ass though.

This is a reason why they didn't make the rules public, so they can tinker.

Can you imagine how crap the compensation rules will be if the only players they take are Bock, Krakoeur, Pavlich, Cox, O'Keefe and Brennan?:rolleyes:

We can only hope they have signed up someone from Collingwood and Carlton!

I would also be surprised if this is true and Vlad doesn’t clarify what he said.

If true, other players maybe less inclined to out rightly leave in the knowledge that their team will get nothing, heck maybe even Bock may have thought harder about it.

If the AFL are serious they should have the players at least feeling at ease that whilst they are mildly screwing their former clubs over they aren’t out rightly bending them over a barrel and causing damage which will require surgery down the track.

Apparently we will get around pick 26 for him...I hope that is totally wrong but that is what I am led to believe

That would be correct if you were to use it this year because the first round is longer than usual due to to GC having all the top picks, so the club that finishes first will have their first pick at 25ish rather than the normal 16. Hence why you probably won't use it this year, and neither will we (use the picks we will get). If you use it in a normal year (2012 onwards) I'm pretty sure it would be a pick in the teens but I'm not sure. The confusing element for me in theory is it's pick X, but what happens if 6 clubs use their compo picks in the same draft...do all our first round compo picks get pushed down? I would assume the AFL will release something clarifying this in due course.

I may be wrong but i don't think you got your compensation pick immediately after the pick you have in the draft that year.. If geelong are top how could that happen yet they get early first rounders for ablett?

Think the afl just decide from their weighting system that Player X is worth pick 5 or pick 11 or whatever and they then slide that pick into whatever draft you choose to use it in..

The only way we get early first rounders is if we finish near the bottom that year...so say we finished 14th our normal pick would be 3, so then we would get 4 for Ablett, plus another at the end of the first round.

The compensation isn't adequate, as we're both about to find out, but it's better than nothing. The part of the rule I don't like is that as Cap said, the more you improve, the worse the compensation. I think it should just be pick XYZ based on the determined value of the player rather than ladder position.

Surely there must be some confusion on the listeners' or Vlad's part. There are rules in place that guarantee compensation for any uncontracted player signed by the GC.

We will get compensation, it just may be shit.

no confusion, thats virtually the direct quote to a very basic question. "what will Adelaide get for Bock?". It also is what Caroline Wilson said last night on Footy Classified, that we may not get any compensation for him, it seems to be an accepted thing in the Vic media that this may well be the case.

I would assume the "no compensation" thing would be what would happen if Bock were to simply quit and then put himself into the draft. Hopefully, he wouldn't be such an arseh*le as to do this.

Trigg's comment is baffling though. You don't get a pick "in the range of 26 to 30", you get a pick that depends upon your ladder position. Unless he's of the opinion that we must use it this year, in which case he's woefully uninformed.

One way we could think of this incidentally... if we were to have Goodwin, McLeod, Hentschel, Jacky and Burton retire, and Bock leave, and then upgraded Henderson, Jaensch, Schmidt, and one of Wright/Thompson/Riley, we'd only have to take two picks (since upgrading rookies can count as one of your three compulsary picks, if I understand the system correctly). Then we'd in effect be getting a second round pick that we wouldn't have otherwise got by Bock being gone this year leaving that second extra spot in our draft, AND whatever compensation pick we get in a few years time when we choose to use it.

Yeah, a bit of a roundabout way of looking at it, but still :o

Of course, if the club decides it wants more than two picks in this year's draft, then it's only our final pick that has been "freed up" by Bock leaving.

At the very least we should get a pick in the second category, however, if the rumours are true that he's on 600k+ a year, I'm not sure how the AFL can deny us a catagory 1. How many blokes are on 500k+ a year in the AFL? 5, maybe 10? If that doesn't classify a bloke as top echelon, I'm really not sure what does, no matter what his age is. If GC are willing to fork out that much doe, then he's clearly pretty valuable.
It doesn't work that way mate. Its an artificially created market up there in the initial stages and the salaries are nowhere near reflective of a players overall AFL ranking. My understanding is that a discretionary call will be made as to what banding a player sits in. God knows how they work that out. If I was a betting man i'd say Bock is a Band 2 and guys like Ablett are Band 1.

Trigg's comment is baffling though. You don't get a pick "in the range of 26 to 30", you get a pick that depends upon your ladder position. Unless he's of the opinion that we must use it this year, in which case he's woefully uninformed.

Trigg's comment has been woefully misquoted by the media everywhere. If you watch the interview, he states getting a first round draft pick which will equate to a pick around 26-30 in the next two drafts stinks. i.e., you have to wait until 2012 until you will get some real compensation from using it.

How does us getting compensation for losing one of our better players make GC any less competitive?
If they give us a first rounder, and we choose to use it this year, GC will have already had 9 picks before our compensation kicks in. Does that affect GC in any way?
Sure, if they pick up a few good players, their second rounder might be pushed from pick 26 to pick 30. Will that really be that big a deal to them and jeopardise their ability to be competitive?
If we choose to wait until next year or 2012, the pick wouldn't affect GC in any way whatsoever (they will get a pick 1 later in a future draft, big deal).