Verdict: 'Basically the complete package in terms
of athletic attributes. Quick, aerobically
outstanding, vertical leap is tremendous and he
reads the play really well.'

4. LUKE BALL
Club: Sandringham Dragons
Position: Medium midfielder
Height: 183kg. Weight: 72kg
Verdict: 'Probably the best onballer in the draft.
Got all the attributes to play quality AFL over the
next 10 years.'

5. LUKE HODGE
Club: Geelong Falcons
Position: Medium forward
Height: 184cm. Weight: 88kg
Missed majority of season with osteitis pubis.
Verdict: 'Probably the most versatile of the
players in the draft in terms of being able to
play half-back/half-forward/onballer. He's a
Rolls Royce.'

6. SAM POWER
Club: Oakleigh Chargers
Position: Medium defender
Height: 187cm. Weight: 72kg
Missed camp for German language oral exam.
Verdict: 'He's a scalpel with his left leg. He's got
the most outstanding disposal. Just a surgeon
with the ball.'

7. RICHARD COLE
Club: Eastern Ranges
Height: 184cm. Weight: 82kg
Verdict: 'Untapped is the word with him. Because
of an ankle injury, we have't really seen him play
much since last year's under-16s. He's got some
super ability.'

8. XAVIER CLARKE
Club: St Marys, NT
Height: 181cm. Weight: 74kg
Verdict: 'He's got terrific peripheral vision. A
natural footballer. He going to be a ripper player.'

9. BARRY BROOKS
Club: Tassie Mariners
Position: Ruckman
Height: 199cm. Weight: 89kg
Verdict: 'For a big man, just his mobility and
hands. They don't come along too often and he's
got a real feel for the game. Ability below his
knees is just tremendous.'

10. JAMES BARTEL
Club: Geelong Falcons
Height: 185cm. Weight: 82kg
Verdict: 'Ball magnet. Just knows how to play the
game.'

HONOURABLE MENTIONS
Steven Armstrong (Perth)
Nick Dal Santo (Bendigo Pioneers)
David Hale (Broadbeach)
Ashley Hansen (Oakleigh Chargers)
Shane Harvey (Northern Knights)
Mark Jamar (North Adelaide)
Rick Ladson (Bendigo Pioneers)
Mark McGough (Murray Bushrangers)
Luke Molan (Geelong Falcons)
Brent Reilly (Calder Cannons)
Mark Seaby (West Perth)
Ashley Watson (Bendigo Pioneers)

Originally posted by TheMase
9. BARRY BROOKS
Club: Tassie Mariners
Position: Ruckman
Height: 199cm. Weight: 89kg
Verdict: 'For a big man, just his mobility and
hands. They don't come along too often and he's
got a real feel for the game. Ability below his
knees is just tremendous.'

Mark Jamar (North Adelaide)
I'll be hoping that one of these two blokes is picked up at number 11 by the Pies.

Barry is a bit light on, but will be a star. Guy Richards for us would be a similar player with similar attributes (and touted as 8th pick last year by the Hun), but we picked him up at pick 37 last year. Interesting to see where Barry goes in the draft. Most clubs have no patience!

Jamar would be my preference as a replacement for Stunning Steve McKee. He is aparantly already "ready-made". Just what we need and we would get plenty more years out of him than a pre-used ruckman!

Sam Power is supposedly very similar to Ryan Lonie. Would be a great pick-up for anyone and if the Pies pick him at 11, I won't be disappointed!

Hard to tell if Jamar is ready to go......he's been North Adelaide's #1 ruckman all year..........but North Adelaide finished bottom in a truly pathetic season. But hey, he's the only All-Australin SA u18, so he must be a fair chance, but don't expect him to be Josh Fraser :)

Yep for sure, Hawthorn will take Luke Ball first because they need a midfielder!

Although, from what I have seen Xavier Clarke will be a gun player for years to come!

Luke Hodge is another one with a huge career ahead of him!

Originally posted by Porthos
Hard to tell if Jamar is ready to go......he's been North Adelaide's #1 ruckman all year..........but North Adelaide finished bottom in a truly pathetic season. But hey, he's the only All-Australin SA u18, so he must be a fair chance, but don't expect him to be Josh Fraser :)
Any 18 year old that is the number one ruckman in the SANFL would have to be doing pretty well ... wouldnt they?

Its hard to tell.....at a lot of sides, ruck depth can be so poor that anyone over 195cm can be #1 ruckman...North is really, really weak at the minute. But he hasn't crumpled under the pressure, so its says something for his stamina at least :)

As an aside, I'd like to see Simon Rosa or Hugh Foott (both Bendigo Pioneers) at Port next year.

Originally posted by Porthos
The likes of Ottens (well done Melbourne)/Fraser are few and far between. Given that he could fill a role that we are currently employing a log (Stunning) for, I think he will suffice.

One day the Pies could have Richards and Jamar rotating from the bench for the ruck, with Golden-Boy at Centre Half Forward and Tarrant at Full Forward.

Now if we can just do something about our backline...........

Originally posted by FIGJAM

The likes of Ottens (well done Melbourne)/Fraser are few and far between. Given that he could fill a role that we are currently employing a log (Stunning) for, I think he will suffice.

One day the Pies could have Richards and Jamar rotating from the bench for the ruck, with Golden-Boy at Centre Half Forward and Tarrant at Full Forward.

Now if we can just do something about our backline...........

Jamar and Brooks may not be available by the time the Pies get their 1st pick. Dees and Dogs will be looking for big men early. Kangas and Saints might also opt for talls. This draft is not strong in the big man dept apparantly so clubs who need to stock up in big man strength will need to get in early.

FIGJAM,
I doubt Collingwood will draft another young ruckman. They have 2 already and there are big wraps on Richards. I think their need is more immediate in the ruck dept. and if they can't get one ready to go they should just take the best 18 y.o. available regardless of position/build.

Polak is going to be a good player
And I was mentioning his name back in june,but he main draw back is that he goes missing in games.
Aparently he is a burst type player that can bob up and kick a bag, but will go missing at times.
If he is still around by pick 4 Freo will take him but chances are he will be a Eagle next year.
Just hope he wont be like McDougal who has mysteriously gone missing.

Sampi it seems will then be a docker, like mentioned he is extremely quick and skillful.And will fill the void left by heath black, and the positive is he wont be getting homesick.

All up looks a strong draft
But hardly as strong as the 99 draft
Which stands head and shoulders above the rest
The likes of Frasher,green,pavlich,haselby etc will never again all be seen in the same draft again.

Originally posted by sabre_ac

The likes of Frasher,green,pavlich,haselby etc will never again all be seen in the same draft again.

How can you say that?

I bet you have only seen a handful of this years hopefuls- IF that.

Wait 2 years and then we'll have this conversation again.

Originally posted by TheMase
8. XAVIER CLARKE
Club: St Marys, NT
Height: 181cm. Weight: 74kg
Verdict: 'He's got terrific peripheral vision. A
natural footballer. He going to be a ripper player.'

Mate this guys a gun from watching him at training and games etc...

Originally posted by The Doctor

Jamar and Brooks may not be available by the time the Pies get their 1st pick. Dees and Dogs will be looking for big men early. Kangas and Saints might also opt for talls. This draft is not strong in the big man dept apparantly so clubs who need to stock up in big man strength will need to get in early.
I think you will find that the doggies will always go for the best player available not someone just because they are tall.This is to the disbelief of the supporters sometimes but is the best way to go.;)

Originally posted by sabre_ac
Polak is going to be a good player
And I was mentioning his name back in june,but he main draw back is that he goes missing in games.
Aparently he is a burst type player that can bob up and kick a bag, but will go missing at times.
If he is still around by pick 4 Freo will take him but chances are he will be a Eagle next year.
Just hope he wont be like McDougal who has mysteriously gone missing.

Sampi it seems will then be a docker, like mentioned he is extremely quick and skillful.And will fill the void left by heath black, and the positive is he wont be getting homesick.

You are unbelievable mate! Before WC was getting Polack, you called him the next big thing. Now WC is getting him, oh, he's incosistent. Bet you wouldn't be saying that if Freo got him. On McDougall, its a maturity problem, mentally he aint up to AFL standards, doesn't mean he can't play footy though.

BTW sabre, this draft is known to be the best draft of the last decade so don't go and weave your **** about the 99 draft being better just cause you got the best players in it!

Originally posted by Visro

You are unbelievable mate! Before WC was getting Polack, you called him the next big thing. Now WC is getting him, oh, he's incosistent. Bet you wouldn't be saying that if Freo got him. On McDougall, its a maturity problem, mentally he aint up to AFL standards, doesn't mean he can't play footy though.

BTW sabre, this draft is known to be the best draft of the last decade so don't go and weave your **** about the 99 draft being better just cause you got the best players in it!

True , before the Dockers traded their #1 pick, all we kept hearing about was "Polack, Longmuir, Pavlich" unstoppable forward line
Now its "Polack, unreliable, Sampi's the next big thing"

Bendigo sure is a goldmine for football talent hey Porthos.

At #11 I hope Collingwood picks up either Bartel, Judd, Jamar or Ladson.

I beg to differ I think Jamar could be a better ruckman than Fraser as Josh is a centre half forward more than a ruckman. His agility, height and Daicos skills are a nightmare to match up on.
I hope we dont do to Josh like North did to McKernan that is totally wreck him in the ruck rather than camp him down the forward line.

Originally posted by Visro

Easy tiger
Offer me either Polak or sampi and I will take polak any day of the week.
But like I said he goes missing in games, and I will be more than happy with sampi.

History will prove me right on the draft comment

Originally posted by iceman

True , before the Dockers traded their #1 pick, all we kept hearing about was "Polack, Longmuir, Pavlich" unstoppable forward line
Now its "Polack, unreliable, Sampi's the next big thing"

Make that
Longmuir,Mcpharlin,Farmer,Pavlich,koops,waterhouse and sampi forward line.
With croad thrown in there for good luck

It's going to hurt Sabre when Pavlich leaves for Adelaide. Then Croad will go back to Melbourne. If Clem Michael doesn't play again, Longmuir will be forced into the ruck. An injury to Farmer, and that forward line is looking pretty poor if I do say so myself.

xavier clarke is a freak, he has that raw aboriginal ability, like polly farmer and maurice rioli, but has more
he is smart and reads the play so well
please let him be available for essendons first pick (walshy wakes up now from a dream)

hodge has the goods aswell, for a small midfielder he is great in the air

another name not mentioned, and wont go top ten
is david rodan from the cannons
the main doubt is his size, he is really small, but has great skills, and freakish ability

where will he be drafted?

I'm just hoping that you mongrels with high picks stuff up and let another Nick Stevens through to pick #15 :)