Most Wanted Draftees

• Thread starter Thread starter TheMase

Mate, just because you're trading Victorians to Victoria, it doesn't mean they would've left if you didn't.

Licuria is a classic example, wasn't he lumped in as part of a package deal to Collingwood?Fred Campbell left full stop when he left. Not to go and play for a Victorian club (although he did try to after a short while). And I don't know that you can count Heuskes as a Sydney-only problem....a few clubs lost players to Port that year.

And also, how many of these players have you received nothing in return for? Who have you received in return for these players? If you don't know the answers, I'll try and scrounge a list together....I reckon there'd be some quality there.

Originally posted by TheMase

Its for a lot of things I think ...

But in the end .. I really have no idea .. lol
:p :p :D :D

or in other words it is just because the AFL have an agenda to ensure that Sydney becomes successful on the field... one big JOKE... and that is why you are laughing...

Originally posted by Porthos
Mate, just because you're trading Victorians to Victoria, it doesn't mean they would've left if you didn't.

Licuria is a classic example, wasn't he lumped in as part of a package deal to Collingwood?Fred Campbell left full stop when he left. Not to go and play for a Victorian club (although he did try to after a short while). And I don't know that you can count Heuskes as a Sydney-only problem....a few clubs lost players to Port that year.

And also, how many of these players have you received nothing in return for? Who have you received in return for these players? If you don't know the answers, I'll try and scrounge a list together....I reckon there'd be some quality there.
The only quality we got for them was Schwass, and that was Grant.

Fred Campbell left Sydney saying he didnt want to play footy anymore, his heard wasnt in it, yada yada yada.. Then he applied for the draft and St Kilda picked him up .. THE SAME YEAR.
So yes... he left to go home.

Players like Licuria and King wanted to go home. Otherwise Sydney wouldn't have traded them. It was cited in newpapers and boards and stuff that they wanted to head home. Much like it was obvious that Rocca wanted to go 'home'.

Im not sure what we got exactly for these players, but I know it wasnt much ...

Im not defending these concessions by the way! Dont get me wrong. All clubs should be on equal terms. But states that are not AFL orientated such as QLD and NSW do need some sort of support, otherwise they will never be strong with AFL.

These concessions are also to give juniors hope, and a goal.
I know myself, that if the concessions are there, I still have that chance to make the AFL, which makes me try harder, and boosts the league overall.

Originally posted by Rooboy 96

or in other words it is just because the AFL have an agenda to ensure that Sydney becomes successful on the field... one big JOKE... and that is why you are laughing...
Umm .. No

The increased salary cap has a lot to do with the price of living!!!!

Mate, I can live in Sydney on as much as a rookie AFL player is paid, let alone however much someone like Troy Luff would've been on.

So thats really a giant heap of crap :)

Mate, I can live in Sydney on as much as a rookie AFL player is paid, let alone however much someone like Troy Luff would've been on.

So thats really a giant heap of crap :)
Housing in Sydney is the highest in Australia

All clubs should be on equal terms. But states that are not AFL orientated such as QLD and NSW do need some sort of support, otherwise they will never be strong with AFL.

and clubs that have limited resources should be given draft concessions so they will be on level terms with the Essendon's of this world... what a load of crap..

Just remember if Sydney ever does take the flag it will be just as tainted as Essendon's 2000 was... for ch..............

Yes, Mase...and as I said, I'm living in Sydney on that much right now. Whats the problem here?

Now, the extra 10% in their (and Brisbane's) salary cap isn't for cost of living, it is actually intended (by the AFL) only to be used to keep players from other states going home. Living costs have nothing to do with it....I guarantee that Sydney and Brisbane draftees still get paid minimum contract, same as anywhere else.

and clubs that have limited resources should be given draft concessions so they will be on level terms with the Essendon's of this world... what a load of crap..

Just remember if Sydney ever does take the flag it will be just as tainted as Essendon's 2000 was... for ch..............

How the hell is it ???
It isnt Sydneys bloody fault that the AFL gives them Concessions

So they are cheating because the AFL GIVES them something..
You cant blame it on the Swans ..

Yes, Mase...and as I said, I'm living in Sydney on that much right now. Whats the problem here?

Now, the extra 10% in their (and Brisbane's) salary cap isn't for cost of living, it is actually intended (by the AFL) only to be used to keep players from other states going home. Living costs have nothing to do with it....I guarantee that Sydney and Brisbane draftees still get paid minimum contract, same as anywhere else.
Probably ...

It is probably used to keep players from other states going home, which is probably fair enough considering they all want no leave all the time :mad:

How the hell is it ???

You can blame the swans for acting like sooks about the latest super-concessions being taken away, and threatening to stop developing NSW (regardless of the fact that they -already- have plenty of concessions for doing just that). What, they think the rest of Australia develops itself, do they?

The Swans put in some cases, up to 5 times as much money into development than any other club. And they do at least twice as much development in than any other club.

The rest of Australia doesnt need to develop!
QLD does, but othre than than, VIC, SA and WA are already developed AFL states.

Sydney did carry on about that. But it was the fact that the AFL gave it and took it away again. Sydney didnt ask for it.

The reason I heard that Eddie was so against it, was that he wants a young player by the name of Henry Playfair, 197cm tall guy from NSW/ACT.

How the hell is it ???

Maze... I wrote that poorly... I did not mean Sydney were cheating...;) just that any success will be tainted due to the league's obsession with making Sydney successful...

The Swans put in some cases, up to 5 times as much money into development than any other club. And they do at least twice as much development in than any other club.

The rest of Australia doesnt need to develop!
QLD does, but othre than than, VIC, SA and WA are already developed AFL states.

No, but they need to be maintained. You do realize that 80% of the profits of Port and Adelaide go directly to the SANFL & its clubs, and through to other clubs...thus making up almost all of development in SA.

Sydney might well be putting money into development. As far as I recall, other clubs offered to help develop NSW in return for special zones of their own, but were told to piss of by Sydney. I guess Sydney accepted responsibility for the state then, hey.

Sydney did carry on about that. But it was the fact that the AFL gave it and took it away again. Sydney didnt ask for it.

The reason I heard that Eddie was so against it, was that he wants a young player by the name of Henry Playfair, 197cm tall guy from NSW/ACT.

Eddie would be against anything like that because he realizes that 10 Victorian clubs recruit more than Victoria produces of AFL quality....any other areas closed to their recruiting stuffs Victorian clubs up more.

The main reason why everyone else was against it, is because the AFL is meant (by their own equalization plan) to be helping clubs that aren't in the 8....not those that are, and especially not premiers.

And if Sydney didn't ask for it.....then how do they have the right to bitch when they don't get it? They're not the AFL's girlfriend :)

Maze... I wrote that poorly... I did not mean Sydney were cheating...;) just that any success will be tainted due to the league's obsession with making Sydney successful...

You cant say that.

You are suggesting, that in five years time. IF sydney win a grand final, it would be all because of the AFL giving it to them?

I dont think so.

Maze... all and tainted don't mean the same to me... don't put words in my mouth... I can get in enough trouble all by myself...

But it will be tainted if the league continues with their agenda... and that is what it is... as your haven't been able to show any other reason for these concessions...

Maze... all and tainted don't mean the same to me... don't put words in my mouth... I can get in enough trouble all by myself...

But it will be tainted if the league continues with their agenda... and that is what it is... as your haven't been able to show any other reason for these concessions...

Okay...
No more arguements .. im not feeling well
:(

Maze... it's not an arguement... just a difference of opinion...
Yeah sorta ...

I dont necessarily agree with the priority picks ...

I can see some justification for them, but probably not enough.

You're right, there should be no favours to anybody.
Every team should be equal.

Maze in all seriousness I get more pissed off with teams that can't get off the bottom of the ladder... even though every year they get draft concessions... St Kilda and Freo should be relegated next time they need concessions for finishing up as the basket cases of the league...

Yeah mate .. agree on that point

Eddie wants Playfair? I didn't know he was the recruiting officer at Collingwood. Nice little attack on Eddie, but youre talking crap my friend. I havent seen that name mentioned once as being touted as our first pick. Much better talent about.

Go Nick Davis, you NSWer you.

Originally posted by Lockyer24
Eddie wants Playfair? I didn't know he was the recruiting officer at Collingwood. Nice little attack on Eddie, but youre talking crap my friend. I havent seen that name mentioned once as being touted as our first pick. Much better talent about.

Go Nick Davis, you NSWer you.

I mean he was speaking on BEHALF of Collingwood, which does include its recruiters.

PlayFair is a bloody good talent actually
If Sydney get him Ill be stoked