Nathan Jones' Twitter Thread

Finally my idea is catching on!

You know, that's a pretty decent idea too!

Newton has the contested marking ability, tackling prowess, and can exert enough defensive pressure to be a good backman IMO...

Yeah, it might sound a bit crazy, but we cop enough injuries in our squad at the moment- meaning that it's been a fair while since we've had all 5 of our best backmen in the team at the same time... not too sure when we'll actually see this happen either, it still seems like a fair way off.

To be brutally honest, I guess it'd make most sense if we were planning on trading Newton in the future- from a cynical, strategic viewpoint, he'd be worth more on the trade table as a backman than what he is at the moment up forward, IMO. Ditto for Miller too, unless both can improve their set shots.

Maybe I'm just spitballing here, but there is logic to it.

Sorry W33 but I don't agree mate, Juice is contracted for next year and I doubt anyone would trade something for him.

He's too slow to play in the backline, and we still have Frawley, Rivers, Warnock and Martin in the side to play back anyway.

Yeah, that's fair enough mate, perhaps this idea, with Newton at least, might be a bit too unlikely.

Jonesy is racking up the cash for comment on twitter.

Big pump ups for Nike and Quicksilver.

If they're reading this I'll happily sign up and give a tweet for a new pair of footy boots and a wetsuit.

weights this morning & now off to torquay for a surf !! barty & rohan bail are on board for the hit & run mission b4 tonights club function
Club Function tonight would be the Debt Demolition one I believe? Good to see all the players getting along to that, wonder if we'll get any Brock-like donations this year.

Think we might see Bail in the red and blue this weekend incidentally.

Few more from NJ:

Brocky, Riv, "nugget" Valenti & i, went & saw the new doco on Iron Mike Tyson ... & i must say he is a different character, i recommend it!!

60 knot winds @ casey for the main session - the boys were split into two teams & jake spencer got play of the day with a long bomb from 50

update

long day... recovery this morning then spent the whole arvo cleanin in & out of my house ... got to hate those jobs

just skated in the rain with the dog to blockbuster...notorious B.I.G was my choice !! planning a surf in the mornin b4 trainin yeew

Talked to Schwab on twitter and he basically just confirmed that the MFC will not be offering Pick 2 for Burgoyne. Pretty common knowledge but nice to hear it from someone within the club.

Good to hear confirmation we wont be trading pick 2, didn't think it would happen, but still good to hear.