MFC Fans Only Non-Dees Footy Chat 2022

• Thread starter Thread starter Dory_77

Clarkson thread on the North board is up to 260 pages...in three days

Almost 90 pages a day. 86 2/3rd to be exact.

About 3.61 pages an hour.

I was thinking about Clarko and had a go at following the North Board thread - packed it in quickly. Those guys can post way faster than I can read.

It’s not up to me obviously, and I don’t really care, but I vaguely hope that Clarkson goes to North rather than the Bombers. After all of this media the whole thing has become a really big deal. Whichever club manages to secure him will get a genuine boost in media attention and publicity for at least a while, and North need it more than Bombers. Also, there are any number of AFL media types (all of them, really) that relentlessly promote the interests of big clubs over small. This only perpetuates the big to small problem - new supporters, especially kids, will be influenced by brand and some clubs just get significantly more attention and more mentions then small ones. As a smaller club supporter, I resent this somewhat.

The bombers have a fair old number of issues of their own, but what with their size, influence and resources, I feel that the things that have gone wrong for them over the last 20 years are more deserved than other clubs that have natural disadvantages to overcome.

I was thinking about Clarko and had a go at following the North Board thread - packed it in quickly. Those guys can post way faster than I can read.
It's actually a real blessing that our own board is quite small with only a decent handful of regular posters compared to other clubs. Seems like Demonland filters most of the crazies away.

I believe that North don’t have an equivalent nuff outlet elsewhere which is why they are gathered in such numbers

Still can't get over Bomber being completely neon lights levels of obviously on meth, coaching and regularly on TV and everyone pretended he was not.

Still soft **** I wish there was more of this.

Speaking on channel seven, Brownlow medallist Ollie Wines didn’t mince his words when asked about the rivalry with the Crows.

“There’s certain things about that football club that I don’t like,” he said.

“It’s just the DNA of the club and what they’re about, and the sense of entitlement they have.

“I’m proud of my football club and we’re going to be doing everything we can to knock them off.”

Bryne-Jones was equally scathing of the Crows.

“Obviously there is a big rivalry there,” he said.

“Personally, I don’t hold anything against them as people. But as a club, I don’t really like their club - it’s a pretty simple answer.”

Still soft * I wish there was more of this.
Probably started with Koch and riccuito having a call and saying we better drum up interest for this game, 11th vs 14th nothing to play for, cold Saturday night. Could have been mid 30k crowd.

Am i on me Pat Malone here or is this way too obvious to be real lol
The fact that he had to clarify too. As Theseventhhamster said, it's pretty amazing the whole footy media landscape just ignored him acting like a tweaker in every tv interview, but I guess they're all doing lines in the Crown toilets at the Brownlow anyway.

Feel kinda bad for Rutten. Massively overachieved with a rubbish list in his first year, now they (predictably) fail to back it up and it looks like he'll lose his job, while that moron Dodoro keeps his, despite constructing a list that hasn't won a final in 17 years
I always thought it was weird in 2020, was a weird year anyway, but I couldn't get my head around the saints being good. Maybe the rest of the comp had a rubbish year bar Richmond Geelong port and Brisbane.
I'd grab Membrey purely so he doesn't get to play against us. Anything else is a bonus
My Richmond supporting mate said the same about Waite. He use to kill it against Richmond, did it in the 2013 elimination final for Carlton and again in 2015 for North if I remember correctly.

The fact that he had to clarify too. As Theseventhhamster said, it's pretty amazing the whole footy media landscape just ignored him acting like a tweaker in every tv interview, but I guess they're all doing lines in the Crown toilets at the Brownlow anyway.
Was a ****ing weird time. I rationalised it as just the peak of an industry that is entirely unprofessional these days, where the biggest paper's chief footy writer is constantly on TV very pissed and it goes unspoken.

Was a ******* weird time. I rationalised it as just the peak of an industry that is entirely unprofessional these days, where the biggest paper's chief footy writer is constantly on TV very pissed and it goes unspoken.
Thompson made Robbo look sober so maybe that's why they had him on every week.

Did he? I reckon iced up thommo still sounded more reasonable than regular robbo

Bomber is infinitely smarter and hadn't mashed his brain with decades of alcoholism. Was still ****ing pinging off his head lol.

Probably splitting hairs. This is the best clip I could find comparing the two. Robbo is slurring and Thompson can't sit still. Although I do love that the Essendon supporter who posted it thought it was some kind of incredible own from Thompson.

I haven’t watched 360 in a fair while. Sick of watching drunk robbo yelling crap.

But I did watch when Thompson was a regular. His last year on the show was amazing. Even leaving aside the drugs thing, it also seemed astonishing that nobody seemed to comment that an AFL show was paying Bomber for so long to appear even when it was entirely clear that he didn’t watch or follow the competition. At all. I remember some point when he was asked about various teams and their prospects of making finals and he had no idea. Asked how they were travelling and said straight up that he never watches. There’s some fine special expert comments right there. And he was paid for a year of this. Incredible.

So happy to see Clarkson reject Essendon after the way they’ve treated Rutten. It’s been ****ing disgusting to be honest.

I just got a news alert Clarko to North (nothing else, just ‘more to come’).

Lets assume they are right - what a massive shit show for Essendon! They’ve crapped all over their existing coach but have no replacement. Plus an off season with nobody in place means they can’t even “sell a vision” to potential trades.