ODI Side

• Thread starter Thread starter bird_man

Bowled tight during his 6 overs and only conceded 15 runs. Had a couple of close catches go just wide of fieldsman. At least tonight has taught him that he won't get away with following through to the centre of the pitch at international level (never realised it was an issue as the umpires never call it at domestic level).

Got a peach first ball from Malinga when batting, can't really fault him for that!

Will probably go out for Starc (and Cutting out for Johnson), but it was good to get some exposure at the level as a 21 year old. Hopefully gets picked for the T20s at the end of the Summer, as he fully deserves that as well.

Pity there weren't enough runs on the board tonight to display how good his death bowling is.

agree with some of what you say BACCS but we cant pick him again to that pitch stuff is sorted.

Poor boy mus be feeling pretty shit right now but Erasmus has done him a favor at 21, he's got the chance to change it before it becomes forever ingrained. It might even be best keeping him around the squad and Ali De winter who worked with restructuring Jackson Bird run up when he first got to Tassie.

agree with some of what you say BACCS but we cant pick him again to that pitch stuff is sorted.

Poor boy mus be feeling pretty shit right now but Erasmus has done him a favor at 21, he's got the chance to change it before it becomes forever ingrained. It might even be best keeping him around the squad and Ali De winter who worked with restructuring Jackson Bird run up when he first got to Tassie.
Have no problem with any of that mate, totally agree 100%. Such a talented bowler with a long future for Australia, having this problem at only 21 means it can be rectified.

I know it'll take longer than a month to rectify, but hopefully it's not as bad by the T20s and he gets a shot.

I'd assume Warner, Wade and Clarke are now available. What else do we have to work with?

Cutting/Richardson/McKay/Doherty + 10 overs between David Hussey, Glenn Maxwell and Steve Smith is a feeble ODI bowling attack. We need more strike power. McKay should be first change, not leading the attack.

In my top 7 Warner, Clarke, Wade and Hussey are locks. Wade has opened as often as he's batted 6 or 7, how do we use him? Do we want Hughes to be an opener or a #3? What is George Bailey? Is he just Clarke's fill-in or does he keep a spot in our top 6 (Yes I know he made runs in game 1)? Smith, Khawaja, Finch & Maxwell have contributed not much in the first two games, who stays?

Everyone thought Hilf was done before last summer as well when he ended up being our best bowler. As mentioned above I'd be shocked if he didn't tour England.

A dead dog could have bowled well against that Indian side. I am sorry but even last year I was far from conviced. Then this year he comes out and bowls round arm meat pies. Bird is Hilfenhaus but much better, he actually gets top order batsmen OUT!

I'd assume Warner, Wade and Clarke are now available. What else do we have to work with?

Cutting/Richardson/McKay/Doherty + 10 overs between David Hussey, Glenn Maxwell and Steve Smith is a feeble ODI bowling attack. We need more strike power. McKay should be first change, not leading the attack.

In my top 7 Warner, Clarke, Wade and Hussey are locks. Wade has opened as often as he's batted 6 or 7, how do we use him? Do we want Hughes to be an opener or a #3? What is George Bailey? Is he just Clarke's fill-in or does he keep a spot in our top 6 (Yes I know he made runs in game 1)? Smith, Khawaja, Finch & Maxwell have contributed not much in the first two games, who stays?

Bailey is a dead certainty for starters in ODI format at least- check his record.

1. Warner (far from convinced but he will be there)
2. Hughes
3. Bailey (vc)
4. Pup (c)
5. Dave Hussey
6. Steve Smith (just prefer him to Maxwell and his bowling is just as ordinary)
7. Wade
8. Johnson
9. Starc (if fit)- Cutting on standby
10. McKay
11. Doherty

Finch has to go been very ordinary. If the selectors are serious about their comments of looking at 2015 then Haddin must also go (and shouldn't of been there in the first place).

Warner
Wade
Hughes
Clarke
Bailey
D Hussey
?
Johnson
Cutting
McKay
Doherty

The ? is there because no-one really seems to want this position. Maxwell has not impressed, but neither has Smith. It is the spot for Henriques, but with his knee he can't bowl, so do they look to Crhistian or someone else out of left field, like M. Hussey? He deserve a proper farewell.

Finch has to go been very ordinary. If the selectors are serious about their comments of looking at 2015 then Haddin must also go (and shouldn't of been there in the first place).

Warner
Wade
Hughes
Clarke
Bailey
D Hussey
?
Johnson
Cutting
McKay
Doherty

The ? is there because no-one really seems to want this position. Maxwell has not impressed, but neither has Smith. It is the spot for Henriques, but with his knee he can't bowl, so do they look to Crhistian or someone else out of left field, like M. Hussey? He deserve a proper farewell.

If Haddin must go because selectors are looking at 2015 world cup then surely David Hussey is in the same boat.

Don't have a problem with that either, just can't see them doing it at the moment.

Personally reckon that D. Hussey should be going down in the books with the likes of Siddons as great shield players who never played a test (should try and find that thread and restart it). We either are look forward to a younger replacement to M Hussey who can offer a minimum 5 years to the test team or we continue to be pretenders to the number 1 ranking.

Warner
Wade
Hughes
Clarke
Bailey
D. Hussey
Faulkner
Johnson
McKay
NCN/Lyon
Doherty

Whether we go for Coulter-Nile or Lyon is dependant on the conditions. Faulkner, although he hasn't got the best FC record, is a very good player in List A cricket. Better than Christian, anyway

Warner
Wade
Hughes
Clarke
Bailey
D. Hussey
Faulkner
Johnson
McKay
NCN/Lyon
Doherty

Whether we go for Coulter-Nile or Lyon is dependant on the conditions. Faulkner, although he hasn't got the best FC record, is a very good player in List A cricket. Better than Christian, anyway

Faulkner averages 22 in First Class cricket and 31 in List A cricket.. I don't think Faulkner is good enough to bat at 7. He is perfect for number 8 though.

I meant batting wise, he only averages 27. I think he's good enough for 7, smart bowler

1. Hughes
2. Warner
3. Clarke (c)
4. Bailey
5. Khawaja
6. Hussey
7. Wade (+)
8. Johnson
9. Cutting/Richardson
10. McKay
11. Doherty/Lyon

Pup to return at number three to give that top order some experience.
Khawaja instead of the all rounders.
Couldn't squeeze Wade any higher so I guess we have some very potent finishers.
Not too much bowling depth so one of Cutting or Richardson should get another go. Very tempted to play Lyon ahead of Doherty, as he hasn't been performing either.

I meant batting wise, he only averages 27. I think he's good enough for 7, smart bowler

That isn't good enough to bat 7. We currently have Maxwell or Wade at 7 and they average 40 with the bat.

Maybe you're right. I think he should be in the side though, and I thought Maxwell hadn't shown enough in that role, so I put who I thought the next best (fit) option would be in Faulkner

He has to be close but with Starc and Johnson in the squad I'd doubt they would be keen to thrown another leftie in the mix.

In:Wade, Clarke, Warner, Henriques
Out: Smith, Cutting, Usman, Finch, Richardson, Haddin
Do these dickhead selectors actually watch games ?
Dominic Thornley or Theo Dorororopolopolous would be better than Moises.Frickin'morons.