% of current AFL players from each state

Its obvious from those stats that Sydney/Brisbane should be targetting their non-NSW players from outside VIC. Tassie, NT, WA and SA. These states have an excess of players over whatever local sides need, and therefore the go home factor will be reduced because the local side may not have room for them.

musha_13 said:
What did you use to determine where the players come from?

I'm interested in all these stats.

Also, would you have a list for each state?
I would presume, a player comes from (say QLD) is when the player played most of their Junior or U18 for whatever club in a state.

I would of thought QLD would have alot more than NSW but most of QLD players play for Lions.

musha_13 said:
What did you use to determine where the players come from?
Worked it out from AFL 2006. Its not purely exact, because I just went with the state of the first-named club for each player.

[FONT="Courier New]................SA......VIC.....WA......QLD.....TAS.....NT......NSW/ACT.Ireland
Adelaide........27......6.......4.......1.......0.......2.......0.......0
Brisbane........2.......13......6.......13......1.......2.......1.......0
Carlton.........4.......28......5.......0.......1.......0.......0.......1
Collingwood.....4.......28......5.......0.......2.......1.......0.......0
Essendon........4.......22......4.......2.......3.......1.......3.......0
Fremantle.......3.......10......27......0.......0.......0.......0.......0
Geelong.........8.......27......2.......0.......0.......0.......2.......0
Hawthorn........1.......29......4.......1.......2.......0.......2.......0
Kangaroos.......2.......22......7.......3.......3.......0.......3.......0
Melbourne.......7.......20......4.......2.......3.......3.......0.......0
Port Adelaide...20......13......4.......0.......0.......3.......0.......0
Richmond........3.......22......5.......3.......1.......3.......2.......0
St Kilda........4.......24......0.......3.......1.......2.......4.......0
Sydney..........8.......16......2.......0.......1.......0.......10......1
West Coast......3.......9.......24......0.......0.......0.......2.......0
Bulldogs........9.......21......3.......3.......2.......0.......2.......0[/FONT]

Unless they played football in those countries, or never played football before they got into the AFL, then they are assigned to a state.

Peter Bell is from WA, Croad is from Victoria.

Papa G said:
This is exactly why people in SA and WA that are pushing for a third team need their heads read. Per capita SA/WA are stronger football states and with 2 teams in each state this further enhanced. Conversly, with 10 teams in Victoria, per capita and team wise they are weakened. This gives the SA and WA teams a competitive advantage.

Any Crows, Eagles, Port or Freo supporter calling for a new team in their respective state is a total minda. Perceptions that this would reduce the Vic centric power base is moronic. By having another team in either Sa or WA would in fact reduce your own teams power base.

OTOH, having an extra side in SA would mean that SANFL clubs would be stronger (because they wouldn't lose so much talent interstate). There'd be an extra game of AFL footy in Adelaide each fortnight, and less games where the 95% of the crowd support the one team (which can make for a crap atmosphere). And it would be easier for SA players to come home too. I reckon it would be great if we could get rid of this two team rivalary in SA and have 3 ( or even 4) teams.

Porthos said:
Worked it out from AFL 2006. Its not purely exact, because I just went with the state of the first-named club for each player.

[FONT="Courier New]................SA......VIC.....WA......QLD.....TAS.....NT......NSW/ACT.Ireland
Adelaide........27......6.......4.......1.......0.......2.......0.......0
Brisbane........2.......13......6.......13......1.......2.......1.......0
Carlton.........4.......28......5.......0.......1.......0.......0.......1
Collingwood.....4.......28......5.......0.......2.......1.......0.......0
Essendon........4.......22......4.......2.......3.......1.......3.......0
Fremantle.......3.......10......27......0.......0.......0.......0.......0
Geelong.........8.......27......2.......0.......0.......0.......2.......0
Hawthorn........1.......29......4.......1.......2.......0.......2.......0
Kangaroos.......2.......22......7.......3.......3.......0.......3.......0
Melbourne.......7.......20......4.......2.......3.......3.......0.......0
Port Adelaide...20......13......4.......0.......0.......3.......0.......0
Richmond........3.......22......5.......3.......1.......3.......2.......0
St Kilda........4.......24......0.......3.......1.......2.......4.......0
Sydney..........8.......16......2.......0.......1.......0.......10......1
West Coast......3.......9.......24......0.......0.......0.......2.......0
Bulldogs........9.......21......3.......3.......2.......0.......2.......0[/FONT]

Where is New Zealand?

Let me know when someone gets drafted from New Zealand or Papua New Guinea, and not from a state league where they play and reside.

Hoops said:
58% of players play for a club in their home state despite there being only a 36% chance of that happennig based on an even and non bias draft.

But only 43% of south australians get to play in their home state, compared to 78% of vics.

Very interesting stats. Read an interesting fact the other day and wondered if it was true. It stated that behind Victoria, Tasmania had produced the most VFL/AFL players. Very surprised if true

Porthos said:
Code:
Hawthorn........29
Carlton.........28
Collingwood.....28
Adelaide........27
Fremantle.......27
Geelong.........27
St Kilda........24
West Coast......24
Essendon........22
Richmond........22
Kangaroos.......22
Bulldogs        21
Melbourne       20
Port Adelaide   20
Brisbane        13
Sydney          10
Ranked them in order of most-least players from the home state.

And people say that Freo ignores WA players :rolleyes:

And Porthos... use [ code] not [ font=courier new] and you won't need the dots, spaces will work (as I've shown for the last 5 teams).

MarkT said:
Interesting stats Porthos and bloody well done.

Based on those numbers a Vic and a NSW club have about as much to draw on as each other. 8.2 squads to make up 10 teams means v .8 to make up 1 team. A Vic club can locally source 82% of its squad on average and a NSW team can locally source 80%. Brisbane is at 100% if you include NT. At half of NT that rates Brisbane at 80%.

No wonder they don't need success push marketing, I mean, relocation allowance.

That would be great, but we have a draft in place that makes that assumption unworkable.

I would be the first Sydney supporter to hand back the ability to pay a relocation allowance for a pre draft concession of 2 or 3 NSW & ACT born kids being able to be listed by Sydney before the draft.

With NSW & the ACT only producing a couple of draftees every year, it makes it almost impossible for Sydney to take all of them in the draft due to the other 15 clubs having a chance to take them. If you are a Victorian team you have upwards of 50 to work your way through every year in the draft.

DST
:D

Evvo said:
Very interesting stats. Read an interesting fact the other day and wondered if it was true. It stated that behind Victoria, Tasmania had produced the most VFL/AFL players. Very surprised if true
Its possible, simply because all of the best Tas players (apart from Gorringe, who some claim as the best the state ever produced) have been going to Vic probably since the 1890s or earlier, whereas in SA and WA it was only a few early on and even until the 1970s not all of the best players went east.
I'd still be surprised, but not overly so.

2006 stats

Rate of players for each state
NT..........201,800 / 17 = 11,871
SA........1,540,200 / 109 = 14,130
Vic.......5,037,700 / 310 = 16,251
WA........2,003,800 / 106 = 18,904
TAS.........484,700 / 20 = 24,235
QLD.......4,000,000 / 31 = 129,032
NSW/ACT...7,089,700 / 31 = 228,700

Evvo said:
If they mean in absolute numbers, then no. It would be Victoria then SA.

If they mean in relative numbers compared to the population of the state, then no, it would be NT then SA.

If they mean in relative numbers compared to the number of teams in that state, then no, it would be SA then WA.

I can't see Tas figuring in that no matter what they mean.

Hawthorn........29
Carlton.........28
Collingwood.....28
Adelaide........27
Fremantle.......27
Geelong.........27
St Kilda........24
West Coast......24
Essendon........22
Richmond........22
Kangaroos.......22
Bulldogs 21
Melbourne 20
Port Adelaide 20
Brisbane 13
Sydney 10

Good news for us in regards to the going home factor, in the mid to late 1990's we had a heap of Western Australians on the list and got burnt.