Official Draft and Trade thread

Crave said:
Two more than capable backmen....Michael and Hart...pretty handy to have for a year or two depending on their durability. Certinaly wouldnt argue picking them up with our last picks, then using them in an off field role once their time elapses.

No way. Michael has been discussed, and if Adelaide, where Hart is obviously a legend, don't think he's good enough to go on then i sure don't. I can't see what he'd add other than experience at this stage. He's past it.

Merv Neagle's subliminal advertising is working a treat - anyone know where i can pick up some Thornton?

Merv Neagle said:
Hopefully in the PSD :D

GET THORNTON

Carlton will re-sign him. they need all the talls they can fit on their list. We're better off going for Gibbs or Hansen. Incidently, great article from Gibbs on the AFL site with him dispelling innuendo that he'll head back to Adelaide after his initial 2 years. Renewed hope he'll head our way.

Crave said:
Carlton will re-sign him. they need all the talls they can fit on their list. We're better off going for Gibbs or Hansen. Incidently, great article from Gibbs on the AFL site with him dispelling innuendo that he'll head back to Adelaide after his initial 2 years. Renewed hope he'll head our way.

pfft straight into carltons hands, and really what else would he say, ill be glad to come over and do my two years but then im heading back to south australia.

Crave said:

We can have both Thornton and one of those kids,although i prefer Gumby to Hansen. Assuming Gibbs is gone at our pick.
Make Thornton an offer he can not refuse.
4 Years at what ever $ is required to get him.
He play at CHB or FB if Fletcher is injured, while our younger KPP learn their craft in the VFL with the occasional senior run, when warranted.
When Fletcher retires, Thornton replaces him at FB.
Lee or Bradley moves to CHB, too easy...sounds good in theory anyway

GET THORNTON

DaSawx said:
PSD might not be till December but it hasn't been discussed much, is our best bet a disgruntled Lion?

Depends on which disgruntled lion you are talking about?

GET THONTON

Merv Neagle said:
Depends on which disgruntled lion you are talking about?

GET THONTON

From reports there's 12-15 of them, LOL, Notting had a pretty good year and is a decent player, just doesn't seem to be many out of contract players from other clubs

I've wanted Notting for years, he's got quality foot skills and can break lines.
He can also play tall if required. His career has been somewhat disapointing, he has underperformed at times but he has a tonne of ability.

If he was available in the PSD, I'd be all over him. At 27 (28 by next season), he's still got a fair bit of footy ahead of him.

If you potentially add Notting and Kelly to our midfield rotation, we take a big step forward in improving our midfield.

Longy413 said:
I've wanted Notting for years, he's got quality foot skills and can break lines.
He can also play tall if required. His career has been somewhat disapointing, he has underperformed at times but he has a tonne of ability.

If he was available in the PSD, I'd be all over him. At 27 (28 by next season), he's still got a fair bit of footy ahead of him.

If you potentially add Notting and Kelly to our midfield rotation, we take a big step forward in improving our midfield.

Failing us getting Thornton, Notting could be pretty good.
I also noticed in the article that Hadlee was unhappy....now he had a reco and would be a risk, but he was quite a classy young player imo.

GET THORNTON

Longy413 said:

I mentioned him as I've always thought he was underrated, he is an excellent athlete with skills like you said

Not only does it help the midfield but also improves our depth greatly and give us a tonne of options. Notting had a great year playing off HB at times, he would allow us to use Kepler in other areas when need be.

GET NOTTING :p

DaSawx said:
I mentioned him as I've always thought he was underrated, he is an excellent athlete with skills like you said

Not only does it help the midfield but also improves our depth greatly and give us a tonne of options. Notting had a great year playing off HB at times, he would allow us to use Kepler in other areas when need be.

GET NOTTING :p

would you tade solly for him?
have heard from a very close source to mr.bradshaw that he will be at the pies next year in a deal involving tarrant to go to brissy! so with solly and tarrant being great mates it would be a good deal all round!!

blumfieldisback said:
pfft straight into carltons hands, and really what else would he say, ill be glad to come over and do my two years but then im heading back to south australia.

Ever consider the fact that he may want to move out of Adelaide?? Jetta has also emerged to suggest he'd be more than happy to move away from home. Incidently, you're comparing the city of Adelaide to Melbourne...

Merv Neagle said:
We can have both Thornton and one of those kids,although i prefer Gumby to Hansen. Assuming Gibbs is gone at our pick.
Make Thornton an offer he can not refuse.
4 Years at what ever $ is required to get him.

He play at CHB or FB if Fletcher is injured, while our younger KPP learn their craft in the VFL with the occasional senior run, when warranted.
When Fletcher retires, Thornton replaces him at FB.
Lee or Bradley moves to CHB, too easy...sounds good in theory anyway

GET THORNTON

You honestly think Thornton is top shelf? His name certainly doesnt ring 'marquee player' to me personally.

Crave said:
Ever consider the fact that he may want to move out of Adelaide?? Jetta has also emerged to suggest he'd be more than happy to move away from home. Incidently, you're comparing the city of Adelaide to Melbourne...

yeah well i know that as im currently in hawthorn, but i think his family ties will take him back home, he's a mummas boy whos just saying the right things to recruiters.

Crave said:
You honestly think Thornton is top shelf? His name certainly doesnt ring 'marquee player' to me personally.

Yes i do think Thornton is top shelf and at 22 has many years of his best football ahead of him, not behind him, like a lot of names being suggested.
He will never be a "marquee player" as you put it, because he is not that flambouyant, game winner.
But what he is, is a solid as a rock defender that gets plenty of the ball and rarely gets goals kicked on him, even though he plays for the wooden spooners and they turn the ball over in midfield even more than we do

http://carltonfc.com.au/default.asp?pg=players&spg=playerprofile&personid=14057

If you want a reference as to how hard he is too kick goals on, ask Lloydy, he beats him most times.

GET THORNTON

With the news that Solly's going, what will we try to get for him?

Merv Neagle said:
Yes i do think Thornton is top shelf and at 22 has many years of his best football ahead of him, not behind him, like a lot of names being suggested.
He will never be a "marquee player" as you put it, because he is not that flambouyant, game winner.
But what he is, is a solid as a rock defender that gets plenty of the ball and rarely gets goals kicked on him, even though he plays for the wooden spooners and they turn the ball over in midfield even more than we do

If you want a reference as to how hard he is too kick goals on, ask Lloydy, he beats him most times.

To put Thornton into context, Fletcher doesnt consistently get anywhere near those stats and yet he's rated more highly than Thornton. You're suggesting he's worth a 4 year contract.

Dont be fooled by his statistics..every man and his dog would rack up those stats if the ball spent that amount of time in their back half.
Evidence of this is Sydney were only ranked 2 places above Carlton in disposals, yet played in the GF.
Carlton were ranked 4th in rebound 50s, yet second last in goals scored for...and that includes this year's Colman medallist.
Hardly top shelf IMO!

blumfieldisback said:
yeah well i know that as im currently in hawthorn, but i think his family ties will take him back home, he's a mummas boy whos just saying the right things to recruiters.

Oh Im sorry, I wasnt aware you were a psychiatrist that is able to read people's minds.

Crave said:
Merv Neagle said:

To put Thornton into context, Fletcher doesnt consistently get anywhere near those stats and yet he's rated more highly than Thornton. You're suggesting he's worth a 4 year contract.

Dont be fooled by his statistics..every man and his dog would rack up those stats if the ball spent that amount of time in their back half.
Evidence of this is Sydney were only ranked 2 places above Carlton in disposals, yet played in the GF.
Carlton were ranked 4th in rebound 50s, yet second last in goals scored for...and that includes this year's Colman medallist.
Hardly top shelf IMO!

Of course Fletcher is rated higher as he is a duel premiership player and has played many more games?
I am suggesting he is worth a 4 year contract....yes....how else do you think we will get him in the PSD?
Fletcher doesnt rack up those stats and i'm sure the ball spends a similar amount of time in our backline also.
I base my argument on his ability to keep opponants quiet not his stats, although they are quite good.

LOL, you say not to be fooled by his statistics, yet you then reel off stats galore?

Not sure how being fourth in rebound 50's is bad thing as Thornton would be responsible for a lot of those along with Sh*tnall?

GET THORNTON

Merv Neagle said:
I am suggesting he is worth a 4 year contract....yes....how else do you think we will get him in the PSD?

I don't reckon we have to offer him a four year deal, I reckon we have to match the deal Hawthorn offered him and back in the club culture to get us over the line. I also doubt he'd want a four year deal, because a couple more good years and signs of improvement and he could demand a lot more cash in four years time.

Work on the fact that he'd rather play at Essendon rather than Hawthorn, match the Hawthorn offer and he's ours in the PSD.

Will give Carlton an extra person to boo when we play them.

Longy413 said:
I don't reckon we have to offer him a four year deal, I reckon we have to match the deal Hawthorn offered him and back in the club culture to get us over the line. I also doubt he'd want a four year deal, because a couple more good years and signs of improvement and he could demand a lot more cash in four years time.

Work on the fact that he'd rather play at Essendon rather than Hawthorn, match the Hawthorn offer and he's ours in the PSD.

The Hawks culture isn't too bad itself. Plus the likely hood of finals for them sooner rather than later.

Longy413 said:

TBH mate, if i was a Carlton player and had no connection to Essendon, it may not be as easy a decision to choose Essendon as you intimate.
We are the enemy for Carlton, have been heading down the ladder in comparison to Hawthorn who are heading up and maynot seem as attractive.
He wants 3 years at Carlton, they have offered 2 .
If Hawthorn or Essendon offer 3 , they will eventually give in and match the offer and he will stay.
The only way you get GOOD, YOUNG players in these situations, is to give them virtually no choice but to leave, or at the very least make it the hardest decision of their life.

GET THORNTON