Our start to the year

l think l picked 3 win 2 loss in the poll above.l didn't expected to win the first round just cause few players under done new game plan etc.the boys are probably not playing great footy (just yet).but these wins will give the boys great conference going into a home game next week.

We are playing the brand of football that could get us the flag. Forward attacking, take no prisoners. A lot less pitty pat. Handballing to get it forward. Less possession obssessed.

We can with the flag. The best team today is Collingwood. We were the best team in 2008. Never sneeze at good timing.

One of the things Chris suggested on the radio today is that it’s no longer an all duck and no dinner approach to the way we play. It will vary according to who we’re playing and the way we’re playing. And he expects the players to be savvy enough to know when to vary the way we are going about things during a game if they aren’t working without him having to send out messages. No more not having a plan ‘B’, which I found encouraging.

Think Hawthorn will be the danger game, should thump Port and we have a great record over Sydney (haven't lost to em since 06) and I'd expect us to beat them, especially if we can beat Freo @ Subi. As for the Hawks, they could be 0-4 and they'd still lift to a new level against us - we'll need to be seriously switched on as always but we don't like losing to them and when Geelong really wants to win, we very rarely lose.
Only difference is this year we're playing Sydney at the SCG.

I voted 2-3, thinking we'd likely beat Fremantle and Port Adelaide, but lose to St Kilda, Sydney and Hawthorn.

I thought a new game plan, youth etc would take a while to bed down and therefore we'd be vulnerable early on.

However, I'm glad to see we've scraped two wins already, and feel a little more confident each week, although I'm still very concerned about our forward structure.

We have to get this sorted soon if we are to play deep into September.

The Hawks still loom as the team for us to beat in the first 5 rounds, although the Swans game will be a difficult one too.

We need to beat the Hawks to grow our confidence - and even more importantly, because I need bragging rights over my partner!!

Only difference is this year we're playing Sydney at the SCG.

I dont think it really matters wether it's ANZ or SCG , its the belief within the playing group going interstate and knowing they will win. We have a supurb interstate record over the last 4 years, and that comes from self belief.

According to Rogers Results, Geelong's win against Fremantle was their 17th win from their last 20 matches outside Victoria. :thumbsu:

Such an amazing statistic. I still remember the 'bad old days' when a Geelong interstate trip could be pencilled in as a loss before they even got on the plane! :p

mmmm...SCG is more of a challenge I reckon.

i predicted 5 - 0 and i stick to that. Will flog Port. Will beat Sydney in a tussle, and the Hawks will be epic, but we will get em. We still have the best back 6 in the league. Still have the best midfield (Imo) in the league. And Ottens is looking more and more like 2007 otto every week. Add to that a forward 6 of Chappy and Stevie J, a fit Pods and Moons, and you have the only team imo that can challenge the Pies.

According to Rogers Results, Geelong's win against Fremantle was their 17th win from their last 20 matches outside Victoria. :thumbsu:

Such an amazing statistic. I still remember the 'bad old days' when a Geelong interstate trip could be pencilled in as a loss before they even got on the plane! :p

Similar to how we used to lose a lot of games in Geelong as well. We've been really good for going on five years, during a period when the interstate teams have been ordinary (by and large). When the interstate teams were killing it, we weren't that good.

I reckon Saints is 50/50... I wouldn't be surprised if we won and i think we will, but a loss isn't the end of the world...

We'll smack Freo... mark my words. They're struggling big time and they've got some significant injuries.

Port is a given... surely.

Sydney at the SCG will be tough, but i'd back us in with a bit more of a defensive structure to our game. Sydney won't score much against us and we should eb able to outscore them...

Hawks will be tough... it will be close and will probably come down to a kick either way...

Best case, and a big chance, 5-0
Likely, 4-1
Worst case, IMO, 3-2.

Come on 5-0

I think 4-1, our first loss will come against the Hawks.

I agree. They're due to win a close, epic game against us, aren't they? We have just pipped them the last 3-4 times. Hope we can get up though, but their best is very good and they'll be tough to beat

Hawks are due to beat us? They can get ****ed is all I will say.

Please God, give us the strength to win.

Give us the satisfaction of beating the Hawks yet again, so I don't have to listen to my partner brag yet again about their flags and 2008, and let us do so with ease and conviction.

Amen.

so 4-0 I personally had them down to be 5-0 at the start of season and looks like the Cats have proven majority of you wrong:D So we beat the Hawks and they have the wood on Collingwood and the only team the media rates of beating Collingwood and yet we still only just in the mix:confused:
injuries play a massive part on any teams fortunes and we had a complete shocker in 2010 especially near the end of the season and this is the only reason why we aren't getting credited to contend again but let's go for a 5-0 start to the season.

I picked 2-3.

Happy as larry right now.

Feel like we can throw caution to the wind against the Dawks.

After the struggled to account for the Weagles I havent felt this confident about beating them since round 4 2007 :O

yep and Hawthorns biggest issue is they can't kick enough goals against us as our backs are too damn good. They have however had 1 single bloke every now and again that has done the job on Hunt or our weakest backman and perhaps Burgoyne has been included to be that spark they need against us. I'm pretty confident we are actually better than what everyone still believes and that we will go into the Collingwood re-match unbeaten and hyped to the absolute max:D redemption is such a priviledge to behold and 2011 is already turning out to be a cracka

I picked 3-2 expecting losses to come from Saints, Freo or Swans so I am fairly ecstatic with how we are going. Well done boys.

I was way off. We've won 3 really tough games. Looking forward to the next against Hawthorn.

i predicted 5 - 0 and i stick to that. Will flog Port. Will beat Sydney in a tussle, and the Hawks will be epic, but we will get em. We still have the best back 6 in the league. Still have the best midfield (Imo) in the league. And Ottens is looking more and more like 2007 otto every week. Add to that a forward 6 of Chappy and Stevie J, a fit Pods and Moons, and you have the only team imo that can challenge the Pies.

If anyone has any other footy related questions, let me know. Happy to answer them all...I am the oracle...

:thumbsu: Hood007, James1970, Mark25Jackson, steviej, winty / andrepetz, And_ROOS, Bobdabuilder, brown tabby, Catfish Alley, chaos, Cicatriz, DanA, doodl, krisholio14, Lancelot, moondog21, Ninty, thetank, whoopsman

:thumbsd: maryjames, pessimiser /*boombah, CATACK, catempire, Cohzee, Copulator, Sttew, VEEDUBS

Hawks are due to beat us? They can get ****ed is all I will say.

Can get ####ed and enjoy their 5th loss in a row to us. More comprehensive than any that preceded it in the end too despite us supposedly sliding back this year while they improve.

I was always confident we would win this one but wow 5-0 is awesome going into the bye. :thumbsu:

Looking back at the predictions, how wrong were most of us?

Whichever way you analyse our 1H 2011, it has been nothing short of startling.

Looking back at the predictions, how wrong were most of us?

Whichever way you analyse our 1H 2011, it has been nothing short of startling.

startling? Any team that could have Stevie J, Scarlett, Jimmy, Chappy, Kelly or Selwood would be sitting in the top 3 anyways so dunno how the ones who thought we'd go down can somehow overlook the list:confused: to me that's startling:D