Autopsy Overrun by GWS

What are you actually saying though? You’re always on hand to ridicule the people criticising the team, but this looks extremely silly after performances like last night’s. Do you think the team is above criticism or something? Should we never express displeasure regardless of how badly they play or how mediocre the list might be? Constant positivity no matter the situation? That sounds so boring and would kill the board imo.
Look, I'll admit I'm in a rat shit mood after last night and that's the context for my generally shitty potshots at a few here.

It's no secret that I lean more to the optimistic side and prefer to see the positive. I had real hope we could rattle off 6 or 7 in a row and play finals footy. I understand that others lean more "realistic" or even pessimistic and don't let their hopes get inflated the way I might.

But even given that, I think there is a landing zone somewhere between eternal, blind optimism and the utter desolation some seem to make their entire personality. The coaches are clueless, we should delist or trade half the team, we're a bottom 4 side for next half decade, our players don't care, our stars are actually sheep in wolves clothing etc.

It pisses me off, even if I know it comes from a place of frustration and wanting the team to do well, just like me.

I was pissed last night as well. I saw some insipid efforts, poor skills, and an unwillingness to fight back from some.

But I'll back those same players to reload and give it their all next week. It doesn't mean I'm opposed to changes or feel like we're a shoe-in to bounce back and compete next year if we just stand pat, but I certainly would rather lean in that direction than giving up altogether.

It's never personal even though it probably comes across that way.

Jay Clark
We're well aware of who posted the article. We know you don't like him, but we dont need to hear it every time, and this isn't much of a comment that adds anything to game discusion.

I was there mate. Nothing mirrors watching it live

Fire Elmo GIF

First half would have been good.

You forget how late in the third they actually took the lead

Look, I'll admit I'm in a rat shit mood after last night and that's the context for my generally shitty potshots at a few here.

It's no secret that I lean more to the optimistic side and prefer to see the positive. I had real hope we could rattle off 6 or 7 in a row and play finals footy. I understand that others lean more "realistic" or even pessimistic and don't let their hopes get inflated the way I might.

But even given that, I think there is a landing zone somewhere between eternal, blind optimism and the utter desolation some seem to make their entire personality. The coaches are clueless, we should delist or trade half the team, we're a bottom 4 side for next half decade, our players don't care, our stars are actually sheep in wolves clothing etc.

It pisses me off, even if I know it comes from a place of frustration and wanting the team to do well, just like me.

I was pissed last night as well. I saw some insipid efforts, poor skills, and an unwillingness to fight back from some.

But I'll back those same players to reload and give it their all next week. It doesn't mean I'm opposed to changes or feel like we're a shoe-in to bounce back and compete next year if we just stand pat, but I certainly would rather lean in that direction than giving up altogether.

I have to applaud you for being able to take a step back.

Imo this last 18 months it has shown we have a structural issue in the forward line, we need more small forwards. Most teams have 4-5 whereas we have wingers that can potentially play up forward but don't provide the manic pressure. We also need a key forward that can kick 50+ goals as I believe we haven't had one outside of Buddy and Hall since Mickey in 2000.

Im definitely considered on this forum more of the "give it up" earlier. This comes from a position of wanting whats best for the club in the long term.

I don't believe blowing it all up and having a fire sale will help the club, we just need some tweaks to what we do offensively and I believe that will help the defence as well. But I would also say that the club should look to grab an extra actual defender because more lock down defenders are better than non imo

First half would have been good.

You forget how late in the third they actually took the lead
I was happy but with reservations. I remember all too often the game they over ran us in the last quarter which is where I was expecting the run on to happen.

They went up a gear in the third, watching it live was :cryv1: . GWS were super clean around the ball and we didn't have a forward 50 entry that wasn't intercepted.

I don't know what to do about Blakey, him and many others seem mentally fragile when the heat goes on and another teams momentum kicks in they crash out.

It's a simple game sometimes.

There were 3 occasions early in the third when they were coming hard but we were still getting entries but our only tall target was the sub - not a knock on Francis, but he was the lone ranger.

On each occasion he was simply outgunned, the ball was picked off, and their transition game killed us. We never recovered.

If we had a Curnow, JUH, or dare I say it a Stringer in that position instead, maybe they clunk it, it at least comes to ground, and perhaps we kick a goal or 2 and stem the tide. Who knows at that point.

I'm not saying that we win the game simply by substituting in a KPF,

But maybe....

I agree. We just disintegrate when teams get a run on and almost look like stationary witches hats just watching a training drill unfold. Do we even train for this situation? Mids pitch in, win back the ball then everyone runs their arses to create non contested marks to retain the ball and slow the momentum. Maybe we're just not good enough across the park?
We were completely outrun by Giants. We were gassed, eerily similar to the Gold Coast game.

Along with injuries and players under done from injuries, our fitness has been somewhat of an issue this year. Potentially that has to do with continuity. 2nd half was like men vs u/15 boys fitness wise.

We were completely outrun by Giants. We were gassed, eerily similar to the Gold Coast game.

Along with injuries and players under done from injuries, our fitness has been somewhat of an issue this year. Potentially that has to do with continuity. 2nd half was like men vs u/15 boys fitness wise.
We can't play a pressure game because we don't have the pressure forwards and instead of slow wingers

ROBERTS and LLOYD

Get those two out because they might be "best 22" players but they aren't helping the side when played out of position. We seriously need to draft 2-3 small forwards in the offseason and get some life and energy back into the side

Agree with much of this even if by nature I’m introverted and prefer to let actions speak louder than words

Not sure about cox but given we have lost games on ghe back of endless cycles of giving fifty away losing players to ridiculous suspensions and so on.

It’s like the whole team has white line fever and lose any sense of what makes you - going harder for longer - and the yapping does almost nothing to achieve that

Played a lot of cricket as a junior - sledging distracts some players and makes others better. I like papley a lot but he’s barely been on the park this year - just get a kick and a tackled and another kick and another tackle and lead by actions
In fairness to Papley, Greene and Green gave him heaps after a goal.

Both teams were getting stuck in to each other which I think makes the rivalry. It’s one of the best in AFL, there is genuine dislike for each other and they get stuck in.

Has worked well for us v Giants more often than not, don’t think it had any bearing on the outcome in any game but adds to the drama.

Papley did the same in QF final last year and was a pivotal player in the win. So there is that flip side I guess.

Its completely fine if you have more or less trust in the group however it doesn't make you less of a supporter thats unfortunately how sometimes on here criticism is projected.

Basically i lean on the side of doubt untill they can prove me otherwise last night again reinforced a very familiar pattern which makes me believe the current group cannot climb the hill anymore.

There is a middle group between having pride in your performance and jumper (Dogs game) or just literally giving up (GWS, Dees,Crows,Suns)

I think Kiama Chris nailed it when he said the team looks like it has PTSD.

I can’t help but think Cox’s ridiculous review of the GF on day 1 of pre-season contributed.

It was our Collective Minds moment.
But that's not consistent with our form over the past 6 weeks is it? Our season was dead and buried. We could have put the cue in the rack for the year but we didn't. We fought back and played some great footy.

It's a simple game sometimes.

There were 3 occasions early in the third when they were coming hard but we were still getting entries but our only tall target was the sub - not a knock on Francis, but he was the lone ranger.

On each occasion he was simply outgunned, the ball was picked off, and their transition game killed us. We never recovered.

If we had a Curnow, JUH, or dare I say it a Stringer in that position instead, maybe they clunk it, it at least comes to ground, and perhaps we kick a goal or 2 and stem the tide. Who knows at that point.

I'm not saying that we win the game simply by substituting in a KPF,

But maybe....

Even kicking to Amartey or even McDonald would have been a difference.

McLean going down in first 30secs did have a knock on effect to forward structure.

One of the few times a tall sub works though with Francis, but this had an impact on Buller needing to ruck.

We should be in the market for a key forward too though, hopefully we can be active in trade window and actually add quality to the team.

McLean going down in first 30secs did have a knock on effect to forward structure.

One of the few times a tall sub works though with Francis, but this had an impact on Buller needing to ruck.

We should be in the market for a key forward too though, hopefully we can be active in trade window and actually add quality to the team.
We need a quality #1 KPF and another 2-3 small forwards on the list.

Feels like we value having 20 disposals for a winger over someone that has 10 touches 4 tackles and a goal from a small forward

But that's not consistent with our form over the past 6 weeks is it? Our season was dead and buried. We could have put the cue in the rack for the year but we didn't. We fought back and played some great footy.

We beat some average teams once the pressure was off

Really, that's it

Still constantly exposed as per habit

Freo win probably the best

This is why it's frustrating seeing some completely dismiss the impact injuries to key players have had on the season.

Of course, our depth could be better and it's disappointing that we don't have many in the VFL banging down the door, but we've been playing 4-5 VFL level players most weeks to cover for Amartey, McDonald, Gulden, Rampe, Papley etc...

A little bit of retooling and better luck and there is no doubt we're a finals team next season.

We can't play a pressure game because we don't have the pressure forwards and instead of slow wingers

ROBERTS and LLOYD

Get those two out because they might be "best 22" players but they aren't helping the side when played out of position. We seriously need to draft 2-3 small forwards in the offseason and get some life and energy back into the side
I don’t think Lloyd had that bad a game last night and his pressure was pretty good 1st half, won contests, etc.

Roberts needs to build back his confidence, it looks shot. I think there is a player there but he needs to improve his decision making. Still young and can be worked on, but needs to work on his craft in the 2’s.

Our issue wasn’t the pressure in forward half, it was kicking the ball to their defenders in 2nd half.

It’s hard to put forward pressure on when GWS defenders are marking our forward 50 entries. Then they transition and we couldn’t go with them.

we didn’t have the talls on the park to kick too. However we have been calling out the bombing long to contest for a number of years, still hasn’t been addressed.

I’ll say it again and don’t care

This group is cooked and mentally gone

I think you'd made your point.

What do you actually suggest we do?

So we sack everyone except the receptionist, because someone will need to be there to give the new people their fobs.

Then what do we do with no players and no coaches?

We beat some average teams once the pressure was off

Really, that's it

Still constantly exposed as per habit

Freo win probably the best
How did we manage to beat a bunch of average teams and make the hottest team in the comp look average for a half when we're a mentally broken team of easy beats with a coach with no idea and leaders who go missing?

Weird.

The list is falling off the pace compared to rivals. Atm we're going into 2026 with Hamling and Rampe in the best 22, and probably McLean and McDonald off a year with little footy.

Autopsy Overrun by GWS