Patrick Dangerfield - potential GOAT?

Could Patrick Dangerfield become the greatest player of all time?

You sound pretty well informed, lol.

One thing that just seems impossible for you to ever acknowledge when you go full glove, and you start pulling out these stats like one on one win percentage, PlAyeR RatIngZ etc and in many cases just flat out belittle anyone who other people dare say is as good as or better than Martin - when for the most part other judges at the very least will ALL say Martin WAS an all time great player:

This guy that everyone is talking about at the moment makes his name not through winning one on one contests - though he can do that - he does it through beating stacks of players. He will consistently find a ball in amongst a pack of 3-4 sometimes more players and burst away with it, or emerge with it and handball to someone or get a kick away that no one else would be able to manage. How does this continually escape you?

Does that alone make him ‘better’? No. But it’s something anyone watching him can simply observe whenever they switch the TV on and see him play and might go some way to explaining why, 5 years after Martin’s peak, you still find yourself having to use Martin-like techniques to fend off suggestions that Dangerfield may, in fact, be his equal or better

I suspect in 5 years, once the gloss continues to wear off Martin's brief period of finals excellence, people will start to realise that Dangerfield's finals CV overtook Martin's in 2025.

Lol, "gloss continues to wear off Dusty's career."

Very Fadge.

How exactly can gloss wear off a retired player's career Fadge?

Dustin Martin won 48.5% of his offensive 1 v 1 contests, easily the most of any player since the stat was recorded from 2012 onwards.

Patrick Dangerfield has won 42.9% of his offensive 1 v 1 contests.

Dangerfield's record in this stat would be more or less the second most since the stat was recorded. It shows it is a great strength of his. Martin won 13% more of these contests than Dangerfield. That is, as they say, off the charts.

So you now have a second way Martin was clearly better than Dangerfield. What you saw in all those finals from Dustin Martin was not an apparition, it really happened. He was almost impossible to stop because he won contests with unmatched reliability, and kicked or set up goals with almost unerring precision.

Dangerfield can give a strong account of himself in terms of the contests, but falls apart in comparison when converting that to goals for his team. Thus Martin averaged 22 disposals and 2.8 goals + assists in his career in finals, with a huge record in Preliminary and Grand Finals where he averaged 3.8 goals + assists, which I am pretty sure is the most of any player this century. Dangerfield averages 24 disposals and 1.6 goals + assists in finals. In Preliminary and Grand Finals he averages 2.2 goals + assists.

But you have led me perfectly to my favourite Martin stat. The most incredible thing about his finals scoring feats is they were achieved in such low scoring games, so they were critical. In his 3 Grand Finals Dusty scored 10 goals from 14 shots at goal. The 3 opposition TEAMS score 18 goals in these matches, and thus outscored Dusty by 2.8 goal per game on average. Only John Coleman himself in history has outdone Dusty in this stat, and he was a permanent Full Forward of course, and probably the greatest ever Full Forward, or as good as. Dangerfield has scored 1 goal in his two Grand Finals from 3 shots at goal. The opposition TEAMS have scored 20 goals in those games, so they are outscoring Dangerfield at the rate of 9.5 goals per Grand Final. The good news is if Dangerfield scores 11 goals more than Brisbane's whole team this Saturday he will then deservedly take his place equal with Dusty in terms of Grand Final scoreboard impact.
Do you ever wash your Dusty blow up doll Rusey?

One thing that just seems impossible for you to ever acknowledge when you go full glove, and you start pulling out these stats like one on one win percentage, PlAyeR RatIngZ etc and in many cases just flat out belittle anyone who other people dare say is as good as or better than Martin - when for the most part other judges at the very least will ALL say Martin WAS an all time great player:

This guy that everyone is talking about at the moment makes his name not through winning one on one contests - though he can do that - he does it through beating stacks of players. He will consistently find a ball in amongst a pack of 3-4 sometimes more players and burst away with it, or emerge with it and handball to someone or get a kick away that no one else would be able to manage. How does this continually escape you?

Does that alone make him ‘better’? No. But it’s something anyone watching him can simply observe whenever they switch the TV on and see him play and might go some way to explaining why, 5 years after Martin’s peak, you still find yourself having to use Martin-like techniques to fend off suggestions that Dangerfield may, in fact, be his equal or better

Quality rant. Absolutely nothing to do with anything I have posted.

What did you think of dinnaz assertion that Dusty became Dusty by cheating out the front of stoppages? Makes it sound like a mere bagatelle. Strange everyone doesn't do it then, don't you think?

I reckon we'd all prefer it if you posted in the 'Dusty - potential GOAT' thread because no one in here cares about your hyper specific Dusty stats

I bet you would.

Then you could insert Danger in the greatest finals player of all time conversation without that one sobering element spoiling it for you, that Patrick is not even close to the best finals player he has shared a footy field with in finals.

It is a shame. Was also hilarious to hear the comms last week checking themselves every time they wanted to say this is the greatest finals performance or greatest finals performer ever. For the exact same reason, due to the annoying and proximate existence of D Martin.

Lol at you having a go at anyone for ranting.

It’s not intended to have anything to do with what you’ve posted. When does anything you post relate to anything else? If someone posted about fur coats for sale in a back alley in Tashkent you could relate it back to what the player ratings said about a Martin finals performance.

I wouldn’t call it cheating even if it was a consistent tactic and to be honest I didn’t really watch enough of his entire career to make a judgement on whether it was something he did as a permanent thing or not. I watched him when he played us, I watched him in a handful of finals, and the odd game here or there.

When he wasn’t already IN the forward line he was very good at positioning himself to get the ball. For better or for worse he wasn’t doing the same thing Dangerfield does. Why would he, he’s not the same type of player. My observation of him would be that in the games I watched him the most, his contested ball wins were forward, his uncontested ones were higher up the ground where he probably did sit off the pack a bit and do less contested work. Don’t think it really matters does it?

Lol at you having a go at anyone for ranting.

It’s not intended to have anything to do with what you’ve posted. When does anything you post relate to anything else? If someone posted about fur coats for sale in a back alley in Tashkent you could relate it back to what the player ratings said about a Martin finals performance.

I wouldn’t call it cheating even if it was a consistent tactic and to be honest I didn’t really watch enough of his entire career to make a judgement on whether it was something he did as a permanent thing or not. I watched him when he played us, I watched him in a handful of finals, and the odd game here or there.

When he wasn’t already IN the forward line he was very good at positioning himself to get the ball. For better or for worse he wasn’t doing the same thing Dangerfield does. Why would he, he’s not the same type of player. My observation of him would be that in the games I watched him the most, his contested ball wins were forward, his uncontested ones were higher up the ground where he probably did sit off the pack a bit and do less contested work. Don’t think it really matters does it?

Maybe tell that to your mate you lept to defend dinnaz

I quoted a post of yours and made a comment to you. I don’t have a problem with what he said either. Using the word cheated is unfair. Observing a means by which Martin did some of his better work as a midfielder though was fair.

I think even the most one-eyed fan would say that if Martin was ever required to play purely as a midfielder and couldn’t have gone forward and had an influence around the goals, he wouldn’t have had the career he had. Being able to get off the packs and then get forward was part and parcel of what THEN allowed him to do what he did best

I quoted a post of yours and made a comment to you. I don’t have a problem with what he said either. Using the word cheated is unfair. Observing a means by which Martin did some of his better work as a midfielder though was fair.

I think even the most one-eyed fan would say that if Martin was ever required to play purely as a midfielder and couldn’t have gone forward and had an influence around the goals, he wouldn’t have had the career he had. Being able to get off the packs and then get forward was part and parcel of what THEN allowed him to do what he did best

Dusty was that good in finals PB he won more Norm Smith Medals than the amount of Grand Finals he played in....

D Martin

Norm Smith Medals = 3

Grand Finals played in = 2.8

So he runs at about 1.1 Norm Smith Medals per Grand Final. It is highly doubtful that will ever be matched.

😎

Two games in a row was one too many for Danger. Was really well suited to the one week on, one week off finals series Geelong had.

But stunk it up today, massively so.

Arguably his biggest impact was breaking Jeremy Camerons’s arm(it looks like).

Impossible to know, partially because Prime Dangerfield never played in one.

Prime Dangerfield had a lot of toe, massive ball winning ability. Couldn’t kick.

Improved that late.

Had a good PF this year, with a fair rub of the green on the free kick ledger.

There’s a financial term that seems very much apt to describe his performance today in the GF: mean reversion.

Two games in a row was one too many for Danger. Was really well suited to the one week on, one week off finals series Geelong had.

But stunk it up today, massively so.

Arguably his biggest impact was breaking Jeremy Camerons’s arm(it looks like).
Danger's performance will be glossed over by the media personalities that suck him off on a weekly basis.

Neale > Danger in only a half of football who hasn't had any AFL footy in over 50 days.

Quite possibly the worst captains performance in a Grand Final in history.

If it wasn't for the inanimate carbon rod that is Shannon Neale he would be worst on ground and can add a Leon Davis medal to his impressive CV.