Phantom Drafters - Player Profiles

Apologies Ant555, lol. be good te see some profiles in full, can you provide me with any of the div 2 players, as I could not find any info on them, cheers.

Limited info on NT as i only saw them play a couple of games and one was a TAC Cup game when they had a few players out.
I have a bit of info on the some of the Queenslander but i have not put that into profiles yet.:thumbsu:

Limited info on NT as i only saw them play a couple of games and one was a TAC Cup game when they had a few players out.
I have a bit of info on the some of the Queenslander but i have not put that into profiles yet.:thumbsu:

Cheers Ant, will be interesting to see some of the div 2 kids, any ones that stood out to you at all. or not really.

fantastic effort, i see a lot of junior footy here in SA and agree with almost all your profiles on them. I think Jay Shannon is going to be very lucky to get drafted though.

James Strauss
185cm 85cm BP/HPF/Midfielder
Oakleigh Chargers/ Scotch College

A quick and hard running midfielder who excelled as a small backman in Vic Metro winning carnival

PROS: Quick/Agile
Wonderful kick
Strong Build

CONS: Often can go missing from a match
Prediction: 35-60

Hope that helps.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
MIDFIELDERS - WINGMAN
__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
TOM SALTER
184cm 74kg MID
North Launceston (TAS)
----------------------
The Tasmanian captain, had an outstanding championships, was one of the few highlights from the Tasmanian camp. Won alot of ball and used it extremely well, will be interesting to see where he goes come draft day.
PROS: - Leader
- Uses ball well
- Endurance
- Strong hands
- Tackling
CONS: - Kicking
PREDICTION: 25 - 40
__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Haha you must be joking. you cant have actually watched any of this kids games if you think he used it extremely well. He is probably the worst kick in that Tassie team and the coaches will even tell you that. I have watched alot of him, his work rate and endurance cannot be questioned however his kicking, handballing and decision making are emtremely poor, and if you watched the game on FOX even jason Mccartney says that. His pace is also not very good. Your the first person i have ever heard say something positive about his skills. Most people will agree that his only upsided are fitness and work rate. Wouldnt expect him to be called out come draft day. Plenty of kids are just fit, need that something special which he just has not got.

LEWIS JOHNSTON
192cm 87kg KPP
North Adelaide
-------------------
Awesome contested marking in the champs playing either at FF or CHF, kicked a few goals, has the skills and engine to play through the midfield, much like an Adam Goodes or a Chad Cornes,
PROS: - VERY Good contested marking
- Strong hands
- Leads well
- Accurate set for goal
- 'X factor'
CONS: - Defensive pressure
- Discipline
PREDICTION: 10 - 30
AARON CORNELIUS
192cm 84kg FF/FP/CHF
Glenorchy/Tasmania (VFL)
-------------------------
Like Robinson, has played some VFL for Tasmania, is not as quick as others, but leads to the right spots, and is smart where he gets his shots from, has string hands, which is a feature of his game,
PROS: - Marking
- Footy smarts
CONS: - Pace
- Set shot kicking
PREDICTION: 10 - 30

So realistically i would love to see the Swans draft one of these 2 guys as we desperately need a young tall key position forward.

Haha you must be joking. you cant have actually watched any of this kids games if you think he used it extremely well.

You're right, I don't think he uses the ball well either but at least he gave it a try, so full marks to HFF for having a good stab at it. :thumbsu:

So realistically i would love to see the Swans draft one of these 2 guys as we desperately need a young tall key position forward.

If you want Sydney to take a key forward with there first pick then these 2 are probably you best options.

Wouldn't count on either still being around by Sydney's second pick

James Strauss
185cm 85cm BP/HPF/Midfielder
Oakleigh Chargers/ Scotch College

A quick and hard running midfielder who excelled as a small backman in Vic Metro winning carnival

PROS: Quick/Agile
Wonderful kick
Strong Build

CONS: Often can go missing from a match
Prediction: 35-60

Hope that helps.

Sounds about right. Also has very good endurance, can run all game long.

Have been very impressed with his season at Scotch and his champs were very solid - how many of his kicks ended up with Watts? They worked very well together.

If you want Sydney to take a key forward with there first pick then these 2 are probably you best options.

Wouldn't count on either still being around by Sydney's second pick

Going by what the OP said i think Lewis Johnston would be the best option for the Swans. A strong contested mark is vital for a key forward and if he is a accurate shot on goal then i think drafting this kid with our first pick is a complete no brainer.

I would have thought that Cornelius is more of an option, IMO that Johnston is going to the Crows any ways, which they should have a pick before you guys, which leaves Cornelius, is a very good contested mark, would suit the swans better, i would of thought.

On the Tom, he is a good player, I did not think he has that bad disposal, if he gets it, he muct be doing something right, you cant butcher it if you dont get it, ask Ricky Dyson, lol.

I would have thought that Cornelius is more of an option, IMO that Johnston is going to the Crows any ways, which they should have a pick before you guys, which leaves Cornelius, is a very good contested mark, would suit the swans better, i would of thought.

On the Tom, he is a good player, I did not think he has that bad disposal, if he gets it, he muct be doing something right, you cant butcher it if you dont get it, ask Ricky Dyson, lol.

It all depends really as Adelaide are in ok form and the Swans have a horrid run home.

On another note why do you think Cornelius is a better option for the Swans than Johnston?

great effort on the profiles mate. super effort.

i just would like to now a few more thoughts on jaime sheahan.
will he still get drafted although his size?
how much have you seen him play?
and why would you class him in the 15 - 30 bracket?? curious

anything would be muchly appreciated.
cheers

It all depends really as Adelaide are in ok form and the Swans have a horrid run home.

On another note why do you think Cornelius is a better option for the Swans than Johnston?

Um, im not too sure why, i can just see Cornelius in a swans jumper. I feel the swans will finish higher than the crows anyy ways, and will be found out with a lack of a forward line, come finals time, the Crows have, Apparently expressed a very good desire to get Johnston any ways.

Thier are plenty of other really good options in the front half.

Just need to fig a little deeper. ;)

great effort on the profiles mate. super effort.

i just would like to now a few more thoughts on jaime sheahan.
will he still get drafted although his size?
how much have you seen him play?
and why would you class him in the 15 - 30 bracket?? curious

anything would be muchly appreciated.
cheers

Saw him play two of his games, and he impressed me greatly.

Think of Brent Harvey, is quick, puts his head over the ball, is not afraid to put his body in against the bigger bodies, is really good up forward, both over head, aswell as roving the ground ball, he is small, but so was brent harvey, stood really firm in the middle for VC, will be a good footballer IMO

Excellent work HFF. Bit of time compiling that !!!!.

Missed a couple Hooper (vic), Smith (vic), Gaylor (vic), Hanneberry (vic), Kilpin (vic), Weadon (vic), Beams (qld), Geary (vic), Suckling (vic), Cordy (vic), Duncan (nsw), Harwood (tas), C Lynch (vic), Clark (vic)
:thumbsu:

Excellent work HFF. Bit of time compiling that !!!!.

Missed a couple Hooper (vic), Smith (vic), Gaylor (vic), Hanneberry (vic), Kilpin (vic), Weadon (vic), Beams (qld), Geary (vic), Suckling (vic), Cordy (vic), Duncan (nsw), Harwood (tas), C Lynch (vic), Clark (vic)
:thumbsu:

i just used all the info from Ant 555 aswell as Fojo, and the info 'Shifter' put up on the AFL website, i do like the look of Kilpin, any help would be appreciated, Cheers:thumbsu::thumbsu:

Great effort HFF.
I hope Richmond manage to snare any 2 of Ziebell, Cahill, Johnstone and Cornelius :D

as we speak, richmond will pick up Ziebell, imo, as for the other, you may hope that Cahill falls to your second round pick, that may just happen, have not had time lately to work into the second and third rounds even as yet. will get back to every one when ive done the 4 rounds.

XAVIER GOTCH
175cm 71kg MID
Oakleigh Chargers/De La Selle
-----------------------------
Not much of him, but gives his all at every contest, just like his old man (Brad) is hard and tough, is good around the stoppages, and reads the play well.
PROS: - Stoppage work
- Good vision
- Goal sneak
- Pace
CONS: - Work rate
- Ball skills
PREDICTION: 50 - 75

mate a great right up, just a thing about gotch. I have a mate who plays at oakleigh and i've been to many games of theirs, he doesnt kick many goals so it's not a pro of his.. and im very suprised his work rate was a con. He comes off the ground absolutely knackered and is always spent but continues to work and do the small things.
Also, i notice you put shueys speed as a con. He ran a sub 3 on testing dya earlier this year

XAVIER GOTCH
175cm 71kg MID
Oakleigh Chargers/De La Selle
-----------------------------
Not much of him, but gives his all at every contest, just like his old man (Brad) is hard and tough, is good around the stoppages, and reads the play well.
PROS: - Stoppage work
- Good vision
- Goal sneak
- Pace
CONS: - Work rate
- Ball skills
PREDICTION: 50 - 75

mate a great right up, just a thing about gotch. I have a mate who plays at oakleigh and i've been to many games of theirs, he doesnt kick many goals so it's not a pro of his.. and im very suprised his work rate was a con. He comes off the ground absolutely knackered and is always spent but continues to work and do the small things.
Also, i notice you put shueys speed as a con. He ran a sub 3 on testing dya earlier this year

I was unaware of his draft results, thanks for that, shall rectify it now. :thumbsu:

ALEX SILVAGNI
191cm FB/CHB
Casey Scorpions
-----------------
Has been making a name for himself at Casey Fields, playing on and beating some of the power forwards in the second best comp in the country
PROS: - 2nd efforts
- 1%
- Reads play well
- Pace
CONS: - non to speak off
PREDICTION: could be a smoky in the draft as some clubs (Essendon in particular) are looking for developed backmen. seems the perfect fit. is already 22 and developed.

pretty sure hes only 20.. what are the chances of him being picked up by melbourne HFF? i liked what i saw against sandy earlier on in the season would be handy

ALEX SILVAGNI
191cm FB/CHB
Casey Scorpions
-----------------
Has been making a name for himself at Casey Fields, playing on and beating some of the power forwards in the second best comp in the country
PROS: - 2nd efforts
- 1%
- Reads play well
- Pace
CONS: - non to speak off
PREDICTION: could be a smoky in the draft as some clubs (Essendon in particular) are looking for developed backmen. seems the perfect fit. is already 22 and developed.

pretty sure hes only 20.. what are the chances of him being picked up by melbourne HFF? i liked what i saw against sandy earlier on in the season would be handy

I thought he was 22, am having a look now, he is more than likely going to be rookie listed, at least, as a few clubs are in need of key backs, and he is already partly developed, have seen him play a few times, and have been really impressedwith the way he goes about his footy. he is 20 y.o. had a look now.