Port Adelaide
Toronto Raptors
Since we're restricted to 20 poll options, this poll has the following assumptions:

• Boak, Gray, Ebert, Hartlett, Wines, Wingard, Carlile, Trengove, Schulz, Westhoff, Ryder, Lobbe, Broadbent, Jonas and Polec are assumed locks. I've tried to take my personal bias out of the poll options and only include players whose spots in the side I can't recall ever being questioned over the offseason. However, if you do not vote for Jack Hombsch for your Round 1 side, you are wrong.
  • Shaw (inj), Austin, Colquhoun (inj), Howard, Harvey, DBJ, Palmer, Frampton, Wagner and Russell are assumed to have no chance. See above when it comes to bias. However, if you do vote for Sam Gray, you are also wrong.
  • No ASADA sanctions, and Hartlett/Wingard/Trengove are all fit for Round 1.

7 spots left, 20 players to fill them. Who ya got?

My picks: Monfries, Cornes, White, Pittard, Hombsch, Young and Krakouer. P. Stew and Butcher very unlucky, they'd be the travelling emergencies.

Current team:

B: J. Hombsch, A. Carlile, T. Jonas
HB: J. Pittard, J. Trengove, M. Broadbent
C: H. Hartlett, O. Wines, B. Ebert
HF: A. Monfries, J. Schulz, J. Westhoff
F: C. Wingard, J. Butcher, P. Ryder
R: M. Lobbe, T. Boak, R. Gray
Int: J. Polec, K. Cornes, M. White, A. Young

Jack Hombsch should be amongst the locks.

Like I said, I tried to take my personal bias out of it. For some reason which is utterly baffling to me, there are people in other threads who have expressed doubts over Jack Hombsch's best 22 spot.

Like I said, I tried to take my personal bias out of it. For some reason which is utterly baffling to me, there are people in other threads who have doubts over Jack Hombsch's best 22 spot.

Then I have doubts over those people's sanity. Outside of the leadership group, Jack Hombsch would be one of Kenny's first picked players each week imo.

Went for Monfries, Butcher, Cornes, White, Pittard, Hombsch and Young. As such, my preferred line-up is:

B: Jonas - Carlile - Hombsch
HB: Broadbent - Trengove - Pittard
C: Hartlett - Wines - Polec
HF: Westhoff - Schulz - Ryder
F: Wingard - Butcher - Monfries
R: Lobbe - Boak - Gray
Int: Ebert - Cornes - Young
Sub: White

Like I said, I tried to take my personal bias out of it. For some reason which is utterly baffling to me, there are people in other threads who have expressed doubts over Jack Hombsch's best 22 spot.
i dont know how anyone could doubt hombsch, one of the first (along with about 16 others) picked.

I think Impey is preferred over Krak. I think Krak holds tremendous value as a depth / impact player. I hope Krak's focus in the SANFL is to work on things directly relevant to his place in the current AFL squad. Terrific scope for strategic advantage from a player who is a proven performer.

I thought Butch's support would be greater, given the seemingly universal support after NAB3.

Probably because Ryder is available in this hypothetical, and there's a worry that we might be too tall with Lobbe, Ryder, Schulz, Westhoff and Butcher in the same side. If I was doing this same thread but with Ryder and Monfries unavailable, Butch would probably be near unanimous. As it is he still probably has enough votes to look pretty safe in the Port Board's Round 1 side.

Going with guys who played finals last year, -Moore and O'Shea +Young.

If Monfries and Ryder miss, Krakouer and Butcher in.

imo monfries cornes pittard and hombsch are locked pending asada of course. Ken wouldn't be worried about lack of game time if he threw trengove and wingard in so the asada boys have no worries. White he should be a lock regardless of pre season form but his noticeable loss of acceleration gives him question marks. Training and fitness will determine his position. so out of the list that's 5 players my next in line would be Young, Butcher, Krakouer, Impey||||| Neade, Stewart, Clurey, Amon. Depending on what type of player we need of course

If we do play all of butch, ryder, westhoff Lobbe and schulz I reckon we can fit everyone in.
Butch and Schulz to sit in the forward 50. Lobbe switching between ruck and forward (with ryder). Ryder could play third tall and demand a pure defender Dawson/Silvagni/Mcpharlin/Johnson/Smith whoever they decide to play. Westhoff to play primarily wing, ruck rover and could also be a loose in defence - Johnson type intercept. Could also throw ryder further up the ground and the wings as well to mess with them.

Options are plenty 3 of the talls to be primarily forward, 1 in the ruck and 1 roaming (westhoff/ryder). Forward structure to be maintained with Wingard, monfries/neade, Gray (or resting mid) crumbing and white/polec/around the arc push up to the wing to deliver inside 50

Probably because Ryder is available in this hypothetical, and there's a worry that we might be too tall with Lobbe, Ryder, Schulz, Westhoff and Butcher in the same side. If I was doing this same thread but with Ryder and Monfries unavailable, Butch would probably be near unanimous. As it is he still probably has enough votes to look pretty safe in the Port Board's Round 1 side.

I'm playing Butch, cause I'm playing Westhoff and Ryder as tall moving midfielders who float into defence and attack when required.

Monfries comes in because he can spend some time in the mid but is primarily a forward (which allows Gray to be in the midfield) as opposed to Young who is primarily a mid who can push forward.

Pittard and Hombsch are no brainers. Cornes provides needed stability. White gives us some run on the wings.

I went for Krakouer as the sub because he's a plug and play defender which can free Broadbent into the middle, but can also pinch hit forward if required.

My picks: Monfries, Cornes, White, Pittard, Hombsch, Young and Krakouer. P. Stew and Butcher very unlucky, they'd be the travelling emergencies.
I picked exactly the same as you before I read your post and had Paul Stewart as my unlucky eighth!

In addition to Hombsch, Kornes and Pittard shouldn't really be questioned at this point.
I agree. I agonized over Neade and White and eventually went Neade due to White's pre-season and Neade's shining effort in the 2nd half in the SF, particularly some forward pressure against 2 larger opponents that led to a Port goal.
The others I went for were Young, Krakouer and Monfries but ASADA may change that(also the lock of Ryder).

Cornes, Impey, Pittard, Monfries, White, Hombsch and one of Mitchell/Neade.

I went Mitchell only because Neade is usually tried out later in the year after he's had a bit of a run in the SANFL.

B: Hombsch, Carlile, Jonas
HB: Broadbent, Trengove, Pittard
C: Polec, Ebert, Hartlett
HF: Ryder, Westhoff, Gray
F: Wingard, Schulz, Monfries
R: Lobbe, Boak, Wines
INT: Cornes, White, Impey SUB: Neade

Oh, this is going to be a great year! :thumbsu:

B: Hombsch, Carlile, Jonas
HB : Hartlett, Trengove, Pittard
C : Polec, Ebert, Westhoff
HF: Ryder, Schulz, Gray
FF : Wingard, Butcher, Neade
1R: Lobbe, Boak, Wines
Int : Broadbent, Cornes, White
Sub : Krakouer

Hombsch and Pittard are no brainers, except for the Facebook crowd.

White hasn't been great in the pre-season, but the wide expanses of Subiaco are perfectly suited for him. By the end of the year Amon may be taking his place, but not just yet.

Neade I've been waiting for him to be at the feet of Schulz and Ryder ever since we traded for Ryder. Pre-season he hasn't had the chance to play as crumbing forward at the feet of multiple tall forwards in the forward 50 really.

Butcher I put at FF so both Ryder and Westhoff have freedom to roam as extra tall mids (just not centre bounce midfielders often). I'd expect one of Ryder / Westhoff to be in / near the forward 50 most of the game, so we'd have Schulz/Butcher / Ryder or Westhoff as the talls.

Cornes is still our best tagger. By later in the year I'll be doing cartwheels if one of Moore / Hoon or another player can step up and do the shut down role like he can, but until one of them at least gets in the ball park for that role he stays (but it does need to be he's picked as a tagger, as an 'ordinary' midfielder, his hospital kicks and handpasses are a liability).

Krakouer gets the edge as the sub as he can play as a small defender, forward or a rotating midfielder. Just the flexibility you want in the sub.

Hombsch, Pittard, White, Cornes, Monfries, O'Shea, Young

I'm happy to go with the guys that got us to within a kick of the GF last year. Only addition for me is Young who has looked excellent in the pre-season games and deserves a good run of opportunities. Very reluctantly leaving Neade and Butcher out but suspect they will come straight in once Monfries and Ryder cop their suspensions.