Premiership trophy cabinets

AWo7nKlCAAEM8We.jpg

Surely there has to be something else we can put here.

Seeing as Geelongs is so accessible, can't anyone just dick down their quickly and snap a picture? :p

Carlton's is a strange one. On one hand, it is very emphatic and gives off a powerful view, on the other it is a bit ugly in its simplicity. Guess it depends on what you're looking for and opinions differ.

The fact we can build a friggin wall with our cups shouldn't be understated :p

The Lions' are scattered through three locations:
- The first seven of Fitzroy's are in a new Lions memorabilia area in Etihad.
- The 1944 cup is in the Museum of Sport.
- The three Brisbane Lions cups are in our social club.

Don't have photos of any unfortunately, but I believe the Etihad area is the most impressive (it's the only one I haven't seen given I haven't been down to Melbourne since it opened).

Can anyone give me some details about this Lions memorabilia area at Docklands?

Where exactly is it? Is it worth a visit?

I did google it but cant find much info online. Cheers in advance.

I have always loved Essendon's and it is my favourite, an ignoring my obvious bias, if I didn't support Essendon I would still rate theirs as on of the best. The cylinder is fancy and very cool.
Far too busy with all the cups in one glass column.

The cups at the top are out of sight.
Carlton's is a strange one. On one hand, it is very emphatic and gives off a powerful view, on the other it is a bit ugly in its simplicity. Guess it depends on what you're looking for and opinions differ.
The glass cabinet is there to stop John Nicholls from pawning them for cash.

Seeing as Geelongs is so accessible, can't anyone just dick down their quickly and snap a picture? :p

I was hoping this thread would head in that direction!

The fact we can build a friggin wall with our cups shouldn't be understated :p

Not at all, hence my indecisiveness on whether I like it. Not pretty, but powerful. A big vision of success.

Though to pretty it up (until they inevitably have some more to throw in there), they could use the four remaining spaces for night premierships or the like, add a bit of colour, then I would have nothing to bitch about.

Fair call, it goes up pretty high. Though I will contend that the cups at the top are the same as the cups at eye level, and there is writing to about 7 feet describing what each cup is for on the glass.

For anyone interested, Essendon set up a virtual tour of the Hall of Fame (they couldn't call it the Hall of Glory and Fame?) while the area was closed in the middle of the year, so you can walk through to the tropy cabinets and zoom in (or use the mini map and go straight to them) for a closer look at the setup.

http://www.street-directory.com.au/fp_new/?id=915077

I reckon trophy cabinets are one of the most important aspects of sporting clubs. It is fantastic that clubs now realize the pride that people take in the history of their team and most of the displays pictured within this thread are beautifully done. The trophy displays at clubs such as Man U, AC Milan and the Green Bay Packers have been accessible to fans for many years and it is nice to see AFL clubs have realized how valuable an exhibition of championship silverware is to a clubs status. In more recent times it has become a priority for Clubs to educate their playing list about the history of the place they call ( their football ) home. A display of trophies does this better than anything.

Great post mate...pretty much sums up what i thought of essendons...as its the only onei could find on internet.

Would love to see the Cats one.

The Barker - Whitten Challenge cup. When we play the Western Bulldogs the winner gets the cup.

Which highlights just how many stupid and meaningless trophies there are out there

If you click on this link it shows you where they are located.This photo on the Addy site is prior to the stand being open so the cups aren't there.The window under the S in Stand [picture 16] is where they are now located.They also now have big conrete bollards in front of them so no hoons can try a drive-thru.

Fair call, it goes up pretty high. Though I will contend that the cups at the top are the same as the cups at eye level, and there is writing to about 7 feet describing what each cup is for on the glass.

Essendon has their cups spread over two cylinders, not one.

Just as well they awarded cups retrospectively before 1959, otherwise the cabinets of Essendon, Carlton and Collingwood would look fairly average.

Your knowledge of football history is fairly average. Carlton have won half (8) of their premierships since 1959, second only to Hawthorn (10).

I remember playing the pokies at Club Cats a couple of years ago. There was cabinet in amongst the pokies with a couple of dusty empty shelves on it. I then noticed on the bottom shelf was the 2006 NAB cup and a Maclelland trophy from the nineties. They must not have thought much about these trophies.