QAFL 2016

I hear a few not happy at Broadbeach & bailed?

Ok,, let me give you some insight here ,,, Pantic gone due to acl injury . Dillon retired due to work commitments/travel . Scott retired due to injury and not playing to about 3 weeks ago missing all pre season and finds himself to far behind in fitness.Molsher-thomas retired due to number of concussions had, 2 other players have gone for overseas travel which the club knew about months ago.
Thus of the players lost , in all honesty we have only lost 2 top line players be it Pantic ( but that is injury ) and Dillon . The others are fringe players thus it doesnt hurt our senior list to much but certainly hurts our depth and reserve grade fieldings on game day.

Well broady not going any worse than previous years so not sure u cann argue he is doing a terrible job. If they were sitting in the bottom 3 then maybe a fair argument.
I knw for a fact there is at least 1 kid (kerr) is playing as good a footy as ive ever seen him.

Just gotta pick your targets.

Some players respond to a good old fashioned bake, others you could lose forever if you single them out in front of the group.

The challenge is identifying which each player is and acting accordingly.

Modern parenting has a lot to answer for.....

Agreed.

Good parents breed tough kids.

the ones that can't take a good bake from the coach are pathetic. Having said that, look at the Bulldogs!

Well broady not going any worse than previous years so not sure u cann argue he is doing a terrible job. If they were sitting in the bottom 3 then maybe a fair argument.
I knw for a fact there is at least 1 kid (kerr) is playing as good a footy as ive ever seen him.

SMY,
I feel BA is doing a very good job.With the list we have he has got them playing a good brand of footy and he has certainly contributed to the development of some of the youngsters . And as you mentoned, Kerr,,,, yes is developing and adjusting to the standard very well,,, he leads well, has great hands and is a good kick.!! Has 2 bags of 7 to his credit .

SMY,
I feel BA is doing a very good job.With the list we have he has got them playing a good brand of footy and he has certainly contributed to the development of some of the youngsters . And as you mentoned, Kerr,,,, yes is developing and adjusting to the standard very well,,, he leads well, has great hands and is a good kick.!! Has 2 bags of 7 to his credit .

And to ad a bit more lol, we have 5 players at Southport and have only benefited in 2 games, one where Burton played for us , the other where Brennan played.

Young kids with some ability will always progress naturally, a good coach will fast track their development.

i reckon there's four main parts of coaching.
Recruiting
Motivator
Tactician
Teaching
Some coaches are good recruiters & motivators but don't teach the players anything significant & aren't very good tactically & are old school not update on the modern game, some old school stuff still applies but allot of it has been superseded.
Some coaches are good tactically & are good teachers but don't have the ability or personality to motivate players so it would be smart to have an assistant who's a good motivator to fill the void.

A good coach is well recognised in all of those main parts & a very good coach excels in 3 or or all of those main parts.
Yes there many premiership coaches out there that were probably only good at 1 or 2 of the suggested main parts & some coaches deficiencies aren't exposed due to having an open cheque book to buy gun recruits whom consistently preform which leads to the team winning.
Allot of coaches/clubs buy their success, instead of developing it, which isn't always sustainable & history has proven that once the money stops then so does the success.

Ok,, let me give you some insight here ,,, Pantic gone due to acl injury . Dillon retired due to work commitments/travel . Scott retired due to injury and not playing to about 3 weeks ago missing all pre season and finds himself to far behind in fitness.Molsher-thomas retired due to number of concussions had, 2 other players have gone for overseas travel which the club knew about months ago.
Thus of the players lost , in all honesty we have only lost 2 top line players be it Pantic ( but that is injury ) and Dillon . The others are fringe players thus it doesnt hurt our senior list to much but certainly hurts our depth and reserve grade fieldings on game day.

Pantic a massive loss, as is Dillon. Though Dillon doesn't appear to have retired, but gone down to Friday night ammos.

Losing Tomlinson who would be a Ressies player at most clubs, including a full strength Broady is no loss and Scott obviously behind the 8-ball.

Isn't one of the Djenjes brothers injured as well?

The QAFL is really wide open this year. Palm Beach obviously sitting pretty on top, but the top sides would be looking over their shoulders at the Tigers and Magpies who are building from a slow start and keep adding quality to their side each week.

I watched the Mounties vs Pies on the weekend, and the response from the Pies after going 6 goals down early was imperious. If Staker stays on the park (huge if) then they will be tough at the pointy end of the year, Luke Scott and Gareth Crawford look like they are really coming into it - Carseldine back to Grogan form and Val Pope still to come back. Still very short down back though, need to turn one of their tall forwards in the ressies into a defender asap.

Geez, the Magpies belted Palm Beach .... improvement in the Magpies since coach Clarke took over has been exceptional.

Watched my Broadbeach beat Sandgate today ,,, a young bloke by the name of Billy O Donnell made his debut and was super impressive ,kicking 4 goals and was involved in a lot of other plays.

Well, can you believe it, champion goalkicker in Korey Fulton laced on the boots again for the ressies and kicked 4 goals. Dare say it at 38 or 39 years of age, he has still got it, is very fit and with his experience will we see him playing in the seniors ?????

Not sure he would be up to Senior QAFL Level these days, then again he wouldn't be much older than Moncur who was having a big impact before he did his string. However, Fults was never as good as Moncur. Very handy in the ressies though!

I went to the Grange game vs Morningside. Panthers were cleaner and more composed, while the Grange boys had a genuine crack but just couldn't finish their work in front of goal. Grange really should have won the game in the end through sheer willpower, but just couldn't finish their work off. They aren't finals chances anyway, but would have been nice to take a scalp.

Interesting results in the other games, the Magpies are really starting to make their presence felt - two weeks in a row big Stakes has kicked a bag of 5 and he appears to have really straightened them up. If he stays on the paddock they would have to be flag fancies for sure. Not sure who wears #3 for the Magpies, but a few blokes I know from the GC told me he was a standout in the middle for the Magpies as well.

Surfers continue their Jekkyl and Hyde season and Labrador building nicely. Featherstone a huge in late in the year.

If I had to pick it, I'd say despite current ladder positions I'm going a Labrador vs Magpies GF

As a Morningside supporter you have to be a bit disappointed when you hear a few players from senior team have headed overseas for a several week holiday... that plus a couple of injures are likely to have a big impact over the next few weeks. Suspect not just the supporters are unhappy...

Not sure he would be up to Senior QAFL Level these days, then again he wouldn't be much older than Moncur who was having a big impact before he did his string. However, Fults was never as good as Moncur. Very handy in the ressies though!

I went to the Grange game vs Morningside. Panthers were cleaner and more composed, while the Grange boys had a genuine crack but just couldn't finish their work in front of goal. Grange really should have won the game in the end through sheer willpower, but just couldn't finish their work off. They aren't finals chances anyway, but would have been nice to take a scalp.

Interesting results in the other games, the Magpies are really starting to make their presence felt - two weeks in a row big Stakes has kicked a bag of 5 and he appears to have really straightened them up. If he stays on the paddock they would have to be flag fancies for sure. Not sure who wears #3 for the Magpies, but a few blokes I know from the GC told me he was a standout in the middle for the Magpies as well.

Surfers continue their Jekkyl and Hyde season and Labrador building nicely. Featherstone a huge in late in the year.

If I had to pick it, I'd say despite current ladder positions I'm going a Labrador vs Magpies GF

One would think Labrador for sure at the start of the season ,, but geez Palm Beach look good and yes the Magpies have improved big time with new coach Nobby Clarke ..

As a Morningside supporter you have to be a bit disappointed when you hear a few players from senior team have headed overseas for a several week holiday... that plus a couple of injures are likely to have a big impact over the next few weeks. Suspect not just the supporters are unhappy...

Agreed, with a fair few out for the Panthers today and I assume for the next few weeks, it's going to be tough 2-3 weeks down at Esplen Oval. Still all credit to PBC today they where impressive and you can only beat the team the opposition takes the field with. I would have like to seen some of the Senior Panthers stand up today, sadly that wasn't the case.

They're not professionals mate
Too true lensen, professional they are not. Surely when you make the decision to play footy, you commit yourself to play the entire season, if not for your own sake, then at least for the sake of your team. It's soul destroying for clubs when a group of players choose to do this in season. FFS, there's a maximum of 22 weeks ( games ) in a footy season. What's wrong with the other 30 weeks of the year ? Pretty selfish imo.

I have no problem with players going on a holiday during the footy season. This isn't the afl and they are all workers and students. The clubs would know if they're going holidays during the season

I agree. There's more to life than just footy. If people go to Europe they generally go in their summer which is in the middle of our season. And I'm sure the clubs are informed at the start of the year.

Magpies snapping at morningsides heels now. Next few weeks will sort the top 5 out I think

Too true lensen, professional they are not. Surely when you make the decision to play footy, you commit yourself to play the entire season, if not for your own sake, then at least for the sake of your team. It's soul destroying for clubs when a group of players choose to do this in season. FFS, there's a maximum of 22 weeks ( games ) in a footy season. What's wrong with the other 30 weeks of the year ? Pretty selfish imo.
You'd obviously prefer not to and understand if coaches etc feel a bit put out if they are putting time in and sacrificing but players don't

You need to make a fairly convincing argument as to why most supporters would have a right to feel disappointed

Couple of big games this week
Surfers v Palmy
Morningside v Labrador

Surfers n Labrador both needing to win to keep there finals chances alive.
Bar Palmy whom have almost concerted a finals spot, the rest could finish 2nd or 6th.
Shaping the 5 will/could come down to rnd 18 when Magpies v Surfers & Vultures v Labrador.
Big last 6 rounds coming up!

On current form, you would think the top 3 comes from Palmy, Magpies and Tigers.

Magpies last 3 weeks have been superb, and the Tigers are building very nicely.

Palmy solid all year except for the belting from the Pies 2 weeks back