Quicky's list, draft and trade talk thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Quicky

Quicky, from an outsiders POV, that list and detail is outstanding.:thumbsu:

Another likely type that will be around your pick is Aaron Black from Peel. 196cm and 90kg, big lad, but mobile. His WAFL colts team got belted last night in the GF here, but when swung into the ruck he was a catalyst in Peel getting ahead at half time.

There are a few WA boys I rate, just not sure of where they'll go in the draft for you to look at. Donaldson and Luff are 2 others that have impressed me at U18 or league level.

We'll give you Hansen if you send Blighty back, OK?:D

Agree that drafting KPP is a priority but pretty confident at the same time that Dawes will come good next year.

Not on what I saw from him in yesterday's game in VFL Prelim (and the previous three weeks). He leads into the wrong position too often (deep pocket, too close to the man with the ball etc). He almost never jumps for the ball in a marking contest with his arms extended reaching the ball at its peak. He always prefers to wrestle his opponent which leaves him open to an easy spoil in any sort of a pack. The only mark I've seen the kid take where he jumped was in the Elimination Final last year against Adelaide at AAMI Stad but even that was a chest mark. He and Travis have to learn that they need to position themselves in the most dangerous position in the forward line - not on the boundary line or leading to within 15m of the player kicking the ball.

Best option I think. I think we have enough talent in our midfield. Anthony is getting outnumbered and overwhelmed in the forward line, having another dangerous forward might help.

Absolutely spot on. Anthony needs some support and Cloke isn't providing it. If Cloke doesn't come good we are in a world of hurt at KPF. We really need a big bodied, mobile contested marking forward.

After watching this final series the real area of concern is that high forward who floats in and out of the forward line. Anthony needs to be option 2 going forward, still kicking 50 goals a year, but a stronger body -pack breaking, hard running power forward is what we lack.

The other area of concern is deliveru into forward 50. A hard running, ball carrying elite midfielder is what we really lack. When the presures on, someone who runs through the lines, breaks it with pace but also wins their own footy.

Down back we look ok. Nathan Brown is the Key back to develop and I wouldn't be surprised if Jack Anthony becomes that full back option we keep talking about. Reid or Dawes then takes over that role forward.

I think midfield will be ok with more development. Thomas showed some good signs last night, Sidebttom will be a gun and ditto Beams, Pendles was missing and McCarthy will step straight in with a preseason. That said I wouldn't mind us targetting a midfield prospect in the draft just not at the expense of a KPP.

Not sure about Anthony going back into the backline. He is just too valueable in the forward line to us. Brown and Reid our our future down back. Wouldn't be surprised to see Brown up forward next year.

Panos looks like a good prospect his pretty big for his age and is a straight kick. We definitely need to go after a KPP and I think he would fit perfectly :) I just hope we don't give away our first round it would be stupid.

Totally agree on not getting rid of our first rounder. People are over reacting a bit to the loss. We will need our first rounder to target a KPF.

Quicky, from an outsiders POV, that list and detail is outstanding.:thumbsu:

Another likely type that will be around your pick is Aaron Black from Peel. 196cm and 90kg, big lad, but mobile. His WAFL colts team got belted last night in the GF here, but when swung into the ruck he was a catalyst in Peel getting ahead at half time.

There are a few WA boys I rate, just not sure of where they'll go in the draft for you to look at. Donaldson and Luff are 2 others that have impressed me at U18 or league level.

We'll give you Hansen if you send Blighty back, OK?:D

Cheers mate.

Yeah Aaron Black is another that we should look at at our pick. Atleast from what i've read, I havn't seen any footage of him. What his contested marking and goalkicking routine like??

If you believe some people - he may well be gone before our pick.

Serhat Temel at Calder Cannons is another making a late charge, and really enhancing his prospects of getting drafted. He's 195cm and 90kg with a great contested mark, good set shot routine and great mobility.

With Panos, Talia, Carlisle, Black, Griffiths, Temel and Vardy there should be a good KPF prospect available for us with our pick. I'd like us to try and get another 1st or 2nd rounder through trade if possible.

And you can keep Hansen :D Quite happy with Blight thanks very much ;)

Oh and out of interest, from a WC POV, what do you think WC would be after in return for Seaby?? He's someone we may well show alot of interest in.

We do need another Ruckman but who? there no easy to find maybe we will just have to keep persisting with wood and maybe we might be able to get sam jacoubs from carlton seeing that they have kruzer and warnock ahead of him now, he would be a good option he is very capable .

I would love to see daniel kerr playing for us next year i dont see why the eagles would want to keep him there rebuilding and another round one pick would set there young list up well. We just lack that physical strength around the packs and around the ground and thats what lost us the game against geelong becuase the likes of ling and bartel, ablett with there strong bodies just pushed our younger players of the ball. Luke ball could be another option we just need some big body players like geelong and we should be fine.

First round pick and Jonny Bennel for Daniel Kerr.
Third round pick for Sam Jacobs

If there is a big bodied ruckman available, we should trade for him, but who? Similarly, draft one, if available. Realistically, we are a couple of years away from a serious shot at a premiership, though I am sure that won't stop us from thinking we are invincible if we win a couple of games at the start of next year. We don't need to panic if we are prepared to be patient

If we were to consider someone like Dawes as tradeable, we would stand a good chance of a round 1 pick that might land us a quality player. Similarly, Davis might have trade value. I guess the danger is that sometimes these trades come back to bite us, particularly if we trade with Sydney.

Then there are the players who were part of the loss to Nth Ballarat to consider. We had high hopes for several of them, yet the likes of Blair, Mc Carthy, Stanley, Barham etc were ordinary. Suddenly, we saw for the first time, the youth of our squad for what they are - young and vulnerable. The VFL proved indicative of the AFL result. Just like last year, the wheels proved to feeble to carry the team.

Stick to the young guys for another two years unless we can land someone special through trades.

If there is a big bodied ruckman available, we should trade for him, but who? Similarly, draft one, if available. Realistically, we are a couple of years away from a serious shot at a premiership, though I am sure that won't stop us from thinking we are invincible if we win a couple of games at the start of next year. We don't need to panic if we are prepared to be patient

If we were to consider someone like Dawes as tradeable, we would stand a good chance of a round 1 pick that might land us a quality player. Similarly, Davis might have trade value. I guess the danger is that sometimes these trades come back to bite us, particularly if we trade with Sydney.

Then there are the players who were part of the loss to Nth Ballarat to consider. We had high hopes for several of them, yet the likes of Blair, Mc Carthy, Stanley, Barham etc were ordinary. Suddenly, we saw for the first time, the youth of our squad for what they are - young and vulnerable. The VFL proved indicative of the AFL result. Just like last year, the wheels proved to feeble to carry the team.

Stick to the young guys for another two years unless we can land someone special through trades.

Seaby is definitely out the door at West Coast so he would be an obvious target.

Charman is the other one I would be interested in. Really rated Charman at his best. Is an absolute monster but isn't very durable. I'd give him a chance though.

Cheers mate.

Yeah Aaron Black is another that we should look at at our pick. Atleast from what i've read, I havn't seen any footage of him. What his contested marking and goalkicking routine like??

If you believe some people - he may well be gone before our pick.

Oh and out of interest, from a WC POV, what do you think WC would be after in return for Seaby?? He's someone we may well show alot of interest in.

Very good contested mark, has very good hands and his goalkicking is pretty good, some I know at Peel say it's his feature, but I haven't seen enough goalkicking to say that. Looks very solid, to say the least. Marking, well that's his feature, IMO. Big bodied already so would play from day 1, I would say.

Seaby, well I still rate him because I see a lot of WAFL, I just hope we don't get to greedy and expect a top 15 pick or so. What we'd probably be after is a pick we can turn into a 20-30 pick. Not saying I'd expect pick 20-30 but something we can turn into that.

Watching the WAFL colts GF there's more depth in the talent pool than some realise, I reckon, so you'd still get a decent player in that range.

The other KPF that I like, but I'm black and white biased here in WA, but haven't said much about is a kid called Adam McKinlay. Some rate, some don't, but as CHF in the colts comp he kicked 51 goals this year. Has a very good contested mark and is pretty aggressive. The thing against him, I think, is his height may not be considered true KP height. I think he's around the 190-192cm mark, not really sure. He'd be a guy teams could rookie though, I'd expect, because he's not been invited to draft camp or SS I believe.

We should target Ben McEvoy from St Kilda. He is capable of playing ruck and KF. Is strong bodied and takes contested marks. Has a few top players in front of him at the Saints so he may be tempted.

Very good contested mark, has very good hands and his goalkicking is pretty good, some I know at Peel say it's his feature, but I haven't seen enough goalkicking to say that. Looks very solid, to say the least. Marking, well that's his feature, IMO. Big bodied already so would play from day 1, I would say.

Seaby, well I still rate him because I see a lot of WAFL, I just hope we don't get to greedy and expect a top 15 pick or so. What we'd probably be after is a pick we can turn into a 20-30 pick. Not saying I'd expect pick 20-30 but something we can turn into that.

Watching the WAFL colts GF there's more depth in the talent pool than some realise, I reckon, so you'd still get a decent player in that range.

The other KPF that I like, but I'm black and white biased here in WA, but haven't said much about is a kid called Adam McKinlay. Some rate, some don't, but as CHF in the colts comp he kicked 51 goals this year. Has a very good contested mark and is pretty aggressive. The thing against him, I think, is his height may not be considered true KP height. I think he's around the 190-192cm mark, not really sure. He'd be a guy teams could rookie though, I'd expect, because he's not been invited to draft camp or SS I believe.

Cheers for the info Swannies, great to get the opinion of someone who has seen him play. The more I read about Black the more I think he'd be the perfect fit at Collingwood. He is still only sixteen too which means there is every chance he'll get even taller :eek: Hine likes his underagers too, but if he is really as good as he is being made out to be there would be a strong chance he is Gold Coast bound you'd imagine.

We should target Ben McEvoy from St Kilda. He is capable of playing ruck and KF. Is strong bodied and takes contested marks. Has a few top players in front of him at the Saints so he may be tempted.

The big tip is that King will retire at years end so there is every chance McEvoy will be best 22 next year. I think the Saints have him earmarked as very much a part of theri future plans so doubt they'd let him go. Although i'm not sure what his contract status is like.

What would you offer for Daniel Jackson?

Whats his age?? and whats his disposal like??

Without knowing the intricacies of his game i'd say we'd part with a second rounder. We really need a dedicated shut down tagger. He's probably worth more than a late second rounder though?? Although we really do need a tagger I doubt we'd part with our first rounder simply because we have other areas of our list that are more important to address.

A player swap may be an option too but not sure who, maybe someone like a Wellingham??

Adelaide paper is reporting that Collingwood has entered the equation wrt Burgoyne. I dont know if this is just them expressing interest or not (Burgoyne apparently rejected 3 or 4 Vic sides ... leaving just the three we know about). [it could also just be paper trying to add interest to Burgoyne story]

I doubt due to where you finished a deal would get struck, but thought you would be interested.

(Oh and I dont think Port and Collingwood trading is an issue ... )

Cheers for the info Swannies, great to get the opinion of someone who has seen him play. The more I read about Black the more I think he'd be the perfect fit at Collingwood. He is still only sixteen too which means there is every chance he'll get even taller :eek: Hine likes his underagers too, but if he is really as good as he is being made out to be there would be a strong chance he is Gold Coast bound you'd imagine.

Quicky, Black is 19 this year, hence not playing the U18 carnival. He's been hiding out in country WA, until Peel saw him and got him in to the Colts system.

The 16yo is Harley Bennell, cousin/brother (not sure which) of your rookie listed Johnny Bennell. He looks an absolute star in the making, that kid.

Swannies really enjoy your posts. Logical and informative, a refreshinig BF change.:thumbsu:

Quicky, Black is 19 this year, hence not playing the U18 carnival. He's been hiding out in country WA, until Peel saw him and got him in to the Colts system.

The 16yo is Harley Bennell, cousin/brother (not sure which) of your rookie listed Johnny Bennell. He looks an absolute star in the making, that kid.

My bad :o

Works out well for us. The more quality KPP there are available the better chance we have of getting a good one.

Johnny Bennell had a ripper against North Ballarat on the weekend. One of the few that could really hold his head high. Very smart in contested situations for a small guy.

Adelaide paper is reporting that Collingwood has entered the equation wrt Burgoyne. I dont know if this is just them expressing interest or not (Burgoyne apparently rejected 3 or 4 Vic sides ... leaving just the three we know about). [it could also just be paper trying to add interest to Burgoyne story]

I doubt due to where you finished a deal would get struck, but thought you would be interested.

(Oh and I dont think Port and Collingwood trading is an issue ... )

Cheers for the news :thumbsu: Have you got a link to the article?? I tend to take these reports with a grain of salt just because everyone gets linked to Collingwood this time of year. Reality is we probably don't have a high enough first rounder to get the deal done. Would love him at Collingwood though, I still shudder thinking of his 18 clearances against us a few years ago :eek:

Ah its trade time already!!! A time for rumour an innuendo like no other in the year. A time for some of the most unrealistic trade suggestions you are likely to hear. A time that is likely to determine the long term futures of many clubs.

With all the unrealistic nonsense being floated around it reminded me of an absolutely brilliant post last year by Warwick on the Draft's and Trading Board.

Its entitled:

"Trade time on BF - the 12 most annoying, exacerbating, frustrating things you are certain to see"

I suggest everyone read it before they make any suggestions on trades.

Heres a sampler:

Number 7: "We should offer <insert spud A> to <insert team X> because they are lacking in <insert spud A's position>"

For example, wanting to trade Wayde Mills to the Bulldogs because they are "lacking" in tall forwards. Just because they want a tall forward, it doesn't mean they are going to throw something at any old (but tall) hack that floats along. It's the same premise by thinking a South Australian / Western Australian / Queensland club would be interested in trading for a South Australian / Western Australian / Queensland spud.

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=491267

Enjoy :thumbsu:

Seeings as we have been linked to Richmonds number 3 pick in an attempt to snare Butcher - as unlikely as we are to achieving that - I thought i'd post a vid of Butcher for anyone interested:

[YOUTUBE]20KXJa1w7N0[/YOUTUBE]

[YOUTUBE]3CDa74UishA[/YOUTUBE]

[YOUTUBE]7jOcmYI9rLU[/YOUTUBE]

Heres some vids of the highly rated midfield types our of the draft - although its a bit of a tease as its doubtful many if any will be available at our picks.

Tom Scully:

[YOUTUBE]7cGbhLe02eQ[/YOUTUBE]

Jack Trengove:

[YOUTUBE]_Y2PwtBToqA[/YOUTUBE]

Anthony Morabito:

[YOUTUBE]rLk9uD2u8y8[/YOUTUBE]

Luke Tapscott:

[YOUTUBE]KOfvlLD7bTk[/YOUTUBE]

Gary Rohan:

[YOUTUBE]X5O5kVTtgdc[/YOUTUBE]

Kane Lucas:

[YOUTUBE]hElTlpq1jzY[/YOUTUBE]

Dustin Martin:

[YOUTUBE]bTjp4ROxszk[/YOUTUBE]

Koby Stevens:

[YOUTUBE]fgYmZKxf0do[/YOUTUBE]

Here are some guys that are more likely to be around our first or for some even our second rounder.

Mitch Duncan:

[YOUTUBE]kXeDP87bOrc[/YOUTUBE]

Ryan Bastinac:

[YOUTUBE]gKW2dKlrMS8[/YOUTUBE]

Jake Melksham:

[YOUTUBE]1uKNEw0ZXYw[/YOUTUBE]

Brad Sheppard:

[YOUTUBE]ZnfudDlqx88[/YOUTUBE]

Allen Christensen

[YOUTUBE]kKvJOTJ7AcQ[/YOUTUBE]

Jordan Gysberts:

[YOUTUBE]Q37JhxyEy_M[/YOUTUBE]

Alex Carey:

[YOUTUBE]8JoaTsFNruI[/YOUTUBE]

Also there are quite a few vids on KPF/KPD on pages 4 and 5 of the thread for anyone interested.

Wow hasn't this trade period hotted up over the last couple of days??!!!!

It's interesting going back to the start of this thread and reading over the analysis of our list - what I thought we needed where a:

KPF/KPB (preferably a forward - experience preferred)
Ruckman
Outside midfielder

I also thought we'd do anything to keep our first two picks and keep building our list through the draft. Who could have foreseen the way this trade period would have gone with Fevolas **** up and Jollys desire to return to Victoria. It has really opened the opportunity for us to snare some genuinely classy football players - and in areas of our biggest needs.

I think the club is being very clever in how it has approached the trade period. I am glad we are chasing Jolly strongly and making him our priority number one. I'd love us to get this trade done early so we can focus on getting Fevola. I always had a bad feeling - given we were dealing with Carlton and they would want alot in return for Fev that we would put all our energy into getting Fev only to have in fall through at the end, leaving us with nothing. Going after Jolly first is the right thing to do. If we can get the deal done for Fev after that - it would be huge for the club next year. I understand some peoples feeling that going after Fevola is too big risk due to his character but at the end of the day I think it is too big a risk not to go after him. He would make us a genuine threat for the flag, he is an elite player, experienced and in an area where our structure was terrible all year. One thing we really lack is a genuinely elite player and Fevola is that.

Given our need for an outside mid the rumours linking Davis to a move back to WA are a big concern for our list. He is hands down our best outside midfielder and I think more important to the structure and balance of our midfield than people realise. If to get the Fev and Jolly trades completed we need to give up quality i'd be more confortanle to see someone like Medhurst traded as I think in Macaffer, Dick and Thomas we can cover his position alot more easily.

The other list need that was perhaps overlooked at the start of the thread was the need for a mature bodied clearance midfielder - this was really exposed in the finals. There are three players which are up for trade, will come cheaply and may fit this need on our list. Kennedy, Tuck and Harris. I would love for us to chase Kennedy but can't see us getting him given our interest in Fev and Jolly. DaVe86 has mentioned it but maybe going after Harris in the PSD or late ND (90s type pick) would be a good idea. He doesn't need to be played in the 22 week in week out but brought in when the need arises. Something to be considered anyway.

Ball poised to leave the Saints

http://www.realfooty.com.au/news/rf...eave-the-saints/2009/10/04/1254590908387.html

Collingwood is believed to head the list of clubs on Ball's radar, though it is unclear how any trade would be consummated. The Magpies are trying to acquire Sydney ruckman Darren Jolly with their first trade choice - a deal that, if it went through, would place pressure on Collingwood's Josh Fraser, who, clearly, would be forced to confront the reality that Collingwood has been seeking a different style of ruckman in the more powerful but less nimble Jolly.

Yeah, hard to see how this would turn out. Though the possibility makes for interesting talk now Fevola is well and truely off the table.

With pick 14 and possibly a fringe player gone to get Jolly, what else to we have to bargain with the Saints?

Ball poised to leave the Saints

http://www.realfooty.com.au/news/rf...eave-the-saints/2009/10/04/1254590908387.html

Collingwood is believed to head the list of clubs on Ball's radar, though it is unclear how any trade would be consummated. The Magpies are trying to acquire Sydney ruckman Darren Jolly with their first trade choice - a deal that, if it went through, would place pressure on Collingwood's Josh Fraser, who, clearly, would be forced to confront the reality that Collingwood has been seeking a different style of ruckman in the more powerful but less nimble Jolly.

Cheers for the link astartei. Ball would be a great addition to the team. It's reassuring that he has approached us about coming to Collingwood. Would have really really helped us in the finals with his hard body, will no doubt really complement our midfield department.

Yeah, hard to see how this would turn out. Though the possibility makes for interesting talk now Fevola is well and truely off the table.

With pick 14 and possibly a fringe player gone to get Jolly, what else to we have to bargain with the Saints?

If we get Jolly there is every chance Fraser may be involved in the trade. Or maybe our second rounder (probably not enough) or a fringe player.

Seems to be we are in all the news today for trade week!!!

And it all revolves around Jolly, Ball and Fevola - but also perhaps significantly Leon 'neon' Davis.

Jolly - Jolly's manager has come out and said Collingwood are his preferred destination and importantly that he will not play for Hawthorn. We'll wait and see what happens but they are pretty strong words. Seems a trade would cost pick 14 and a fringe player i'd say Goldsack tops but preferably a Cook, Stanners or Cox.

Ball - Has also declared Collingwood his club of choice and is uncontracted to boot. Would cost us hopefully one of pick 30 or Fraser. I wouldn't be offering more. Seems a strong chance to be coming our way.

Fevola - We've always known it, but Carlton are arseholes!!! They seem intent on haing Fev going anywhere but to us. We responded well I feel, offering pick 30 - the way they are behaving i'm glad we are playing hard ball. Should cost more - but depends on how desperate they are on getting rid of him. If Davis really wants to leave as rumoured he could come into this deal. Also the Dawes to Melbourne for pick 18 may be involved but we'd be kidding ourselves if we didn't realise Fev is now a long shot.

Davis - Is reportedly interested in a trade to either SA or back home to WA. If its true we should expect a first rounder in return as a start. This could land us Fev or a decent young player. Wouldn't it be great to get Jolly and Ball and one of Fev or a Talia/Panos in trade week??? But in all honesty I hope like hell he stays. Gotta love him - and not sure we have the depth in outside mids to cover him.

One last thing - and this may be an option if Davis leaves:

Wojo - Apparently David Wojinski is going to be the victim of Geelongs salary cap sqeeze. He's 29 but still a very very good player. Would add alot of experience and pace to anyones midfield and will come cheap. Could be a nice left field target, especially if we lose Davis.