Preview R10: Changes vs. Collingwood

Fun fact. We have played 9 games so far, which means there are 14 left.

As it turns out, we play exactly half of those (7) against sides currently in the top 6; and the other half against sides in the bottom 6.

Top 6 double ups against Collingwood and Hawthorn;
Bottom 6 double up against WC.
How about the other middle 5 sides?

I know

That’s why it will never be an even comp.

Until all teams play the same amount of games as each other on their home ground.
Anyone catch Damian Harwick's thoughts on how to make it more even? Only get 2 premiership points for each double up fixture.

e.g. play Gold Coast at both Carrara and Adelaide, win both you get 4 points, win one you get 2, win none you get nothing.

IMO it is a brilliant idea, I hope it gets traction. Takes away the advantage of sides that get to play the easy beats twice.

Anyone catch Damian Harwick's thoughts on how to make it more even? Only get 2 premiership points for each double up fixture.

e.g. play Gold Coast at both Carrara and Adelaide, win both you get 4 points, win one you get 2, win none you get nothing.

IMO it is a brilliant idea, I hope it gets traction. Takes away the advantage of sides that get to play the easy beats twice.
Of course he’s going to say that, Gold Coast are likely to play tougher teams now as their double ups.

Bottom teams need a leg up

How about the other middle 5 sides?
We are currently in the top six, so there's six middle sides.

7- Geelong
8- GWS
9- Ess
10- Carl
11- Freo
12- StK

We've already played those teams, and we don't have any repeat match ups against them.

It's certainly food for thought.

Do we do the same then for percentage points for/against.

Would it have changed the ladder in recent history I wonder?

We are currently in the top six, so there's six middle sides.

7- Geelong
8- GWS
9- Ess
10- Carl
11- Freo
12- StK

We've already played those teams, and we don't have any repeat match ups against them.

So we have a 4-2 record against the middle six, a 2-0 record against the bottom six, and a 0-1 record against the top four.

(we are 5th, Dogs 6th, haven't played them yet)

Hopefully a 1-1 record against the top 4 by tomorrow night. A 7 point win will put us in the top 4. (6 points if they score more than 46 points.)

The issue there is we keep saying that like he's in his 2nd year as a senior coach, not his 6th.
THIS!! :thumbsu: :thumbsu:
The Nicks fan/sympathisers conveniently overlook (or forget?) this when they say things like:
"Well, we beat PA, what are you complaining about?", which brings me to your next good point:
I just don't see the improvement coming from him in regards to game feel, tactics and decision making at this point.
Nor do I, and last Saturday night was another good example of his basic negativity and conservatism.
I decided to Google: "What was Matthew Nicks like as a player, AFL?".
Astonishingly, this came up:
"Key aspects of Nicks' playing style:
  • Speed and Agility:
    Nicks was recognized for his exceptional speed and agility, which made him a dangerous player to handle in the forward line and in attacking midfield.

• Football Intelligence:
    He possessed a strong understanding of the game, allowing him to anticipate plays and make effective decisions on the field.

• Versatility:
    Nicks was able to play as a key position forward, but also displayed versatility in midfield and other positions, demonstrating his adaptability and ability to contribute in different roles. "
    :oops::oops: :confusedv1:
I don't see any of that in his Coaching style, especially neither footy intelligence nor versatility.
He's a finished product and he's got obvious flaws in critical areas.
Again, this!
We might make Finals this year, but I am not optimistic about our chances of having any impact, nor advancing.

Anyone who plays Brisbane/Pies/Geelong/GWS/GC twice this year will earn their 4 points for a win.

If they had a truly random allocation of double ups it might be fairer.

Anyone who plays Brisbane/Pies/Geelong/GWS/GC twice this year will earn their 4 points for a win.

If they had a truly random allocation of double ups it might be fairer.
It's deliberately designed to be unfair, not random! It's called equalization, apparently.

.......but they didn't succeed for us this year: our doubles don't seem to be unfair in our favour, which they should be.

Would it have changed the ladder in recent history I wonder?

They looked at this on one of the footy shows and it would have made some significant differences last year alone.

From memory, Brisbane would have made the top 4, and Melbourne would have finished 9th instead of 14th. Also North would have finished bottom and likely selected Lalor with pick 1.

I've heard a bunch of commentators say that it's a stupid idea, but I actually think it's brilliant. Of course, the better idea is to just play everyone once and alternate home and away each year, especially since when we get to 20 teams that's already 19 rounds. But if we're stuck with playing some teams once and some teams twice, then you earn half points for double-ups. That way nobody gets 4 points for free because they got to double-up on one of the easy-beats, or misses out on finals because they had to play the top team twice.

The only downside is that it makes the ladder more difficult to assess mid-season. But even that could be easily handled by just making it so everyone plays their double-ups at the end of the season. The first 17 rounds are all new match-ups, and the final rounds are the double-ups.

Why can't each side just play each other twice, is it purely due to player fatigue? Surely that just brings squad rotation into the mix more and if teams are smarter they can probably surface more young players over the season.

Collingwood games in a 23 game season id have
11 - MCG
3 - AO (includes gather rond
2 - Perth Stadium
1 - GABBA
1 - GC Stadium
1 - SCG
1 - GWS Stadium
1 - Geelong
1- Ballarat
1 - Tassie

Same with othe Victorian Teams. 11 games at there home ground.

The home ground we share with 4/5 other teams plus the remaining Vic sides?

Without Collingwood, the bottom feeders of the comp wouldn't be around.

Disappointing that Draper not in the side.

Thought this week ideal to rest Tex.

Play Curtin in Tex role, kind of like an old school CHF, and then Draper in.

Give Draper MCG experience.

Think when Moore was an out there was no chance of them resting Walker. Club throwing the kitchen sink at this game.

After I put this out there Tex to have a BOG performance.....

I think we wouldn't lose much.

What we lose in Tex up firward, gain in midfield

Curtin could play that role well. Draper playing midfield improves that area.

Curtin's issue against Port was that they don't use the wings much. Cummings struggled too.

I reckon Curtin, playing wing could go well tomorrow.

Preview R10: Changes vs. Collingwood