Review R10: The Good, Bad and the Ugly vs. Collingwood

You have twisted the situation so you can post your agenda. Let it go mate, it’s stopping you from just enjoying our club playing footy. I’ll tell you what I believe rattled Rankine. I watched an interview with him leading up to Sir Doug Nicholls round. He designed the jumper and put pressure on himself to perform. I just feel the occasion just got to him. Any other day he would goal from those set shots. But he will learn from it. As for the other “culture” parts of your post. That’s complete nonsense and you’re just desperate to pin everything on Nicks.
I thought Stiffy designed this jumper?

Actually now I’m confused by what I watched, unless I misinterpreted it. In any regard he went on to talk about the importance of wearing the number 23 and doing that number proud.

It's probably deeper than that. We keep picking coaches who assimilate. The last coach we hired that shook the place up was Walsh. The one before that was Malcolm. We are just a conservative organisation.
Conservative club for a conservative state, SA sporting clubs regardless of code find new ways to shit the bed in big moments.

Good: Surprisingly not much, given we only lost by 10 points away to a top side but Collingwood were off today too so seems like a missed opportunity.
None of their forwards got away so I guess the defence?
Dawson’s 1st quarter, Fog’s 2nd. Soligo looked dangerous in the 4th although he needs to compose himself before disposing the ball a bit better.
Curtin showing more signs, thought he was ok.
Rob hitting Fog lace out from 40m away(!?)
Never put an opposition in here but how good is Jeremy Howe? Remember when he used to be a flukey half forward that would just fly for hangers? At almost 35 and only 190cm, he’d be in my AFL best team as 3rd tall defender.

Bad: Everything pointed at Tex having a week off, interstate game, wet weather, Pies best key defender out, necessitating a more mobile defence + Tex moving like an 80 year old the past couple of weeks. Selecting him was elite level incompetence and meant we effectively played one short. Hopefully it just cost us the game and didn’t cook his season.

Ugly: Collingwood are a better team than us but we have more talented players. Other than their superior coaching and systems, the biggest difference is when their moments come, they stride up, look it in the eye and take them. We shirk and slink away from ours. I don’t subscribe that dealing with pressure can’t be coached. When players tentatively stab at easy shots at goal, there’s a strong learning there. I’m tired of hearing our best can beat the best, fact is, it doesn’t. It gets close but then it averts its eyes and blames umpires and anything else that comes to mind. We haven’t beaten a top 7 side this year and even lost to the other top 8 list, bottom 4 coaching group, Fremantle. There needs to be a deep and systemic mindset change before we can be an actual contender.
Bingo 👍

Similar to last week, difficult game to evaluate and not sure we learned too much. The last three games before the bye will be interesting as it's still difficult to place where we are at.

In terms of positives, I thought Curtin had his best game. Looked comfortable in the role he was playing on the wing and contributed pretty consistently in the first 3 quarters. Leave him there the rest of the year.

Dawson, Fogarty and ROB were good as was most of our defence, overall we got on top in the midfield and Rankine had a good game aside from missing those two shots. If he kicks those its an elite performance, obviously downgrades it but he wasn't bad. Not too many positives aside from those things, disappointing to miss 4-5 very gettable goals, especially when that's a key strength of the team.

Settle down, ROB destroyed Darcy Cameron in the ruck and Laird was clearly our best defender today......Milera however ugh.
Don't agree with your opinion on Laird. I was at the game, and there were a few occasions where he had options to move the ball on quickly to players in space and either chose to go long, or on one occasion fired a handball to Worrell to his left, as Worrell was about to be tackled, when he had three players free on his right who were already positioning to run the ball out of defence. Led to a turnover and a shot at goal for Collingwood. There were other examples where he had players in good positions to take a short kick, and he completely ignored them to go long to a contest. I can't question his courage but his decision making is woeful.

Actually now I’m confused by what I watched, unless I misinterpreted it. In any regard he went on to talk about the importance of wearing the number 23 and doing that number proud.

Certainly sounds like you are confused with what you watched.

Edit: Oh, you meant the interview, not the game.

Good:
In general play I thought we matched them pretty well. Defence held up quite well too and for a change we more than matched them at the stoppages. Fog was excellent - could've had 5, and if not for the brain fade on the wing, could've been the match winner.
Bad:
Missing very gettable goals from good spots. Curtin & Rankine in particular.
Ugly:
Umps in general, but handing them goals (Milera handball, and the Membrey shove in the back in particular) didn't help.
Game was a bit of scrap, the conditions weren't easy, very slippery, so some errors are forgivable.
Biggest thing for me was the unaccountability for Josh Daicos, neither ANB or Keays wanted to be near him, and he set up countless plays from the back half.
Tex should never have been picked either, early on Howe took 3 uncontested marks running off him and thwarted our attacks. These last two points are on the coaching panel and selection committee.
A lot of players went missing, the two I mentioned above, Nank, Soligo (in the first half), Michalanney (jsut offered nothing at half back, although kept his opponent quiet) and Cumming - who appears to be struggling, just doesn't get enough of it.

You have twisted the situation so you can post your agenda. Let it go mate, it’s stopping you from just enjoying our club playing footy. I’ll tell you what I believe rattled Rankine. I watched an interview with him leading up to Sir Doug Nicholls round. He designed the jumper and put pressure on himself to perform. I just feel the occasion just got to him. Any other day he would goal from those set shots. But he will learn from it. As for the other “culture” parts of your post. That’s complete nonsense and you’re just desperate to pin everything on Nicks.

Well thank god it's just a one off and this hasn't happened before

Except he didn't design the jumper

You often see Rankine choke? Must have been while at GC then

I have seen many players choke over many years. Because it's not an issue with specific players, it's a systemic club wide problem in high pressure moments

Nicks worries, panics and blames.

Do you reckon Nicks is getting over to Rankine and Curtin supporting them after those poor shots, or is he jumping into his press conference and blaming the players for a lack of composure?

The players have the occasion in their mind because they know it's a big moment and they know they'll be blamed personally if they fail. So they shrink and perform worse.

Extra pressure is piled on because Nicks goes around being nervous about these games.

“There are so many hard match-ups, there’s so many things they do well, which is why they are rated as one of the best teams in the competition at the moment,” Nicks said.

“That’s the challenge that faces us this week, and the group is itching to get over there and have a crack at Collingwood and get a win over a team that has had the wood on us for a while.”

Twice in the presser before the match he brings up how tough they are and how poor we are against them. Of course that rubs off on the players.

So when they're taking those shots they're under the pressure of the big game, knowing it's against a tough opponent we have a poor record against, and knowing they will be blamed if they fail. That's the Nicks way
Sorry, I am not a fan of Nicks but those 3 misses are on the players. These are professional athletes and their execution was poor.

I they really managed him properly this year then he could potentially still
Contribute next season as well.

It's not just them, they're asking Tex regularly how the body is, does he think he can perform. What's wrong with him isn't something that'll show up in a scan, training drills or a 20 minute match sim. It's how fatigued he is out there after a few efforts and how confident he is in his body. He's telling them he's fine and Nix is such a dullard, that feeds into what he wants to hear. Tex simply needs to be held accountable for his form, you can't be having that much ball directed at you and delivering so little. Asking him how his body is and trying to negotiate a rest is stupidity, just put "omitted" next to his name, like they would anyone else, and move on.

I they really managed him properly this year then he could potentially still
Contribute next season as well.
It’s in the clubs best interest long term to learn life without Tex.

Sorry, I am not a fan of Nicks but those 3 misses are on the players. These are professional athletes and their execution was poor.

Well like I said, I'm not sure what's worse

Either there's a club wide systemic issue in high pressure moments established at leadership level that infects the players

Or it's the players' fault, meaning we've spent the last 6 years rebuilding to end up yet again with players that can't handle pressure.

I guess you could believe this is truly a once off occurrence but everyone here has been watching the Crows for a long time so I think we all know whether that's true or not

We matched them as expected but we were our own worst enemy in front of goal when there was an opportunity to keep the game close. Rankine really choked big time. Tells me he is not quite ready for the big pressure games yet and has lots to learn.

Fogarty, Dawson best on ground. Rankine was good apart from his mishaps.

Butts and Keays had forgettable games.

Next weekend vs West Coast is a good time to give Walker a week off with 3 tough games before the bye ahead.

I have seen many players choke over many years. Because it's not an issue with specific players, it's a systemic club wide problem in high pressure moments

It has happened to other teams as well, Sicily last year against Port. GWS in 2023 preliminary final and others.

Review R10: The Good, Bad and the Ugly vs. Collingwood