Review R14: The Good, the Bad and the Ugly vs. Hawthorn Hawks

It actually made me feel like kind of a shit dad getting him invested in the Crows. I had a real "Why am I doing this to him?" moment.
Too tough on yourself mate.
You're bonding over/via the Crows; shared highs and lows are moments to treasure.
Also, dealing with the lows is character-building for him. You'n'me too, ha!

I hardly knew my Dad (parents separated, he lived in Woomera) and he passed when I was 10.
I'd have given literally anything to have a Father to watch footy with (and share stuff/sports with, in general).
Your son's a lucky boy:
--- he hasn't been Nicksed
--- he has you. :smilev1:

We didn’t have our best night but still got within 3 points of Hawthorn in Launceston - where they have dominated in recent years (I think our win against them in 2023 there was one of their most recent losses in Launceston).

Can’t fault our defence - they were outstanding and kept fighting all night. And that Worrell tackle on Watson was sublime.

Just need to get the firepower up forward firing again.

We head into the bye 9-5 and in the top 4. We have a good run home, with 3 of our 4 remaining away games against the current bottom 3 sides (throw in the Showdown and we have matches against the current bottom 4 to come).

Already, we’ve improved on last season.

I really don’t get the doom and gloom on here.
If you took more interest in the men’s team you’d understand. We’re chasing flags, not finals appearances. Those two things are very different.

Too tough on yourself mate.
You're bonding over/via the Crows; shared highs and lows are moments to treasure.
Also, dealing with the lows is character-building for him. You'n'me too, ha!

I hardly knew my Dad (parents separated, he lived in Woomera) and he passed when I was 10.
I'd have given literally anything to have a Father to watch footy with (and share stuff/sports with, in general).
Your son's a lucky boy:
--- he hasn't been Nicksed
--- he has you. :smilev1:

Yeah fair shout. I was taking the piss a fair bit with hyperbole. I do love bonding with him over it. We go to 3 games a year together and will probably start taking my 5yo next year when he turns 6. After a few games last year and the first one this year that we went to he's really getting more interested in the game itself which is great (asking about the rules, why people get free kicks, etc).

It's been a constant battle with his mates at school who barrack for teams like Collingwood, etc, that we go for the Crows and that's that :tearsofjoy:

I noticed he kept crossing over with other umpires to remain in control...
That is not true. The umpires would hand control to another umpire, you can hear them say yours to them. They are 100% instructed that you never take the play from an empire, the other umpire hands it over. Would be chaos as it gets very unclear who has control. This is different to out of zone umpires making a call. Which they really only do for off the ball stuff or missed high contact. For instance an ooz umpire won’t call a htb over the controlling umpire.

It was true.

Stevic was the controlling umpire down 1 end & within a minute or so he was the controlling umpire down the other end.

They are not meant to crossover.

He took it on himself to take control of the game.

That’s lip service, he’ll be demanding to play, which is our lived experience. Why would you be believing differently? Do you genuinely reckon that he’s telling the coaches he needs a rest and they’re selecting him anyway? That’s just stupid.
Your opinion of Tex isn't really worth listening too, you've never liked the bloke

It was true.

Stevic was the controlling umpire down 1 end & within a minute or so he was the controlling umpire down the other end.

They are not meant to crossover.

He took it on himself to take control of the game.
Not meant to cross over ? Honestly this just shows you have no idea. Quick series of mark, stop style play especially on a wing you could easily be in control at other end. Umpires do not umpires zones, which by what you wrote I assume you think.

Mate, if you're gonna come in that hot, make sure you know the rules

Suggest you watch the 2nd half again & watch where Stevic positions himself & realise he is making far more decisions than the other 3 umpires... then get back to me with your thoughts.

If you took more interest in the men’s team you’d understand. We’re chasing flags, not finals appearances. Those two things are very different.
In order to win a flag you need to have a finals appearance - something we haven’t done since 2017.

Let’s take things one step at a time. We need to make finals first - which is very much possible this season with the run home we have.

Once we’re in the finals, dare to dream.

Suggest you watch the 2nd half again & watch where Stevic positions himself & realise he is making far more decisions than the other 3 umpires... then get back to me with your thoughts.
Pointless… you are suggesting he took control of play. It doesn’t work like that. It just doesn’t.

It shouldn't, but it did. That is the point!

Check out which umpire dominated the decision making.

So you continue to comment on something you refuse to even look at...

It shouldn't, but it did. That is the point!

Check out which umpire dominated the decision making.

So you continue to comment on something you refuse to even look at...
No …. Your commentary originally that I refuted was that he took control from other umpires…. It doesn’t happen. Secondly so what if he makes more decisions … that can happen. Thirdly this idea that this umpire was somehow a factor in the game… come on hawthorn could claim they should win by more with an even free kick count in the first half. Anyway stay on the point without putting your what about ism. They do not take control of the play from other umpires.. simple as that

Have you heard of a dude called Troy? Last name Pannell? His favourite pet is a bulldog.

Review R14: The Good, the Bad and the Ugly vs. Hawthorn Hawks