Review R7: The Good, Bad and the Ugly vs. Fremantle

He got screwed by the umpires on the weekend those frees in the centre bounce were a joke ,each time darcy was
Looking at rob not the ball and blocking him anyway im over the bs the umpires are getting away with its a joke .Its no lo ger the players deciding the games and i still say until the afl checks betting accounts its never going to change
Doesn't explain why he just randomly taps the football...

That i agree with but how the f@ck are you meant to compete when the stupid umpire cant do his job competently ?
The main problem with ROB has nothing to do with the umpires being shit all round.

They are deciding 80% of the games now its a f@cking joke ,it would be easier if the captains walked up to the umps and asked are we winning today or not its that blatant

That i agree with but how the f@ck are you meant to compete when the stupid umpire cant do his job competently ?
Easy don’t hit it to a spot where none of our players our.
Pissweak blaming Rob’s shit form on the umpires, in football terms he’s thick as a brick.
Holding his arms out like he doesn’t know why a free was paid when he had the other bloke around the neck.

Pissweak blaming Rob’s shit form on the umpires, in football terms he’s thick as a brick.
Holding his arms out like he doesn’t know why a free was paid when he had the other bloke around the neck.
Mate its a free before that when you arent even looking at the ball darcy did that all night

They are deciding 80% of the games now its a f@cking joke ,it would be easier if the captains walked up to the umps and asked are we winning today or not its that blatant
Deciding 80% of games?

Probably best to check the margins...

Any way your point is irrelevant to ROB randomly tapping the ball everywhere.

Just stop while you are behind

Conspiracists rarely stop theorising...

Full moon tonight?
Basketball Howling GIF by Worcester Wolves

Froggy if you dont think the umpires are betting on games and deciding on who wins you are kidding yourself .It already been proven brownlow votes were given out
the umpires have zero to do with Rob sucking

Make fun all you want kane but tell me this did a afl umpire give out brownlow votes ? I rest my case
80% of games decided by the umpires lol

Go on & name 80% of games so far this year.

Good luck with gather round!

You have no case!

the umpires have zero to do with Rob sucking
I rest your case!

Problem with conspiracists is they are so caught up on their conspiracy, all logic goes out the window!

I'm still having head spins about the post by SugarShane showing ROB's excellent two-handed tap (great positioning, perfect to the player) to the Freo player :oops::sadv1: when there were free Crows' mids galore to his left.
A handball, kick and mark later, Freo goal (in red time, of course).
Thanks ROB.

He can't get two hands to take a contested mark, but he can to pinpoint the opposition :drunk: :poov1: Fkme :madv1: .

Maybe not "all", but MOST of it.
eg Keane's ill-discipline, but Nicks keep selecting him.
eg ROB's blundering, can't-kick game is on ROB, but Nicks keeps selecting him.
Nicks and Co. have chosen Strachan, now McAndrew, as back-up when what we need is a bull like Richmond's Nankervis (mentioned above by another poster).
When we lose away to a mid-table range team like Freo, there's a repeated Nicks-Coached-pattern to the way we do it.
--- poor start
--- junk time goals given away
--- reckless defensive errors giving goals away
--- get more than 4 goals down and lose, every time
--- show up in the last 10 or 15 minutes and make the loss look respectable.
That pattern is what this Nicks-Coached team does, mate, and Nicks does not change it
BUT
it's what he's paid to do ie find out what is not working and change/improve it.

That's on Nicks and VB.

Maaate, it was 6.2 to 2.1 at 1/4 time, hardly outstanding defence.
True, Worrell was terrific all day; Max was very good.
Keane leaked his usual 2 goals/game from poor self-discipline.
Milera? replace <== he is just not effective.

Sorry, what? Do you mean scoring that starts in our Defensive half?
I'm more worried about opposition scoring in our Defensive half.

Please read the posts below:

+

Friday night's loss was as pure a Nicks-Coached loss as you'll ever see.
It was 17 inside 50s to 7, that's a complete imbalance. I thought we held up well, but Freo scored goals from their rear end. Their dump kicks to 25 out were good but we neutralised them well. Doesn't help when their mids are just running through the centre unopposed most of the game.

This is the same side with the same coach which was up by 5 goals against Geelong in Q2.

Our average midfield was being propped up by heaving scoring from our defensive half, ie we turn the ball over at half back and move the ball forward quickly, generating scores. Freo locked the ball in their forward half and wouldn't let us out easily, if we did get it out the pressure was immense.

Milera is fine, ROB is not the player he was but is some VFL player hacking around any better? I cant imagine it and if there was Sydney would recruit him anyway :rolleyes:

You are 100% correct about being a Nicks coached loss, it is a pattern with the poor quarters, ill discipline and then a token fightback. I'd rather a fightback than a 10 goal blowout in a ladder where the deciding factor is percentage when points are equal but do it earlier guys lol.

Freo played awesome football, by far their best performance for the year. Its just frustrating.

Decent write up.

Few major concerns for me.

1) We've clearly been found out by other clubs that we can't stick tackles. Geelong showed that to us in being able to distribute under any kind of pressure. Nicks even mentioned this after the Geelong game. We registered an absolutely monster 18 inside 50 tackles (we rarely ever hit double digits) and yet we weren't able to keep the ball in there. 53 Inside 50's to 42. We managed to plug the hole by bringing Cumming back who helped settle things down with another spare.

2) For anyone talking about our Defence, the ball was down there 18 times in the first Q. Crazy number of entries for one Q. Midfield torn to shreds, ROB terrible service, but I can't tell you how many times the ball dropped and there were 2-3 Freo players first to the ball, and heaps of our players just standing there on the outside... Soligo hasn't carried the same consistency of his first 4-5 games, and Crouch hasn't been great since he was 'rested'.

3) Soligo, Peatling, Crouch, Dawson, with Rankine chopping out.... how is this midfield not getting it done? Seem to be lacking genuine speed out of the contest, and despite registered a whopping 72 tackles for the game, it felt like Freo made them count. Stats looked quite similar for the mids until you sort the data by metres gained and it's all Freo. Were much better linking up and simply getting the ball moving forward.

4) Milera - What is he brining to our game? Has to be on the chopping block...making Laird look like Whitfield in comparison...

5) I didn't watch the SANFL game, but surely Sid gets a full game in midfield? 6 inside 50 entries, 8 clearances... - I just don't think the coaching group will do it, Nicks is playing for his job and just won't take calculated risks. Sam Berry also a chance to come in with those inside numbers, is surely close to getting a game in place of Crouch..
Yeah, I noticed that as well, we were better off spreading after the lost contest instead of trying to stop the ball carrier with a 3 on 1 tackle which was broken in anyway. Their tackles stuck hard and we couldn't get out.

Other teams have figured out Soligo is our only effective inside/outside mid and nullified him somewhat, every contest he is being pushed out of it. Rankine doesn't have any burst speed through the contest at the moment and ROB is serving up butter chicken on a paper plate and the one time he got a clean hit out it went straight to a purple jumper...

Draper was interesting, was the sub and played on the Sunday, he had about 20 to half time so probably ran out of gas.

Berry is a great tackler and seems to be able to get his body in front of the footy.

It was 17 inside 50s to 7, that's a complete imbalance. Their dump kicks to 25 out were good but we neutralised them well. Doesn't help when their mids are just running through the centre unopposed most of the game.
Nicks has never --- and I mean NEVER --- known how to set up for CBs, throw-ins or dead-ball throw-ups.
Worse, ROB has no clue how to feed our mids and his around-the-ground work is beschissen.
I don't know what VB is doing that he's getting paid for and I still can't believe he was the mids Coach when WCE went top in 2018.
Our mids are ineffective in spite of abundant talent in Soligo, Peatling, Draper (make Keays his fitness-running MENTOR then put him in there and let him run until he can't run any more). ANB was THIRD in the Demons b'n'f last year; rotate Draper and him. Rankine and Dawson sparingly, please.
Light a fire of some kind under Berry and Schoenberg.
I'm done with Crouch; he's slow, doesn't punish the oppo with his many possessions and defensively lazy.
This is the same side with the same coach which was up by 5 goals against Geelong in Q2.
Not.
Look at the AFC player lists for the two games <== NOT the same, plus we were at home then and Geelong's very capable Coach changed things up, leaving Nicks bereft of ideas or solutions (as usual).
The comparison is irrelevant and we lost that game, too! Yes, from 5 goals up, fmd.
Milera is fine
No. He's flat-footed, compared to pre-injury when he was fleet-footed, slow-reacting and leaks a couple goals/game. Nicks selects him based on what he used to be or what he might-have-been, not on what he's actually doing.
Ought to be dropped until he absolutely dazzles in the SANFL.
ROB is not the player he was but is some VFL player hacking around any better?
Dunno.
McAndrew + Tex + TT (sparingly) + just about anyone else in our side could cover his ineptness.

MURPHY likes to fly for MotY, let him Ruck ffs. <== NO, wait, I take that back. NOT Murphy, ever again.
I cant imagine it and if there was Sydney would recruit him anyway :rolleyes:
Yeah, or fknGeelong, the Corporate-fattened-aholes.
You are 100% correct about being a Nicks coached loss, it is a pattern with the poor quarters, ill discipline
... which is why we have to sack Nicks.
and then a token fightback.
The "token" fightback is because Freo put the cue in the rack halfway through the last.
The Crows never looked like winning that game.
I'd rather a fightback than a 10 goal blowout in a ladder where the deciding factor is percentage when points are equal but do it earlier guys lol.
I'd rather get ahead, stay ahead and PILE IT ON ... or fight out a lead for a close WIN ... just for a change.
Wouldn't you?? :confusedv1:

Nicks is not good for much, but he's a Master at minimising the sizes of losses; it's how he protects his job.
That, or opposition teams relax and let us back in a bit because they don't want to lose Nicks as our Coach.
Freo bplayed awesome football, by far their best performance for the year.
Maaaaate, no. Their best win was vs the Dogs and winless Melbourne clobbered them before our game.
A smart Coach would have made plans for them to bounce back, eg curb one or both of Serong/Brayshaw, but we have Nicks.
ROB, our lazy midfield and our aimless/purposeless/inept Coach allowed Serong and Brayshaw to run rampant, which made Freo look like a Top-2 side. 6.2 to 2.1 first quarter and we ALWAYS lose from there, under Nicks.
They are at best a 7-10th side and we are crappy.
Its just frustrating.
If it was only "frustrating" I wouldn't feel as bad.
Sack Nicks, now, before Draper, Soligo, Dawson, Rankine and others become irreversibly, fully Nicksed.

You are 100% correct about being a Nicks coached loss, it is a pattern with the poor quarters, ill discipline and then a token fightback. I'd rather a fightback than a 10 goal blowout in a ladder where the deciding factor is percentage when points are equal but do it earlier guys lol.

We couldn't do it earlier. The only reason there was a "fight back" was because Freo had the game won and relaxed the pressure.

Review R7: The Good, Bad and the Ugly vs. Fremantle