Oppo Camp Regular Non Eagles Discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter Biggie

Tim Watson had it out for Woosha big time when he was coach of essendon. Woosh got Tim's nose out of joint when he said publicly that a big part of Essendon's problems are that they haven't accepted they can't just buy their way into a good list anymore and that there are too many ex-players and powerbrokers influencing how the club is run.

He came on Talking Footy about two years ago for an interview just after Watson had been going at him for weeks in the media. It was brilliant viewing, Woosh brought that quiet intense energy he has, where it felt like he was going to reach over and smash him at any point. Watson was shitting himself and walking on eggshells trying to avoid triggering him. The other hosts thought it was hilarious.

Any link? would love to watch haha

I find the criticism of worsfold taking on a mentoring role so baffling.

Are head coaches meant to not access support where they need it? Teague is obviously having some issues with an underperforming group- and has reached out to an external source that he trusts for help.

Being a senior coach must be one of the loneliest jobs in the world when things aren’t going well. I think it’s great Carlton are supporting him.

Last season Rhyce Shaw walked away from North citing mental health concerns.

Buckley, Hardwick and Goodwin split with their wives and whilst I have no interest in pontificating about why, I have no doubt the stresses of their job would have played a part.Hardwick and Buckley in particular were long term, experienced coaches

Teague is in just his 2nd full season as coach at a club even recognised coaching greats, Pagan and Malthouse, found difficult to navigate

But let’s criticise a guy for recognising he needs help

More than any other club (Essendon are not far behind) Carlton are the last bastion of the old VFL mentality that money and past champions is the road to success. They’ve failed to adapt - just listen to Mark McClure for two minutes and you’ll understand their delusion

Go back to 15 teams

Brisbane
GWS
Port Adelaide

Have a bye each round like the old days.

Dont need Gold Coast, NM or StK.

On SM-G925I using BigFooty.com mobile app

Go back to 15 teams

Brisbane
GWS
Port Adelaide

My brain child to 'fix' the AFL is:

Take 4 of the Victorian clubs and relocate them/give their license to other states. I don't really care who it is, but the numbers suggest it would probably be North, St. Kilda, WB, and the last one is a bit harder to choose. For arguments sake, lets say it's Carlton.

This paves the way for 2 new WA teams and 2 new SA teams. Again, whether that be relocation or giving the license up and bringing teams out of the WAFL/SANFL, I'm not too fussed about.

Gold Coast get relocated to Tasmania.

The result of this is:
6 clubs remaining in Victoria. 4 clubs in the other two major AFL markets, WA and SA. 2 clubs in NSW, one in QLD, and one in Tassie.

Crikey I don't want one new WA club let alone two.

Not sure where the fans for a third and fourth SA team will come from either.
Don't get me wrong I know it's a batshit idea that'll never happen. Can you imagine the uproar from all 5 St. Kilda fans if they had to relocate?

Tim Watson had it out for Woosha big time when he was coach of essendon. Woosh got Tim's nose out of joint when he said publicly that a big part of Essendon's problems are that they haven't accepted they can't just buy their way into a good list anymore and that there are too many ex-players and powerbrokers influencing how the club is run.

He came on Talking Footy about two years ago for an interview just after Watson had been going at him for weeks in the media. It was brilliant viewing, Woosh brought that quiet intense energy he has, where it felt like he was going to reach over and smash him at any point. Watson was shitting himself and walking on eggshells trying to avoid triggering him. The other hosts thought it was hilarious.

My wife hated monday nights, AFL360, on the couch, talking footy, footy classified.

Go back to 15 teams

Brisbane
GWS
Port Adelaide

As much as I'd love to see the insolvent clubs disappear, there's no way the AFL will give up 2 games a week.

What I think would be a more interesting option would be a national 2nd tier comp fully combining the VFL/SANFL/WAFL.
Then there could be a promotion/relegation type system with bottom 4/top 4 moving between the comps & additional prize money given to the 2nd tier champion as further reward.

Imagine the melts if a "traditional" VFL club gets relegated - would be so delicious!

I haven't fully thought out the implications for the draft & I'd imagine either a loan system for kids through the 2nd tier or an alignment model.
I just wanted to imagine the shitter clubs not draining the comp any longer.

Participation in Queensland is actually quite good currently. Folding/relocating GC would be a huge mistake.

Agreed. For all of their failure on-field, they have done amazing things off-field for the qld market.

Not sure what the cost to the AFL has been though (it has been a lot).

I could easily see 3 Vic clubs being moved (1 to Tas, 1 to NT and the 3rd to the best bid from SA/WA). Of course it won't happen (not only because it would be hard to get more than 5-6 home games for Richmond at the end of a season, but that is an important consideration!)

As much as I'd love to see the insolvent clubs disappear, there's no way the AFL will give up 2 games a week.

What I think would be a more interesting option would be a national 2nd tier comp fully combining the VFL/SANFL/WAFL.
Then there could be a promotion/relegation type system with bottom 4/top 4 moving between the comps & additional prize money given to the 2nd tier champion as further reward.

Imagine the melts if a "traditional" VFL club gets relegated - would be so delicious!

I haven't fully thought out the implications for the draft & I'd imagine either a loan system for kids through the 2nd tier or an alignment model.
I just wanted to imagine the shitter clubs not draining the comp any longer.

It is the ideal set-up. (unless WC got relegated!)

The problem being, would it be similar to soccer leagues where players have a clause in their contract allowing them to break it if their team is relegated?

The draft could be further tampered with by the AFL to suit I'm sure. Maybe tier 1 teams still get the same draft (end of season, access to the best 18yo's) and tier 2 clubs get a mid-season draft (with similar qualification criteria to current, but they would gain access to the best overage/19yo players as a priority). Teams getting promoted get picks 1&2 in the tier 1 draft (almost as a bonus for promotion).

Go back to 15 teams

Brisbane
GWS
Port Adelaide

Easier solution: Turf anyone who has never won an AFL premiership in their history from the league.

Aka: piss off St Kilda, Freo, GWS and Gold Coast

Job done.

Wouldn't mind a national reserves comp (not WAFL etc in it though, but the Eagles WAFL side can move to the AFL Reserves along with Reserves sides for all the AFL clubs), but promotion/relegation wouldn't work. There's no way a WAFL club, even a powerhouse like Subi, could compete in the AFL.

Last season Rhyce Shaw walked away from North citing mental health concerns.

Buckley, Hardwick and Goodwin split with their wives and whilst I have no interest in pontificating about why, I have no doubt the stresses of their job would have played a part.Hardwick and Buckley in particular were long term, experienced coaches

Teague is in just his 2nd full season as coach at a club even recognised coaching greats, Pagan and Malthouse, found difficult to navigate

But let’s criticise a guy for recognising he needs help

More than any other club (Essendon are not far behind) Carlton are the last bastion of the old VFL mentality that money and past champions is the road to success. They’ve failed to adapt - just listen to Mark McClure for two minutes and you’ll understand their delusion

I remember groaning when we got Gepp in when Simmo arrived and then we went and got Don Pyke which i though was an odd decision at the time as he hadn't been coaching in sometime. Worked out well as it aloud Simmo to bring his mates in but the club surrounded him with support from early days.

Wouldn't mind a national reserves comp (not WAFL etc in it though, but the Eagles WAFL side can move to the AFL Reserves along with Reserves sides for all the AFL clubs), but promotion/relegation wouldn't work. There's no way a WAFL club, even a powerhouse like Subi, could compete in the AFL.

Maybe not straight away, but I reckon they might have had more wins in the last decade than the great GC Suns!

I'm just thinking of ways to get rid of the ludicrous restrictions on football department spend due to unsustainable clubs.
While knowing there is no chance of folding clubs & relocation will probably only just be shifting the problem.

I remember groaning when we got Gepp in when Simmo arrived and then we went and got Don Pyke which i though was an odd decision at the time as he hadn't been coaching in sometime. Worked out well as it aloud Simmo to bring his mates in but the club surrounded him with support from early days.
I wasn’t happy with Gepp being brought back at the time because it felt like he was there to keep an eye on Simpson more so than supporting him. Had no evidence to support that suspicion but I had it nonetheless

Was fine with Pyke