Remove this Banner Ad

Sep 10, 2004
East Fremantle
AFL Club
Geelong
Other Teams
East Fremantle, Derby County FC
Mods please delete if not allowed.

I am a journalism student in Sydney doing a story about how covid/the lockdowns have affected peoples relationships with their neighbours.

By way of background, there has been a bit of coverage in the press about how covid has brought neighbours closer together. On the other side of the coin, there has also been stories about disputes between neighbours about noise and other things like that whilst people are stuck at home. In my own neighbourhood in Sydney I've noticed a lot more people complaining about dogs defecating in front of peoples houses (i've literally seen 2 hand written signs saying dog's can't defecate in front of this house, weird- it makes me think that is because people are spending so much time at home.)

So i'm keen to know- how has everyone's relationships with their neighbours been since covid? Have they got worse? Or have they got better? Has an issue about construction/renovation noise escalated since the virus began? Is that dog barking now unbearable when you have to work at home?

Please message me if you'd like to share something or post below.

Thanks.

No big difference. We live in a cul-de-sac and in the early days of March/April had a few get-togethers with most of the street in a big circle having a chat and drinks. People looked out for the elderly and dropped off some groceries so they didn't have to go out.

If people did have friends over they usually just had some chairs and spaced out in their driveways. So, it kind of became a bit more social as you'd always see people as you'd walk around the streets.

Families were protective of their kids but eventually got to trust their circle. Play dates started up again and kids rode bikes in the street and went to each others houses.

So, nothing changed too much. People were a bit wary at first but everyone kept pretty friendly and social.