Opinion Round 12 Changes vs. Adelaide

• Thread starter Thread starter YelloMit

I just figured they were wrong like they are about most other stuff. Every time someone does an ankle you see them come off to get it re-strapped.

AFL clubs seem to love chucking a kilo of strapping tape on every joint they can, I'd be surprised if they were happy for their expensive investments to go out there without their ankles done.

Looks like they practiced their taping technique on Brady Grey before the game:

images

Adelaide will come out firing. It is basically a must win game for them to make the 8 and one of our harder games in the coming block.
We need to play more like we did against Geelong than WB.

Ibbo should start the game off the HB flank. Sheridan was quite and needs to lift - his Geelong game was better. If Fyfe doesn't come up then bring in Mora I would think as the big bodied mid/HF type.

No, I don't want to shoot him, nor do I want to delist him. However a good kick up the arse would be handy.

The comparison was made with Hill earlier in the thread, and even though Stephen was shirking some contests and not dominating a game at all at the same stage, blind Freddy could see that he had abundant talent. Mundy was the same. You got glimpses of undoubted talent. I can't comment on Mitchell, but I would be highly surprised if it wasn't the same.

I'm just waiting for something, anything, from Sheridan and Crozier to translate good WAFL form to AFL form. I'm not expecting a miracle, but what I have seen is below par and extremely disappointing.

I challenge anyone to highlight a passage of play at AFL level where an independent judge would say, "holy shit, that Sheridan kid is good".

We have seen it from Simpson already, and plenty of other younger kids who were selected at similar stages of the draft by other clubs. Yet not a thing, not a single shot fired by Sheridan at all.

Yet all we get here are excuses.
For once I actually agree with you. Its the lack of intent from both players. Both look like they are just there for the ride..

Yeah, I don't think that had anyone sitting bolt upright in their chair going, "holy shit, that was good". I reckon that I could take a mark on Varcoe.

probably not.

Definitely not.

That nuffie is a regular training watcher who has been around for as long as you. He is also good mates with Salim.

But because I posted that comment you feel the need to take a shot. Anyway we shall see come next game

No need to start another shit fight.

If it is sherif I take it back. But I would counsel him on his choice of acquaintances.

My point was more to your unequivocal statement of fact that he won't play. You don't know that.

Yeah, I don't think that had anyone sitting bolt upright in their chair going, "holy shit, that was good". I reckon that I could take a mark on Varcoe.

probably not.

Definitely not.

If it is sherif I take it back. But I would counsel him on his choice of acquaintances.

My point was more to your unequivocal statement of fact that he won't play. You don't know that.

I can't be 100% but he said it looked bad. All good mate :)

No, I don't want to shoot him, nor do I want to delist him. However a good kick up the arse would be handy.

The comparison was made with Hill earlier in the thread, and even though Stephen was shirking some contests and not dominating a game at all at the same stage, blind Freddy could see that he had abundant talent. Mundy was the same. You got glimpses of undoubted talent. I can't comment on Mitchell, but I would be highly surprised if it wasn't the same.

I'm just waiting for something, anything, from Sheridan and Crozier to translate good WAFL form to AFL form. I'm not expecting a miracle, but what I have seen is below par and extremely disappointing.

I challenge anyone to highlight a passage of play at AFL level where an independent judge would say, "holy shit, that Sheridan kid is good".

We have seen it from Simpson already, and plenty of other younger kids who were selected at similar stages of the draft by other clubs. Yet not a thing, not a single shot fired by Sheridan at all.

Yet all we get here are excuses.

I guess it depends on the individuals definition of "holy shit" but personally I don't think any one moment is enough to say a kid will be good. However I think he's had a quite a few moments where he's impressed me. His crumb and snap goal against the pies, running flat out on the boundary 40m out and had the presence of mind to hit up Crowley in the square instead of blazing away. Even on the weekend he had a few disposals that opened up the play for us. I think a few people are overreacting to his game, he had 9 touches and 5 tackles in 46% game time, but some seem to think it was as bad as Suban against the Hawks last year

We obviously have different expectations.

Nice things are ok. Things that you would expect a first round draft pick to do are...well...expected.

But there is no spark, no intensity, no ability to take on the game and make it his own.

I'll get reamed again, but he is vanilla in every sense.

If Fyfe isn't fit enough to play and Sheridan's dropped who comes in?

My guess would Sylvia and maybe Grey? C. Pearce doesn't fit the build for either player and Morabito doesn't look likely to be selected for some time. Unless they bring back the Kepple.

Not that it matters, but not me. I find how much you criticize Sheridan difficult to understand. I'll have a sportsmen bet with you that Sheridan will play 150 AFL games. Again, I think your expectations for a player who is yet to turn 21 significantly off base. Agree to disagree though. I think he is tracking really well and I've been really impressed when I've seen him play for Peel. I was at the game where he had 23 possession in less than 50% ground time, and in that game he definitely showed elite acceleration to break away from congestion and then kick the ball superbly into the forward fifty. I definitely had the feeling 'geez that kid will be awesome in a year or two' when I watched him play.

Im surprised that there has not been more attention on Spurr and his form in this thread. He seems massively down on confidence in both his marking and his kicking. Again, yesterday he turned the ball over a couple of times in the first quarter. The Bulldogs didn't hurt us on the scoreboard, but the better teams will if he continues his recent form. Im a massive fan of Spurr BTW, but I think he would benefit from a couple of games at Peel to regain confidence. It would not be a massive surprise to me if he was dropped this week, with Sylvia to come into the team and either Sheridan or Crozier to play the sub role.

Yeah nah bro.
4 goals in 9 games, we cannot carry forward players who do that and only average 11 disposals a game. You either have to be finding the ball or kicking goals and frankly he isnt doing that.

Dunno if anyone has said this, but I think Mayne should be dropped. He's been woeful all year, needs to go to Peel to get his game back. Even his tackling pressure isn't what it used to be.
I actually wouldn't be against it.

The way I see it, if we put in someone who couldn't possibly play any worse than him at the moment (Sylvia, Grey, Keplar) and there isn't any improvement, then we are just as well odd as if we kept playing him. Plus, he'd likely find some form so when he does come back he'd have more impact than he would have otherwise

I actually wouldn't be against it.

The way I see it, if we put in someone who couldn't possibly play any worse than him at the moment (Sylvia, Grey, Keplar) and there isn't any improvement, then we are just as well odd as if we kept playing him. Plus, he'd likely find some form so when he does come back he'd have more impact than he would have otherwise

He may find form but I don't think Grey is the option. He has played some good and some ok WAFL but isn't at the same standard as Mayne.

We obviously have different expectations.

Nice things are ok. Things that you would expect a first round draft pick to do are...well...expected.

But there is no spark, no intensity, no ability to take on the game and make it his own.

I'll get reamed again, but he is vanilla in every sense.

Yep, still yet to impress me TBH. But if RTB is going to insist on playing him then I actually prefer him to start (rather than come on as a sub), so that he has some opportunity to work his way into games if possible. He's still a young whippet, so I'm prepared to reserve judgement at this stage, but you'd think that if he hasn't started lighting it up over the next 12 months, other young mids will probably move past him IMO.

Not that it matters, but not me. I find how much you criticize Sheridan difficult to understand. I'll have a sportsmen bet with you that Sheridan will play 150 AFL games.

I need to qualify that bet before accepting it.

150 games for Fremantle?

If so, I accept. Why? Because I don't think that his heart is truly here.

My criticism of him, no doubt, is equally inflamed by the never-ending excuse making for him on this board. If he was from the slime, for example, most of us would gleefully label him as a marshmellow that offered nothing. So bias, imo, is definitely in play here.

You yourself have only highlighted WAFL form. And yep, I've seen him do some nice things too, despite what I may project here. My point is that I want to see that replicated in the AFL on a far more consistent basis.

I'm not seeing it at all.

Mayne is improving every week, I don't think sending him to the WAFL would accelerate that improvement. Besides, who else is there to replace him in his role now that de Boer is injured? I'd like to see Grey play but i'd be very surprised if he offered more than Mayne currently is.

Yep,

In the mid-season review thread I listed Mayne as the biggest disappointment for the year. He's a mere shadow of the player he was last year. I would play him in the WAFL for at least three games, get his confidence back up and give him some fire in his belly and a point to prove when he does return to the AFL.

In top form Mayne is easily Top 15 at the club but at the moment I don't think he should be in the 22.

For those who respond by saying that he is doing what RTB asks of him I'm calling bull. Last year he was doing what was asked, this year something's not clicking.

I need to qualify that bet before accepting it.

150 games for Fremantle?

If so, I accept. Why? Because I don't think that his heart is truly here.

My criticism of him, no doubt, is equally inflamed by the never-ending excuse making for him on this board. If he was from the slime, for example, most of us would gleefully label him as a marshmellow that offered nothing. So bias, imo, is definitely in play here.

You yourself have only highlighted WAFL form. And yep, I've seen him do some nice things too, despite what I may project here. My point is that I want to see that replicated in the AFL on a far more consistent basis.

I'm not seeing it at all.

If we are honest we would gladly bag any west coast minion whether we have good cause or not.

He is clearly too slim to win much of the ball on the inside, but that's where I think he will end up playing most of his footy. Its true he may not end up being a superstar but with the salary cap you need a couple of role players for every star. Look at GWS and Gold Coast if you want to see development in players, clear improvement from players in both teams. Neither are superpowers yet but would it surprise you if their kids end up becoming the next multiple premiership dynasties? But the majority of their lists spent their first years looking miles away from AFL level.

So he doesn't get the ball enough just yet at AFL level, well he is at WAFL level. He doesn't carve teams up with his kicking. But he makes enough good kicks that if he continues to improve he could be a good AFL level player. He could even be a star yet. He's still learning where to run, and needs some maturity before he starts hitting the hardest kicks. Look at MJ, 5 years ago would you have expected him to be our most important rebounding defender, and probably the best in the competition at his position?