Opinion Round 13 Changes vs. Richmond

• Thread starter Thread starter YelloMit

Ballas in real trouble. Headclash with Jaensch when he elected to bump. Will be graded negligent, high, high impact. Stupid rule.

Must have missed this, unless you're talking about the sliding incident? Agree that he's in trouble thanks to that shithouse rule, how dare he attack the footy!

Agreed, he actually needs a game full stop. If he's travelling emergency again it will be 3 weeks without a game.
That said, this was Mayne's best game for the year but if he's sore, Sylvia must be ready for a call up, or Mora, but I would prefer he came back in front of a home crowd.

I'm starting to think the opposite, there's going to be so much emotion and noise when Mora runs out and every time he gets anywhere near a possession maybe giving him half a game away with slightly less crowd reaction would be good for him, come back next week for Subiaco madness with his first game out of the way.

Either way would love to see him in the side but also agree with everyone else Silvagni has earned first shot and hopefully one change is all we need.

Honestly, if we don't start playing Sylvia and Morabito soon they aren't going to have much of an impact at all this year.

Out: MJ, Sherro
In: Silvagni, Sylvia

Then Mora against Brisbane

Must have missed this, unless you're talking about the sliding incident? Agree that he's in trouble thanks to that shithouse rule, how dare he attack the footy!

Nah, beautiful hip and shoulder in the second half.

The Adelaide boy was in gaga land.

Posters older than 7 would remember this as fantastic footy.

I just saw it then and had confused the incident, yeah he should be fine. Ballas is such a little wrecking ball and as always left nothing out on the ground.

Out: Johnson,Ballas(if suspended) and Mayne (if rested
In: Silvagni, Sylvia(IF), Taberner (IF)

I think Silvagni provides the best chance at continuity. It would be nice to get some games into youngsters but with Clarke, Neale, Sheriden and Sutcliffe playing I think we have that side of things covered for now although I would be keen on giving tabs some more game time. If Ballas or Mayne don't play it may be time to build some fitness in Sylvia or Mora with an eye on September.

Take it from a Melbourne supporter. Sylvia simply has to play against Richmond.

I'm all for Sylvia getting a shot next week. Morabito I feel needs another week and in any event should make his return at home.

My only change - Out: Johnson
In: Sylvia

I agree completely. It was wonderful football. Committed to the contest and cleared the path brilliantly. Unfortunately in slow motion the Adelaide player and Ballas clash heads. It is what sent him into ga ga land. It will be a test for the MRP. As there was no ball involved I am expecting the worst. I hope I am wrong.

I fear you may be right because the system sucks a massive dick

if Ballas elected to bump and there was no ball and the adelaide player got knocked out. ..Ballas is most likely gone :-(

out ballas johno
in silvagni silvia/croz

Yes, I think unfortunately ballas could be looking at a couple of weeks especially with carry over points. Bad rule but almost the same as Fyfe/Taylor hunt

Ballas in real trouble. Headclash with Jaensch when he elected to bump. Will be graded negligent, high, high impact. Stupid rule.

Not sure if you are serious. Even with italics I struggle to agree with your description of the incident...

Also doubt those gradings even if it got cited (which it won't).

Actually there is no head clash, and not even a clash with Ballas shoulder. Just a solid bump to the chest. Jaensch's conc is caused by his own shoulder and the ground impact, not Ballas hitting his head or neck. Watch it again in slow mo...

SNOS for Johnno.
RTB likes to talk about how the structure is more important than the player. So I can't imagine any major changes with the backline, defender for defender swap makes sense.

Sherro made a small case for himself not to be dropped, but I think we need to give Sylvia a crack at it. If he's good we want to be able to get a solid run of games in him before we start hitting those tough games at the end of the season.

Mora to return soon... Selection committee have some hard choices to make.

Just something from the press conference that I found interesting.

Johnson has been in top form, how do you go about replacing a player of that form?
It’s very difficult. Our back six stood up, Ibbotson stepped back in, Morabito played terrific in that role and wing at WAFL level, Alex Silvagni is a key defender. We always prepare for the opposition.

Hmm... maybe Morabito might get a run next week after all. His response to the question afterwards smacked of him being his usual cagey self with regards player call ups.

Also, on the Ballantyne thing. Ballantyne didn't touch his head did he. I thought he copped a shin to the head from Suban (?) when he fell to the floor.

Actually there is no head clash, and not even a clash with Ballas shoulder. Just a solid bump to the chest. Jaensch's conc is caused by his own shoulder and the ground impact, not Ballas hitting his head or neck. Watch it again in slow mo...

That's how I saw it too. No head clash.

G'day Dockers fans,

I'm not confident about my boys Richmond beating the Dockers. If any of you saw the way Richmond played against North Melbourne tonight, well the first half was brilliant and the second half well..........Richmond crumbled like a cheesecake base. Extremely disappointing.

G'day Dockers fans,

I'm not confident about my boys Richmond beating the Dockers. If any of you saw the way Richmond played against North Melbourne tonight, well the first half was brilliant and the second half well..........Richmond crumbled like a cheesecake base. Extremely disappointing.

Is Hardwick gone?

I reckon he is, even though the finger should be pointed elsewhere.

I ask this as your club, above most, has form for this.

Is Hardwick gone?

I reckon he is, even though the finger should be pointed elsewhere.

I ask this as your club, above most, has form for this.

My answer will probably differ from other Richmond supporters (who will have their own opinions) but Hardwick is probably gone but not just him, probably a few players as well.

The thing is mate that its just strange and bizarre for a club to finish 5th in 2013 (which Richmond did) and so far this year only have three wins. I reckon something else is going on behind the scenes for Richmond to perform so badly, that as well as lack of confidence, part of the playing list not improving from season 2013 and fitness being an issue (in my opinion) as well. I think it's a combination of things which is effecting Richmond and from a Tiger supporters point of view - it's not nice at all to see them struggle they way they have. Make no mistake, something internally is wrong down at Punt Road, but what is anyone's guess.