Autopsy Round 14, 2025: Positives and Negatives vs Carlton

I think he fluffs kicks when he tries to be too cute/caress it, when he kicks through the ball it's usually perfect.
He struggled to go with Hollands in the first half big time, he went full tilt up and down the ground non stop. To me it looked more like fatigue at the time with those shite kicks and decisions.

Calm down; deep breaths! Ommmm!
Negs- Flynn is quite competitive in marking contests but can’t ruck for shit.
Mate. Watch the opposing ruckman and take his body.You run in looking at the ball and the oppo waits till the strategic moment and shoves you aside.
Dewar cannot play in a defensive role. He’s soft as butter.
Graham and Baker need to talk more they both approach the ball hard and end up competing with each other.
Brock that was two cringeworthy holding the ball.We can’t afford you, a key defender, doing soft shit like that.We’ve already got Maric and Dewar in that role.
The biggest,baddest,strongest F/B in the league and we continuously kick big bombs in.Kick a torpedo, grubber it, kick to space.I just cut and paste above comments from the last couple of weeks.
Our forwards coach…….
Do not be afraid to go towards the ball little one.We seem overawed by Carlton.We just stood back early.
Hunt should have been dragged early. He needs a WAFL holiday.
I wet slippery grinding day is made for a player like Hall not a TK type player.
OA was starting to really get involved .
Umps awarding a free to McGovern for the Edw push after not awarding Bo a free was ridiculous.
Plus —- Easy to lose that by 100 and previously we would have.
Yep, Macarthy was a standout.extremely composed.
Just makes the right decision.
HD was great.Going harder for longer.
BoA looks like a machine.A preseason or two and him and Ginbey will be unstoppable at HB.
Ryan into the guts.
Nice hit Duggo.
BBW is starting to look like the best 2nd ruck/forward going.Imposing! You build teams around players like that.
HED tried very hard.
The most positive thing was fighting it out and not letting it blow out.
Easy to say they took their foot off the pedal.Since when have that mob of coc*licks ever eased off in a perceived easy victory?
Keep the kids coming
Don’t be afraid Mini

think most of the obvious + have been mentioned already, but i quite like what I saw from Bo. Hoping he plays out the rest of the season in AFL, as he has that power through the hips and speed to get out of congestion, something you cant teach. Lets just use the season to pump games into him and get him comfortable at the level. And in offseason work towards getting his mimutes in the middle up.

To be honest I need it too, need a break/refresh from watching us stink.

ive actually enjoyed this season. I like what mini is doing, the kids are getting time in the middle and I can see the growth.
not too say it hasnt had its moments, the first 40 mins today were tough for sure. but there is a lot of promise.

i think 22 to 24 was a much mire taxing watch (minus the patch of games last year harley lit up the afl)

POS
- McCarthy was awesome to watch live dashing out of the backline. So creative, composed, and neat disposal.

- Harley Reid's highest disposal game. Was involved in just about every worthwhile passage of play we had.

- Hewitt was lively too, and Dewar showed a bit after a frustrating first half. Was funny seeing Hewitt give it to someone during warm up for kicking it over his head.

- BBW accuracy kicking go for goal was handy

- Hedwards continues to grow in stature as a KPD.

NEG
- Awful first quarter. Harley Reid just cops it off the ball non stop. Hopefully he doesn't get rubbed out for elbowing after he was rundown just forward of centre.

- BBW and Dewar both turning over a couple of simple kicks in the F50 that could've easily led to a shot on goal 35m out.

- Carlton running off our guys everywhere. Seemed to always have one or 2 free players on the other side of the ground running up and down, and our guys were confused on who, and if they, should be manning them. It left us short around the contest constantly.

- Clay Hall getting a spray from his team mates for not manning up on his player who took an easy mark in front of goal. He was pissed at this, as he was stuck on someone else's player at the time trying to stop him from leading.

- Another typical Hutch game. Wraps blokes up occasionally, gets wrapped up himself alot, almost took a good mark in front of goal. Not much else really.

- Umpiring was awful as usual.

Injury to Allen is genuinely gutting. HEdwards sore too by the looks.
  • Part b: Most on here would agree that it’s best that he leaves if the price is getting Pick 2, but some of you should hang your head. Captain might have done his ACL, and there’s 20 posts all going “there goes Pick 2 lol”. Have a look at yourself. Lots of the same people who go on about how the AFL is too woke to do a men’s mental health round and it’s all a big anti bloke conspiracy, then your captain may have ripped his knee again and it’s straight to the “this is bad for our draft hand”. Gross.

Probably don't read the club's FB post about him going off injured.

FB Nuffies don't understand Free Agency compensation so just it's 90% blokes called Gary or Wayne making the same 'joke' over and over that he's going off to have a coffee with Sam Mitchell. Har Har Har.

Yeah me too buddy.

I took half an hour off in the middle of the game.

Last week i snapped at my 8 year old daughter for asking if I was okay after the Roos game.

Sh#ts not good for your health man.

It's the only way she'll learn mate - you can't go around asking silly questions after a game like that.

POS
McCarthy obvs great
HReid played a good game, prob his best for the year. Finally working back to the fitness required to impact 4 qtrs
dewar I think is showing a lot, his run/carry & ball use (most of time) is solid
Good see Edwards back it up
Bo Allan looked great I thought. Like Ginbey he is good running at the footy when it's coming in as a defender. Keen to see how he goes further upfield.
Glad Allen's injury not worse
Maric was decent off a wing. I think it suits him more than defence, he seems lost a bit as a defender.
Nice to not get reamed after that first quarter

NEG
Hutch needs a spell in the WAFL
Still feel like our list build is a LONG way off. We lack high end talent coming through. Lots of players who might be decent, not many he project as A-graders.
How long until we start winning games again? Feels like it will be many more years before we win more than we lose again.

Simmos was ****ing painful to listen to today. ****ing know it all. You were the reason were this ****ed ya flog.

On a better note. Tmac had a blinder.

Can't stand him nor his comments.

Be assured with the realisation that whenever he comments about the failures or flaws in our game or our list he is judging his coaching.

I think he realises this tbh.

MCCARTHY was terrific used it so well

Hewitt I love his impact thought he was great but got home watched the replay and he was against
Carlton's Hewitt who had a enormous game as well

So think there great learnings there for Elijah his burst is great but running smarter and longer needs work
At some throws up around ground looked cooked before ball was thrown up I think that was why his disposal efficiency
was so poor at 53%
So maybe he needs to be used like a Dane Swan ten minutes on then of to the bench

Hall looked really good when he came on please give him 3 weeks in the middle

Brockman clearance work is better than Liam's but wasnt given as much around the ball time today

Liam was limping from a contest if the first quarter and coming into the side under a cloud thank god he has the break
to get better

Bo Allan is better mid than defender, but like we are making play down back first

Would really like Ginbey to be given another few games as a inside mid he more confident now
and has a much better tank than Hough Harley and Hewitt, just think he would help our contested numbers go up

With Bo Allan playing defence think we could release him again that would let Hough go back to defence as well

Our half foward Kelly and Cripps

Kelly didnt do a lot but put on real good pressure his opponents didnt run of him as much as the others did
Cripps was okay but got run of badly this game especially in the first half was rusty i guess but dont think he should get offered another contract now
Brockman was good as a forward but did get run of a lot as well but at point kick in was good defensively

POS
- McCarthy was awesome to watch live dashing out of the backline. So creative, composed, and neat disposal.

- Harley Reid's highest disposal game. Was involved in just about every worthwhile passage of play we had.

- Hewitt

ee.gif

Hutch has played 18 games and was drafted exactly a year ago
I personally am happy to see the bloke get given a go, just an observation.

He’s also two years older than Chesser was last season.

Last year practically every thread was filled with Chesser hate whereas these two have for the most part flown under the radar.

Perhaps, but saying "oh no there goes pick 2", sarcastic/facetious or not is hard-core keyboard warrior bullshit. There's a human there, our player, our captain and it's just poor no matter how you look at it.
I’m not defending classless stupidity, but when fans get told “football is a business”, why should they show loyalty to players?

They can’t have it both ways.

Weird to say but I felt quite positive after watching that game. The young crop are all just coming along quite nicely overall. Hewitt, Williams’ scoring goals, Reid got a lot of the ball, Dewar is showing what his best is going to look like, McCarthy and Bo have some good pace and sidesteps off the half back, Ginbey just does whatever he’s asked to do at 100%, Hall looks good on his very limited chances, Harry is looking better every week and looks competitive/aggressive again, Brock wasn’t great but he’s had good games and it’s still early. Hutch is playing a tough position but with that work rate it’ll come together, I remember Dempsey running goal line to goal line at the end of the Geelong game and hutch was next to him every step. Hough was missed and he’s just a gem. I hope Maric can find a spot, maybe back in the forward line? A wing? Probably time to give Bazzo a run again soon. Archer, Gross and Shanahan are waiting in the wings and Greggo will add mongrel one day. Chesser still has a lot of good attributes he can hopefully add to the side. It would be terrible to be relying on older players right now but the young crop are the ones driving it a lot of the time.
Terrible about Oscar, whether he stays or goes he throws everything he’s got at it for the team.
Can’t believe anyone can have a go at Bailey. Through these bad years he’s had to battle in the ruck week in week out with little help until this season and did it weekly. He’s as tough as nails.

Autopsy Round 14, 2025: Positives and Negatives vs Carlton