Autopsy Round 14, 2025: Positives and Negatives vs Carlton

Our senior players should be ****ing embarrassed that a guy from the ammos and then a state league, came in and got more possessions, showed more intent and hit more targets in the wet than most of them combined. Shows how bad our senior players are. ****ing disgrace really.

It's more so his kicking, that's the real embarassment for mine. Also how fit he looked and easily he covered the ground.

10 of his touches were kick ins anyway, but take those out and he's still elite going by foot. His ability to spot up kicks and retain posession was not something i'd expect a VFL player to come in and be able to do so easily.

The rest of our squad needs kicking lessons from that bloke. Made our AFL listed flogs look like Beagles top ups.

The extension of Tim Kelly makes no sense. What is he really offering? Scinetellating games, leadership, standards? Or do we have to fill our quota of the cap and he will do?

And it's not just Kelly in isolation. It's by and large the whole senior group. Could excuse Ryan to a degree, has had a fair few games this year.

Duggan, cole, hunt... Oscar had one great game 2 weeks ago and putrid in every other game. Cripps, may as well not extend and start with new blood and get on with it.
Its an old school boy network is the Eagles fam.

Tim Kelly would not be getting a game at any of the other 17 AFL clubs.

But you thought Harry Edwards did with his 2 disposal, 1 mark, 2 frees against and a whole -9m gained game?
While Ginbey lined up on their most dangerous forward.
Mmmmm
Yep according to me Edwards barely gets a pass this week.. and Ginbey gets a negative...

You don't agree obviously and that's fine

Can't comment on the game as I bailed at quarter time. Shame I didn't see McArthurs performance but nor did I stay on and disgrace myself myself with putrid comments ive made in years past.

Anywho. Trajectory isn't linear. There will be a year when it all clicks and we'll shoot up very quickly and we're all left wondering: where did that come from?

Trying my best not to throw anyone hard under the bus.

The extension of Tim Kelly makes no sense. What is he really offering? Scinetellating games, leadership, standards? Or do we have to fill our quota of the cap and he will do?

And it's not just Kelly in isolation. It's by and large the whole senior group. Could excuse Ryan to a degree, has had a fair few games this year.

Duggan, cole, hunt... Oscar had one great game 2 weeks ago and putrid in every other game. Cripps, may as well not extend and start with new blood and get on with it.

Keep recruiting the youf and get on with it.

And dear lord does simmo $hit me commentating on our games. "You created the lack of standards and now you get to comment on them?". Yeah nah.
100%

Done an awesome job while we were at the top, **** me can we just move on from him though. Its a new era. Do anything but commentate Eagles games

This is why the AFL need 'player performance based incentives' like the NFL do.

Eg kick 35+ goals a season, get 150+ tackles in a season, get 400+ disposals for min 20 games,

The product would be a better one if players had financial incentives added into their contract.

Tim Kelly is clearly and I repeat clearly is milking his career for its worth. He should not be getting more than $450k per year based on last 2 years performances.

Eg kick 35+ goals a season, get 150+ tackles in a season, get 400+ disposals for min 20 games,

The product would be a better one if players had financial incentives added into their contract.

Tim Kelly is clearly and I repeat clearly is milking his career for its worth. He should not be getting more than $450k per year based on last 2 years performances.
Is that the minimum payment or is it the average across all the players ? Kelly deserves the bare minimum

They 100% have performance incentives in their contracts, maybe not to the minutae you have listed though.

Is that the minimum payment or is it the average across all the players ? Kelly deserves the bare minimum
Well given West Coast paid overs in the draft to recruit Tim Kelly Over, hearing numbers - the Eagles paid $800,000 p.a to lure him from Geelong for 6 seasons. And given the West Coast hierarchy recruitment in the past, there is no reason why they may have obliged and given an offer of an obscene nature.

And Tim Kelly does strike me as the sort of fella that may find it possibly more difficult to transition from out of footy as well. Like Im not sure if coaching or media will be his alleyway.

Would love to know what his salary is at the moment but $450k even feels too much given his output. A couple of weeks people in here were saying he would be a good asset for the kids to have around the club. At what point does the 'nice man attitude' eventually wane off? It can only get you so far.

Our senior players should be ****ing embarrassed that a guy from the ammos and then a state league, came in and got more possessions, showed more intent and hit more targets in the wet than most of them combined. Shows how bad our senior players are. ****ing disgrace really.

Well said.

It's incredible this bloke stacking shelves came in and outworked alleged AFL players with a dozen or so preseasons in elite conditions.

Pathetic.

(Kudos to McCarthy however, should be receiving all the senior blokes match payments.)

TK and the handling of him this season has been a farce. After a very disappointing season he regressed to being useless this season. Finally gets dropped and get brought back in after doing sweet**** all in the two’s. The. After a couple semi decent games returns to being useless and they not only reward him with a fresh contract they give him 2 years.

Part of me would probably take that contract extension better if he was injured/cooked but still showing heart but he very much plays like a man thats checked out.

On TK it’s funny how he’s copping a bit of negativity media publicity recently but for the player of ilk he really should be getting hounded like Harley Reid was at the start of the year.

What would be the maximum people on here would be willing to pay Tim Kelly in a year?

Im starting to think even 250k is a bit too much.

But it feels anything under 450k would be disrespectful for the 2023 Club Champ.

I'm thinking it's time to lay off Tim Kelly.

He's not playing great, and as someone who couldn't coach an Auskick team successfully, it looks like he should be in the seconds. I doubt any contract renewal would be on huge money either.

But let's give the guy a break from the incessant bashing. I know the Internet has to be targetting someone at all times, but it's getting a bit much now.

He came across to fill a gap in what was supposed to be a strong team pushing for another flag. And he's copped .... well whatever the **** the Eagles of 22-25 have been. Would be pretty hard to keep the fire burning when it's pretty much been raining for years - and you're copping the brunt of the complaints about it, even when you're playing OK.

(No, I don't think he should be in the side at the moment, but **** me, it's time to stop with the pile on)

I'm thinking it's time to lay off Tim Kelly.

He's not playing great, and as someone who couldn't coach an Auskick team successfully, it looks like he should be in the seconds. I doubt any contract renewal would be on huge money either.

But let's give the guy a break from the incessant bashing. I know the Internet has to be targetting someone at all times, but it's getting a bit much now.

He came across to fill a gap in what was supposed to be a strong team pushing for another flag. And he's copped .... well whatever the **** the Eagles of 22-25 have been. Would be pretty hard to keep the fire burning when it's pretty much been raining for years - and you're copping the brunt of the complaints about it, even when you're playing OK.

(No, I don't think he should be in the side at the moment, but **** me, it's time to stop with the pile on)
If your getting paid that much money, you deserve to cop the criticism.

Dont like it? Him and his family should stay away from social media.

If your getting paid that much money, you deserve to cop the criticism.

Dont like it? Him and his family should stay away from social media.

It costs us nothing to not be shitheads though.

It really costs us nothing. But still we feel the need to hurl abuse at someone because they're not playing footy well enough to keep us happy. Hell, that's such a minor thing in the scheme of things.

Maybe it's time we all stopped being shitheads? I reckon we'd all be way better people for it (we could probably apply that to the way we talk to each other from behind our keyboards too)

I really hope that a lot of the abuse I see on social media never gets seen by the targets, but we know it does, and we know, we KNOW that it can cause lifetime scars. All so someone can feel powerful behind a keyboard for five minutes. We shouldn't have to say "he should stay off social media" - we should teach people that being abusive on social media is wrong.

We can say "Kelly's form is awful, probably time to give someone else a go". But no, people scream "Kelly can **** right off".

It makes us lesser people.

As the saying goes, play the ball, not the man.

It costs us nothing to not be shitheads though.

It really costs us nothing. But still we feel the need to hurl abuse at someone because they're not playing footy well enough to keep us happy. Hell, that's such a minor thing in the scheme of things.

Maybe it's time we all stopped being shitheads? I reckon we'd all be way better people for it (we could probably apply that to the way we talk to each other from behind our keyboards too)

I really hope that a lot of the abuse I see on social media never gets seen by the targets, but we know it does, and we know, we KNOW that it can cause lifetime scars. All so someone can feel powerful behind a keyboard for five minutes. We shouldn't have to say "he should stay off social media" - we should teach people that being abusive on social media is wrong.

We can say "Kelly's form is awful, probably time to give someone else a go". But no, people scream "Kelly can **** right off".

It makes us lesser people.

As the saying goes, play the ball, not the man.
I dont mean no harm to Tim Kelly. Im sure he is a lovely family man. Mental health is a real issue especially around the playing age of 18 to 40 years of age.

If Tim Kelly actually reads these threads, his family, his close family, close friends- I want to apologise. The footy world is a small world. There are people close to him that read these threads and will be feeling sick- Id imagine they impact them mostly.

I just sometimes think as footballers, you should know when your time is up. I actually starting to think it might not be Tim Kellys fault for getting the extension. Just feel like there are some people up in the higher levels of the Eagles hierarchy that don't have an idea how to run a footy club. For too long , West Coast have gave extensions for players that didn't deserve it or warrant it. And these are the things that hold a football club whether we like it or not. These are the kinds of decisions that hold a football club back for months or years but potentially decades. This club feels like an old boys club, where once your inside the circle of good mates- you can good terms to your favour. Clearly, there has been bad decisions pretty much after the 2018 flag, and to be damn straight as a person that watches alot of the Eagles games- these decisions will continue to hurt the club. There comes a time where sentiment has to be put aside and ruthlessness has to be shown for this club to progress.

I have followed other sports or maybe its just me where criticism gets poured on if there is a team there is currently 1 win and 13 losses. In alot of other sporting industries- you wouldn't survive. Heads rolling would be a minimum. West Coast are lucky in the fact that they have a strong supporter base off field, dont know if there are many other clubs in the comp that can still draw up 44k at this time of season, given their current form.

Its gotten to the stage where I feel genuine sympathy rather than anger as to why TK is underperforming. As a footy professional , just think you genuinely know when your time is up, and you'd rather to leave on your own terms, rather than be pushed.

I think I noticed a couple of things from the weekend that made me think Buckleys “fat cat” call was absolutely spot on.

Ryan winning the centre clearance and not handing off to the running McCarthy who had read the play really well to stream forward at a pace we aren’t so accustomed to.

Cripps not handing off to Harley who was running into the open goal, which would have definetly given the team and crowd a bit of energy as only Harley brings.

Perhaps harsh (in particular to Cripps) as both of those lead to goals, and definitely weren’t the main focus of what Bucks was trying to point out. But for mine it highlighted that it seems time and time again that our senior players are picking and choosing when to turn up and it’s our younger players that are having to work harder than they have the capability to do at present.

I’m sure beyond anything that Kelly, in a competing side, would be the jet that he was at Geelong not being the main man. It can’t be fun in his football world at present - Clearly we needed to fill our cap somehow and he has benefited from it, which isn’t his fault. I genuinely hope he finds his love of footy again soon because I think he can still play a role at the club.

Autopsy Round 14, 2025: Positives and Negatives vs Carlton