Opinion Round 4 Changes vs. Melbourne

• Thread starter Thread starter YelloMit

Hughes had a mare but surely he gets a few more game?

Would bring in Tucker for Ibbo. MJ saved himself in the second half because I had him gone after his effort in the first.

Taberner as well. Him and Kersten going to be fighting for that second tall spot all year I think.

Worst part is, I just can't see my buddy Ballas getting back in now, unless we go to hell again in the next couple of months.

Our time will come, believe it!

Don't disagree with leaving the team unchanged for next week, but I (and many others) have put Sheridan and Crozier in the same bracket as Sutty - tigers at WAFL, pussies at AFL.

Sheridan and Crozier both proved me wrong last night, I'm hoping Sutty will as well at some point.

A few games at WAFL may be just what he needs.

He still has a future, just not as a defender.

Hughes had a mare but surely he gets a few more game?
I've just finished watching it again.
Hughes wasn't terrible, that kick to Walters in the goal square when McCarthy was out on his own sort of tainted his performance, and that's the kind of thing people remember. Cam certainly let him know about it straight away, so it's not as if he hasn't been chastised already.
Other than that, he really wasn't that bad - particularly later in the game.
I think he was just the least exciting of the young blokes and that's coloured our perception a bit. I wouldn't be dropping him, we've seen bad decision making from our more usual selections just as often, so I don't see an upside to putting him back into the WAFL just yet.

I think that using the WAFL as a punishment for a bad decision just isn't all that productive and I'd prefer it to be seen as a development thing for a string of bad performances or lack of effort. And we can't accuse Hughes of either at this point.

It's the Tucker for Ibbo/Johnson sort of decision that's bugging me. I'd really like to see Tucker back where he belongs but we have a very inexperienced back line at the moment and when all is said and done, there's always a need for experienced heads down there. Dropping either one of Ibbo or Johnson would leave us looking a little thin. Leaving Spurr out for Tucker might make us too tall and slow.
Last week I would have said hell yeah, get rid of one or the other because they're not showing anything a younger bloke couldn't, but now... dunno.
I'd say that was probably the selection committee's thinking going into this week in dropping Tucker in the first place. If this is going to be a learning season, then there has to be someone down there to learn from.

Taberner is another one, put in a really solid performance in the WAFL but... Kersten just seems to have his head in the right place at the moment, and really didn't do much wrong. McCarthy could have held a few more marks, but he was one out or on his own plenty of times, and that can't be ignored. And that Kersten Flyer - MCarthy had a huge hand in that; watch what he did to set it up. Those sorts of actions have a huge amount of value.
Cam should have had a bag yesterday instead of only two, he's feeling the pressure at the moment but he'll settle. That one is going to prove to be an inspired recruitment, I'm confident of that. So Tabs might just have to wait.
Looks like they've been using Tabs in the Ruck at Peel though, so if he adds that string to his bow then it might be a different story.

I'm leaning towards no changes at all - if any, Tucker for Ibbo.

Just my opinion , don't take it too seriously, can always swap at last minute with emergency based on what Ross think . Who would you take then? Collins ? Tucker? Or Griffin

Tab , Collins tucker all can go and visit their family but only one will make the trip.
It has nothing to do with who I would take. It is about your stupid idea to take Taberner so that we can see how Strnadica/Peel go without him.

That makes me squirm like crazy.
I've had my big toenail removed before. Took roughly 2 weeks before I could wear any type of shoe without it hurting like crazy, and that was just to walk. Running in footy shoes will be very painful if he plays next week.

As Sutty's old buddy, I must remind people how attacking he actually was up to early in 2015. Not sure where and when things started going wrong for him, but he's just been so down on confidence the last 18 months. I think a few weeks at the WAFL may be just what he needs to get his touch and his confidence back. Hopefully it gives him impetus to hold hard at it and force his way back in the way Croz and Sherro have.

Would like Tucker in, but for whom?
I think Sutty, like most players who have been there for a while, try so hard to play the way Ross wants them to. Role playing as asked every week by the coach....that they have forgotten to play the game they can play. I reckon he and others have..as a defenders...been bombarded as the midfield played terribly in the first two weeks...especially against port. Sutty was on the bench, port had 4 goals before he even got on the ground. The mids won very little against port which puts the defenders under pressure and unfortunately, it makes the defenders look not so good. In this game the mids won the ball, which gives them first use, and takes the pressure off of the back line, and feeds the forward line.
Don't get me wrong, I too think a couple of weeks back at Peel won't hurt, but it wouldn't have mattered who was playing defence, if the mid field win the ball. Sutty will be back....he has fight in him.

Wow how things can change in a week. What a round of upsets. We are suddenly back in the pack. With a bit of confidence and a massive opportunity with Melbourne losing some really key players for next week's match.

And swans and Hawks look rooted to the bottom of the ladder

On HUAWEI NXT-L09 using BigFooty.com mobile app

My 2 cents on Hughesy is that he has a lot of similarities to Roberton both in term of tools and style of play. Roberton will never set the world on fire as a player but he has developed into a dependable distributor. I see Hughes playing the same role but it will take him a couple of years to gain consistency just as it has taken Roberton a few years to achieve a consistent level of performance.

I dont get to see these guys play at Peel, but I understand that Tucker is possible the best kick in the team? If so Id like to get him back in again. Our kicking skills were sublime last night, what a difference it makes.

Again... no changes unless someone is sore or injured.

But if there is going to be one change.... Tucker in for Balic. That would be one possible change unless we keep the 22.

I was tempted to say tabs in but Kersten kicked 2 goals and could of got 3. Didn't mind that high leap of a mark in the 3rd as well. I would think of bringing in Collins too but Hamling, Johnson and Logue did ok.

Max Gawn is out. Should freo go in again with Sandi as the Sole ruckman?

But if there is going to be one change.... Tucker in for Balic. That would be one possible change unless we keep the 22.

I was tempted to say tabs in but Kersten kicked 2 goals and could of got 3. Didn't mind that high leap of a mark in the 3rd as well. I would think of bringing in Collins too but Hamling, Johnson and Logue did ok.

Yes

yes, but there is no way ballic will be out after 1 game

I guess my fear he is that Ross and co. look at the winning team and go - 'wow what a gutsy performance, but we did catch them unawares and our inexperience will be found out sooner and later... hmm maybe if we at least brought back a Suban/D. Pearce type for stability it wouldn't go too far astray...'

Is that line of thought really out of the question? Maybe there's even merit to it but I don't want to see it. This is a rebuild and if we can go further than we hoped with the current line-up then awesome - but it's not necessary to bring them back at this stage. I fear that Lyon will see Suban and Sutcliffe's 20+ disposals each on the weekend and deem that as an automatic inclusion. I fear Balic and Hughes quiet games will not be given the benefit of the doubt and given the chance to play a couple more. Only if we start getting dominated again and those guys are killing it at WAFL level then perhaps they may earn a chance to redeem themselves at elite level, but not before Taberner, Tucker and Collins get a shot before them first.

Why am I arguing with someone as if this is already going to happen?

I guess my fear he is that Ross and co. look at the winning team and go - 'wow what a gutsy performance, but we did catch them unawares and our inexperience will be found out sooner and later... hmm maybe if we at least brought back a Suban/D. Pearce type for stability it wouldn't go too far astray...'

Is that line of thought really out of the question? Maybe there's even merit to it but I don't want to see it. This is a rebuild and if we can go further than we hoped with the current line-up then awesome - but it's not necessary to bring them back at this stage. I fear that Lyon will see Suban and Sutcliffe's 20+ disposals each on the weekend and deem that as an automatic inclusion. I fear Balic and Hughes quiet games will not be given the benefit of the doubt and given the chance to play a couple more. Only if we start getting dominated again and those guys are killing it at WAFL level then perhaps they may earn a chance to redeem themselves at elite level, but not before Taberner, Tucker and Collins get a shot before them first.

Why am I arguing with someone as if this is already going to happen?
Haha I get the anxiety around it but I can't see us deviating from the rebuild now. Mundy confirmed that there was a very robust meeting midweek between the leadership group and the coaches. He said it was about being clear in the vision for the club's future and direction. I reckon we are all aboard :)

Hughes will be fine, he strikes me as having nerves when he's gotten the chance so an extended run could see him make big strides, like his size and he does read the play well.