Rudest/Nicest player you've met?

Had a couple of beers and a bit of small talk with Brent Guerra while camping in Swan Hill over the summer holidays. Exchanged a few pleasantries and talked some footy stuff while kids were fishing together. Seemed like a genuinely nice guy.
Saw Goo at Hawks training a few weeks ago with kids. Had a bit of a chat while watching his ex-teammates in Bruest/Gunners as players and Mitch/Hale as coaches. Was a short chat as he was about to leave. Good bloke 👍. Funny when Bruest was running laps past us said to Goo “wish you were out here with us” 😂.

The week before that had a really good chat with Willow who was watching son who came down to train with the club. Ripping bloke. Talked a bit about the 08 GF …… Hawks had no one on the bench at half time with Croad gone at start of game and Young/Ellis injured. Pretty amazing second half given the circumstances. Although Cats were big favourites on the day he mentioned that the players were confident of winning it when talking/catching up on the Friday night. Knowing him with his goal celebrations and the shotgun …… thought I would ask him what he thought of the Hawks celebrations last year. He quickly turned and looked at me in the eyes and said, “l fn love it” 😂😂 feeling was mutual and we had a good laugh 😊. In the match sim his son looked very composed and clean for a kid running around among senior players

met joe daniher at a lunch place in carlton back in 2017 - before the move to brisbane, and he was still an oddball, but he had the patience to chat with me which was nice. i've also met dane swan & mason cox (different occasions) and both were lovely.

campbell brown is the only one who comes to mind who's a real prick, saw him harassing a waiter at a restaurant because they didn't solely focus on him (post afl-career)
I don't think that would come as a surprise to anyone.....

I've met a few over the years but I'd probably say my worst interactions were:
  • I know you're not supposed to speak ill of the dead but Colin Silvia was not a good bloke from my few interactions with him and had a massive go at a poor uni kid behind the jump at a pub in Port Melbourne on one occasion because his stir fry wasn't to his liking (who orders a stir fry at a pub even if you're trying to look after your body). Suspect strongly he was on some no good gear that day as he was very erratic.
  • Courtney Johns I spent the day with at Moonee Valley one year through a friend of a friend. Absolute bellend and one of the most arrogant people I've ever met on the basis of not very much.
  • Anthony Rock was a pig of a person and one of the rudest people I've met.

More positive interactions:
  • Kayne the P-Train Pettifer
  • Richo
  • Jack Stephen (who participated in the trolling of a St Kilda supporting mate on Boxing Day so extreme props to him)
  • Tom and Disco Roach
  • Brando Ellis
  • Tom Libba
  • Sav Rocca
  • Dippa at the races one year (regaled us with the Dimmies and Forges ad all the way down the escalator!). I think there's been a few people thus far who've commented on what an absolute legitimate down to earth legend he is.

Not footy but had a long chat with Skull outside the cricket one year. That bloke is an absolute national treasure.
It's not surprising you're a Richmond supporter.

Polarising guy at times but Danger is a genuinely good guy off the field. Number of examples I could give from events etc I was at that he was at but they are just mundane so I’ll just put a vote in for him a ripping bloke.

Leigh Colbert and Luke Breust are easily the best of (many) footballers I've met.

Colbert was at 'old' Arden St and saw me and my 2 kids waiting for autographs on their North Melb jumpers.

They were only 9 & 10 and really nervous about going up to these massive guys and asking for a sig.

Leigh comes over, asks their names (lets say Tom and Harry) and asks me if it's ok to take them into the dressing room area.

I follow and LC stands there holding their hands and says 'hey guys - this is Tom and Harry, keen young North supporters, but a bit shy, come and say hello'

He then walked them around, got all the guys there to sign - even made sure they wrote their numbers next the sigs - and made my boys feel really special.

They are grown adults now, but each still has that shirt.

Leigh Colbert is just an outstanding human. He didn't have to do that - he did it because he wanted too.

Luke Breust is the same, met him a couple of times and every time he genuinely seems to value the conversation. Top top bloke.

David King gets a bit of stick - I've met Kingy 3 times now and every time we ended up chatting for ages about Footy / players / life. Always seemed a good guy.

The worst by a country mile - Brad Hill

He was so obnoxiously drunk at Jackpot Bar in Crown Casino. Barging into people, knocking drinks out of punters hands, and just wanting to fight the world.

A fair few Hawks players were there - club minders 'escorted' Hill out of Crown, and told the rest to leave as by that point Hill was pretty much certain to be filled in.

But yeah - Leigh Colbert and Luke Breust - deadset legends.

Why do Malthouse hit you? The bastard.
It was when he was coaching Footscray in the 80's, at a Collingwood v Footscray game at Vic Park.

I was sitting on stairs unbeknownst to me that lead to the coaches box. The quarter time siren went and Mick came storming down the stairs and whacked me over the back of the head, and told me to 'get out of the ****ing way you little campaigner'.

Outside of his boys club mates on Triple M JB wouldn't have many other mates I reckon. Just an obnoxious insufferable flog who loves the sound of his own voice. Reckon alot of his radio stuff is an act because he's the polar opposite out in public.
Only time I've ever seen JB out and about he was smiling and taking selfies with punters

Both Jack and Nick riewoldt are terrific blokes. Did a bit of work with their foundation, both really genuine and nice guys and easy to work with.

Toby Green was really good to work with too. Sometimes gets a bad rap, off field he’s super professional, I really enjoyed spending a bit of time with him.

SOS is also a really fun guy.. likes a drink..

Assholes. JUH one of the biggest A grade toss bags I’ve ever unfortunately had to be in the same air space with. Incredibly rude and up himself.

It was when he was coaching Footscray in the 80's, at a Collingwood v Footscray game at Vic Park.

I was sitting on stairs unbeknownst to me that lead to the coaches box. The quarter time siren went and Mick came storming down the stairs and whacked me over the back of the head, and told me to 'get out of the ****ing way you little campaigner'.

Different times hey? Imagine if that happened now, the media would have a field day and you probably would have gotten 10 years of free membership, public apology, meet the players etc .

Excluding football-adjacent events, these blokes in 'the wild' left the following impressions:

Neil Kerley, Ken Hunter, Jimmy Buckley and Simon Black had time for everyone.

Richo and Ben Harrison were terrific despite the fact some of the boys were annoying the crap out of them in the mid-90s.

Kept it together well despite being under the influence: Arnold Briedis, Andrew Lovett, Sharrod Wellingham, Stevie Motlop, Daisy Thomas, Leigh Montagna, Sam Fisher.

Bob Murphy was the worst. Marc Murphy was also a jackass.

80/20 rule applies. Mostly nice.

campaigner.

Rudest/Nicest player you've met?