• Thread starter Thread starter Benny78

Who was the better player

• Sam Mitchell

• Jason Akermanis

Results are only viewable after voting.

Sam Mitchell is a Hawthorn legend and will most like be inducted in the AFL Hall of Fame the moment he is eligible. But lets keep ourselves grounded, hey? Everyone on that list has Mitchell covered by a fair way. Akermanis included.

LOL.....Grounded.

Sammy was THE principal player responsible for leading us to 4 Premierships.....He also stands second to Lethal Leigh on the best & fairest tally at Hawthorn, in an era encompassing a swag of champion players around him.

His finals record surpasses even that of the great Leigh Matthews & Peter Knights & he was always the first player tagged by the opposition.

Honestly, book yerself in to spec-savers lad.....and get a second pair for watching the footy for free.

LOL.....Grounded.

Sammy was THE principal player responsible for leading us to 4 Premierships.....He also stands second to Lethal Leigh on the best & fairest tally at Hawthorn, in an era encompassing a swag of champion players around him.

His finals record surpasses even that of the great Leigh Matthews & Peter Knights & he was always the first player tagged by the opposition.

Honestly, book yerself in to spec-savers lad.....and get a second pair for watching the footy for free.

Not saying he wasnt a great player. He was. But your pitting him against some truly phenomenal players and Mitchell, great as he was, was not capable of the phenomenal.

I could make a case for any of the fellas I listed as being picked before Mitchell. Pick one.

Not saying he wasnt a great player. He was. But your pitting him against some truly phenomenal players and Mitchell, great as he was, was not capable of the phenomenal.

I could make a case for any of the fellas I listed as being picked before Mitchell. Pick one.

Comparing Josh Kennedy favourably (The Swans version) is a piss-take for starters.

Gawn & Goldstein is even funnier.

None of these blokes even comes within cooee of Sammy's career & achievements.

We are speaking of the premier centreman of the 21st Century thus far here....It is as much a player's body of work over a long period of time that marks them as champions.....And those 3 blokes don't rate on that scale.

Lol. Sam Mitchell isnt even getting a seat at table to look the top 20 of the 21st Century.

Judd - Mitchell's much better disposal almost puts him in front of Judd for mine. Longer period of excellence for Sam too.
GAJ - adequate on his non preferred, not outstanding like Mitchell is but Ablett kills him as a mid scoring threat.
Voss - Mitchell probably all over more skilled but Voss has him for power and leadership. Tough to split them.
N Riewoldt - as honest as the day is long, big heart and very durable, I never thought he was anything really special. Work rate set him apart from players that may have been more talented.
Jono Brown - his best was a good as anyone's. Injured too much.
M Lloyd - cops a lot of shit but kicked 926 goals which puts him at number 7 on the all time list. Barring injury, Franklin will go past him this season.
Scarlett - is well and truly in the discussion as being the best in his position in the history of the competition.
B Lake - at his peak, I reckon was just as good as Scarlett, just didn't have the same time at the peak of his powers.
Josh Kennedy - nope.

Franklin - can't kick on his right, struggles with overhead and contested marking but may end up in the top 5 of all time goalkickers.
Goodes -
Never a massive rap for him. A huge talent but inconsistent for mine, could really go missing. Brownlows can be deceiving, they can just mean you play 10 blinders and 12 ordinary in any one season.
Tredders - absolute powerhouse, for me the best since Carey at chf.
Cripps (oh I went there) - yes, you did go there and no.
Gawn - nope, needs a lot more high level seasons under his belt.
Cox - essentially another midfielder, albeit a tall one so in that regard, Mitchell much better as a midfield and I don't think the ruckwork of Cox was anything particularly special.
Goldstein -
really went missing after a couple of big seasons.
D Martin - give us another 5 and he'll be in the conversation.
Dangerfield -
an absolute bull who burns it far too much.
Milne - great forward pocket, no.
Betts -
record isn't as good as Milne's so no too.
Hodge== - different style of players, Mitchell probably more skilled all round but I think Hodge more intuitive and a better leader. If you put a gun to my head I'd probably pick Mitchell for his sheer consistency.
C Rioli - exciting, x-factor but no.
Fevola - very good ff who sabotaged his own career, no, averaged less goals per game than both Lloyd and Franklin.
Burgoyne - has longevity and big moments in big games but can really go missing. No.
Richo - Love Richo, but if I'm not having Riewoldt, Brown etc in front of Mitchell then Richo isn't either.
Mcpharlin - Very good underrated defender but no.

Pavlich - very skilled, big, durable and versatile. His size and versatility is probably the only thing that has him in front of Mitchell for me
Cousins - he was faster than Sam but I don't think you could say he did one other thing better.
Roughead - nope, not even close to being in the conversation.
Dane Swan - a ripper, a hard running, goal kicking midfielder. Not stylish to watch, but very effective, peak not long enough to challenge Mitchell.
Fyfe - Needs some more big seasons under his belt, he might be right back to his best this year but at this point, injuries keep him out of the serious discussion.

Thats off the top of my head. Zero research went into that list. I deliberately left out Akermanis as I voted for him anyways.

The bolded are the ones I think I'd definitely have Mitchell in front of. A bit harder to judge him against some of the key position players I haven't bolded.

He's probably got Fyfe covered just due to the number of years of excellence. So for me, that puts him around the top 10 mark.

Great poll, really tough to choose.

Two of the greatest ever in terms of skill with ball in hand. Akermanis had more speed and a longer kick with supreme self belief. Mitchell was more consistent.

Ill go Akermanis, he was a freak. I doubt we will see another player who resembles him.

Dane Swan - a ripper, a hard running, goal kicking midfielder. Not stylish to watch, but very effective, peak not long enough to challenge Mitchell.

2009-2013 (ages 25-29) - Averaged 31.86 disposals and 1.01 goals per game, along with 1.15 Brownlow votes per home & away game. Includes a Brownlow, an AFLPA MVP, 3 club B&Fs, 5 AA jumpers, and a Premiership as well. Hard to have a better, more perfect peak than that.

Absolutely agree but HHH was still correct. Mitchell was the leading clearance player in the competition as early as 2003 and was still winning best and fairests in 2016 (AA and 3rd in Brownlow in 2015). As dominant as Swan was at his peak, it was a shorter peak in comparison to Mitchell.

Lol. Sam Mitchell isnt even getting a seat at table to look the top 20 of the 21st Century.

Judd
GAJ
Voss
N Riewoldt
Jono Brown
M Lloyd
Scarlett
B Lake
Josh Kennedy
Franklin
Goodes
Tredders
Cripps (oh I went there)
Gawn
Cox
Goldstein
D Martin
Dangerfield
Milne
Betts
Hodge
C Rioli
Fevola
Burgoyne
Richo
Mcpharlin
Pavlich
Cousins
Roughead
Dane Swan
Fyfe

Thats off the top of my head. Zero research went into that list. I deliberately left out Akermanis as I voted for him anyways.

LOL. What a ridiculous troll attempt.

Cripps (1 elite season), Milne, Goldstein (1 elite season), etc. are not even close and I think you know it.

Before you assume bias, Mitchell is definitely the best of the Hawthorn players you have listed. Ahead of Hodge, Rioli, Lake, Burgoyne, Roughead, etc.

In fact, Mitchell:
  • Is the best player (5 best and fairests) of the most successful side of the 21st century
  • Is the #1 ball winner of the 21st century (and was one of the best, most creative, dual sided users of all time)
  • Has the most 30+ disposal games and 30+ disposal finals of any player ever
  • Is the #1 clearance player of the 21st century
  • Is the #2 Brownlow vote winner of all time (Ablett Jnr #1)
  • Is top 5 for coaches votes of all time
He is as close to Diesel as you can get and absolutely belongs in the conversation for top 20 this century.

There are very few rankings of this kind of thing outside fan forums but the Herald Sun did one 2 years ago of the top 25 of the AFL era (1990 on) and Mitchell was placed 22nd: https://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/...s/news-story/dca6196673f9e0e83da9ae596f826036.

I'm actually shocked that Akermanis is comfortably winning this poll.

Don't get me wrong, Akermanis was a sublime player who could do things few others were capable of and is one of the most skilful duel sided players I have ever seen.

If the question was "who at their absolute best would you pick for a one off game" I could maybe understand those selecting Aker as Mitchell is not as athletically gifted but for who was the better player over their careers it has to be Mitchell

Mitchell is one of the greatest, most consistently brilliant centremen we have ever seen. As I mentioned above, Mitchell:
  • #2 Brownlow vote winner of all time (only Ablett Jnr ahead)
  • Top 5 all time in Coaches votes
  • 5 x B&F winner in one of the all time great teams (and very unlucky on a couple of other occasions)
  • #1 clearance winner of all time
  • Most 30+ disposal games of all time
  • Top 5 most disposals all time (and one of the greatest, most duel sided users ever)
  • One of the best finals players in history
Matthews (arguably the greatest player of all time) is the only Hawthorn mid I would have ahead. Aker would not even be top 2 in Brisbane's short (and less illustrious) history.

Little dick syndrome from hawthorn supporters here. Mitchell was great guys, it just happens Akermanis was pretty bloody good himself. Rating him above Mitchell isn’t a slight on Mitchell

Yeah, but he aint anywhere near Sammy on the all-time list, with pundits who actually know anything about the game.

The penis envy is all the other way I'm afraid....AKA Hawk envy with double chipped shoulders to boot.

Not to mention the open-ended & fundamentally equivocal interpretation of the poll question.

As I said earlier....You could do the same with Cyril & Michael Voss....And all the arguments offered here for Ackermanis could be equally applied.

Acker had a big mouth & was a flashy player.....But Sammy is a bona-fide Champion & legend of the game, who has him covered in the annals of AFL history, ....And rather comfortably at that.

Yeah, but he aint anywhere near Sammy on the all-time list, with pundits who actually know anything about the game.

The penis envy is all the other way I'm afraid....AKA Hawk envy with double chipped shoulders to boot.

Not to mention the open-ended & fundamentally equivocal interpretation of the poll question.

As I said earlier....You could do the same with Cyril & Michael Voss....And all the arguments offered here for Ackermanis could be equally applied.

Acker had a big mouth & was a flashy player.....But Sammy is a bona-fide Champion & legend of the game, who has him covered in the annals of AFL history, ....And rather comfortably at that.

Case in point. Are you old enough to remember Aker?

One less flag granted. But he won a Brownlow on his own merit and was simply a legend.

Your talking him down smacks of someone who doesn’t actually remember him.

Both fantastic players. Aker slightly better

Case in point. Are you old enough to remember Aker?

One less flag granted. But he won a Brownlow on his own merit and was simply a legend.

Your talking him down smacks of someone who doesn’t actually remember him.

Both fantastic players. Aker slightly better

I'm 52 dude.....What do you reckon?.....I'm old enough to have seen the majority of the 1970's & Leigh Matthews career if that will help you.

Case in point: Ackermanis would not be in Brisbane's most 4 important players of their dynasty: That would be Voss, Black, Brown & Michael.

Mitchell was the dual pronged cog - alongside of Hodge - & the most significant component of the Hawk dynasty....That means he is ahead of all of Burgoyne, Franklin, Roughead, Gibson, Lake, Lewis, Rioli et al.

Acker was principally an outside player & a finisher & polisher -off for the hard-work of his team-mates.....He was the highly-skilled & elite X-factor in much the same way as Cyril Rioli was for us.

Comparing an outside finisher to an inside general & the most important cog in a side is utterly ludicrous.....Much as this poll is a reflection of the complete lack of football acumen & nous across the bigfooty website in general.

You're welcome.

Case in point: Ackermanis would not be in Brisbane's most 4 important players of their dynasty: That would be Voss, Black, Brown & Michael.
I dont think Brown was in our 4 most important players during the 2001-2004 years, he was still really a youngster at the time. Leppa, Lappin, Lynch and Aker were all ahead of Brown during those years. Its a minor aside from the argument that you are having but Aker was very important, in that cream on top type of player, in those years IMO.

Can't see how anyone could argue that an outside finisher & cream on the cake is in the top 4 players....That would be like me arguing that Gary Buckenara was one our top 4 most significant players of our 80's Dynasty....Which he clearly wasn't.....He was certainly the most skilled player we had during that era, alongside of John Platten, much as Acker was at Brisbane.....But that in no way means he was the most important, or essential component to his sides success.....That was clearly the 4 players I mentioned.

Sam Mitchell was clearly the singular most important player of the recent Hawk dynasty from 2007-2016.....Ackermanis was no where near it at Brisbane.

Tough one but I'd say Akermanis just shades Mitchell as the player most disliked internally at a club to win a brownlow.

Sammy sends both his regards & commiserations to Jobe, the N.Y bar-keep.

Maybe when Acker gets invited back to Brizzy as an assistant coach, he'll feel welcomed & liked again....I also hear the West Coast mids were sorry to see Sammy go.....That would be the same midfield that won the flag last year for the Coasters, prefaced upon Sammy's tutelage & under his influence.

I find it strange despite the biased ramblings of one hawthorn supporter that Sam Mitchell only won one Brownlow, no MVPs or AFLCA trophy, and none of his best and fairests came in a premiership year for his club.

Was Sam Mitchell a great player? Undoubtedly. Was he better than Akermanis? That’s subjective depending on what you want. Both had superb careers and were superb players. Was Sam Mitchell so much better than Aker to warrant the shit one hawks supporter is dribbling? No