SEN caller

• Thread starter Thread starter GoNorth

David King.
1) Marked the ball 65 out in the QF final at Waverley v Hawthorn in 94. Goes back to take the shot instead of getting it in long to Duck and Horse. Thank **** for Carey winning us the game in ET. Pagan was going to kill him.
2) Did the windmill celebration and pointed the finger at the crowd after he kicked his 7th goal in the 125 point loss to Essendon in the 2000QF. WTF?
3) Abused a late night food merchant for not putting extra garlic sauce in his kebab
4) Calls us Kangaroos
5) SWSOWTTGC

Imagine how the 2nd world war would have ended if Churchill had King bunkered down in his ''war room''

Kingy is expressing an opinion. Regardless of whether its contrary to yours you would think the bottom line is the same...he was not wanting to destroy the club but save it.

SWSHWTTGC*

No the original is accurate. Anyone holding the considered opinion that NMFC should have gone to the Gold Coast does not have the intelligence to correctly apply have instead of of. Not to mention gone instead of went. Therefore, Kingy is SWSOWTTGC

David King.
1) Marked the ball 65 out in the QF final at Waverley v Hawthorn in 94. Goes back to take the shot instead of getting it in long to Duck and Horse. Thank **** for Carey winning us the game in ET. Pagan was going to kill him.
2) Did the windmill celebration and pointed the finger at the crowd after he kicked his 7th goal in the 125 point loss to Essendon in the 2000QF. WTF?
3) Abused a late night food merchant for not putting extra garlic sauce in his kebab
4) Calls us Kangaroos
5) SWSOWTTGC

...think I missed that one...I was in the car park walking out, hands in pocket, thinking that this era is over, but we should be back winning flags around, lets say 2005-6ish....

Frank-Underwood-eye-rolling-gif.gif

David King.
4) Calls us Kangaroos
5) SWSOWTTGC

Wonder what this game was....the Carey Lloyd shoot out?

Kingy wanted us to go to the Gold Coast. He stills believes we should have. I disagree vehemently, but he's entitled to whatever stupid opinions he has. As a media footy analyst I think he's ordinary. If I was working in a club then maybe I need the kind of stuff "The War Room" brings to the table. But instead, I'm some yobbo sitting on my couch, intent on having a few refreshments and watching the footy hoping for a good game. I don't need the kind of analysis that seems to suggest that there is a contingency and intricate plan for every moment and contest. So to that end I find Kingy boring and full of shit.

As for his treatment of North in general - yes, his inability to say "North Melbourne" is irritating but we are the "Kangaroos" too so I can put up with that. I find that he treats North fairly in terms of his analysis. He'll bag us when a bagging is needed and praise us when praise is due. A person new to the game probably wouldn't recognise that he ever played for us which is fine because his role is now as an unbiased commentator. The thing that I think needs addressing is him cracking gags at North's expense. I've heard him have a crack at our facilities and crowds and that's not on. Flogs from other clubs can do it, but Kingy should be better than that. Richo doesn't do it to the Tiges, Darcy doesn't take the piss out of the Dogs and Lyon doesn't make "head for the snow" gags about the Dees. North were good for Kingy, and Kingy was good for North. That's as weak as water from an ex-player I reckon.

He is entitled to his opinion, but since the club said no and moved on he could support the club in that decision, much like the peanut Aylett, rather than be a killjoy and shit on the parade of people making a real fist of making the decision to stay work out and unify the support of all North supporters.

6) Played nearly 250 games for the club, won two flags and was a dual All-Australian.

Absolutely loved him as a player. Seeing him tuck the ball under the arm and take off along the wing like a raging bull while I yelled out "GO KINGYYYYYYYYYYYY" is a sweet memory of our late 90's/early noughties play.

Sorry that this didn't happen. He kicked the first goal of the game within the first minute and did the windmill after his first goal. By the time he kicked his 7th even he couldn't be f'ed.

I was sure he did that celebration because it was frowned upon post match

Happy to be proven wrong

For me the most boring discussion we have on big footy is what ex players say about our club.

I couldn't give a stuff about what any of them say.

Maybe the Andrew who called is an ex player, currently out of work.

Presumably people are now dirty at Arch for tweeting a picture of a Brazilian gym and making a joke about our old facilities, given Kingy saying "we only used to play in front of friends and family" was apparently the nastiest thing ever said by anyone.

Granted he isn't in mainstream media, but I suspect Archer does this far less frequently.

Brereton shouldn't be commentating on anything. The game he played was far different to the game of 2014 imo.

I would much rather listen to Kingy than a flog like Healy or Brereton. Kingy pumps us up when we are good and pots us when we are bad.

Whats the problem?

Just having someone in the media that is tied to our club is great imho.

Kingy is taking over the football world. Unlike, Dermie he has a good command of the English language and he doesn't make up words.

I'd love to know the ages of posters on here who are taking pot shots at Kingy. My guess is that none of them were around in the 90's and early 00's. The guy was a champion for our club and an absolute key to our 2 premierships. He deserves a bit more respect.

Kingy wanted us to go to the Gold Coast. He stills believes we should have. I disagree vehemently, but he's entitled to whatever stupid opinions he has. As a media footy analyst I think he's ordinary. If I was working in a club then maybe I need the kind of stuff "The War Room" brings to the table. But instead, I'm some yobbo sitting on my couch, intent on having a few refreshments and watching the footy hoping for a good game. I don't need the kind of analysis that seems to suggest that there is a contingency and intricate plan for every moment and contest. So to that end I find Kingy boring and full of shit.

As for his treatment of North in general - yes, his inability to say "North Melbourne" is irritating but we are the "Kangaroos" too so I can put up with that. I find that he treats North fairly in terms of his analysis. He'll bag us when a bagging is needed and praise us when praise is due. A person new to the game probably wouldn't recognise that he ever played for us which is fine because his role is now as an unbiased commentator. The thing that I think needs addressing is him cracking gags at North's expense. I've heard him have a crack at our facilities and crowds and that's not on. Flogs from other clubs can do it, but Kingy should be better than that. Richo doesn't do it to the Tiges, Darcy doesn't take the piss out of the Dogs and Lyon doesn't make "head for the snow" gags about the Dees. North were good for Kingy, and Kingy was good for North. That's as weak as water from an ex-player I reckon.
in the right setting lyon will and I'm sure I've heard him say something like that before.
the best thing about garry lyon is he doesn't take himself too seriously - and isn't afraid of having the piss taken out of him. can take it and give it. but when he talks football, much like dunstall there is an intelligent person who can express intelligent football thoughts. really love listening to him. he's also admitted before to having a soft spot for north and paying attention to us and our results more than other clubs (outside of melbourne). said this last year, brought about by the fact his best mate is the president of the club.

Presumably people are now dirty at Arch for tweeting a picture of a Brazilian gym and making a joke about our old facilities, given Kingy saying "we only used to play in front of friends and family" was apparently the nastiest thing ever said by anyone.

Not at all. Everybody joked about the old Arden St and how we fielded such great sides out of such crap facilities and how nearly everyone wanted to stay despite the facilities.

That the old facilities were crap is the truth and nobody should be afraid or ashamed of the truth. That Kingy played in front of family and friends is a lie and insulting to everyone who went to the games and clapped and cheered him on. If he wants some better jokes to further his media career, I'll write him a couple.

I'd love to know the ages of posters on here who are taking pot shots at Kingy. My guess is that none of them were around in the 90's and early 00's. The guy was a champion for our club and an absolute key to our 2 premierships. He deserves a bit more respect.

Well you'd be wrong.