SFNL Div 1 2018

Who wins the 2018 SFNL Div 1 premiership

Fair call, agree my apologies. If they are voted in, what Div would they start ?

Dunno. It’s a bit of a balancing act. You could argue they should have to earn entry to D1... but you don’t necessarily want to put them lower and then destroy a season of footy for another division if they walk all over them.

surely they go straight into division 1 if accepted into SFNL. they would dominate division 2 worse than what Port Colts did in 2016. I haven't seen a lot of SFNL division 1 footy but just knowing Cranbourne and the standard they set I would be astounded if they didn't make finals if not completely dominate. I mean no disrespect to current teams in div 1, just my opinion.....

Yeah it would prob be best. I remember when Balwyn moved to the EFL plenty over there were arguing they should have been put into 2nd div. Thankfully they didn’t, they would have slaughtered the whole competition and ruined the season.

Personally I don’t think Cranbourne would dominate Div 1. They’d be strong obviously but I really doubt they’d run all over the league - top SFNL clubs would serve it up to them.

Clear north / south divide in the MPNFL. I think the whole region would probably be better served if the clubs south of Frankston formed their own league. Those in Frankston and north of it could be merged into the SFNL which would add a lot of strong clubs and local rivals.

Enough of Cranbourne.
Lets get into this weeks finals With Mordy V EM.
If you listen to the gossip then Mordy are supposed to be cooked and EM should dominate , however I'm yet to be convinced and predict a close game. Fitness will tell on the Springy Ground and after watching both sides closely recently I think EM will get up by 10 points.
In the other final between City and Dingoes, this has the hallmarks of a classic last man standing contest as there is no coming back next week. City will bring back a few from injury but whether they can run the game out is yet to be proved but what they do have is good players across all lines. Same could be said about the Dingoes as they have been running into form at the right end and City will have to shut down Noodle to have any chance. With both teams 1 a piece this season i'll tip City by 5 points.
Enjoy the weekend.

Reckon they might look at efl also...or the efl goes after them...

Would they look at EFL though bearing in mind the EFL does not have a netball competition?

That said Doveton are also looking at moving over to the SFNL though obviously at a Div 3/4 level

Would they look at EFL though bearing in mind the EFL does not have a netball competition?

That said Doveton are also looking at moving over to the SFNL though obviously at a Div 3/4 level
Doveton met with the SFNL and were told no.

The SFNL have stated at the last few meetings that they are not keen on accepting new clubs in the near future, particularly in the Dandenong region. Would be a clear change of policy if they were to consider Cranny.

The earlier post is right, afl south east have stated that they don’t have the authority to overturn the MPNFL decision, but I think the appeal is heard by AFL Victoria, who do have more power and I reckon will try to push Cranbourne in regardless.

The fact that the MPNFL clubs have given themselves the right to vote on who plays in their competition should be a point of interest for us in the SFNL.
Currently our clubs have no say in which clubs enter the comp.

Given the moving landscape in local footy at the moment it is something our clubs should be asking for. We should have a say in the future of our league.

Fair call, agree my apologies. If they are voted in, what Div would they start ?
If they did come in it would have to be Div 1. They would be favourites to win the div1 flag.

There is no vote in this comp. currently the board has the power to make these calls without club approval.

If they did come in it would have to be Div 1. They would be favourites to win the div1 flag.

There is no vote in this comp. currently the board has the power to make these calls without club approval.

I agree that clubs should have more say in this competition however we NEVER want to become like the insular, selfish, arrogant clubs in the MPNFL. they do not care about any sort of expansion or acceptance of others in their little circle. they wont travel to cranny. I also agree with your prediction if cranny were accepted into div 1. good luck tomorrow

Doveton met with the SFNL and were told no.

The SFNL have stated at the last few meetings that they are not keen on accepting new clubs in the near future, particularly in the Dandenong region. Would be a clear change of policy if they were to consider Cranny.

The earlier post is right, afl south east have stated that they don’t have the authority to overturn the MPNFL decision, but I think the appeal is heard by AFL Victoria, who do have more power and I reckon will try to push Cranbourne in regardless.

The fact that the MPNFL clubs have given themselves the right to vote on who plays in their competition should be a point of interest for us in the SFNL.
Currently our clubs have no say in which clubs enter the comp.

Given the moving landscape in local footy at the moment it is something our clubs should be asking for. We should have a say in the future of our league.
L

Good call the clubs should vote

I think the 36 sfnl teams should vote on all changes. The board is not true representation of the clubs and self interest. And the league should be careful who they let in

I agree that clubs should have more say in this competition however we NEVER want to become like the insular, selfish, arrogant clubs in the MPNFL. they do not care about any sort of expansion or acceptance of others in their little circle. they wont travel to cranny. I also agree with your prediction if cranny were accepted into div 1. good luck tomorrow

To be fair to the MPNFL clubs it’s hard to put them all in one bucket, they needed 75% which is 17 of 22 clubs so a high hurdle. The majority might well have voted for it.

It’s a very diverse league and in a lot of ways it doesn’t make much sense any more, you have clubs like Chelsea, Edi-Asp and Bonbeach in a country comp with Rye, Sorrento etc, you can see how the clubs would have very different thoughts on things.

As I said I think there’s something to be said for all the clubs south of Frankston to have a genuine Mornington Peninsula league and everybody else in an expanded SFNL.

Cheers Sratsky.

Which camp are you cheering for tomorrow mate? Ties to both HP and springy. More to HP I’m guessing?

The bonus is You can drink winners beers regardless I guess! Should be a good game that one

EFL has netball. About 9 divisions of it. They play Friday nights

Interesting yes, but is anyone surprised?? Not really. They've been given a few free kicks this year (pardon the pun)

Anyway they are likely to finish no higher 4th again anyway for the 4th year in a row. That's a lot of cash and high end recruiting for little return isn't it. Happy to see how it pans out though. Just my feel
Yep agree

Why wouldn’t a league like the SFL want to improve and include a good senior and junior club in Cranbourne (if they are as good as people are saying)? What’s the harm in leagues wanting to improve?

Reckon most would probably take that attitude however there’ll understandably be a few (in D1) who’d prefer an easier shot at a flag!

Haven't been to many games this year,im a Dogs fan, i am interested to know off some regular watchers, how have Mordi fallen away so badly?

Also, there doesn't seem to be much appreciation for the Dogs in this thread and most comments are about other winning the flag, is this a case of no Dogs fans on the board or do the posters here not rate the side?

Also top 5 for finals is crazy, i can't believe a team can have a 2nd chance in the second week of finals.

Cheers.

Haven't been to many games this year,im a Dogs fan, i am interested to know off some regular watchers, how have Mordi fallen away so badly?

Also, there doesn't seem to be much appreciation for the Dogs in this thread and most comments are about other winning the flag, is this a case of no Dogs fans on the board or do the posters here not rate the side?

Also top 5 for finals is crazy, i can't believe a team can have a 2nd chance in the second week of finals.

Cheers.

Injuries

Surely they have to keep some demographics, Example - 1, Pt Melbourne to Cranbourne is not an attractive option. Look at the Ammos, they have to travel to all parts of Melbourne which affects their memberships etc, attracting players and just surviving. The beauty about SFL - Div 1 and Div 2 is that its more local and easier for everyone to attend home and away games. If Cranbourne do come in, then let them earn the right to move up the divisions by winning flags, start them in Div -4, or combine Div 3 and 4. Lets face it, I wont mention the clubs, but seriously there are some that are just hanging on and really don't have much of a future.

Cranbourne won't come in as they'll only be offered division 2 & no higher. Chelsea Heights may be going to MPNFL so an opening may appear there. But SFNL Div 2 is beneath Cranny.

Cerberus look have Div 4 run and won but they won't come up so that leaves Hallam staying up in Div 3 for another year of beltings. Can't cover the loss of 30 players in 2 seasons
Add to that Dandy & Sandown & perhaps Moorabbin. What about Lyndale too? div 4 look on shaky ground

It'll be back to 3 divisions before you can say TwoThousandandTwenty

Cranbourne won't come in as they'll only be offered division 2 & no higher. Chelsea Heights may be going to MPNFL so an opening may appear there. But SFNL Div 2 is beneath Cranny.

Cerberus look have Div 4 run and won but they won't come up so that leaves Hallam staying up in Div 3 for another year of beltings. Can't cover the loss of 30 players in 2 seasons
Add to that Dandy & Sandown & perhaps Moorabbin. What about Lyndale too? div 4 look on shaky ground

It'll be back to 3 divisions before you can say TwoThousandandTwenty
How does that work? As if clubs wanna play in div 4 if Cerberus won every year